DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments, see Rem. 5-7, filed 5 December, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-7 and 9 under Leong et al in view of Koyanagi et al have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as presented herein.
Applicants’ arguments filed on 5 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not deemed to be persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–2, 5–7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Grokop et al. (US 2013/0245986 A1, “Grokop”) in view of Inselberg (US 8,401,578 B2, “Inselberg”).
Regarding claim 1, Grokop discloses:
a communication control terminal comprising:Grokop discloses a mobile device configured to perform communication with another device. (fig. 1; para. 22)
a communication unit configured to perform communication with another device;Grokop discloses that the mobile device communicates with other devices. (fig. 1; para. 22)
an acquisition unit configured to acquire a value of acceleration;Grokop discloses “accelerometer data is used.” (abstract, para. 20)
a determination unit configured to determine that the communication control terminal is in a state of being brought into a vehicle, based on the value of acceleration;Grokop discloses “Systems and methods herein enable a mobile device to detect that a user is traveling in association with a vehicle based at least on motion data. In some embodiments, accelerometer data is used.” Grokop further discloses “before entering the state of vehicular movement, it can be determined that the user is first in a walking state (e.g., walking to the car, bus, etc., and entering it).” and “when the user is in the walking state, the accelerometer signals appear different to any accelerometer signals seen in the vehicular movement state.” (para. 20, 32, 35) These disclosures teach determining a vehicle-related state based on accelerometer data, including a transition corresponding to entering a vehicle, which reasonably corresponds to being brought into a vehicle.
Grokop does not specifically disclose:a communication control unit configured to perform restriction of use of the communication by the communication unit when the determination unit determines that the communication control terminal is not in the state of being brought into a vehicle.
Inselberg discloses “prevents a vehicle occupant from text messaging while driving,” “the driver’s cell phone text messaging functionality is turned off … as the driver enters the vehicle through the driver-side door,” and “when the driver exits the vehicle … the cell phone resumes its texting capability.” (fig. 4A, 5A; 10:24-49; 11:7-38) These disclosures teach restricting communication functionality based on a vehicle-related state, and enabling/disabling communication depending on whether the user is entering or exiting the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to modify Grokop to include the communication restriction functionality taught by Inselberg in order to improve safety and reduce distraction. Further, applying such restriction when the device is not in a desired state (i.e., not in the vehicle-entry state) represents a predictable inversion of control logic.
Regarding claim 2, Grokop discloses:
the determination unit determines that the communication control terminal is in the state of being brought into a vehicle and that traveling of the vehicle is in a traveling state, based on a vibration state determined based on the acceleration.Grokop discloses “when the user is in the walking state, the accelerometer signals appear different to any accelerometer signals seen in the vehicular movement state.” (para. 32) This teaches determining a vehicle traveling state based on acceleration-derived motion characteristics.
Regarding claim 5, Grokop discloses:
the determination unit detects a direction of travel of the vehicle based on the acceleration acquired for each of the axes.Grokop discloses use of accelerometer data (para. 32, 69), which inherently includes multi-axis acceleration enabling determination of motion direction.
Regarding claim 6, Grokop discloses:
the determination unit determines that the communication control terminal is in the state of being brought into a vehicle based on a frequency of detection of the acceleration or the deceleration equal to or greater than a threshold.Grokop discloses continuous evaluation of accelerometer signals to distinguish motion states. (para. 35) It would have been obvious to characterize motion using frequency of acceleration/deceleration events relative to a threshold as a routine signal-processing technique.
Regarding claim 7, Inselberg discloses:
the communication control unit turns off a wireless communication function as the restriction of use of the communication.Inselberg discloses “the driver’s cell phone text messaging functionality is turned off,” which teaches turning off a communication function. (11:7-38)
Claim 9 recites a communication control method for use in a communication control terminal, corresponding to the communication control terminal of claim 1, and is thus similarly rejected.
Claims 3–4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Grokop in view of Inselberg, and further in view of Wilson (US 9,743,260 B2, “Wilson”).
Regarding claim 3, Grokop does not specifically disclose:the determination unit determines that the communication control terminal is in the state of being brought into a vehicle and that traveling of the vehicle is in a traffic congestion state, based on a movement state determined based on the acceleration, and the communication control unit permits the communication by the communication unit when the determination unit determines that the communication control terminal is in the state of being brought into a vehicle and the vehicle is in the traffic congestion state, and performs restriction of use of the communication by the communication unit when the determination unit determines that the communication control terminal is not in the state of being brought into a vehicle or the vehicle is not in the traffic congestion state.
Wilson discloses “the mobile computing device … may automatically determine that the user is driving based on a speed associated with the mobile computing device” and “this speed may be ascertained from … accelerometer … of the mobile computing device itself.” (11:1-36) It would have been obvious to refine Grokop’s determination to identify a traffic congestion state based on movement characteristics such as speed and acceleration, and to permit communication in one vehicle condition while restricting it in another as a predictable variation of Inselberg’s control.
Regarding claim 4, Grokop does not specifically disclose:the acquisition unit acquires time-series data of acceleration corresponding to a plurality of axes, and the determination unit determines that the communication control terminal is in the state of being brought into a vehicle and that the vehicle is in the traffic congestion state, based on the movement state based on the time-series data of acceleration corresponding to a direction of travel of the vehicle.
Wilson discloses that speed may be ascertained from an accelerometer of the mobile computing device. Accelerometer data inherently is collected over time and corresponds to multiple axes. (11:1-36) It would have been obvious to use time-series, multi-axis acceleration data to improve motion-state determination accuracy.
Conclusion
/Luat Phung/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468