DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 06 December 2025 and Information Disclosure Statements filed on 23 May 2023 and 11 June 2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 09/11/2025 has been entered. The claims have been amended, previously presented and original as follows: I. Claims are amended: 1.
II. Claims are Previously presented: 7-15.
III. Claims are original: 2-6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. I. Applicant arguing that Osterling fails to anticipate Claim 1 because Osterling allegedly dedicates the entire first word(W=0) to control purposes, whereas Claim1 requires control bits to be only part of the first word, with data transmitted in the remaining bits. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation, Osterling anticipates these limitations. Osterling teaches that the word length T varies with CPRI line bit rate (e.g., T=8, 16, or 32 bits)¶[0055]. However, fundamental control information, such as the synchronization symbol (e.g., K28.5), remains fixed (e.g., 10 bits) regardless of the line rates increase(¶[0065]). Therefore, at higher line rates (e.g., 2457.6 Mbps where T=32), the bits corresponding to the control information inherently occupy only a part of the total bits available in the first word.) Regarding “transmitting data in bits”. Osterling teaches transmitting the entire word W=0 over the link ¶[0055]-[0056].) Under BRI, “data” encompasses any transmitted information, including reserved or unused bits within the word structure. II. Applicant argues that Zhong and Bruckman fail to teach transmitting data in bits of the first word other than the control word. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhong teaches the problem low transmission efficiency in CPRI interfaces and teaches manipulating the CPRI frame structure to improve bandwidth utilization(¶[0005], [0031], [0062]). Zhong teaches adjusting overhead bearing areas and using words except the control word for protocol channels, implying flexibility in the control/overhead region ¶[0062].Based on the above reasons, the examiner maintains prior art rejection based on previously cited art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterling (US 20080225816 A1) in view of Zhong et al (US 20180139649A1).
With regarding Claim 1, Osterling disclose a data transmission method, comprising: carrying control information or signaling information between a building baseband unit (BBU) and a radio remote unit (RRU) in a control word of a basic frame (See FIG. 4 and ¶[0005], [0016], [0018], [0043], [0055], [0059], [0062]
[0018] The control information includes a known symbol for use in obtaining synchronization between the REC and the RE. carrying control information (sync, C&M, L1) in the control word of a basic frame.), wherein bits corresponding to the control word are part of bits of a first word of the basic frame (See FIG. 7-9 and ¶[0043], [0055]-[0057], [0060]-[0067]
[0055] A basic frame consists of 16 words with index W=0 . . . 15. The word with the index W=0 is used as a control word (CW). The remaining words (W=1 . . . 15), 15/16 of the basic frame are dedicated to the user plane IQ data shown in the figure as the IQ data block. The word length T depends on the total data rate, which is referred to as the CPRI line bit rate. At higher rates, the bits corresponding to the control information(e.g., 10 bits) occupy only that the control bits are a subset (part) of the first word’s bits. Disclosed variable word length structure inherently discloses this limitation at higher line rates.) and Osterling may not explicitly disclose transmitting data in bits other than the control word in the first word of the basic frame and words other than the first word. However, in analogous art, Zhong disclose transmitting data in bits other than the control word in the first word of the basic frame and words other than the first word (See FIG. 11A- 11C. and ¶[0005], [0031], [0062], [0056], [0084]. Disclosed utilization in CPRI interfaces and teaches ,manipulating the CPRI frame structure to improve efficiency, filling unused timeslots/bits with data to optimize bandwidth, and adjusting overhead bearing areas to free up space for payload.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Zhong to modify Osterling in order to implement variable word length creates unused capacity in the control world at high rates. And Zhong’s teaches to improve bandwidth utilization by manipulating overhead and filling unused slots, it would be obvious to utilize the unused bits in Osterling’s first word for data transmission. This combination yields increased data throughput without increasing the line bit rate. With regarding Claim 2, Osterling disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein carrying the control information or signaling information between the BBU and the RRU in the control word of the basic frame, comprises: acquiring a bandwidth occupied by the control information or the signaling information at a current line bit rate (See ¶[0016], [0062].[0016] The control and management information includes both fast and slow control and management information; and the L1 signaling indicates the bit rate of both.[0062] Subchannel 2 includes layer 1 in-band protocol information including the interface version, the slow C&M link bit rate (if present), L1 control (e.g., reset of RE, SAP usage, etc.), the L1 status (signal presence and quality, end-point fault, etc.). ); determining, according to a preset correspondence relationship between the bandwidth occupied by the control information or the signaling information and a bandwidth occupied by the control word at different line bit rates, a target bandwidth occupied by the control word corresponding to the current line bit rate (See ¶[0055], [0062][0055] Three alternative data rates, each with differing word lengths are available: 614.4 Mbit/s (length of word T=8); 1228.8 Mbit/s (length of word T=16), shown in FIG. 8; and 2457.6 Mbit/s, (length of word T=32) shown in FIG. 9.[0062] The fast C&M which uses Ethernet has a bandwidth of 0.96 mbps*N at 1.22.8 line bit rate, where N is the number of subchannels allocated. Subchannels 3-15 are reserved for frame or other uses, and subchannels 16 up through the pointer subchannel for the fast C&M include vendor-specific information.) ; and carrying the control information or the signaling information with the control word corresponding to the determined target bandwidth (See ¶[0055], [0059]-[0060].[0055] A basic frame consists of 16 words with index W=0 . . . 15. The word with the index W=0 is used as a control word (CW). [0059] The data control information are multiplexed together in the basic frame. FIG. 12 illustrates how multiple antenna carriers AxC 1 . . . AxC N, each having multiple user data (IQ) samples U.sub.1, U.sub.2, . . . , etc., are multiplexed with a series of control words (CW) at a first multiplexing level 1. In turn, each control word corresponds to various control information which has been multiplexed onto the control word stream at a second multiplexing level 2. The control information includes timing, layer 1 (L1) signaling, C&M information, and extension information.).
