DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response to restriction requirement filed on April 10, 2026 has been received and entered. Claims 9-11 have been amended.
Claims 1-14 are pending in the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 8-12 in the reply filed on April 10, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that inventive concept linking Group I and Group II, is a non-viral approach for modifying mesenchymal stromal cells to play an efficient cytotoxic effect against tumor cells. Applicant argues that Rossignoli and Colleoni prior art, result to be highly efficient, but products based on transduced cells cannot be easily translated to the clinical practice due, inter alia, to undesired patient immune response, mutagenesis risk and high management costs.. This is not found persuasive because special technical feature linking the invention of groups I-III is a genetically modified MSC. Colleoni teaches electroporate and genetically modified MSC appears to be similar to genetically modified MSC claimed in the instant application. Therefore, special technical feature linking invention of group I and II does not contribute over prior art. As stated in previous office action the examiner has required restriction between product claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product, and all product claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product claims would be considered for rejoinder.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-7, 13 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on April 10, 2026.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/IB2021/061620 filed on 12/13/2021, which claims priority from a foreign application IT 102020000030692 filed on 12/14/2020.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/23/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claims 8-12 are under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Colleoni et al ( Cloning and Stem Cells, 2005, 7, 154-166, IDS) as evidenced by Childs (PNAS. 1982, 5312-5316).
Claims are directed to Mesenchymal stromal stem cells expanded by a growth-medium containing an additive rich in platelet growth factors, electroporated and genetically modified, and obtained by the method of claim 1.
Claim interpretation: independent claim is interpreted as product by process claim. Claims are drawn to mesenchymal stromal stem cell. The phrase how it is expanded and processed to obtain by a method of claim 1 is not given any patentable weight (see MPEP 2113). "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted).
With respect to claims 8-11, Colleoni teaches a mesenchymal stem cell expanded by a growth medium containing 10% FBS (a source rich in platelet derived growth factor as evidenced by Childs ) that is electroporated and genetically modified (see page 160. Col. 1, to col. 2 and fig. 8). Claims 9-11 are included in the rejection because they all recite intended use. The claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In the instant case, Colleoni teaches that genetically modified MSC could express therapeutic protein and could give rise to tissue of mesenchymal origin expressing gene product essential for tissue regeneration and repair (see page 163, col. 2, last para.). If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 12, Colleoni teaches a genetically modified mesenchymal stem cell that is expanded in a growth medium and 98% of the porcine MSC expressed EGFP and 20% of bovine MSC expressed the marker. (see page 162, col. 1, line 1). The genetically modified MSC composition as disclosed by Colleoni and those embraced by the instant claims appear to be structurally same. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (see MPEP 2112.01). It is noted that [T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property, or other markers CD133 which is implicitly present in the prior art pancreatic stem cell, does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Accordingly, Colleoni anticipates claims 8-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colleoni et al (Cloning and Stem Cells, 2005, 7, 154-166, IDS)/ der Harr ( BioResearch Open Access, 2019, 8, 32- 43) as evidenced by Becherucci (Stem Cell Research & Therapy (2018) 9:124)/Chieregato (Cytotherapy,2011; 13: 933–943) and Xi (Burns & Trauma, 2013, 1, 1, 13-20).
Claim interpretation: Claims 8-12 are rejected again to address MSCs expanded by a growth-medium containing an additive rich in platelet growth factors. Claims are interpreted as product by process claim. Claims are drawn to mesenchymal stromal stem cell. The phrase how it is expanded and processed to obtain by a method of claim 1 is not given any patentable weight (see MPEP 2113). "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted).
With respect to claims 8-11, der Haar teaches an adipose tissue derived genetically modified mesenchymal stem cell expanded by a growth medium containing10% human serum (see page 33, col. 2, para. 1-2). Claims 9-11 are included in the rejection because they all recite intended use.
Regarding claim 12, der Haar teaches a composition comprising a genetically modified mesenchymal stem cell that is expanded in a 10% human serum (see fig. 5-6).
With respect to claims 8-12, the teaching of Colleoni has been described above and relied in same manner here. The combination of reference does not explicitly teach (i) uMSC expanded by a growth medium containing an additive rich in platelet growth factor and (ii) intended use.
