DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment and Claim Status
The amendment filed 5 March 2026 has been entered. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejection set forth in the Office Action mailed 16 December 2025. Claims 1–15 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al. (US 2018/0226653 A1) in view of Que et al. (US 2021/0066687 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamamoto discloses an energy storage element (see secondary battery 100, [0056], FIG. 1) comprising:
an assembly (see electrode body 30, [0057], FIG. 1, 2) comprising:
a plurality of anodes (see combination of negative-electrode collector foils 31N, [0062], negative electrode active material, [0062], negative-electrode collector foil protrusion section 32N, [0064], and negative-electrode collector foil connection portion 33N, FIG. 1–6), each respective anode of the plurality of anodes comprising an anode current collector (see combination of negative-electrode collector foils 31N, [0062], negative-electrode collector foil protrusion section 32N, [0064], and negative-electrode collector foil connection portion 33N, FIG. 1–6) having a main region loaded with a layer of negative electrode material (see negative-electrode collector foils 31N, [0062], FIG. 1, 2) and a free edge strip (see combination of negative-electrode collector foil protrusion section 32N, [0064], and negative-electrode collector foil connection portion 33N, FIG. 1–6), which is not loaded with the negative electrode material ([0063]–[0064]), extending along an edge ([0065], FIG. 1–6), and
a plurality of cathodes (see combination of positive-electrode collector foils 31P, [0062], positive electrode active material, [0062], positive-electrode collector foil protrusion section 32P, [0064], and positive-electrode collector foil connection portion 33P, FIG. 1–6), each respective cathode comprising a cathode current collector (see combination of positive-electrode collector foils 31P, [0062], positive-electrode collector foil protrusion section 32P, [0064], and positive-electrode collector foil connection portion 33P, FIG. 1–6) having a main region loaded with a layer of positive electrode material (see positive-electrode collector foils 31P, [0062], FIG. 1, 2) and a free edge strip (see combination of positive-electrode collector foil protrusion section 32P, [0064], and positive-electrode collector foil connection portion 33P, FIG. 1–6), which is not loaded with the positive electrode material ([0063]–[0064]), extending along an edge ([0065], FIG. 1–6),
wherein the anodes and the cathodes are stacked (see laminate, [0062], FIG. 2, 6) and are separated by separators (see separators 31S, [0062], FIG. 1–6);
a prismatic housing (see case body 40, [0057], FIG. 1; [0059] discloses that the case body 40 includes a main body 41 in the shape of a rectangular tube, i.e. the case body 40 is a prismatic housing) enclosing the assembly ([0062], FIG. 1); and
a contact element (see positive-electrode collector terminal 10P and negative-electrode collector terminal 10N, [0057]) connected to a set of respective free edge strips by welding ([0072]–[0073], FIG. 1–6; see also welded joint 38, [0077], FIG. 1–6), the set of respective free edge strips including the free edge strips of the anode current collectors or the free edge strips of the cathode current collectors ([0072]–[0073] refer to both the anode and cathode current collectors).
Yamamoto does not explicitly disclose wherein the free edge strips of the anode current collectors extend from more than one side of the assembly, and
wherein the free edge strips of the cathode extend from more than one another side of the assembly, instead disclosing (FIG. 1, 2, 6) that the free edge strips of the anode and cathode current collectors each extend from opposing single sides of the assembly.
