DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02-26-2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2010/0175637 hereinafter Moller.
Regarding Claim 1, Moller teaches a catalytic heating system [1] (see figure 2) comprising: a housing assembly (burner housing) [3 and 4] that includes a fuel/gas tank [14], wherein gas via a regulator [15] is fed into a nozzle [16] with air that is provided via the pipeline [18] connected to the inlet port [12], and wherein the gas and air mixture is fed through a transport pipe [19] to the catalytic burner [20] having a catalytic element [21] in which the fuel gas is converted to carbon monoxide and water vapor, and wherein emission gases are fed through another pipe system [22] to an exhaust opening [23] in the opposite section of the housing assembly (paragraph 108). The recitation “…for a fuel cell system...” in the preamble is considered intended use and therefore not given patentable weight (see MPEP § 2111.02).
Moller further teaches that the catalytic burner [20] can have different geometrical shapes depending on the intended application and efficiency (i.e., a catalytic burner having a cross-sectional contour which deviates from a circular shape at least in some sections with respect to this longitudinal axis) (paragraphs 109-110, see figures 5-6 which teach curved catalyst and variations thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a catalytic burner having a cross-sectional contour which deviates from a circular shape at least in some sections with respect to this longitudinal axis before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Moller discloses that such modification can improve efficiency of the catalytic heating system (paragraph 109).
Claim(s) 2-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2010/0175637 hereinafter Moller in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2002/0106596 hereinafter Hermann and U.S. Patent No. 6,416,893 hereinafter Clingerman.
Regarding Claims 2-3, Moller teaches a catalytic heating system [1] (see figure 2) that comprises gas and air mixture that is fed through a transport pipe [19] to the catalytic burner [20] (paragraph 108).
Hermann teaches a catalytic burner that comprises fuel gas/oxygen mixture and having a separate air inlet that is fed to the burner element (paragraph 55). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form such separate air inlet before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Hermann discloses that such modification can reduce the rate of the catalytic reaction and as such succeeds in metering air over the entire length and width of the catalytic combustion zone, i.e. the reaction gap, in a controlled way (paragraph 55).
Additionally, Clingerman teaches that the combustor (catalytic burner) comprises a fast response air bypass valve in a parallel air flow path with an air flow inlet path to the combustor (column 3, lines 28-31). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include such a valve in the air flow path before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because such modification can control the quantity of air supplied to the combustor.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination teaches that the controlled supply of air is disposed in the burner outlet (column 6, lines 42-44 of Clingerman).
Regarding Claims 5-15, the combination teaches that the catalytic burner has a mixing section for the air/gas mixture (see description of Moller, Hermann, and Clingerman above), and the catalyst body having a cross-sectional contour configured for a radial outlet in relation to the longitudinal axis (paragraphs 109-110, see figures 5-6 which teach curved catalyst and variations thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a catalytic burner that can have different geometrical shapes before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Moller discloses that such modification can improve efficiency of the catalytic heating system (paragraph 109).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination teaches a fuel cell system comprising the catalytic burner device described above (see paragraphs 44-45 of Hermann and Abstract of Clingerman).
Conclusion
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752