Becherucci teaches use of growth medium containing human plasma lysate comprising PDGF that is considered a safe alternative to FBS for ex-vivo expansion of MSC according to a GMP grade protocol for clinical applications, avoiding the use of animal serum and representing a novel approach in regenerative medicine (see abstract, page, 2ol. 1, para. 5). Likewise, Chieregato reported medium containing PDGFbb to hPPP could ensure growth of a sufficient number of ADSC for clinical applications, avoiding the use of animal serum and representing a novel approach in regenerative medicine (abstract). Xi teaches use of MSCs in promoting tissue repair.[It is further disclosed that MSC treatment promote the proliferation of renal-tubule epithelial cells. MSCs can directly protect and repair damaged beta-islets (see page 15, col. 2, last para.). Xi further teaches MSCs could be used for the tissue repair (see page 15, col. 2, para. 2) or in the treatment of tumors including human glioma(see page 16, col. 2, para. 4).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the respective teachings of prior art to modify the expansion medium of genetically modified MSC as disclosed in Colleoni/der Harr by substituting the FBS with an additive rich in PL or medium rich in PDGF as disclosed in Becherucci/ Chieregato to further characterize genetically modified MSC for clinical use, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of instant application. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to avoid the use of xenogeneic animal serum (FBS) (see above). The genetically modified MSC composition as disclosed by Harr/ Colleoni and those embraced by the instant claims appear to be structurally same. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (see MPEP 2112.01). Additionally, it would be obvious to characterize implicit characteristics of MSC, as a matter of design choice in the treatment different condition as disclosed by Xi, said design choice amounting to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One who would practice the invention would have had reasonable expectation of success because prior art successfully reported expanding MSC in medium containing FBS substitute such as additives rich in PGF.
Thus, the claimed invention, as a whole, is clearly prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “rich” in claims 8-12 are a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “rich” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear if the additive contains more of the PDGF compared to baseline level in a specific tissue, plasma or some other commercially available medium). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a product (MSCs) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) composition of matter.
The claims recite Mesenchymal stromal stem cells expanded by a growth-medium containing an additive rich in platelet growth factors electroporated and genetically modified, and obtained by the method of claim 1. Claims 9-11 are drawn to MSC processed according to claim 8 intended for use in cytotoxic treatment against tumor, in promoting tissue regeneration or using in the treatment of pulmonary fibrosarcoma.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the terms of the claim are presumed to have their plain meaning consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2111.
Claim interpretation: claims are directed to a product mesenchymal stem cell (MSCs). The term is used throughout the specification consistent with its plain meaning to describe more than one MSC. Therefore, broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with specification and its ordinary meaning is two or more MSC. Claim 8 is interpreted as product by process claims and therefore recitation of cells expanded by a growth-medium containing an additive rich in platelet growth factors electroporated and genetically modified, and obtained by the method of claim 1 is not given any patentable weight (see MPEP 2113). There is nothing is the claimed MSCs that distinguishes it from a wild type MSC isolated from bone marrow, adipose tissue, or cord blood.
The specification contemplates it is possible to achieve a chemical-physical, non-viral method to transiently or stably transfect/deliver gene constructs: said method is based on electric pulses administration to expanded cells and it is compliant with Good Manufacturing Practice Guidelines (GMP). Said production method is particularly simple and advantageous in terms of productivity and cost-effectiveness, when compared to methods involving viral vectors (see page 3, lines 20-23 of the specification). The specification contemplates expression of various factors that could be transient/stable (see page 8 of the specification).
The prior art teaches the episomes are lost at ~5% per cell generation due to defects in plasmid synthesis and partitioning; thus, cells devoid of plasmids can be easily isolated (See page 798, col. 1, para. 3, Yu et al Science, 2009, 324, 797-801 and Wang et al Cell Transplantation 2019, Vol. 28(1S) 112S–131S). Yu et al continue to teach PCR analysis show the absence of the vector and transgene sequences in both the genomic and the episomal fractions of all four iPS cell subclones (Fig. 2B). The iPS cell subclones were morphologically and phenotypically similar to human ES cells (Fig. 3A); had normal karyotypes (Fig. 3B); expressed human ES cell–specific cell surface markers (Fig. 3D) and genes (Fig. 4, A and B, fig. S4, and table S4); and differentiated into derivatives of all three germ layers in teratomas (Fig. 4C). Likewise, Willmann et al (PLoS One, 2013, 8(5), e65324 , 1-9) reported episomal vectors are lost from culture within several weeks as exemplified by an episomal plasmid encoding the green fluorescent protein (GFP; Figure 3C; Figure S3) (see page 4, col. 2, para. 1).
