DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoh et al. (US Pat. 6,331,501) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2005/0164873).
Considering Claim 1: Satoh et al. teaches a solid support prepared by the process comprising obtaining an organomagnesium compound of RMgX (15: 14-23) and reacting an organomagnesium compound of RMgX with a silane compound of the formula Si(OR)mR4-m) in the presence of an ester compound, where the R groups read on the claimed R groups (3:23-4:32), which would inherently result in the claimed reaction product. Satah et al. teaches adding a solvent for the organomagnesium and silane compounds during the reaction (4:51-61; 5:56-64).
Satoh et al. does not teach adding a ketone during the reaction step B. However, Zhu et al. teaches adding an internal electron donor that is preferably a ketone such as acetone, methyl ethyl ketone, methyl isobutyl ketone, acetophenone and benzophenone (¶0031) to a procatalyst during the support formation reaction (¶0023). Satoh et al. and Zhu et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely magnesium silicate supports for olefin catalysts. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the ketone of Zhu et al. as the solvent for the reaction of Satoh et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Zhu et al. suggests, to increase the activity of the resulting catalyst (¶0027).
Considering Claim 5: Satoh et al. teaches contacting the support with an electron donating compound (2:60-3:12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because:
A) The applicant’s argument that Zhu et al. does not teach the claimed ketones as an initiator is not persuasive. Satoh et al. teaches a process comprising an ester internal electron donor that increases the stereoregularity and activity of the polymerization (1:64-2:3). Zhu et al. teaches the claimed ketones, namely acetone, methyl ethyl ketone, methyl isobutyl ketone, acetophenone and benzophenone as being internal electron donors that increase the stereoregularity and activity of the polymerization (¶0027). Zhu et al. also teaches the utility of the ketone as a solvent for the reaction between the organomagnesium and silane compounds. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the ketone of Zhu et al. as the solvent for the reaction of Satoh et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Zhu et al. suggests, to increase the activity of the resulting catalyst (¶0027). The combination of Satoh et al. (which teaches the electron donor being added during the reaction of the organomagnesium and silane compounds) and Zhu et al. (which teaches the claimed species as electron donors, and further teaches their utility as solvents for the reaction of the organomagnesium and silane compounds) render the claimed process obvious.
While neither reference explicitly teaches that the compounds are initiators, this feature is inherent to the compound itself. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767