Que teaches an energy storage element (see electrochemical device 270, [0114], FIG. 5), comprising: an assembly (see one or more electrochemical cells 272, [0114], FIG. 5) comprising: a plurality of anodes (see negative electrode component 274, [0114], FIG. 5B–5C), each respective anode of the plurality of anodes comprising an anode current collector (see first electrically-conductive layer 277, [0115], FIG. 5B–5C) having a main region (see first current collector portion 280, [0115], FIG. 5B–5C) loaded with a layer of negative electrode material (see negative electrode layer 278, [0115], FIG. 5B–5C) and a free edge strip (see first tab portion 282, [0115], FIG. 5B–5C), which is not loaded with the negative electrode material ([0115], FIG. 5B–5C), extending along an edge (FIG. 5B–5C), and a plurality of cathodes (see positive electrode component 276, [0114], FIG. 5D–5E), each respective cathode comprising a cathode current collector (see second electrically-conductive layer 310, [0121], FIG. 5D–5E) having a main region (see second current collector portion 314, [0121], FIG. 5D–5E) loaded with a layer of positive electrode material (see positive electrode layer 312, [0121], FIG. 5D–5E) and a free edge strip (see second tab portion 316, [0121], FIG. 5D–5E), which is not loaded with the positive electrode material ([0121], FIG. 5D–5E), extending along an edge (FIG. 5D–5E), wherein the anodes and the cathodes are stacked ([0114]) and are separated by separators (see electrolyte separator system, [0114]). Que teaches wherein the free edge strips of the anode current collectors extend from two sides of the assembly ([0117] discloses that an electrode-tab interface 286, i.e. a border between free edge strip and layer of negative electrode material, extends along a first edge 292 and second edge 294, FIG. 5B–5C; one of ordinary skill in the art will thus understand that the anode current collectors have free edge strips extending from two sides of the assembly, specifically a left and bottom side, as shown in FIG. 5B–5C) and wherein the free edge strips of the cathode current collectors extend from another two sides of the assembly ([0121] discloses that the cathode current collector is configured similarly to the anode current collector but is oriented differently; one of ordinary skill in the art can understand from [0121] and FIG. 5D–5E that the cathode current collectors have free edge strips extending from the opposite two sides of the assembly as the anode current collectors, specifically a right and top side, as shown in FIG. 5D–5E). Que teaches ([0092], [0107], [0124]) that such a configuration increases the length of the electrode-tab interface, decreasing localized current density and improving current uniformity ([0092]), and allows for at least a portion of the current to flow across a shorter dimension ([0107], [0124], FIG. 5F).
Que and Yamamoto are analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of energy storage elements capable of cycling lithium. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage device of Yamamoto such that the free edge strips of the anode current collectors extend from two sides of the assembly, and the free edge strips of the cathode current collectors extend from two other sides of the assembly, as taught by Que, for the purpose of increasing the length of the electrode-tab interface, decreasing localized current density and improving current uniformity, and allowing at least a portion of the current to flow across a shorter dimension.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Yamamoto discloses the energy storage element as set forth above. Yamamoto further discloses wherein:
the anodes and the cathodes are polygonal in shape (FIG. 1, 2, 6 show the anodes and cathodes are rectangular in shape).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Yamamoto discloses the energy storage element as set forth above. Yamamoto further discloses wherein:
the assembly comprises at least one contact element having an L-shaped profile ([0084] discloses that first collector terminal 10 is L-shaped; FIG. 1, 2, 6).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Yamamoto discloses the energy storage element as set forth above. Yamamoto further discloses wherein the housing has at least one pole bushing (see combination of external terminals 37, [0057], and electrically conductive pin member 34, [0072], FIG. 1, 6), the pole bushing being electrically connected to the contact element ([0072], FIG. 1, 6).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Yamamoto discloses the energy storage element as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein the energy storage element comprises a solid state electrolyte between the anodes and the cathodes. Instead, Yamamoto discloses separators (see separators 31S, [0062], FIG. 1–6) between and separating the anodes and cathodes ([0062], FIG. 2, 6), as well as a liquid electrolyte ([0094]).
Que teaches that an energy storage element can comprise a solid state electrolyte instead of a combination of separator and liquid electrolyte ([0071], [0181]), the solid state electrolyte disposed between the anodes and the cathodes ([0071]). Que teaches ([0052], [0057], [0071]) that both the solid state electrolyte and combined separator–liquid electrolyte system serve the purposes of facilitating transfer of lithium ions, while mechanically separating and providing electrical insulation between the anodes and the cathodes.