With regarding Claim 3, Osterling disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein before carrying the control information or signaling information between the BBU and the RRU in the control word of the basic frame, the method further comprises: determining, according to a use scenario at the current line bit rate, that the control information or the signaling information occupies a bandwidth M times of a reference bandwidth, wherein the reference bandwidth is a bandwidth occupied by the control information or the signaling information at a line bit rate of 614.4Mbps (See FIG. 7, 13 and ¶[0055], [0062], [Claim 4][0055] A basic frame consists of 16 words with index W=0 . . . 15. The word with the index W=0 is used as a control word (CW). The remaining words (W=1 . . . 15), 15/16 of the basic frame are dedicated to the user plane IQ data shown in the figure as the IQ data block. The word length T depends on the total data rate, which is referred to as the CPRI line bit rate. Three alternative data rates, each with differing word lengths are available: 614.4 Mbit/s (length of word T=8);[Claim 4] wherein a rate of transmission over the transmission link is approximately or otherwise on the order of 614.4 Mbit/s.); determining, under the use scenario, that the control information or the signaling information occupies 8*M bits in each basic frame, wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (See FIG. 7, 13 and ¶[0055], [0062].[0055] The TDMA information is carried over the CPRI interface in frames. In the non-limiting example implementation, the length of a basic frame illustrated in FIG. 7 is 1 WCDMA chip period.fwdarw.Tchip=1/3.84 MHz=260.416667 ns. A basic frame consists of 16 words with index W=0 . . . 15. The word with the index W=0 is used as a control word (CW). The remaining words (W=1 . . . 15), 15/16 of the basic frame are dedicated to the user plane IQ data shown in the figure as the IQ data block. The word length T depends on the total data rate, which is referred to as the CPRI line bit rate. Three alternative data rates, each with differing word lengths are available: 614.4 Mbit/s (length of word T=8); 1228.8 Mbit/s (length of word T=16), shown in FIG. 8; and 2457.6 Mbit/s, (length of word T=32) shown in FIG. 9.).
With regarding Claim 4, Osterling disclose the method according to claim 1, Osterling may not explicitly disclose The method according to claim 1, wherein transmitting data in the bits other than the control word in the first word of the basic frame and the words other than the first word comprises: combining N basic frames according to a frame format at N times the line bit rate to obtain a virtual frame, wherein N is a positive integer capable of being divided by 150, the virtual frame includes the N basic frames, and merely a first basic frame in the N basic frames includes the control word; combining 256 virtual frames into a superframe, and combining 150/N superframes into a radio frame; and transmitting data with the radio frame. However, in analogous art, Zhong disclose he method according to claim 1, wherein transmitting data in the bits other than the control word in the first word of the basic frame and the words other than the first word comprises: combining N basic frames according to a frame format at N times the line bit rate to obtain a virtual frame, wherein N is a positive integer capable of being divided by 150, the virtual frame includes the N basic frames, and merely a first basic frame in the N basic frames includes the control word (See FIG. 9, and ¶ [0007]-[0008], [0062], [0014]-[0015], [0049].[0008] With reference to the first possible implementation of the first aspect, in a second possible implementation of the first aspect, placing the super frame of the virtual elastic CPRI into at least one timeslot of the multiple timeslots in the frame structure of the physical interface to obtain a new data frame includes placing another byte other than a second synchronization byte in the super frame of the virtual elastic CPRI into at least one timeslot of the multiple timeslots in the frame structure of the super frame of the CPRI physical interface to obtain a new data frame, where the second synchronization byte is a first word of a first basic frame of multiple basic frames in the super frame of the virtual elastic CPRI.[0048] Step S101: Construct a super frame of a virtual elastic CPRI, where the super frame of the virtual elastic CPRI is a data frame of a CPRI physical interface that is equivalent to N times of a reference rate, and N is a positive integer.