DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 9-18, in the reply filed on February 17, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the technical features “circulating gas across a bottom surface of a gas-permeable, liquid impermeable membrane of the cell culture vessel” is a special technical features that neither taught nor suggested by the prior art. This is not found persuasive because Group I does not require a step of circulating gas by using a fan. Further, as set forth in the restriction requirement, the inventions listed as Groups I-III do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because they do not relate to one invention only, or to a group of inventions so linked so as to form a single inventive concept. Further, Applicants’ attention is drawn to the fact that the search for method claims requires the identification of processing steps, while the search for apparatus claims requires the identification of structural elements.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “disposable tray having opposed vent openings at a vertical location that corresponds to a vertical position of the membrane of the culture vessel” (claim 16), must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claims 15 and 17, “the fan” should read -- the at least one fan -- for consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a rocking assembly” in claim 10; “a control unit” in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a bioprocessing system" in line 2. It is unclear if said limitation is referring to the bioprocessing system recited earlier in the claim or is an additional bioprocessing system. For examination purposes, the limitation is interpreted to mean that said limitation is referring to the bioprocessing system recited earlier in the claim. Further clarification is requested and appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the fan is located beneath the culture vessel" in line 2. However, the culture vessel itself is not positively recited in the instant claims. Thus the metes and bounds of the claim is unclear.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the disposable tray having opposed vent openings at a vertical location that corresponds to a vertical position of the membrane of the culture vessel " in lines 2-4. Claim 16 requires the vessel to be arranged at a specific position relative to the vent openings of the tray. However, the culture vessel itself is not positively recited in the claim. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim is unclear. For examination purposes, the limitation is interpreted to require the culture vessel.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hata et al. (US 2009/0111179; hereinafter “Hata”).
It is noted that while the invention contains a culture vessel, the culture vessel is not positively recited in the instant claims.
Regarding claim 9, a bioprocessing system, comprising: an incubation chamber (FIG. 5: incubator (1); [0056]); a support structure configured to support a culture vessel in an elevated position within
the incubation chamber (FIG. 5: tray (47); [0067]); and at least one fan configured to circulate an atmosphere within the incubation chamber
across a bottom surface of a gas-permeable, liquid impermeable membrane of the culture vessel when the culture vessel is supported by the support structure (Fan (41) of Hata is structurally the same as the instant fan and thus considered to be fully capable “to circulate an atmosphere within the incubation chamber across a bottom surface of a gas-permeable, liquid impermeable membrane of the culture vessel when the culture vessel is supported by the support structure”). See also [0062].
Regarding claim 10, Hata further discloses wherein: the support structure includes a rocking assembly of the bioprocessing system ([0081]).
Regarding claim 11, Hata further discloses wherein:
a control unit (operation control panel (13); [0058]); a carbon dioxide sensor configured to measure a concentration of carbon dioxide in the
atmosphere within the incubation chamber (sensor (25); [0058]); a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of the atmosphere within the incubation chamber (sensor (24); [0058]); and wherein the control unit is configured to control a flow rate of circulation of the atmosphere in dependence upon at least one of the concentration of carbon dioxide and/or the
temperature ([0058]).
Regarding claim 12, Hata further discloses wherein the bioprocessing system further comprising: a carbon dioxide source in selective fluid communication with the incubation chamber (gas cylinder (28); [0058]); wherein the control unit is configured to control a flow of carbon dioxide from the carbon dioxide source into the incubation chamber in dependence upon the concentration of carbon dioxide within the incubation chamber ([0058]).
Regarding claim 13, Hata further discloses wherein: the support structure is configured to induce a turbulent interaction between the atmosphere and the membrane (tray (47) of Hata is structurally the same as the instant platform and thus considered to be fully capable “to induce a turbulent interaction between the atmosphere and the membrane”). Applicant is reminded that the culture vessel is not a required element of the claimed bioprocessing system.
Regarding claim 14, Hata further discloses wherein: the support structure is configured to maximize exposure of the bottom surface of the
membrane to the atmosphere within the incubation chamber (tray (47) of Hata is structurally the same as the instant platform and thus considered to be fully capable “to maximize exposure of the bottom surface of the membrane to the atmosphere within the incubation chamber”). Also see [0067]. Applicant is reminded that the culture vessel is not a required element of the claimed bioprocessing system.
Therefore, Hata meets and anticipates the limitations set forth in claims 9-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hata as applied to claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 15, Hata discloses the bioprocessing system of claim 10 as set forth above. Hata discloses the claimed at least one fan (41) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one fan is located beneath the culture vessel. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have rearranged the at least one fan of Hata such that the at least one fan is located beneath the culture vessel, since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of element without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.04 VI. C.).
Regarding claim 18, Hata discloses the claimed at least one fan located at one end but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one fan is two fans located at opposing ends of the incubation chamber. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have duplicated the fan of Hata such that the bioprocessing system of Hata includes two fan at opposite ends, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.04 VI. B.). One would have been motivated to duplicate the fan for the purpose of enhancing air circulation within the incubator more uniformly.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hata as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Griffin et al (WO2019106207; hereinafter “Griffin”).
Regarding claims 16-17, Hata discloses the bioprocessing system of claim 10 as set forth above. Hata further discloses a disposable tray within which the culture vessel is positioned (FIG. 5: platform (46); [0067]), but does not explicitly disclose the disposable tray having opposed vent openings at a vertical location that corresponds to a vertical position of the membrane of the culture vessel, wherein: the disposable tray includes a pair of support legs, each of the pair of support legs being
configured so as to form a flow passage for directing the atmosphere circulated by the fan from
the incubation chamber to a first vent opening of the vent openings, and downwardly from a
second vent opening of the vent openings back to the incubation chamber. Griffin discloses a culture vessel (FIG. 13: vessel (420), and a tray (FIG. 15: tray 610) having opposed vent openings at a vertical location that corresponds to a vertical position of the membrane of the culture vessel (openings FIG. 15: openings (626,628), and vessel positioned above openings), and a pair of support legs, each of the pair of support legs being configured so as to form a flow passage for directing the atmosphere circulated by the fan from the incubation chamber to a first vent opening of the vent openings, and downwardly from a second vent opening of the vent openings back to the incubation chamber (FIGS. 13 and 15: support ribs (636); [0156]-[0159]). In view of Griffin, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tray of Hata with the tray of Griffin to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification for the purpose of enhancing gas circulation around the culture vessel and thereby improving the cell culture process.
Conclusion
/LIBAN M HASSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799