DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3 are examined in this office action as claims 4-6 are withdrawn as directed to a nonelected invention and claim 1 was amended in the reply dated 10/28/25.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the limitation “A stainless steel” and goes on to recite that the “stainless steel contains 15 wt% or more of Cr”. As steel is an alloy where iron is alloyed with carbon this claim will be interpreted as requiring at least some carbon, 15 wt% or more of chromium, and the balance being iron where the iron makes up at least 50 wt% of the alloy otherwise the claimed material would not be a steel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a surface oxide layer of the stainless steel” in lines 1-2. As there is already “a surface oxide layer of the stainless steel” recited in line 4 of claim 1, it is not clear if this recitation in claim 2 intends to refer back to the same surface oxide layer, whether it intends to refer to another surface oxide layer, or some other meaning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2018/0219201 A1 of Kim.
As to claims 1-3, the claim preamble must be read in the context of the entire claim. The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use "can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim" as drafted without importing "'extraneous' limitations from the specification." Corning Glass Works, 868 F.2d at 1257, 9 USPQ2d at 1966. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999), see MPEP § 2111.02(II). In the instant case, the claim fully sets forth the structure of the stainless steel having a surface oxide and therefore the recitation “for a fuel cell separator” is merely a statement of intended use and does not further limit the claim. Nevertheless, Kim discloses a stainless steel for a fuel cell separator plate (Kim, abstract).
Kim discloses where the composition of the stainless steel comprises 0 to 0.02 wt% C, 25 to 34 wt% Cr, and balance Fe (Kim, claim 2), meeting the claim limitations of including some carbon, balance Fe to make a steel and more than 15 wt% Cr. Kim discloses where a passive film is formed on the stainless steel base material which includes Cr—Fe oxide, a Mn oxide, a Si oxide, a Nb oxide, and the like (Kim, paragraph [0060]), meeting the claim limitations of where there are chromium and other metal oxides on the surface. However, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the steel has a value of the following surface oxide atomic ratio (1) is 0.2 or more, as measured on a surface of the stainless steel containing 15 wt % or more of Cr by X-ray angle-resolved photoemission spectroscopy using an Al-Kα X-ray source under the condition where a take-off angle of photoelectrons is from 12° to 85°, and a contact angle is 80° or less: Sum of atomic concentrations (at%)of Cr in Cr oxides and Cr hydroxides / sum of atomic concentrations (at %) of metal elements in entire oxides and hydroxides (1) wherein the Cr oxide represents Cr304, Cr2O3, CrO2, or CrO3 and Cr hydroxide represents CrOOH, Cr(OH)2, or Cr(OH)3, and the total oxides and hydroxides include a Cr oxide, the Cr hydroxide, an Fe oxide, an Fe hydroxide, and a metal oxide (MO), and the metal oxide (MO) includes a mixed oxide, wherein M represents an alloying element other than Cr and Fe or a combination thereof in a matrix, and O represents oxygen. Also, Kim does not explicitly disclose the properties claimed in claims 2-3 of a bandgap energy of a surface oxide layer of the stainless steel is 2 eV or less, and wherein the surface oxide layer of the stainless steel forms an ohmic contact with the matrix.
Nevertheless, as Kim discloses the same chemical composition of stainless steel with greater than 15 wt% Cr and with the same structure of oxides on the surface, the steel in Kim would have the same surface oxide atomic ratio (1) is 0.2 or more, where it has a bandgap energy of a surface oxide layer of the stainless steel is 2 eV or less, and wherein the surface oxide layer of the stainless steel forms an ohmic contact with the matrix. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)), see MPEP § 2112.01(II).