[0051] Optionally, super frames of multiple CPRI physical interfaces that are equivalent to N times of the reference rate may be sequentially arranged in a word extension sequence to construct a data frame of the virtual elastic CPRI. A data frame shown in FIG. 4A is a super frame that is of a virtual elastic CPRI and that is obtained by arranging, in a byte sequence, super frames of two CPRI physical interfaces that are equivalent to one time of the reference rate, and a data frame in FIG. 4B is a super frame that is of a virtual elastic CPRI and that is obtained by arranging, in a byte sequence, super frames of two CPRI physical interfaces that are equivalent to two times of the reference rate.); combining 256 virtual frames into a superframe, and combining 150/N superframes into a radio frame; and transmitting data with the radio frame (See FIG. 9, and ¶ [0003-[0004], [0011], [0015], [0017], [0066] Claim 12..[0066] In specific implementation, a data frame in a 10 ms frame period of the CPRI physical interface includes 150 super frames, each super frame includes 256 basic frames, and a rate of the basic frame is 3840000 fps (150×256/10 ms=3.84 Mfps). Each basic frame includes 16 words, each word includes N bytes, and a quantity N of bytes of each word is related to a rate option of the CPRI physical interface. As shown in FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B,[0011] With reference to the first aspect, in a fifth possible implementation of the first aspect, placing the super frame of the virtual elastic CPRI into at least one timeslot of the multiple timeslots in the frame structure of the physical interface to obtain a new data frame includes placing, according to a byte arrangement sequence in the super frame of the virtual elastic CPRI, the super frame of the virtual elastic CPRI into the at least one timeslot of the multiple timeslots in the frame structure of the physical interface to obtain the new data frame.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Zhong to modify Osterling in order to implement a Virtual frame structure that accommodates higher data rates while maintaining compatibility with existing CPRI infrastructure. Osterling teaches the fundamental CPRI frame structure where a basic frame consists of 16 words with W=0 as the control word and W=1-15 hyperframes into radio interface radio frames. Zhong teaches constructing a virtual elastic CPRI superframe that is equivalent to N times of reference rate, where N is a positive integer [0048], and arranging super frames of multiple CPRI physical interfaces that are equivalent to N times of the reference rate to construct a data frame of virtual elastic CPRI[0051]. The combination would result in a system that combines N basic frames according to a frame format at N times the line bit rate to obtain a virtual frame, combine 256 virtual frames into a superframe, and combines 150/N superframes into radio frame, thereby enabling flexible bandwidth allocation for evolving wireless communication systems while maintaining backward compatibility with existing CPRI implementations.
With regarding Claim 5, Osterling and Zhong disclose the method according to claim 4, Osterling may not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises: setting the control word of a first basic frame of the superframe in a middle bit of the first word of the first basic frame, and setting a synchronization byte in the control word of the first basic frame of the superframe. However, in analogous art, Zhong disclose wherein the method further comprises: setting the control word of a first basic frame of the superframe in a middle bit of the first word of the first basic frame, and setting a synchronization byte in the control word of the first basic frame of the superframe (See FIG. 1, 2A-2B and ¶ [0048]-[0049], [0066], [0088], [0109].[0049] A control word of the first basic frame in the super frame is a synchronization byte of the super frame, and for different rate options, composition of the synchronization byte is different. For example, an ×1 rate option uses 8B/10B encoding and uses a character 0xBC as a synchronization byte [#Z.0.0], an ×20 rate option uses 64B/66B encoding, synchronization bytes [#Z.0.0-#Z.0.19] have 20 bytes, and except that [#Z.0.7] is 0xFD, an end character in the 64B/66B encoding is defined as/T/, [#Z.0.8]=0xFD, and a start character in the 64B/66B encoding is defined as/S/, all other characters are padding characters 0x50.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Zhong to modify Osterling in order to implement an enhanced synchronization mechanism for virtual frame structures. Osterling teaches the basic CPRI frame structure with control words containing synchronization information, including the use of K28.5 symbols for synchronization. Zhong teaches that a control word of the first basic frame in the super frame is a synchronization byte of the super frame, and for different rate options, composition of the synchronization byte is different. The combination would result in setting a synchronization byte in the control word of the first basic frame of superframe, with the synchronization byte configuration varying according to the transmission rate option, thereby providing a robust synchronization mechanism that adapts to different virtual frame configurations and transmission rates while maintaining reliable frame alignment in the virtual elastic CPRI interface.
