DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05-24-2023, 06-04-2024, 09-06-2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0241036 hereinafter Jo in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0243978 hereinafter Shon.
Regarding Claim 1, Jo teaches a positive electrode active material for a secondary battery (paragraphs 21-22), the positive electrode active material comprises a first lithium-nickel oxide particle having an average particle size (D50) of more than 8 µm to 20 µm or less, and a second lithium-nickel oxide particle having an average particle size (D50) of 8 µm or less, and wherein the first lithium-nickel oxide particle has a particle strength of 100 MPa to 250 MPa and the second lithium-nickel oxide particle has a particle strength of 50 MPa to 100 MPa (paragraphs 23, 26-28).
Jo does not specifically disclose that the first lithium transition metal oxide has smaller crystalline size than the second lithium transition metal oxide.
However, Shon teaches a positive electrode active material for a lithium battery (paragraph 55), the positive electrode active material comprises secondary particles formed by an agglomeration of primary particles (i.e., by coagulation), and wherein the primary particles have a polycrystalline structure comprising crystal grains of the lithium transition metal oxide (paragraph 65). Shon further teaches that the diameter of the crystal grains (i.e., crystalline size) of the positive electrode active material may be selected by controlling the heat-treatment conditions and that the lower the heat-treating temperature, the smaller the diameter of the crystal grains (paragraph 69).
Shon teaches that the primary particles have a smaller average particle diameter than the secondary particles (paragraphs 67, 74 teach that the smaller average particle diameter material provide smaller diameter of the crystal grains [i.e., different diameter of the crystal grains in the first material and second material]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a first lithium transition metal oxide having different (or smaller) crystalline size than the second lithium transition metal oxide before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Shon discloses that such configuration can improve capacity, high-rate charging/discharging performance, and initial efficiency of the battery (paragraph 70).
Regarding Claim 2, Jo teaches that the first lithium transition metal oxide and the second lithium transition metal oxide each independently have a composition represented by LiNiCoMnO2 (paragraphs 26-27).
Regarding Claim 3, Jo teaches that a weight ratio of the first lithium transition metal oxide to the second lithium transition metal oxide is 8:2 (paragraph 77).
Regarding Claim 4, Jo teaches that a difference in the particle strength between the first lithium transition metal oxide and the second lithium transition metal oxide is in a range of 50 MPa to 200 MPa (see Table 1, Examples 1-4).
Regarding Claims 5 and 8-9, the combination teaches that the diameter of the crystal grains (i.e., crystalline size) of the positive electrode active material may be selected by controlling the heat-treatment conditions and that the lower the heat-treating temperature, the smaller the diameter of the crystal grains (paragraph 69 of Shon). In addition, paragraphs 67, 74 of Shon teach that the smaller average particle diameter material provide smaller diameter of the crystal grains [i.e., different diameter of the crystal grains in the first material and second material] and the first material having a diameter of crystal grain of less than about 40 nm (paragraph 71 of Shon).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a first lithium transition metal oxide having different (or smaller) crystalline size than the second lithium transition metal oxide before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Shon discloses that such configuration can improve capacity, high-rate charging/discharging performance, and initial efficiency of the battery (paragraph 70). In addition, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir.1990). Thus, it would have been well within the purview of a skilled artisan to tune or tailor the different crystalline sizes to form the battery with improved characteristics as described above.
Regarding Claims 6-7, Jon teaches that the first lithium-nickel oxide particle has a particle strength of 100 MPa to 250 MPa and the second lithium-nickel oxide particle has a particle strength of 50 MPa to 100 MPa (paragraph 23). In addition, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir.1990).
Regarding Claims 10-11, the combination teaches a lithium secondary battery comprising a positive electrode that includes the positive electrode active material as described above (paragraphs 21-22 of Jon).
Regarding Claims 12-15, Jo teaches that the positive electrode active material comprises a first lithium-nickel oxide particle having an average particle size (D50) of more than 8 µm to 20 µm or less, and a second lithium-nickel oxide particle having an average particle size (D50) of 8 µm or less (paragraph 23, see Table 1, Examples 1-4). In addition, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir.1990).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2020/0403228 teaches a bimodal lithium transition metal oxide-based powder mixture comprising a first lithium transition metal oxide-based powder and a second lithium transition metal oxide-based powder, wherein the first powder has an average particle size D50 between 10 and 40 µm and the second powder has a D50 between 2 and 4.5 µm (see Abstract).
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752