NON-FINAL ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 24 May 2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware of in the specification.
The abstract of the disclosure is acceptable.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. See MPEP § 606.01. The title should specify the sealing gap feature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Örtegren et al. (WO 2016/198274, hereinafter Örtegren).
Regarding claim 1, Örtegren discloses a centrifugal separator (2, Fig. 1) for separating a liquid phase from a crankcase gas, the centrifugal separator comprising: a housing (4, Fig. 1); a separation chamber (12, Fig. 1) inside the housing; a rotor shaft (20, Fig. 1) extending through the separation chamber in an axial direction, a rotor (16, Fig. 1) for separating the liquid phase arranged inside the separation chamber, and the rotor being connected to the rotor shaft; a bearing (38, Fig. 3) arranged at an end portion of the rotor shaft; an inlet (6, Fig. 1) for the crankcase gas; a gas outlet (8, Fig. 1) from the separation chamber for separated gas; and a liquid outlet (liquid passage 36, Fig. 3) from the separation chamber for the separated liquid phase, wherein the rotor shaft is journalled in the housing via the bearing, wherein the end portion of the rotor shaft extends through the bearing outside the separation chamber (see Fig. 3), wherein a ring-shaped sealing gap (44, Fig. 3) is formed between the housing (4, Fig. 1) and a member (18, Fig. 1) connected to the rotor shaft (20, Fig. 1) outside the separation chamber, and wherein the liquid outlet (liquid passage 36, Fig. 3) is arranged, seen in relation to the axial direction, radially outside the bearing (38, Fig. 3) and radially inside a radially outer end of the ring-shaped sealing gap (44, Fig. 3) (the liquid passage may be provided by holes extending through the wall portion, which is a wall portion of the housing 4 delimiting the separation chamber 12 form the liquid outlet chamber 14, and is radially outside of the bearing, page 6 line 34 – page 7 line 9, Fig. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 3, Örtegren discloses wherein the liquid outlet (liquid passage 36, Fig. 3) comprises a number of through holes extending though the housing (4, Fig. 1) and being arranged circumferentially around the bearing (38, Fig. 3) (the liquid passage may be provided by holes extending through the wall portion, which is a wall portion of the housing 4 delimiting the separation chamber 12 form the liquid outlet chamber 14, and is radially outside of the bearing, page 6 line 34 – page 7 line 9, Fig. 1 and 3).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Örtegren discloses wherein a ring-shaped protrusion (second circular flange 42, Fig. 3) is provided on the housing, an axial surface of the ring-shaped protrusion forming one surface defining the ring-shaped sealing gap (44, Fig. 3) and a surface of the member (18, Fig. 3) forming an opposite surface defining the ring-shaped gap (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Örtegren discloses wherein the separator rotor comprises a stack of separation discs (26, Fig. 1).
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-11, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eliasson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2007/0249479).
Regarding claim 1, Eliasson discloses a centrifugal separator (50, Fig. 2) for separating a liquid phase from a crankcase gas, the centrifugal separator comprising: a housing (52, Fig. 2); a separation chamber (54, Fig. 2) inside the housing; a rotor shaft (70, Fig. 2) extending through the separation chamber in an axial direction, a rotor (56, Fig. 2) for separating the liquid phase arranged inside the separation chamber, and the rotor being connected to the rotor shaft; a bearing (62, Fig. 2) arranged at an end portion of the rotor shaft; an inlet (86, Fig. 2) for the crankcase gas; a gas outlet (92, Fig. 2) from the separation chamber for separated gas; and a liquid outlet (apertures 114, Fig. 5) from the separation chamber for the separated liquid phase, wherein the rotor shaft is journalled in the housing via the bearing, wherein the end portion of the rotor shaft extends through the bearing outside the separation chamber (see Fig. 2), wherein a ring-shaped sealing gap (see annotated Fig. 5 below) is formed between the housing and a member (pump wheel 74, Fig. 2) connected to the rotor shaft (70, Fig. 2) outside the separation chamber, and wherein the liquid outlet (apertures 114, Fig. 5) is arranged, seen in relation to the axial direction, radially outside the bearing (62, Fig. 5) and radially inside a radially outer end of the ring-shaped sealing gap.
Regarding claim 3, Eliasson discloses wherein the liquid outlet comprises a number of through holes (apertures 114, Fig. 5) extending through the housing (partition wall 64 is considered an end wall of housing 52, Fig. 2) and being arranged circumferentially around the bearing (62, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Eliasson discloses wherein at least one of the number of through holes has a larger cross-sectional area at a distance from the separation chamber (54, Fig. 2) than close thereto (see annotated Fig. 7 below).