With regarding Claim 6, Osterling disclose the method according to claim 4, Osterling may not explicitly disclose wherein transmitting data in the bits other than the control word in the first word of the basic frame and the words other than the first word comprises: carrying data in words other than the first word; carrying newly added data in bits of the first word other than the control word; and performing data transmission with the basic frame. However, in analogous art, Zhong disclose wherein transmitting data in the bits other than the control word in the first word of the basic frame and the words other than the first word comprises: carrying data in words other than the first word; carrying newly added data in bits of the first word other than the control word; and performing data transmission with the basic frame. (See FIG. 1, 2A-2B and ¶[0007], [0017]-[0018], [0047]-[0049], [0062].[0049] Each basic frame includes one control word and 15 data words. The first word of the basic frame is the control word, the control word is used for interface control and an overhead, other words in the basic frame are the data words, and the data words are used to divide multiple single-carrier single-antenna IQ data areas to carry IQ data. A control word of the first basic frame in the super frame is a synchronization byte of the super frame, and for different rate options, composition of the synchronization byte is different. For example, an ×1 rate option uses 8B/10B encoding and uses a character 0xBC as a synchronization byte [#Z.0.0], an ×20 rate option uses 64B/66B encoding, synchronization bytes [#Z.0.0-#Z.0.19] have 20 bytes, and except that [#Z.0.7] is 0xFD, an end character in the 64B/66B encoding is defined as/T/, [#Z.0.8]=0xFD, and a start character in the 64B/66B encoding is defined as/S/, all other characters are padding characters 0x50.[0062] As shown in FIG. 11A, FIG. 11B, and FIG. 11C, the overhead bearing area of one basic frame is newly added to every 32 basic frames. In the newly-added eight basic frames, control words of the first four basic frames are used to carry a newly-added overhead such as GID, Next Port ID (NPID), This Port ID (TPID), Virtual CPRI Identification (VID), or a synchronization byte, all the last 15 words are reserved for another purpose, and another word except the control word in the last four basic frames may be used as the protocol channel for negotiating the mapping relationship with the receive end.[0017] With reference to the first aspect, or the first to the tenth possible implementations of the first aspect, in an eleventh possible implementation of the first aspect, the method further includes setting a control word of a second basic frame of the new data frame as a protocol channel for negotiating a mapping relationship with the receive end, or adding a third basic frame to the new data frame and using another word in the third basic frame except the control word as a protocol channel for negotiating a mapping relationship with the receive end, where the mapping relationship is an arrangement relationship of placing the super frame of the virtual elastic CPRI into the at least one timeslot of the multiple timeslots in the frame structure of the physical interface.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Zhong to modify Osterling in order to implement enhanced overhead capabilities within the CPRI frame structure. Osterling teaches the standard CPRI frame structure where the first word is the control word and the remaining words carry user data. Zhong teaches that control words of the first four basic frames are used to carry a newly-added overhead such as GID, NPID, TPID, VID, or a synchronization byte and describes how another word except the control word in the last four basic frames is used as the protocol channel for negotiating mapping relationships. The combination would result in carrying data in words other than the first word while utilizing specific fields within the control word structure for newly added overhead information, thereby enabling the virtual elastic CPRI to support additional functionality such as interface identification, protocol negotiation, and synchronization while maintaining compatibility with the standard CPRI frame format. With regarding Claim 8, Osterling disclose a data transmission apparatus, comprising: a carrying module configured to carry control information or signaling information between a building baseband unit (BBU) and a radio remote unit (RRU) in a control word of a basic frame, wherein bits corresponding to the control word are part of bits of a first word of the basic frame (See FIG. 4, 14 ¶[0002], [0055], [0062]- [0064], [0016], [0018], [0055], [0059].
[0018] The control information includes a known symbol for use in obtaining synchronization between the REC and the RE.), wherein bits corresponding to the control word are part of bits of a first word of the basic frame (See FIG. 9 and ¶[0043], [0055], [0067]
[0055] A basic frame consists of 16 words with index W=0 . . . 15. The word with the index W=0 is used as a control word (CW). The remaining words (W=1 . . . 15), 15/16 of the basic frame are dedicated to the user plane IQ data shown in the figure as the IQ data block. The word length T depends on the total data rate, which is referred to as the CPRI line bit rate.; and a data transmission module configured to transmit data in bits other than the control word in the first word of the basic frame and words other than the first word(See FIG. 10 and ¶[0002], [0067], [0055], [0057]- [0059]The remaining words (W=1 . . . 15), 15/16 of the basic frame are dedicated to the user plane IQ data shown in the figure as the IQ data block. The word length T depends on the total data rate, which is referred to as the CPRI line bit rate. Three alternative data rates, each with differing word lengths are available: 614.4 Mbit/s (length of word T=8); 1228.8 Mbit/s (length of word T=16), shown in FIG. 8; and 2457.6 Mbit/s, (length of word T=32) shown in FIG. 9.[0057] An AxC container carries an IQ data block in the basic frame. It contains N IQ samples from the same AxC, where N is the oversampling ratio. IQ sample(s) are sent in an AxC container in accordance with either a "packed position" or a "flexible position" in the basic frame. Both are illustrated in FIG. 10.[0059] The data control information are multiplexed together in the basic frame. FIG. 12 illustrates how multiple antenna carriers AxC 1 . . . AxC N, each having multiple user data (IQ) samples U.sub.1, U.sub.2, . . . , etc., are multiplexed with a series of control words (CW) at a first multiplexing level 1. In turn, each control word corresponds to various control information which has been multiplexed onto the control word stream at a second multiplexing level 2).
