DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 3, 5, 7 – 9, 21 – 22, 25, 31 – 33, 35 – 36, 43, 51 are pending; claims 36, 43, 51are withdrawn; claims 1 – 3, 5, 7 – 9, 21 – 22, 25, 31 – 33 and 35 have been considered on the merits. All arguments have been fully considered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 4, 2026, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Previous rejections over claims 8 and 35 are withdrawn due to the amendment clarifying Markush language and scope in claim 8; and clarifying an antioxidant component in claim 35.
Claim 7 is drawn to a composition however is rendered indefinite for reciting an amount of antioxidant that is outside (or greater than) the range recited in the claim on which it depends, thereby broadening the scope of the claim on which it depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 5, 7 – 9, 21 – 22, 25, 31 – 33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and 102a2 as being anticipated by Obagi et al. (US 9763976).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 21 - 22, 31, 33 and 35 Obagi teaches topical compositions comprising silicon based components such as dimethicone polymers (carriers); 0.01 – 1% proteolytic enzymes; and antioxidants such as 0.1 – 0.5% epigallocatechin 3-gallate (EGCG); wherein the compositions are in the form of gel, lotion, suspensions, foam or powder (indicating homogenous compositions and those with less than 10% or 8% water) (abstract, col.3 line 19 – 20, col.5 line 22 – 35, col.6 line 60 – 65, col.9 line 39 0 42, col.15 line 7, col.24 line 15).
Regarding claim 2, the enzymes may be papain and/or bromelain (col.5 line 29 - 35, examples).
Regarding claim 3, the composition are disclosed to contain the same amount claimed by applicant, indicating they are present in an effective amounts for scavenging overproduction of scar forming proteins and tissues.
Regarding claims 5, 8 and 9, additional antioxidants include green tea epigallocatechin, catechin, epicatechin, CoffeeBerry® (caffeic acid), turmeric (p-coumeric acid), luteolin, quercitin, taxifolin, heseridin, apigenin, naringenin, chrysin, glutathione, tocopherol and/or allantoin (col.3 line 14 – 38; col.6 line 59 – 62).
Regarding claim 25, the compositions may further include sunscreen (col.1 line 55 – 60).
Regarding claim 32, the composition does not require urea, therefore has less than 8% urea.
Therefore, the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 5, 7 – 9, 21 – 22, 25, 31 – 33 and 35 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aliyar et al. (US 2015/0141389) in view of Perricone et al. (US 2017/0189326).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5, 7 and 31, Aliyar teaches topical drug delivery formulations comprising occlusive agents such as silicon-based components and at least one active to be delivered through the skin for therapeutic or cosmetic purposes (abstract, 0056, 0069). Active agents include proteases (proteolytic enzymes) such as papain and bromelain (0065) and antioxidants (0052). The formulation may be prepared with or without water, which includes less than 10% or less than 8% water (0080, examples 1-6).
Aliyar does not teach the composition wherein the active antioxidant is green tea polyphenols in the claimed amount. However, Aliyar teaches active agents to be delivered include antiaging agents (0063) or plant extracts such as oolong (green) tea extract (0066). Perricone teaches topical compositions comprising antioxidants, specifically green tea catechins (polyphenols), for the purpose of treating aging skin (antiaging agents) (abstract), wherein the green tea catechins include epicatechin, epigallocatechin, epicatechin gallate, gallocatechin gallate and epigallocatechin gallate (0007, 0027, claims). Perricone teaches including antioxidants at varying amounts depending on the nature of condition to be treated, severity and user’s skin type, with typical amounts ranging from 0.121 – 6.05% (0015), which includes the claimed ranged. Perricone specifically teaches EGCG may be included in the amount of 0.001 - 0.1%. At the time the claims were filed, when following the teachings of the combined prior art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of antioxidants according to these factors and with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining an effective topical composition for treating skin. Moreover, at the time the claims were filed one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the claimed green tea catechins as the active agent in the delivery formulation of Aliyar since they were well known and used antioxidants and antiaging agents delivered through the skin for therapeutic and cosmetic purposes, and with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining an effective topical composition.
Regarding the amount of enzyme, it is initially noted that the claims do not require any enzyme as the amount includes 0%. Notwithstanding, Aliyar does not teach the composition comprising the claimed amount of enzyme. However, Aliyar teaches the compositions may be applied to treat scars (0029). In this regard, the active components can be added in amounts effective for its relevant purpose, or treating scars, and are interpreted as result effective variables. As such, at the time the claims were filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the concentration of actives (or enzymes) as a matter of routine practice and experimentation, and with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining an effective topical composition.
