DETAILED ACTION
CONTINUING DATA
This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2021/043333 11/26/2021
FOREIGN APPLICATIONS
JAPAN 2020-197381 11/27/2020
Claims 1-4 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “having a purity of 99.0% by mass or more.” This limitation is unclear because the claim does not recite how the purity is measured. Paragraph [0083] of the current specification illustrates that the purity % depends on the method of analysis. Claims 2-3 depend from claim 1 and incorporate the same limitation by reference.
Claim 1 recites impurities “equal to or less than a detection limit.” This limitation is unclear because the claim does not recite which detection method is used. The detection limit using one method would be different from the detection limit using another method which has different sensitivity. Claims 2-3 depend from claim 1 and incorporate the same limitation by reference.
Claim 4 recites a method for producing high-purity NMN. The specification does not define “high.” The term “high” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2018023205A1 (machine translation, 2018).
WO2018023205A1 teaches NMN having 99.42% purity. See Table 1.
The impurities recited in claim 1 are not disclosed as being present. Claim 1 recites that the impurities are equal to or less than a detection limit, which includes the absence of impurities. The NMN is used for pharmaceutical purposes or for anti-aging [0002].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2018023205A1 (machine translation, 2018) in view of Rongzhao (US 2018/0230443A1, 2018, cited on IDS) and CN108530505A (machine translation, 2018).
WO2018023205A1 teaches preparation of NMN using the enzyme-catalyzed method [0026]. The NMN is purified using anion exchange [0030].
WO2018023205A1 does not teach the details of the enzyme-catalyzed method and does not teach the use of DAC column.
Rongzhao teaches as an enzyme-based method, a method in which NMN is prepared by the catalytic action of a nicotinamide phosphoribosyltransferase mutant, ribose-phosphatepyrophosphokinase, and AMP nucleosidase, using nicotinamide, ATP, and AMP as source materials (paragraph [0022], example 8). These are the same materials used for the NMN preparation in the current specification.
CN108530505A teaches that a flavonoid glycoside is preferably purified using dynamic axial compression chromatography. Page 2, Step 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to prepare NMN using the claimed enzymatic method because WO2018023205A1 teaches that NMN is prepared enzymatically and Rongzhao teaches a procedure for preparing NMN enzymatically. It would have been further obvious to purify the NMN using an added DAC chromatography because WO2018023205A1 desires a pure product, and DAC chromatography is used for purifying glycosides.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LAYLA D BERRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693