With regarding Claim 9, Osterling may not explicitly disclose a computer-readable non-instantaneous storage medium with a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program is configured to, when executed, causes the method according to claim l to be implemented. However, in analogous art, Zhong disclose a computer-readable non-instantaneous storage medium with a computer program stored thereon (See FIG. 13 ¶[0133].[0133] A person of ordinary skill in the art may understand that all or some of the steps of the methods in the embodiments may be implemented by a program instructing relevant hardware. The program may be stored in a computer readable storage medium. The storage medium may include a flash memory, a Read-Only Memory (ROM), a RAM, a magnetic disk, and an optical disc.), wherein the computer program is configured to, when executed, causes the method according to claim 1 to be implemented (See FIG. 13 ¶[0130]-[0133].[0130] The memory 1304 may be a high-speed random access memory (RAM), or may be a non-volatile memory, such as at least one disk memory. Optionally, the memory 1304 may be at least one storage apparatus located far away from the processor 1301. The memory 1304 stores a program code, and the processor 1301 is configured to invoke the program code stored in the memory 1304 to perform the operation steps of constructing a super frame of a virtual elastic CPRI, where the super frame of the virtual elastic CPRI is a data frame of a CPRI physical interface that is equivalent to N times of a reference rate, and N is a positive integer, dividing a frame structure of a physical interface into multiple timeslots, where bandwidth of the timeslots is not less than the reference rate, placing the super frame of the virtual elastic CPRI into at least one timeslot of the multiple timeslots in the frame structure of the physical interface to obtain a new data frame, and sending the new data frame to a receive end using the physical interface and using the transmitter 1305.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Zhong to modify Osterling in order to implement a computer-readable storage medium for CPRI frame transmission method. Osterling teaches the fundamental method for providing control information and user information over a CPRI interface, including the frame structure and transmission techniques. Zhong teaches that the memory stores a group of program code, and the processor is configured to invoke the program code stored in the memory to perform the operations of constructing virtual elastic CPRI superframe. The combination would result in a computer-readable non-instantaneous storage medium with a computer program stored thereon that, when executed, causes the virtual elastic CPRI frame transmission method to be implemented, thereby enabling flexible software-based implementation of the virtual frame structure that can be readily updated or modified without requiring hardware changes to the radio equipment controller.
With regarding Claim 10, Osterling may not explicitly disclose an electronic apparatus, comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory has a computer program stored thereon, and the processor is configured to execute the computer program to perform the method according to claim 1. However, in analogous art, Zhong disclose an electronic apparatus, comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory has a computer program stored thereon, and the processor is configured to execute the computer program to perform the method according to claim 1. (See FIG. 13 ¶[0130]-[0133].[0130] The memory 1304 may be a high-speed random access memory (RAM), or may be a non-volatile memory, such as at least one disk memory. Optionally, the memory 1304 may be at least one storage apparatus located far away from the processor 1301. The memory 1304 stores a program code, and the processor 1301 is configured to invoke the program code stored in the memory 1304 to perform the operation steps of constructing a super frame of a virtual elastic CPRI, where the super frame of the virtual elastic CPRI is a data frame of a CPRI physical interface that is equivalent to N times of a reference rate, and N is a positive integer, dividing a frame structure of a physical interface into multiple timeslots, where bandwidth of the timeslots is not less than the reference rate, placing the super frame of the virtual elastic CPRI into at least one timeslot of the multiple timeslots in the frame structure of the physical interface to obtain a new data frame, and sending the new data frame to a receive end using the physical interface and using the transmitter 1305.[0133] A person of ordinary skill in the art may understand that all or some of the steps of the methods in the embodiments may be implemented by a program instructing relevant hardware. The program may be stored in a computer readable storage medium. The storage medium may include a flash memory, a Read-Only Memory (ROM), a RAM, a magnetic disk, and an optical disc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Zhong to modify Osterling in order to implement a computer-readable storage medium for CPRI frame transmission method. Osterling teaches the fundamental method for providing control information and user information over a CPRI interface, including the frame structure and transmission techniques. Zhong teaches that the memory stores a group of program code, and the processor is configured to invoke the program code stored in the memory to perform the operations of constructing virtual elastic CPRI superframe. The combination would result in a computer-readable non-instantaneous storage medium with a computer program stored thereon that, when executed, causes the virtual elastic CPRI frame transmission method to be implemented, thereby enabling flexible software-based implementation of the virtual frame structure that can be readily updated or modified without requiring hardware changes to the radio equipment controller.
Claims 7, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterling and Zhong et al. as applied to claims 1/4 above, and further in view of Bruckman et al (US 20150180575 A1).