Regarding claims 6, 19, and 20, Eliasson discloses wherein a ring-shaped protrusion (downwardly depending portion 80, Fig. 2) is provided on the housing (partition wall 64 is considered an end wall of housing 52, Fig. 2), an axial surface of the ring-shaped protrusion forming one surface defining the ring-shaped sealing gap and a surface of the member (pump wheel 74, Fig. 2) forming an opposite surface defining the ring-shaped sealing gap (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Eliasson discloses wherein the liquid outlet (apertures 114, Fig. 5) is arranged to exit in the ring-shaped protrusion (downwardly depending portion 80, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, Eliasson discloses wherein the ring-shaped sealing gap forms a labyrinth seal (claim 18).
Regarding claim 9, Eliasson discloses a driving chamber (drainage chamber 66, Fig. 2) and a turbine wheel (turbine 72, Fig. 2) arranged in the driving chamber and connected to the end portion of the rotor shaft (70, Fig. 2), wherein the sealing gap is provided in the driving chamber and is configured to seal the driving chamber from the separation chamber (para. [0029]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 10, Eliasson discloses wherein the separator rotor comprises a stack of separation discs (40, Fig. 1), each separation disc having a truncated conical shape.
Regarding claim 11, Eliasson discloses wherein a ridge (top end of bearing sleeve 116, Fig. 7) extends around the bearing (62, Fig. 7) inside the separation chamber, radially between the bearing and the liquid outlet (apertures 114, Fig. 5), and wherein the ridge extends in the axial direction from the bearing into the separation chamber (54, Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Örtegren.
Regarding claim 5, Örtegren does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the number of through holes has a substantially circular or oval cross section. However, Örtegren teaches holes extending though the housing (4, Fig. 1) (the liquid passage may be provided by holes extending through the wall portion, which is a wall portion of the housing 4 delimiting the separation chamber 12 form the liquid outlet chamber 14, and is radially outside of the bearing, page 6 line 34 – page 7 line 9, Fig. 1 and 3), and such holes would be machined or drilled through the wall, which are conventionally circular in cross section, and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided circular liquid outlet holes as a matter of design choice. Furthermore, the specific cross section shape of the liquid outlet is a matter of routine design choice. It has been held that changes in shape between the prior art and the claimed invention is considered a matter of obvious design choice. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). See MPEP § 2144.
Claims 2, 5, 12, 16, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eliasson.
Regarding claim 2, Eliasson does not explicitly disclose wherein the liquid outlet is arranged within a range of 0-20 mm radially outside a radially outer ring surface of the bearing. Elliasson teaches apertures 114 extending through the partition wall for separated oil drainage. Fig. 5 and 6 show apertures 114 immediately adjacent to and radially outside the bearing outer 78, i.e., close to the radially outer ring surface of bearing 62. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the liquid outlet/apertures within a short radial distance from the outer race of the bearing, such as 0-20 mm, because Eliasson teaches positioning the apertures near the outer race of the bearing to drain separated oil from the separation chamber to the drainage chamber, and the particular radial spacing would have been a matter of routine design optimization. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Swain et al., 70 USPQ 412; Minnesota Mining and Mfg. Co. v. Coe., 38 USPQ 213; Allen et al. v. Coe, 57 USPQ 136; MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Elliasson discloses wherein each of the number of through holes has a substantially circular or oval cross section. However, Elliasson teaches apertures 114 extending though the partition wall 64, and such holes would be machined or drilled through the wall, which are conventionally circular in cross section, and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided circular liquid outlet holes as a matter of design choice. Furthermore, the specific cross section shape of the liquid outlet is a matter of routine design choice. It has been held that changes in shape between the prior art and the claimed invention is considered a matter of obvious design choice. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). See MPEP § 2144.
Regarding claim 12, Eliasson does not expressly disclose wherein the ridge has a height within a range of 1-5 mm. However, selecting an exact height of the ridge such as a height within 1-5 mm would have been an obvious matter of routine optimization/design choice to provide a sufficient barrier height for drainage around the bearing. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Swain et al., 70 USPQ 412; Minnesota Mining and Mfg. Co. v. Coe., 38 USPQ 213; Allen et al. v. Coe, 57 USPQ 136; MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 16, Eliasson discloses wherein the liquid outlet comprises a number of through holes (apertures 114, Fig. 5) extending through the housing (partition wall 64 is considered an end wall of housing 52, Fig. 2) and being arranged circumferentially around the bearing (62, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Eliasson discloses wherein a ring-shaped protrusion (downwardly depending portion 80, Fig. 2) is provided on the housing (partition wall 64 is considered an end wall of housing 52, Fig. 2), an axial surface of the ring-shaped protrusion forming one surface defining the ring-shaped sealing gap and a surface of the member (pump wheel 74, Fig. 2) forming an opposite surface defining the ring-shaped sealing gap (see Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, because the prior art does not teach or suggest wherein the ridge comprises at least one opening and in combination with the other claimed structural features.
Conclusion
/Shuyi S. Liu/Examiner, Art Unit 1774