KSR Rationale B (MPEP § 2141) states that it is obvious to perform “simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results”. In the instant case, Que teaches that a separator–liquid electrolyte system (as in Yamamoto) can be replaced by a solid state electrolyte, with both being known elements that serve the same purpose of facilitating transfer of lithium ions, while mechanically separating and providing electrical insulation between the anodes and the cathodes. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in light of KSR Rationale B, to modify the energy storage element of modified Yamamoto such that the separator–liquid electrolyte system is substituted with a solid electrolyte as taught by Que, and obtain the predictable result of transfer of lithium ions being facilitated, and mechanical separation and electrical insulation between the anodes and the cathodes.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al. (US 2018/0226653 A1) in view of Que et al. (US 2021/0066687 A1) as applied to Claims 1–3, 5, and 6 above, further in view of Lee et al. (US 2019/0221825 A1; art already of record).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Yamamoto discloses the energy storage element as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein:
the contact element is a wall of the prismatic housing, and/or
the contact element is electrically connected to the prismatic housing, instead disclosing that the contact elements are electrically connected to pole bushings (see combination of external terminals 37, [0057], and electrically conductive pin member 34, [0072], FIG. 1, 2, 6).
Lee teaches an energy storage element (see secondary battery 100, [0035], FIG. 1, 2A), comprising: an assembly (see stacked electrode assembly 110, [0036], FIG. 2A, 2B) comprising: a plurality of anodes (see first electrode plate 111, [0038], FIG. 2A, 4, which can operate as a negative electrode, [0039]), each respective anode of the plurality of anodes comprising an anode current collector (see first electrode current collector, [0040]) having a main region loaded with a layer of negative electrode material (see first electrode active material, [0040]) and a free edge strip (see first main tab 114, [0040], [0068], FIG. 2, 4), which is not loaded with the negative electrode material ([0040]), extending along an edge ([0041], FIG. 2, 4), a plurality of cathodes (see second electrode plate 112, [0038], FIG. 2A, 4, which can operate as a positive electrode, [0039]), each respective cathode comprising a cathode current collector (see second electrode current collector, [0042]) having a main region loaded with a layer of positive electrode material (see second electrode active material, [0042]), and a free edge strip (see second main tab 115, [0042], [0069], FIG. 2A, 4), which is not loaded with the positive electrode material ([0042]), extending along an edge ([0043], FIG. 2A, 4), wherein the anodes and the cathodes are stacked ([0038]) and are separated by separators (see separator 113, [0038], FIG. 2, 4) or layers of a solid state electrolyte (see solid electrolyte, [0045]); a prismatic housing (see case 120, [0036], FIG. 1, 2; [0037] discloses the energy storage element is prismatic, which would include the housing; FIG. 1 illustrates the housing as prismatic) enclosing the assembly ([0036]); and a contact element (see sub-tab 160, [0036], [0041], [0068], FIG. 2, 5B, 6, associated with the anode; see sub-tab 180, [0036], [0043], [0069], FIG. 2A, 6, associated with the cathode) connected to a set of respective free edge strips by welding ([0041], [0043], [0068], [0069]), the set of respective free edge strips including the free edge strips of the anode current collectors ([0068]) or the free edge strips of the cathode current collectors ([0069]), wherein the free edge strips of the anode current collectors protrude from one side of the assembly and the free edge strips of the cathode current collectors protrude from another side of the assembly ([0044], FIG. 2A, 4, 6). Lee teaches that the contact element, instead of being electrically connected only to a pole bushing (see second terminal part 140, [0058], FIG. 1, 2A), can be electrically connected to the pole bushing and the prismatic housing by replacing an insulation member (see insulation member 143, [0060], FIG. 1, 2A) associated with the pole bushing with a highly resistive conductor. Lee is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of energy storage elements capable of cycling lithium.
KSR Rationale B (MPEP § 2141) states that it is obvious to perform “simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results”. In the instant case, Lee teaches that the contact element can be electrically connected only to a pole bushing (as in Yamamoto), or can be electrically connected to the pole bushing and the prismatic housing, and thus both can be considered known means of electrically connecting the contact element to an external part of the energy storage element. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in light of KSR Rationale B, to modify the energy storage element of modified Yamamoto such that the contact element is electrically connected to both a pole bushing and the prismatic housing as taught by Lee, and obtain the predictable result of electrically connecting the contact element to an external part of the energy storage element.