In the alternative, Kim also discloses a substantially identical method of manufacture of this stainless steel where the steel with a composition of comprises 0 to 0.02 wt% C, 25 to 34 wt% Cr, and balance Fe (Kim, claim 2) is cold rolled using a cold rolling mill (Kim, paragraph [0060]). Kim discloses where the cold rolled sheet is dipped in a sulfuring acid solution followed by a mixed acid solution of nitric and hydrofluoric acid (Kim, paragraph [0023]), where a sulfuric acid solution reads upon a nonoxidizing acid solution and a nitric acid solution reads upon an oxidizing acid solution, and thereby matching the method of forming the claimed stainless steel as disclosed in paragraph [00092] of cold rolling followed by a primary surface treatment in an nonoxidizing acid solution or electrolyzing the steel sheet after immersion and a secondary surface treatment performed by immersing the sheet in an oxidizing acid solution. As Kim discloses the same starting material, stainless steel sheet with greater than 15 wt% Cr and applies the same method of cold rolling, followed by use of a nonoxidizing and oxidizing acid solution immersion, the same method applied to the same material would necessarily produce the same properties of a surface oxide atomic ratio (1) is 0.2 or more, a bandgap energy of a surface oxide layer of the stainless steel is 2 eV or less, and wherein the surface oxide layer of the stainless steel forms an ohmic contact with the matrix.. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) (emphasis added), see MPEP § 2112.01(I).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 17/786509 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘509 application claims a substantially identical stainless steel with an identical composition with surface oxides and overlapping ratio of oxides. Further, it also claims an identical method of manufacture for the stainless steel sheet. Claims 2-4 of the ‘509 application are also substantially identical to the instant dependent claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 17/785702 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘702 application claims a substantially identical stainless steel with an identical composition with surface oxides and overlapping ratio of oxides. Further, it also claims an identical method of manufacture for the stainless steel sheet. Claims 2-4 of the ‘702 application are also substantially identical to the instant dependent claims..
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the objection to the specification, applicant’s amendment to reduce the number of words in the abstract cures the previous issue and therefore the objection is withdrawn.
With respect to the claim interpretation applied to the claims, application argues that the amendments to the claims render the interpretation moot (Applicant’s remarks, pg. 5, 5th paragraph). However, as none of the claim amendments address the composition of the stainless steel, the claim interpretation is needed to define what the scope of a “stainless steel” encompasses. Therefore the claim interpretation of the claims continues to be relevant.
With respect to the 112(b) indefiniteness rejections, applicant’s amendment to delete excellent surface hydrophilicity and electrical conductivity as well as to recite a surface oxide layer and in line 4 to recite the stainless steel cures the indefiniteness issues. However, see new 112(b) rejection of claim 2 concerning “a surface oxide layer” above.
With respect to the 102/103 rejection over Kim, applicant argues that Kim differs from the present embodiment in that Kim does not disclose anything regarding the securing of surface hydrophilicity (Applicant’s remarks, pg. 6, 4th paragraph).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., surface hydrophilicity) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant also argues that the present embodiment addresses the conventional problems in stainless steel for fuel cell separators concerning the high penetration resistance of the passive film and flooding phenomenon caused by insufficient surface hydrophilicity which is obtained by controlling the surface oxide element ratio to 0.2 or more and the bandgap of the surface oxide layer is lowered to 2eV or less thereby thinning the passive film (Applicant’s remarks, pg. 6, last paragraph – pg. 7 1st paragraph). Applicant argues that in contrast Kim is concerned with controlling the Cr/Fe atomic ratio in a region within 1nm thickness of the substrate adjacent to the interface whereas the instant embodiment measures the ratios of Cr and all metal elements and the securing of hydrophilicity is not an essential consideration of Kim (Applicant’s remarks, pg. 7, 2nd paragraph).
In response to applicant's argument that Kim fails to disclose the surface oxide atomic ratio formula (1) and the bandgap energy as the instant application provides a stainless steel with excellent surface electrical conductivity for fuel cell separators which have semi-conductor characteristics, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). As noted above, Kim discloses an anticipatory composition and an patentably indistinct method of manufacture. As such, it is not clear how the substantially identical method applied to the identical compositional starting material would not produce the same properties. While applicant may have applied a new way to quantify the product, this does not demonstrate that the product is not obvious in view of the Kim disclosure. Thus applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Finally, applicant addresses the Double Patenting rejections over copending applications 17/786509 and 17/785702 by arguing that the claims are not rendered obvious because the effects of the present embodiments are not achieved by the ‘509 and ‘702 application as the instant invention controls the Cr in Cr oxides and hydroxides by the sum of metal elements in all oxides and hydroxides whereas the ‘509 application defines the numerator as “all metal oxides” and thus focuses on suppressing the total amount of all metal oxides rather than a specific group of elements and ‘702 application instead defines the numerator as Cr hydroxides and both the ‘509 and ‘702 applications have as an objective as the improvement of electrical conductivity and disclosed no quantitative limitations regarding surface hydrophilicity (Applicant’s remarks, pg. 8 1st paragraph – pg. 9 2nd paragraph).
However, while applicant is measuring properties in different ways, there is nothing of record to establish that these application’s claims are directed to patentably distinct products. This is demonstrated by the method claims for each of these applications that disclose identical methods of manufacture for the product. As they all disclose identical compositions and apply substantially identical processes thereto, it is unclear how the same method applied to the same materials could have patentably distinct properties. Thus, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the Double Patenting rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA S CARPENTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/JOPHY S. KOSHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733