Regarding claim 3, Aliyar teaches the compositions are typically applied to treat scars (0029). In this regard, the active components can be added in amounts effective for its relevant purpose, or treating scars, and are interpreted as result effective variables.
Regarding claims 8 – 9, Aliyar teaches additional antioxidants may be included in the compositions, such as glutathione, tocopherol, allantoin (0052, 0064); while Perricone teaches including caffeic acid, tocopherol (0021, 0044).
Regarding claim 21, Aliyar teaches including stabilizing agents (0072) and a silicone organic elastomer blend included in a silicone or organic carrier fluid such as isodecylneopentanoate, dimethicone/bis-isobutyl propylene glycol cross polymer, polyethylene glycol-12 dimethicone/bis-isobutyl propylene glycol-20 cross polymer and combinations thereof (0007).
Regarding claim 25, Aliyar teaches other active agents may be included such as sunscreens, antibiotics, steroids or hydroquinone (0052, 0058, 0062, claims).
Regarding claim 32, neither Aliyar nor Perricone require urea in the compositions, which is less than about 8% urea.
Regarding claims 33 and 35, Aliyar teaches the compositions may be homogenous suspensions (0079).
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach the claimed amount of enzyme; that Aliyar does not disclose a relationship of a proteolytic enzyme and any result and is therefore not a result effective variable; and that Aliyar is generic to the amount and type of enzyme, thereby encompassing an enormous number of possible enzymes in a long list.
However, the claims are drawn to 0 - 1% of enzyme, which includes no enzyme at all, indicating that neither the protease nor the amount thereof is critical to the invention or the claims. Further the claim recites "proteolytic enzyme" which encompasses an enormous list of possible actives spanning extracts from plants, bacteria, fungi and animals; that break down into seven broad groups; function in food digestion, immune system regulation, blood clotting, inflammation, pain relief, cancer progression; and are highly diverse. Thus, the claims are commensurate in scope with the prior art in terms of breadth of scope.
Regarding the amount of enzyme, while Aliyar teaches the active can be included at 0.001 - 50%, other ranges are recited to include 0.05 - 10% (0033) which would have been readily optimized by one of ordinary skill in the art according to preferred use. It is noted that while applicant argues the range does not "invite optimization" it is noted that the claims do not require including enzymes at all, as it recites "0 wt.% - 1 wt.%."
Applicant argues that Aliyar does not teach green tea polyphenols or EGCG and therefore does not teach a relationship of EGCG and a particular result or that EGCG is a result effective variable; and acknowledges Perricone teaches EGCG at 0.001 - 0.1% for antiaging and not scar treatment or relevant results of claims 1 and 35.
Regarding the argument that the prior art does not teach EGCG as an active and cannot be a result effective variable, it is initially noted that the rejection is not based on one reference but a combination of references. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Aliyar teaches a silicone based excipient for known actives, which may include antioxidants. In this regard, antioxidants are recognized compounds having a specific active effect that is an antioxidant. In this regard, the antioxidants are specifically identified as active agents having a result of antioxidant activity. Perricone expressly teaches active antioxidants are included in topical compositions for the same result of antioxidant activity in total amounts of 0.121 - 6.05% and specifically 0.001 - 0.1% of EGCG, which overlaps with the claimed amount (0015, 0027). It is maintained that since the references teach the antioxidant is an active component of the composition, at the time the claims were filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimized the amount of the EGCG active as a matter of routine practice and with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining an effective topical composition.
Regarding the argument that Perricone does not teach the function of treating scars, it is noted that the argued intended use of the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the composition of the prior art. In the instant case, the intended use fails to create a structural difference, thus, the intended use is not limiting. Please note that when applicant claims a composition in terms of function, and the composition of the prior art appears to be the same, the Examiner may make rejections under both 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 (MPEP 2112).
Applicant argues that the prior art fails to recognize that green tea polyphenols soothe irritation caused by protease; and as such, that the claimed amounts of enzyme and green tea polyphenol are new and cannot be recognized result effective variables.
However, this argument fails to persuade. Initially, the claims recite 0 - 1% of protease, which includes 0% enzyme, or no enzyme at all. Further, the prior art recognizes EGCG as an antioxidant, which by definition has antioxidant activity, and an active component in topical compositions, and is therefore considered a recognized result effective variable. Regarding the argued function of the two components, it is maintained that the intended use of a composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the composition of the prior art. In the instant case, the intended use fails to create a structural difference, thus, the intended use is not limiting. Please note that when applicant claims a composition in terms of function, and the composition of the prior art appears to be the same, the Examiner may make rejections under both 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 (MPEP 2112). In addition, it is reiterated that the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant (MPEP 2144 (IV)).
Thus, for these reasons and those stated in the rejections above, the claims are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
/RUTH A DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699