Claims 7–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al. (US 2018/0226653 A1) in view of Que et al. (US 2021/0066687 A1) as applied to Claims 1–3, 5, and 6 above, further in view of Hayashi (US 2020/0388856 A1; art already of record).
Regarding Claims 7 and 9, modified Yamamoto discloses the energy storage element as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein the free edge strips of the anode current collectors and/or the free edge strips of the cathode current collectors are coated with a support material (Claim 7) nor wherein at least one of:
the free edge strips of the anode current collectors and/or the free edge strips of the cathode current collectors each comprise a first sub-region coated with the support material and a second sub-region that is uncoated;
each respective first sub-region and each respective second sub-region of a respective current collector have a shape of a line or a strip and run parallel to each other; and/or
each respective first sub-region is located between a respective main region of the respective current collector and the respective second sub-region of the respective current collector (Claim 9).
Hayashi teaches an energy storage element (see lithium ion secondary battery 100, [0023], FIG. 1) comprising: an assembly (see electrode body 20, [0023], FIG. 1 and 2) comprising: an anode (see negative electrode sheet 60, [0024], FIG. 1 and 2) and a cathode (see positive electrode sheet 50, [0024], FIG. 1–3) comprising a cathode current collector (see positive electrode current collector 52, [0025], FIG. 1–4) having a main region loaded with a layer of positive electrode material (see positive electrode active substance layer 54, [0025], FIG. 1–4) and a free edge strip (see regions of positive electrode current collector 52 not coated with positive electrode material, [0025], FIG. 1–4) which is not loaded with the positive electrode material extending along an edge ([0025], FIG. 1–3). Hayashi further teaches wherein the free edge strip of the cathode current collector is coated with a support material (see insulating layer 56, [0025], FIG. 2–4), and wherein the free edge strip of the cathode current collector comprise a first sub-region coated with the support material (see region of positive electrode current collector 52 coated with insulating layer 56 shown in FIG. 3 and 4, [0025]) and a second sub-region that is uncoated (see positive electrode current collector exposed part 52a, [0025], FIG. 1–4); and the first sub-region is located between a main region of the cathode current collector and the second sub-region of the cathode current collector ([0025], FIG. 2–4). Hayashi teaches ([0003]) that coating the free edge strip of the cathode current collector with the support material in the first sub-region as described above prevents a short circuit between a cathode and an anode.
Hayashi is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of energy storage elements capable of cycling lithium. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage element of modified Yamamoto such that a free edge strip of the cathode current collector is coated with a support material, and further wherein the free edge strips of the cathode current collectors each comprise a first sub-region coated with the support material and a second sub-region that is uncoated, and each respective first sub-region is located between a respective main region of the respective current collector and the respective second sub-region of the respective current collector, as taught by Hayashi, for the purpose of preventing a short circuit between the cathode and the anode.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Yamamoto discloses the energy storage element as set forth above. Modified Yamamoto further discloses wherein the support material is an electrically insulating layer (see insulating, Hayashi [0025]; note that Hayashi [0025] teaches that the support material is an insulating layer, and Hayashi [0003] teaches that the support layer prevents short circuit; thus one of ordinary skill in the art will therefore understand that “insulating” in the context of Hayashi is analogous to “electrically insulating”).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Yamamoto discloses the energy storage element as set forth above. Modified Yamamoto further discloses wherein each respective free edge strip of a respective cathode current collector is coated with the support material up to a first edge of the respective cathode current collector (Hayashi FIG. 2 illustrates coating of the support material (56) up to a top edge of the cathode current collector (52)).
Claims 11 and 13–15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al. (US 2018/0226653 A1) in view of Que et al. (US 2021/0066687 A1) as applied to Claims 1–3, 5, and 6 above, further in view of Nagai et al. (US 2015/0064529 A1; art already of record).