With regarding Claim 7 Osterling disclose the method according to claim 1 (See FIG. 1, 2A-2B and ¶[0055], [0062]-[0065], [0068]), Osterling may not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises: checking data carried in the bits of the first word other than the control word, to obtain a first check code; checking data carried in the words other than the first word, to obtain a second check code; and carrying the first check code and the second check code in the control word. However, in analogous art, Bruckman disclose wherein the method further comprises: checking data carried in the bits of the first word other than the control word, to obtain a first check code (See FIG. 2 ¶[0052], [0061]-[0062], [0068], [0029], [0085], [0057].[0052] FIG. 2 is a diagram that schematically depicts CPRI frame hierarchy, in accordance with an embodiment that is described herein. As seen in FIG. 2, CPRI signals are delivered in a hierarchical framing structure. In accordance with the CPRI specifications cited above, a CPRI frame comprises 150 hyper frames that are indexed by the letter Z, a hyper frame comprises 256 basic frames that are indexed by the letter X, and a basic frame comprises sixteen words that are indexed by the letter W. Each word comprises one or more bytes (depending on the CPRI rate option) that are indexed by the letter Y. The word indexed by W=0 comprises a control word.[0061] Columns 1-14 of the ODUK frame comprise an ODUK Overhead (OH) area, an OTUK OH area and a Frame Alignment (FA) OH area. The overhead areas of the OTUK and ODUK frames typically carry information regarding alarm indications, error monitoring, maintenance signals and protection switch control channels.); checking data carried in the words other than the first word, to obtain a second check code; and carrying the first check code and the second check code in the control word 0575 (See FIG. 2 ¶[0009], [0029], [0039], [0052], [0061]-[0062], [0085].[0085] PCS 108 identifies the start of CPRI hyper frames by detecting the synchronization symbol K28.5 among the CPRI symbols. PCS 108 discards the K28.5 synchronization symbol, and sets the respective byte Z.0.0 to 0x00 or 0x01 depending on whether the PCS detects (or not) an error in the CPRI signal.[0029] , in place of the discarded synchronization symbol an alarm indication character that indicates error events relating to the CPRI signal.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Bruckman to modify Osterling and Zhong in order to implement a comprehensive error checking mechanism for CPRI frame transmission. Osterling teaches the fundamental CPRI frame structure where the first word W=0 is the control word containing status information and verifies HFN for synchronization. Bruckman teaches error handling that identifies HFN sequence patterns and uses alarm signals to indicate error events. The combination results in checking control information fields to obtain a first check code, checking data portion integrity to obtain a second check code, and carrying both error indicates within the control word structure, providing robust error detection while maintaining CPRI compatibility.
With regarding Claim 11 Osterling disclose 103-0575 Bruckman-11. (New) The method according to claim 2, Osterling may not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises: checking data carried in the bits of the first word other than the control word, to obtain a first check code; checking data carried in the word other than the first word, to obtain a second check code; and carrying the first check code and the second check code in the control word. However, in analogous art, Bruckman disclose wherein the method further comprises: checking data carried in the bits of the first word other than the control word, to obtain a first check code (See ¶[0008], [0068]-[0069], [0052].[0052] FIG. 2 is a diagram that schematically depicts CPRI frame hierarchy, in accordance with an embodiment that is described herein. As seen in FIG. 2, CPRI signals are delivered in a hierarchical framing structure. In accordance with the CPRI specifications cited above, a CPRI frame comprises 150 hyper frames that are indexed by the letter Z, a hyper frame comprises 256 basic frames that are indexed by the letter X, and a basic frame comprises sixteen words that are indexed by the letter W. Each word comprises one or more bytes (depending on the CPRI rate option) that are indexed by the letter Y. The word indexed by W=0 comprises a control word.); checking data carried in the word other than the first word, to obtain a second check code (See ¶[0068]-[0069], [0060].[0060] The OTUK frame is organized as a rectangle structure having four lines and 4080 columns. The first 3824 columns of the OTUK frame comprise an ODUK frame, and the remaining 3825-4080 columns comprise a Forward Error correction Code (FEC) of the OTUK frame, e.g., a Reed-Solomon (RS) FEC code.); and carrying the first check code and the second check code in the control word (See ¶[0068]-[0069], [0057].[0057] In the disclosed techniques, the CPRI signals are sent over network 32 after stripping the line coding with which the CPRI signals are received. Sending 8-bit instead of 10-bit symbols achieves a 20% reduction in the data rate over the network. The 8-bit characters are recovered from the 10-bit symbols and mapped into communication frames to be sent over network 32. Moreover, since only 8-bit characters are sent over the network, the synchronization symbol K28.5 is discarded and alternative novel synchronization mechanisms are employed, as will be described below. In some embodiments, instead of sending the synchronization symbol K28.5 for the control byte Z.0.0, the control byte Z.0.0 uses for delivering an alarm signal as will be described below.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Bruckman to modify Osterling and Zhong in order to implement a comprehensive error checking mechanism for dynamic bandwidth allocation. Osterling teaches bandwidth acquisition and determination. L1 signaling indicates the bit rate of both control and management information. Bruckman teaches identifying an input frame carrying a Hyper frame number HFN and to infer a position of a first input frame in the hyper frame and error indication mechanism. The combination results in checking control information fields to obtain a first check code, checking data portion integrity to obtain a second check code, and carrying both error indicates within the control word structure, providing immediate error feedback for bandwidth adjustment.
