DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Applicant's election with traverse of the species, 5-[3-((R)(+)-6,8-Dibromo-chroman-4-ylamino)-propylamino]-4H-thieno[3,2-b]pyridine-7-one, in the reply filed on 1/9/26 is acknowledged. There are no stated grounds for the traversal. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-10, 17-22, 30-31, 33 are pending. Claims 9-10 have been withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a non-elected species. Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 17-22, 30-31, 33 are examined herein insofar as they read on the elected invention and species.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 17-22, 30-31, 33 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 8,658,670 in view of Argou-Cardozo et al. (“Clostridium Bacteria and Autism Spectrum Conditions: A Systematic Review and Hypothetical Contribution of Environmental Glyphosate Levels,” Med. Sci. 2018, 6, 29).
The referenced claims recite a method of treating Clostridium based infection in a mammal by administering a MetRS inhibitor of formula IIa, for example 5-[3-((R)(+)-6,8-Dibromo-chroman-4-ylamino)-propylamino]-4H-thieno[3,2-b]pyridine-7-one (claims 1-2).
However, the refenced claims fail to disclose ASD.
Argou-Cardozo et al. teach the association between Clostridium bacteria colonization of the intestinal tract and ASD.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have administered 5-[3-((R)(+)-6,8-Dibromo-chroman-4-ylamino)-propylamino]-4H-thieno[3,2-b]pyridine-7-one, as taught by the referenced claims, to a subject with ASD, as taught by Argou-Cardozo et al.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer 5-[3-((R)(+)-6,8-Dibromo-chroman-4-ylamino)-propylamino]-4H-thieno[3,2-b]pyridine-7-one to a subject with ASD because 5-[3-((R)(+)-6,8-Dibromo-chroman-4-ylamino)-propylamino]-4H-thieno[3,2-b]pyridine-7-one is well-known to be useful for treating Clostridium infection. Since subjects with ASD are known to be associated with Clostridium infection, it would be obvious to administer 5-[3-((R)(+)-6,8-Dibromo-chroman-4-ylamino)-propylamino]-4H-thieno[3,2-b]pyridine-7-one to treat Clostridium infection in a subject with ASD and expect a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention. Specifically, claims 30-31 recites the limitation "the microbiota supplementation therapy" in claim 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guiles et al. (US Patent 8,658,670, of record).
Guiles et al. teach a method of treating Clostridium based infection in a mammal by administering a MetRS inhibitor of formula IIa, for example 5-[3-((R)(+)-6,8-Dibromo-chroman-4-ylamino)-propylamino]-4H-thieno[3,2-b]pyridine-7-one (claims 1-2).
It is noted that “preventing the onset of autism spectrum disorder” will necessarily occur since all the elemental steps of the method claim have been taught by the reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 17-22, 30-31, 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guiles et al. (US Patent 8,658,670, of record) in view of Argou-Cardozo et al. (“Clostridium Bacteria and Autism Spectrum Conditions: A Systematic Review and Hypothetical Contribution of Environmental Glyphosate Levels,” Med. Sci. 2018, 6, 29).
The instant claims are directed to a method of treating autism spectrum disorder (ASD) by administering a MetRS inhibitor of formula I.
Guiles et al. teach a method of treating Clostridium based infection in a mammal by administering a MetRS inhibitor of formula IIa, for example 5-[3-((R)(+)-6,8-Dibromo-chroman-4-ylamino)-propylamino]-4H-thieno[3,2-b]pyridine-7-one (claims 1-2).
However, Guiles et al. fail to disclose ASD.
Argou-Cardozo et al. teach the association between Clostridium bacteria colonization of the intestinal tract and ASD.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have administered 5-[3-((R)(+)-6,8-Dibromo-chroman-4-ylamino)-propylamino]-4H-thieno[3,2-b]pyridine-7-one, as taught by Guiles et al., to a subject with ASD, as taught by Argou-Cardozo et al.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer 5-[3-((R)(+)-6,8-Dibromo-chroman-4-ylamino)-propylamino]-4H-thieno[3,2-b]pyridine-7-one to a subject with ASD because 5-[3-((R)(+)-6,8-Dibromo-chroman-4-ylamino)-propylamino]-4H-thieno[3,2-b]pyridine-7-one is well-known to be useful for treating Clostridium infection. Since subjects with ASD are known to be associated with Clostridium infection, it would be obvious to administer 5-[3-((R)(+)-6,8-Dibromo-chroman-4-ylamino)-propylamino]-4H-thieno[3,2-b]pyridine-7-one to treat Clostridium infection in a subject with ASD and expect a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/Yong S. Chong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623