Regarding Claims 11 and 13, modified Yamamoto discloses the energy storage element as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein the separators comprise at least one inorganic material configured to improve resistance to thermal stress (Claim 11), nor wherein the at least one inorganic material is present as a coating on a surface of the separators (Claim 13).
Nagai teaches an energy storage element (see nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery, [0036]) comprising: an assembly (see electrode assembly 20, [0037], FIG. 4, which can have a multilayer structure, [0037]) comprising: a plurality of anodes (see negative electrode 50, [0037], FIG. 4) and a plurality of cathodes (see positive electrode 30, [0037], FIG. 4) wherein the anodes and the cathodes are stacked ([0037], FIG. 4) and are separated by separators (see separators 70, [0037], FIG. 4). Nagai further teaches wherein the separators comprise at least one inorganic material (see inorganic filler, [0080]) configured to improve resistance to thermal stress ([0005]), wherein the at least one inorganic material is present as a coating (see heat-resistant layer 74, [00037], FIG. 4, which includes the inorganic material, [0080]) on a surface (see base material 72, [0036], FIG. 4) of the separators. Nagai teaches ([0005]) that a separator comprising the coating described above enables the separator to maintain electrical insulation between the cathode and anode even after thermal shutdown, preventing a leakage current from arising.
Nagai is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of energy storage elements capable of cycling lithium. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage element of modified Yamamoto such that the separators comprise at least one inorganic material configured to improve thermal stress, wherein the at least one inorganic material is present as a coating on a surface of the separators, as taught by Nagai, for the purpose of maintaining electrical insulation between the cathode and anode even after thermal shutdown, preventing a leakage current from arising.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Yamamoto discloses the energy storage element as set forth above. Modified Yamamoto further discloses wherein:
the at least one inorganic material is an electrically insulating material (Nagai [0081]);
the at least one inorganic material is a ceramic material (see e.g. alumina (Al2O3), Nagai [0081]) or a glass (see glasses, Nagai [0081]);
the at least one inorganic material is an oxidic material (see metal oxides, Nagai [0081]); and
the ceramic or oxidic material is aluminum oxide (Al2O3) (see alumina (Al2O3), Nagai [0081]) or titanium oxide (see titania, Nagai [0081]).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Yamamoto discloses the energy storage element as set forth above. Modified Yamamoto further discloses wherein the separators comprise the at least one inorganic material only in regions (Nagai [0037] discloses that the coating (which, as set forth in the rejection of Claims 11 and 13 above, includes the inorganic material) is present only on a single surface of each separator).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al. (US 2018/0226653 A1) in view of Que et al. (US 2021/0066687 A1), further in view of Nagai et al. (US 2015/0064529 A1), as applied to Claims 11 and 13–15 above, further in view of Samii et al. (US 6949315 A1; art already of record).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Yamamoto discloses the energy storage element as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein the at least one inorganic material is included as a particulate filler material in the separators.
Samii teaches a separator (see microporous battery separators, C3L25–28) for use in an energy storage element (see lithium ion cells, C3L25–28), wherein an inorganic material (see inert filler such as titania, C3L48–57, also referred to as e.g. TiO2 filler, C3L65–C4L6, and TiO2 particulate filler, C4L12–16) is included as a particulate filler material in the separator (C3L48–57, C3L65–C4L6, C4L12–16). Samii teaches (C3L65–C4L6) that including the inorganic material TiO2 as a particulate filler material in the separator improves structural integrity at high temperature, increases puncture resistance, reduces the separator’s impedance, increases the separator’s porosity, lowers shrinkage, and keeps the electrodes separated at high temperatures for safety reasons.
Samii is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of separators for energy storage elements capable of cycling lithium. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy storage element of modified Yamamoto such that the separator further comprises the inorganic material TiO2 as a particulate filler material in the separator, as taught by Samii, for the purpose of improving structural integrity at high temperature, increasing puncture resistance, reducing the separator’s impedance, increasing the separator’s porosity, lowering shrinkage, and keeping the electrodes separated at high temperatures for safety reasons.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the Remarks filed 5 March 2026 with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103 rejections in the Office Action mailed 16 December 2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725