With regarding Claim 12 Osterling disclose the method according to claim 3, Osterling may not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises: checking data carried in the bits of the first word other than the control word, to obtain a first check code; checking data carried in the word other than the first word, to obtain a second check code; and carrying the first check code and the second check code in the control word. However, in analogous art, Bruckman disclose wherein the method further comprises: checking data carried in the bits of the first word other than the control word, to obtain a first check code (See FIG. 2 ¶[0007]-[0008], [0049]-[0052].[0052] Step S102: Divide a frame structure of a physical interface into multiple timeslots, where bandwidth of the timeslots is not less than the reference rate.); checking data carried in the word other than the first word, to obtain a second check code (See FIG. 3A ¶[0007]-[0008], [0057]-[0060].0057 The second synchronization byte is the first word of the first basic frame of multiple basic frames in the super frame of the virtual elastic CPRI. A frame structure shown in FIG. 3A is a new data frame obtained by placing another byte other than the second synchronization byte in the super frame of the virtual elastic CPRI into the second timeslot and the fourth timeslot in the frame structure of the super frame of the CPRI physical interface.); and carrying the first check code and the second check code in the control word (See FIG. 3A ¶[0007]-[0008], [0057]-[0060].[0060] Step S104: Send the new data frame to a receive end using the physical interface.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Bruckman to modify Osterling and Zhong in order to implement a comprehensive error checking mechanism for dynamic bandwidth allocation. Osterling teaches bandwidth acquisition and determination. L1 signaling indicates the bit rate of both control and management information. Bruckman teaches dual verification approach checking field that is expected to contain the HFN increments monotonically and cyclically and frame reconstruction based on error status. The combination results in checking control information fields for first check code, verifying data integrity for second check code and carrying both error indications in the control word, providing standardized error verification that scales appropriately with different line bit rates.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterling and Zhong et al. as applied to claims 1/4 above, and further in view of Bruckman et al (US 20210243778 A1).
With regarding claim 13, Osterling in view of Zhong discloses all features of claims 1 and 4 above. Osterling in view of Zhong may not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises: checking data carried in the bits of the first word other than the control word, to obtain a first check code; checking data carried in the word other than the first word, to obtain a second check code; and carrying the first check code and the second check code in the control word. However, in analogous art, Bruckman disclose wherein the method further comprises: checking data carried in the bits of the first word other than the control word, to obtain a first check code (See FIG. 2 ¶[0009], [0040], [0052], [0054], [0056], [0057], [0091]-[0094])[0040] In an embodiment, to identify the basic frames carrying the HFN, the BBU or RRH interface divides the basic frames into multiple interleaved sub-sequences each having an intra-frame spacing of a hyper-frame interval, and identifies a sub-sequence in which a field that is expected to contain the HFN increments monotonically and cyclically in the range 0 . . . 149 over two or more of the basic frames. The interface considers this sequence to be synchronized to the hyper frame at the 64.sup.th basic frame.); checking data carried in the word other than the first word, to obtain a second check code (See ¶[0009], [Claim 8].[0009] including regenerating the synchronization symbols, when the alarm signal indicates no errors, and outputting a fault indication otherwise. In other embodiments, mapping the characters includes mapping the input frames aligned to boundaries of the communication frames, and synchronizing to the input frames includes extracting the characters from the communication frames starting at the boundaries.); and carrying the first check code and the second check code in the control word (See ¶[0009], [0057], [0094].[0009] In some embodiments, discarding the synchronization symbols includes setting in place of the synchronization symbols an alarm signal that indicates error events in the CPRI signal, and reconstructing the input frames includes reconstructing the input frames, including regenerating the synchronization symbols, when the alarm signal indicates no errors, and outputting a fault indication otherwise. In other embodiments, mapping the characters includes mapping the input frames aligned to boundaries of the communication frames, and synchronizing to the input frames includes extracting the characters from the communication frames starting at the boundaries.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Bruckman to modify the Osterling and Zhong combination to implement error verification in virtual frame structures explained for claim 4. Bruckman teaches discarding the synchronization symbols comprises setting in place of the synchronization symbols an alarm signal that indicates error and identifying an input frame carrying a HFN and infer a position of a first input frame in the hyper frame. The combination checking control information HFN first check code, verifying data integrity for second check code, and carrying both error indications in the control word within the virtual frame structure, enabling reliable error detection in aggregated frame environments while maintaining compatibility with existing CPRI infrastructure.
With regarding claim 14, Osterling in view of Zhong discloses all features of claims 1 and 5 above. Osterling in view of Zhong may not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises: checking data carried in the bits of the first word other than the control word, to obtain a first check code; checking data carried in the word other than the first word, to obtain a second check code; and carrying the first check code and the second check code in the control word. However, in analogous art, Bruckman disclose wherein the method further comprises: checking data carried in the bits of the first word other than the control word, to obtain a first check code (See ¶[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0057].[0052] FIG. 2 is a diagram that schematically depicts CPRI frame hierarchy, in accordance with an embodiment that is described herein. As seen in FIG. 2, CPRI signals are delivered in a hierarchical framing structure. In accordance with the CPRI specifications cited above, a CPRI frame comprises 150 hyper frames that are indexed by the letter Z, a hyper frame comprises 256 basic frames that are indexed by the letter X, and a basic frame comprises sixteen words that are indexed by the letter W. Each word comprises one or more bytes (depending on the CPRI rate option) that are indexed by the letter Y. The word indexed by W=0 comprises a control word.[0054] The bytes of the control word, which are also referred to herein as control bytes, are assigned indices Z.X.Y, wherein Z and X refer to the CPRI frame index and the hyper frame index, respectively, and Y refers to a respective byte within the control word. In the example of FIG. 2, the words comprise four bytes, and the control byte indices are denoted Z.X.0, Z.X.1, Z.X.2 and Z.X.3.); checking data carried in the word other than the first word, to obtain a second check code(See ¶[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0057][0056] For example, in accordance with the CPRI specifications cited above, byte Z.X.0 of the first basic frame in a hyper frame (i.e., Z.0.0) comprises a synchronization symbol denoted K28.5, which marks the hyper frame start. In addition, the control byte Z.64.0 (i.e., in the control word of the basic frame whose index in the hyper frame is 64) holds the Hyper Frame Number (HFN) i.e., the value Z. Note that 0.ltoreq.Z.ltoreq.149, and therefore can be represented by a single byte.
