DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/25/2023 and 11/05/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Drawings The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “ a fan system ” as recited in claims 4 and 5, and the “axial fan system” as claimed in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 11 , it’s not clear what’s intended by “ the air-gaps are defined by at least one of the core and winding coils ” as recited. The examiner does not know how to interpret the limitation s in question. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 1 -7 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2016/0329145 A1) in view of KR 10-2015-0044162 . With respect to claim 1 , Kang et al., hereinafter referred to as “Kang,” teaches a transformer (Fig s . 5 and 6 ) comprising: a core 100 ; a plurality of winding coils 200 arranged in proximity of the core to inductively couple to the core; a plurality of air-gaps S1 and S2 to allow air flow in the proximity of at least one of the core and winding coils; and an air-flow re-director 600 including a plurality independent surface s 632 and 633 angled to re-direct a flow of a portion of a cooling air received into the re-director into at least one pre-determined air-gap (para. [0042], [0044], [0048] and [0053]) . Kang does not expressly teach an air-flow re-director including a plurality of independently adjustable surfaces . KR 10-2015-0044162 , hereinafter “KR’162,” teaches an air cooling apparatus 300 (Fig. 3) comprising: an air-flow re-director 3 1 0 i ncluding a plurality of independently adjustable surfaces 350-1 to 350-N . It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the independently adjustable surfaces as taught by KR’162 to the transformer of Kang to maintain the temperature of the transformer at an appropriate level. With respect to claim s 2 and 15 , Kang in view of KR’162 teaches t he transformer of claim 1 and the air-flow redirector of claim 14, respectively wherein at least two of the independently adjustable surfaces are angled differently from each other to direct flows from different portions of the received cooling air to different pre-determined air-gaps. With respect to claim s 3 and 16 , Kang in view of KR’162 teaches t he transformer of claim 1 and the air-flow re-director of claim 14, respectively, the air-flow re-director further comprising: a support structure (mounting structure) wherein the independently adjustable surfaces are adjustably attached to the support structure (Kang, paras. [0047] and [0048]) . With respect to claim 4 , Kang in view of KR’162 teaches t he transformer of claim 1, wherein the air-flow re-director is coupled to a fan system 620 that provides the cooling air (para. [0049]) . With respect to claim s 5 and 19 , Kang in view of KR’162 teaches t he transformer of claim 1 and the air-flow re-director of claim 14, respectively, wherein the air-flow re-director is integrally formed with at least a portion of a fan system 620 that provides the cooling air (Kang, paras. [0048] and [0049]) . With respect to claim s 6 and 18 , Kang in view of KR’162 teaches t he transformer of claim s 4 and the air-flow re-director of claim 17, respectively , wherein the fan system comprises an axial fan system (para. [0049]) . With respect to claim 7 , Kang in view of KR’162 teaches t he transformer of claim 1, wherein at least one of the winding coils is configured to operate at a different voltage than the other winding coils (Kang, para. [0043]) . With respect to claim 9 , Kang in view of KR’162 teaches t he transformer of claim 1, wherein the air-flow re-director is positioned at a predetermined dielectric distance from the core and winding coils (Kang, paras. [0043] and [0048]) . With respect to claim 10 , Kang in view of KR’162 teaches t he transformer of claim 1, wherein the air-flow re-director is of a substantially dielectric composition (Kang, para. [0062]) . With respect to claim 11 , Kang in view of KR’162 teaches t he transformer of claim 1, wherein the air-gaps are defined by at least one of the core and winding coils (Kang, para. [0042] and [0044]) . With respect to claim 12 , Kang in view of KR’162 teaches t he transformer of claim 1, wherein the transformer comprises a dry-type transformer (Kang, para. [0048]) . With respect to claim 13 , Kang in view of KR’162 teaches t he transformer of claim 3, the air-flow re-director further comprising: an air-duct 630 to receive the cooling air and to direct the cooling air to the independently adjustable surfaces (Kang, para. [0048]) . With respect to claim 14 , Kang teaches a n air-flow re-director 6 0 0 (Figs. 5 and 6) comprising a plurality independent surfaces 632 and 633 angled to re-direct a flow of a portion of a cooling air received into the re-director into at least one pre-determined air-gap S1 or S2 of a plurality of air-gaps S1 and S2 proximate to at least one of a core 110 and a winding coil 200 of a transformer (para. [0042], [0044], [0048] and [0053]) . Kang does not expressly teach an air-flow re-director including a plurality of independently adjustable surfaces . KR’162 teaches an air cooling apparatus 300 (Fig. 3) comprising: an air-flow re-director 3 1 0 i ncluding a plurality of independently adjustable surfaces 350-1 to 350-N. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the independently adjustable surfaces as taught by KR’162 to the air-flow re-director of Kang to maintain the temperature of the transformer at an appropriate level. With respect to claim 17 , Kang in view of KR’162 teaches t he air-flow re-director of claim 14, wherein the air-flow re-director is coupled to a fan system 620 that provides the cooling air (Kang, para. [0051]) . With respect to claim 20 , Kang teaches a method (Figs. 5 and 6) comprising: disposing an air-flow re-director 6 0 0 proximate to a transformer (“transformer” para. [0041]) comprising a core 110 and a plurality of winding coils 200 arranged in proximity of the core to inductively couple to the core; and angling a plurality of independent surfaces 632 and 633 of the air-flow re-director to re-direct a flow of a portion of a cooling air received into the re-director into at least one pre- determined air-gap S1 or S2 of a plurality of air-gaps S1 and S2 to allow air flow in the proximity of at least one of the core and winding coils (para. [0042], [0044], [0048] and [0053]) . Kang does not expressly teach an air-flow re-director including a plurality of independently adjustable surfaces . KR’162 teaches a method (Fig. 3) comprising: an air-flow re-director 3 1 0 i ncluding a plurality of independently adjustable surfaces 350-1 to 350-N. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the independently adjustable surfaces as taught by KR’162 to the transformer of Kang to maintain the temperature of the transformer at an appropriate level. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of KR ’ 162 , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takauchi et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2016/0027568 A1) . With respect to claim 8 , Kang in view of KR’162 teaches the transformer of claim 1 . Kang in view of KR’162 does not expressly teach at least one air-gap comprises an external surface of a coil positioned farthest from the core. Takauchi et al., hereinafter referred to as “Takauchi,” teaches a transformer (Fig. 3), wherein at least one air-gap 4h comprises an external surface of a coil 2x positioned farthest from the core 3c (para. [0037]) . It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the air-gap as taught by Takauchi to the transformer of Kang in view of KR’162 to provide air flow to the external surface of the coil to improve heat dissipation. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT MANGTIN LIAN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-5729 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 0800-1700 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Shawki S. Ismail can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-3985 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837