In view of foregoing, it is apparent that, the MSCs of the claimed invention are morphologically and phenotypically similar to MSCs present in different tissue (bone marrow, cord blood, or adipose tissue) that are either (i) expanded in naturally occurring factors in situ or (ii) electroporated with a episomal vector that are not integrated to genome and/or lost following passaging during the cell culture as discussed above. Thus, the MSCs of the claimed invention are naturally occurring MSCs expanded by medium containing additive containing PDGF . Here, because the MSCs are a composition of matter, the claim is to at least one statutory category of invention (Step 1: YES).
Step 2(A), Prong 1
Claims 8 and 12 recite a nature-based product limitation MCSs. The MSC is "produced by a method comprising" certain steps. "Product-by-process" claim language limits the scope of a product claim to the extent that the process affects the structure of the claimed product. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The markedly different characteristics analysis is performed by comparing the nature-based product limitation in the claim to its naturally occurring counterpart to determine if it has markedly different characteristics from the counterpart. MPEP 2106.04(c) (11). Here, the closest natural counterpart is naturally occurring MSCs. When the claimed MSCs is compared to this counterpart, the comparison indicates that there are no differences in structure, function, or other characteristics. Via et al (Muscles Ligaments Tendons J . 2012 Oct 16;2(3):154–162.) reported that MSCs could be isolated from almost every tissue of the body (see abstract). " It is relevant to point out that the prior art teaches that genetic modification with an episomal plasmid are non-integrating and are progressively lost during cell division (see above). In view of foregoing, it appears that the man-made cells are identical to what exists in nature (e.g., same genotype and phenotype). There is nothing in the claim that are phenotypically different from what exists in nature or any difference that arose due to applicant’s efforts. The claim thus encompasses MSCs that are identical to naturally occurring cells. Because there is no difference between the claimed and naturally occurring cells for at least some of the embodiments encompassed by the claim, the claimed cells do not have markedly different characteristics, and thus are a “product of nature” exception. See Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics Inc., 569 U.S. 576, 580 (2013) ("[A] naturally occurring DNA segment is a product of nature and not patent eligible merely because it has been isolated."). In re Roslin Institute (Edinburgh), 750 F.3d 1333, 1338-39 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
Step 2(A), Prong 2
In view of foregoing analysis, it is apparent that claims recite a judicial exception of a naturally occurring MSCs, they would still be patent-eligible if "the claim ss a whole integrate the recited judicial exception MSCs into a practical application of the exception." Here the claims recite MSCs. However, MSCs that are expanded in a growth medium, electroporated and genetically modified by a method does not markedly change the characteristics of MSC for the reasons discussed above (non-integrating vectors are lost during cell passaging), and because MSCs continues to have the same properties in the naturally isolated MSCs. In the instant case, the medium is not required as part of the composition. Further, MSCs expanded by medium can be interpreted to be a mixture of naturally occurring product like platelet lysate, water, salts, carbohydrates. As stated before, MSCs are naturally occurring in the almost all tissue. Merely putting naturally occurring MSCs expanded by a medium containing naturally occurring factor (PDGF) that is electroporated and genetically modified using method does not significantly differ from the MSCs that occur in nature particularly since art teaches genetic modification with episomal vectors are lost from culture within several weeks (see above). Claims 9-11 are included in the rejection because they are directed to intended use known in prior art as evident form the teaching of Xi (see above). In fact, the claim MSCs are not significantly different from MSCs that occur in natural tissue of bone marrow, cord blood or adipose tissue. Thus, the MSCs, when recited at this high level of generality, does not meaningfully limit the claim, and the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than each “product of nature” by itself. There is no structural or phenotypic difference in any of the claimed MSCs that distinguish them from naturally occurring MSCs. Further, there is no additional element that integrates the recited naturally occurring product (naturally occurring MSCs) into a practical application of the judicial exception Thus, the product-by-process language of claim 1 does not represent an additional element that integrates the recited naturally occurring product into a practical application of the judicial exception. In summary, there is no additional elements recited in the claims, considered individually or in combination, does not integrate the recited, naturally occurring MSCs into a practical application of the judicial exception.
Step 2(B)
The only elements recited in the claims, other than the naturally occurring cells, that is expanded by a culture medium, electroporated for transient or stable expression. Given that episomal vectors are lost from the cells during culture within several weeks as discussed above (see above). Thus, the claims recite a naturally occurring MSCs that do not differ markedly, if at all, from naturally occurring MSCs. (Step 2B: NO). Thus, the claims are not patent eligible.
Examiner’s Note: Should applicant amend the base claim to recite “a genetically modified MSCs ..” or “a MSC comprising a vector encoding ..” instant rejection may be overcome pending further consideration.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/ANOOP K SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632