[0057] In the disclosed techniques, the CPRI signals are sent over network 32 after stripping the line coding with which the CPRI signals are received. Sending 8-bit instead of 10-bit symbols achieves a 20% reduction in the data rate over the network. The 8-bit characters are recovered from the 10-bit symbols and mapped into communication frames to be sent over network 32. Moreover, since only 8-bit characters are sent over the network, the synchronization symbol K28.5 is discarded and alternative novel synchronization mechanisms are employed, as will be described below. In some embodiments, instead of sending the synchronization symbol K28.5 for the control byte Z.0.0, the control byte Z.0.0 uses for delivering an alarm signal as will be described below.); and carrying the first check code and the second check code in the control word (See ¶[0009], [0057], [0094].[0009] In some embodiments, discarding the synchronization symbols includes setting in place of the synchronization symbols an alarm signal that indicates error events in the CPRI signal, and reconstructing the input frames includes reconstructing the input frames, including regenerating the synchronization symbols, when the alarm signal indicates no errors, and outputting a fault indication otherwise. In other embodiments, mapping the characters includes mapping the input frames aligned to boundaries of the communication frames, and synchronizing to the input frames includes extracting the characters from the communication frames starting at the boundaries.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Bruckman to modify the Osterling and Zhong combination to implement error verification with synchronization bytes explained for claim 5. Bruckman teaches error handling that dividing the input frames into multiple interleaved sub-sequences identifying a subsequence in which field that is expected to cantina the HFN increments monotonically and cyclically. The combination results in checking synchronization related fields for first check code, verifying data portion for second check code, any carrying both error indications in the control word, provide robust error detection mechanism that adapts to different synchronization byte configurations while maintaining reliable frame alignment in virtual elastic CPRI interface.
With regarding claim 15, Osterling in view of Zhong discloses all features of claims 1 and 6 above. Osterling in view of Zhong may not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises: checking the data carried in the bits of the first word other than the control word, to obtain a first check code; checking the data carried in the word other than the first word, to obtain a second check code; and carrying the first check code and the second check code in the control word. However, in analogous art, Bruckman disclose wherein the method further comprises: checking the data carried in the bits of the first word other than the control word, to obtain a first check code (See ¶[0052], [0054], [0056], [0057].[0052] FIG. 2 is a diagram that schematically depicts CPRI frame hierarchy, in accordance with an embodiment that is described herein. As seen in FIG. 2, CPRI signals are delivered in a hierarchical framing structure. In accordance with the CPRI specifications cited above, a CPRI frame comprises 150 hyper frames that are indexed by the letter Z, a hyper frame comprises 256 basic frames that are indexed by the letter X, and a basic frame comprises sixteen words that are indexed by the letter W. Each word comprises one or more bytes (depending on the CPRI rate option) that are indexed by the letter Y. The word indexed by W=0 comprises a control word.); checking the data carried in the word other than the first word, to obtain a second check code (See ¶[0009], [0057], [0094].[0057] In the disclosed techniques, the CPRI signals are sent over network 32 after stripping the line coding with which the CPRI signals are received. Sending 8-bit instead of 10-bit symbols achieves a 20% reduction in the data rate over the network. The 8-bit characters are recovered from the 10-bit symbols and mapped into communication frames to be sent over network 32. Moreover, since only 8-bit characters are sent over the network, the synchronization symbol K28.5 is discarded and alternative novel synchronization mechanisms are employed, as will be described below. In some embodiments, instead of sending the synchronization symbol K28.5 for the control byte Z.0.0, the control byte Z.0.0 uses for delivering an alarm signal as will be described below.); and carrying the first check code and the second check code in the control word (See ¶[0009], [0057], [0094].[0009] In some embodiments, discarding the synchronization symbols includes setting in place of the synchronization symbols an alarm signal that indicates error events in the CPRI signal, and reconstructing the input frames includes reconstructing the input frames, including regenerating the synchronization symbols, when the alarm signal indicates no errors, and outputting a fault indication otherwise. In other embodiments, mapping the characters includes mapping the input frames aligned to boundaries of the communication frames, and synchronizing to the input frames includes extracting the characters from the communication frames starting at the boundaries.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Bruckman to modify the Osterling and Zhong combination to implement error verification with synchronization bytes explained for claim 6. Bruckman teaches reconstructing the input frames, including regenerating the synchronization symbols, when the alarm signal indicates no errors, and outputting a fault indication otherwise. The combination results in checking overhead information fields for first check code, verifying data integrity for second check code and carrying both error indications in the control word, enabling reliable transmission of enhanced overhead information while providing immediate error feedback that can be used to maintain the integrity of newly added protocol features in the virtual elastic CPRI interface.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIVAKRISHNA VALLAMDASU/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468