DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application was filed on and is a U.S. national Stage application under 35 U.S.C. 371 of International Patent Application No. PCT/JP2022/024418 filed 06/17/2022, which claims the benefit of the priority of Japan Patent Application No. 2021-101016 filed 06/17/2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 08/17/2023 and 07/02/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-6 are being examined on the merits in this office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-6 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims have not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim contain a parenthesis in line 8 and 15. It is unclear whether the limitations in the parenthesis are a required part of the claimed invention. Claims 2-4 depend on claim 1 and are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al. (WO2019208731A1 – hereinafter “Yamamoto”).
Yamamoto teaches a production method comprising reacting the compound 1
with the compound 2
to produce the compound
(Page 1-2).
Yamamoto teaches R1, R2, R4, and R5 each independently represent a hydrogen atom, halogen atom, hydroxy group, carboxyl group, nitro group, cyano group, or thiol group, or monovalent hydrocarbon group or heterocyclic group, which may have one, two, or more substituents, A1 to A4 each independently represent a divalent aliphatic hydrocarbon group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms, which may have one, two, or more substituents (Page 2), p1 to p4 each independently represent 0 or 1 (Page 2), m and n are each independently an integer of 1 or higher (Page 2), PG2 represents a protecting group of the carboxyl group, PG1 represents a protecting group of the amino group (Page 2). Examiner notes that the circled group on the product compound above is a bivalent group and represents instant L1, wherein q1 is 0.
Yamamoto does not explicitly teach that compound 1 is a lactam ring, however, Yamamoto teaches that R 1 and R 3 are bonded to each other to form a heterocyclic ring which may have one or more substituents together with the carbon atom to which R 1 is bonded and the nitrogen atom to which R 3 is bonded (Page 2) and that the Lewis acid catalyst is suitable for the compound being a seven-membered ring compound (Page 17, 7th paragraph). Examiner notes that the teachings of Yamamoto read on the instant Formula 1-3, and read on Formula 1 being a lactam ring.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Yamamoto and make the compound 1 a lactam ring since Yamamoto teaches that the Lewis acid catalyst used in the method is suitable for the compound being a seven-membered ring compound (Page 17, 7th paragraph). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using modifying compound 1 to a ring compound for efficient production of the polypeptide. The disclosure renders obvious claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Yamamoto teaches that specific examples of the amino protecting group PG1 include tert-butoxycarbonyl group (Boc), benzyloxycarbonyl group (Cbz), benzoyl group (Bz), 2,2,2-trichloroethoxycarbonyl group (Troc), allyloxycarbonyl group (Alloc), phthaloyl group (Phth), paramethoxybenzoyl group (PMPCO), cinnamoyl group, toluenesulfonyl group (Ts), 2 or 4-nitrobenzenesulfonyl group (Ns), cyanomethyl group, 9-fluorenylmethyloxycarbonyl group (Fmoc) (Page 15, 1st paragraph).
Regarding claim 3, Yamamoto teaches A1 represent a divalent aliphatic hydrocarbon group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms, which may have one, two, or more substituents (Page 2), p1 to p4 each independently represent 0 or 1 (Page 2). Examiner notes that the circled group on the product compound above is a bivalent group and represents instant L1, wherein q1 is 0.
Regarding claim 4, Yamamoto teaches the compound
(Page 1-2).
wherein R1, R2, R4, and R5 each independently represent a hydrogen atom, halogen atom, hydroxy group, carboxyl group, nitro group, cyano group, or thiol group, or monovalent hydrocarbon group or heterocyclic group, which may have one, two, or more substituents. Yamamoto teaches A1 represent a divalent aliphatic hydrocarbon group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms, which may have one, two, or more substituents (Page 2), p1 to p4 each independently represent 0 or 1 (Page 2). Examiner notes that the disclosure reads on L1 is —C(═O)—N—. Further, Yamamoto teaches linking groups such as
(Page 13, last paragraph) which reads on —C(═O)—N—.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MERCY H SABILA/Examiner, Art Unit 1654