DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ihara et al (US PG Pub No. 2017/0353761), in view of Aggarwal et al (US PG Pub No. 2019/0230406).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Ihara et al teaches a display device [222] (Figures 1, 10A-C) comprising: a display [150]; and
a controller [120] configured to operate as a repeater: receives a signal from a first external device [221] and transmits the signal to a second external device [223] so that an image according to the signal received from the first external device [221] is output from the second external device [223] (i.e. a stream is transmitted from the information processing device (TX) 221 to the information processing device (RX) 223 via the information processing device (the repeater) 222) (Figures 10A-C, 11; Para. 0083, 0123),
wherein the controller is further configured to, if the second external device is not connected, determine an ID of at least one second external device disconnected as ID and transmit the determined ID to the first external device (Figures 3, 11-12; Para.0062, 0070-71, 0132-135). Ihara et al teaches HDCP reauthentication after 223 is disconnected. However, the reference fails to teach the second device is not connected after operating as the repeater and a virtual ID.
In similar field of endeavor, Aggarwal et al teaches the second device is not connected after operating as the repeater and a virtual ID (Abstract, Figure 2, 4A-B; Para. 0064). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of easily identifying devices to transmit content and save time (Para. 0004).
Regarding claim 2, Ihara and Aggarwal, the combination teaches wherein the controlled is configured to transmit a pre-stored value to the first external device as the virtual ID (Ihara: 0132-135: HDCP reauthentication after 223 and Aggarwal: Figures 4A-B, 0059: device map 400 includes a list of mappings between a device, a port to which each device is coupled, and a key of each device).
Regarding claim 6, Ihara and Aggarwal, the combination teaches the controller [120] includes: a sink interface configured to process a signal received from a first external device [221] (Figures 10A-C), a source interface configured to transmit the signal to the second external device, and a virtual ID transmitter configured to transmit the virtual ID to the first external device if the second external device is not connected (Ihara teaches a stream is transmitted from the information processing device (TX) 221 to the information processing device (RX) 223 via the information processing device (the repeater) 222 and performing HDCP reauthentication once 223 is disconnected. Aggarwal: Figures 4A-B, 0059: device map 400 includes a list of mappings between a device, a port to which each device is coupled, and a key of each device)
Regarding claim 7, Ihara and Aggarwal, the combination teaches the controller is configured to: operate in a first mode for receiving the signal from the first external device and displaying an image on the display unit (i.e. a stream is transmitted from the information processing device (TX) 201 to the information processing device (RX) 202 in accordance with Wi-Fi CERTIFIED Miracast) (Ihara: Figure 4A), operate in a second mode for transmitting the signal to a second external device so that an image is output from the second external device (Figure 4C), or operates in a third mode for transmitting the signal to the second external device so that an image according to the signal received from the first external device is output from the second external device (i.e. a stream is transmitted from the information processing device (TX) 201 to the information processing device (RX) 203 via the information processing device (the repeater) 202 in accordance with Wi-Fi CERTIFIED Miracast) (Ihara: Figure 4C).
Regarding claim 8, Ihara and Aggarwal, the combination teaches the controlled is configured to transmit the virtual ID to the first external device when operating in the first mode after operating in the third mode (Ihara: 0132-135: When RX is disconnected, repeater acts as RX and HDCP reauthentication after 223 is disconnected and Aggarwal: Figures 4A-B, 0059: device map 400 includes a list of mappings between a device, a port to which each device is coupled, and a key of each device).
Regarding claim 9, Ihara and Aggarwal, the combination teaches when operating in the first mode in a state where the third mode has never been operated, controller is configured to transmit the virtual ID to the first external device (i.e. M1 to M3 messages are exchanged between the information processing device 201 and the information processing device 202 (302 to 304). Then, an HDCP authentication process is performed between the information processing device 201 and the information processing device 202 (305) (Ihara: fig. 4A; Para. 0079, 0087) Aggarwal: Figures 4A-B, 0059: device map 400 includes a list of mappings between a device, a port to which each device is coupled, and a key of each device).
Regarding claim 10, Ihara and Aggarwal, the combination teaches the first external device and the second external device are each connected to HDMI (High-Definition Multimedia Interface) or wireless communication (Ihara: Abstract; Para. 0123).
Regarding claim 11, Ihara and Aggarwal, the combination teaches the controlled is configured to transmit the virtual ID when authenticating with the first external device in a state where the second external device is not connected (i.e. M1 to M3 messages are exchanged between the information processing device 201 and the information processing device 202 (302 to 304). Then, an HDCP authentication process is performed between the information processing device 201 and the information processing device 202 (305) (Ihara: fig. 4A; Para. 0079, 0087) Aggarwal: Figures 4A-B, 0059: device map 400 includes a list of mappings between a device, a port to which each device is coupled, and a key of each device).
Regarding claim 12, Ihara and Aggarwal, the combination teaches the controller is configured to: receive a signal encrypted with HDCP (High- bandwidth Digital Content Protection) when receiving the signal from the first external device, and transmit the signal encrypted with HDCP (High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection) when transmitting the signal to the second external device (Ihara: Para. 0066-68).
Regarding claim 13, Ihara and Aggarwal, the combination teaches the controller is configured to transmit a real ID of the second external device to the first external device if both the first external device and the second external device are connected (Ihara: teaches HDCP authentication as described above. Aggarwal: Figures 4A-B, 0059: device map 400 includes a list of mappings between a device, a port to which each device is coupled, and a key of each device).
Regarding claim 14, Ihara and Aggarwal, the combination teaches the virtual ID and the real ID of the second external device are different (Aggarwal: Figures 4A-B, 0059: device map 400 includes a list of mappings between a device, a port to which each device is coupled, and a key of each device).
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ihara et al, in view of Aggarwal et al, further in view of Douillet et al (US PG Pub No. 2008/0186403).
Regarding claim 3, Ihara and Aggarwal, the combination teaches after generating, the controller is configured to transmit to the first external device as the virtual ID (Ihara: 0132-135 and Aggarwal: Figures 2, 4A-B; Para. 0059). The combination does not explicitly state a random value.
In similar field of endeavor, Douillet et al teaches a random value (Para. 0008). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of adding extra layer of protection as devices are communicating and outputting content.
Regarding claim 5, Ihara and Aggarwal, the combination teaches if there is no previously connected second external device, the control unit generates and transmits the generated to the first external device as the virtual ID (i.e. M1 to M3 messages are exchanged between the information processing device 201 and the information processing device 202 (302 to 304). Then, an HDCP authentication process is performed between the information processing device 201 and the information processing device 202 (305) )(Ihara: fig. 4A; Para. 0079, 0087). The combination does not explicitly state a random value.
In similar field of endeavor, Douillet et al teaches a random value (Para. 0008). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of adding extra layer of protection as devices are communicating and outputting content.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Brian Pendleton can be reached at (571) 272-7527. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KUNAL LANGHNOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425