Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group II in the reply filed on 03/18/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-5 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/18/26.
Claim Interpretation
The claim limitations “means for applying a chemical solution” (see claim 7) is being treated under 35 USC 112-6th paragraph. For the purpose of examination, the limitation has been interpreted in accordance with the specification as spraying elements, heads for digital impregnation arranged along the longitudinal development of the crossbar in one or more rows, rollers or doctor blades or a sizing device with an impregnation tray the equivalent of (see claims 8-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 6, line 2, the use of the pronoun “it” makes the claim unclear. For the purpose of examination, the phrase “An apparatus for fabric treatment processing according to the process of claim 1, characterized in that the apparatus for fabric treatment processing comprises… ” is assumed in claim 6, 1-2.
In claim 6, line 3, the phrase “said devices” lacks proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the phrase, “said printing, finishing and drying/polymerization devices” is assumed.
In claims 7-10, line 1 each the phrase “The apparatus according to claim 6” lacks proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the phrase, “The apparatus for fabric treatment processing according to claim 6” is assumed.
In claim 9, lines 1-2, the phrase “the means for applying a chemical solution” lacks proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, claim 9 depends from claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 2911882B1.
As to claim 6, EP’882 discloses (see Fig 1, paragraphs [0009] and [0021], claims 7 &13) an apparatus for fabric treatment processing capable of operating a fabric treatment process comprises steps of printing a fabric (medium 16), chemical finishing of the printed fabric (16), and drying/polymerization of the printed fabric, with the processing steps being implemented in-line with the fabric transiting according to a horizontal advancing direction at a fixed or variable or otherwise modulable speed (see [0009] for printing system 10 operated at 7.5 m/sec), wherein the apparatus for fabric treatment processing comprises a printing device (see para [0021] for ink applicator 18 including a plurality of print-bars), a finishing device (the post-treatment applicator 20) and a drying/polymerization device (a dryer 28, see Fig 1, para [0009] and [0042]), with the printing, finishing and drying/polymerization devices being arranged in-line with a fabric transiting between the printing, finishing and drying/polymerization devices according to a horizontal advancing direction (see Fig 1).
As to claim 10, EP’882 teaches the finishing device is capable of being movable or fixed movable for its arrangement in an intermediate position between the printing device and the drying/polymerization device or within the drying/polymerization device or downstream of the drying/polymerization device (since otherwise is not taught).
Claims 6 and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goldberg et al (US 6,513,924).
As to claim 6, Goldberg et al discloses (see Figs 1 and 3) an apparatus for fabric treatment processing (60) capable of operating a fabric treatment process comprises steps of printing a fabric, chemical finishing of the printed fabric (62), and drying/polymerization of the printed fabric, with the processing steps being implemented in-line with the fabric transiting according to a horizontal advancing direction at a fixed or variable or otherwise modulable speed (see column 6, line 67-column 7, line 7), wherein the apparatus (60) for fabric treatment processing comprises a printing device (printer 64), a finishing device (spraying device 72) and a drying/polymerization device (heating device 74), with the printing, finishing and drying/polymerization devices being arranged in-line with a fabric transiting between the printing, finishing and drying/polymerization devices according to a horizontal advancing direction (see Fig 3).
As to claim 10, EP’882 teaches the finishing device is capable of being movable or fixed movable for its arrangement in an intermediate position between the printing device and the drying/polymerization device or within the drying/polymerization device or downstream of the drying/polymerization device (since otherwise is not taught).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2911882B1 or Goldberg et al (US 6,513,924) in view of Hawkins (US 4,011,833) and EP 3,184,313A1.
Regarding claim 7, EP’882 or Goldberg et al teach an apparatus for fabric treatment having wherein a fabric moves along transverse dimension corresponds to the transverse development dimension of the printing device and of the drying/polymerization device, wherein a plurality of rollers moves the fabric or medium. Goldberg et al also teaches a support structure supporting a base and rollers to guide textile, wherein the base housing rollers for a sliding of a fabric (see Fig 5 for items assembly 110,112 with rollers guiding the fabric). However, EP’882 or Goldberg et al lacks teaching a finishing device comprising a support structure with shoulders and crossbar supporting means for applying a chemical solution to the fabric as claimed. Hawkins teaches (see Fig 1) a finishing device (see Fig 1) comprises a support structure supporting a base the, the base to which a pair of opposing and parallel shoulders is stabilized which support a crossbar (crossbeam 31) which supports means for applying a chemical solution (gun 11) to the fabric (substrate) in transit. EP’313 teaches (see Fig 1) a support structure (guide 40) having shoulders and a cross bar 43 supporting print heads 41, 42. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a finishing device comprising a support structure with shoulders and crossbar supporting means for applying a chemical solution in EP’882 or Goldberg et al to attain reciprocation movement of the dispensing device as taught by Hawkins (see claim 1).
As to claim 8, EP’882 or Goldberg as modified by Hawkins and EP’313 teaches the means for applying a chemical solution to the fabric comprise spraying elements and/or heads for digital impregnation arranged along the longitudinal development of the crossbar in one or more rows (see para [0024] of EP’882 for spray coaters, and Fig 3 of Goldberg et al for a spray device 72).
Regarding claim 9, EP’882 teaches the means for applying a chemical solution to the fabric comprise rollers or doctor blades or a sizing device with an impregnation tray (see para [0024]).
As to claim 10, the finishing device of is capable of being movable for its arrangement in an intermediate position between the printing device and the drying/polymerization device or within the drying/polymerization device or downstream of the drying/polymerization device to attain reciprocation movement. In any event, Hawkins and EP’313 teach movable dispensing means (see Hawkins moveable device 20 moving gun 11 and EP’313’s guide means 40 moving the print heads 41, 42) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to move the finishing device as claimed in EP’882 or Goldberg et al to deliver the material at desired area of the substrate by reciprocating the dispensing device as explained above for claim 7.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KR-20180039549A teaches treatment device for textile printing (see Fig 1).
YEWEBDAR T. TADESSE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717
/YEWEBDAR T TADESSE/