DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the air cooling apparatus for a battery system of KR’162 is entirely different field of endeavor from the transformer cooling arrangement of Kang. Applicant states that KR’162 is related to a small multi-battery arrangement that is entirely different scale and structure from the stationary large-scale transformer of Kang. Accordingly, applicant concludes that a person with ordinary skill in the art would not look to the unrelated technology and field of endeavor of KR’162 for any modification of Kang.
After careful consideration without passion or prejudice, the argument is not found persuasive, respectfully. Whether or not KR’162 is directed to a transformer, it’s nonetheless related to air cooling apparatus for battery to improve the life and or performance thereof.
Similarly, the present invention is about improving “inefficien[cy]” of “air-cooling of transformers during operation” (paras. [0002] and [0005]). Therefore, the examiner determines KR’162 is reasonably pertinent to the problem with which the applicant is concerned. MPEP 2141.01(a). Accordingly, a person with ordinary skill in the art would look into the air cooling system as taught by KR’162 and apply it to the air-cooling of a transformer as in Kang.
Applicant also argues that without hindsight benefit of applicant’s specification as a roadmap, the examiner’s proposed modification would effectively render Kang’s transformer unsuitable for its intended purpose, and the proposed combination would fail to disclose all the limitations as recited in claim 1. Applicant asserts that the duct 630 of Kang is a singly narrow discharge port that directs air into spaces S1 and S2 of the transformer without any redirection of the air toward one or the other. On the other hand, KR’162 discloses a duct that runs along an array of the batteries, with openings along the side of the duct. Modifying Kang to incorporate these features would result in redirecting air out of the upper place 632 and away from the transformer entirely.
After careful consideration without passion or prejudice, the argument is found not persuasive, respectfully. A person with ordinary skill in the art would know the teaching of blinds 350 of KR’162 could be applied or incorporate to the upper side and or the inclined portion of the duct 630 of Kang such that the air flow could be directed more toward air-gaps S1 or S2, depending on the temperature of the air-gaps S1 and S2. For example, if the temperature of high voltage-coil 220 is more than the pre-set number, the blinds could be controlled so that air flow could be directed to air-gap S2 more than air flow to air-gap S1. On the other hand, if the temperature of the transformer core 130 is more than the pre-determined amount, the blinds could be configured to flow air to air gap S1 more than air gap S2. Therefore, the combination KR’162 to Kang would work for its intended use, and the combination is not hindsight. Furthermore, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Drawings objection made in the Office action dated 03/04/2026 is hereby withdrawn as a result of the claim amendment made in the reply filed on 05/04/2026.
Similarly, the 35 USC 112(b) rejection made in the Office action dated 03/04/2026 is hereby withdrawn as a result of the claim amendment made in the reply filed on 05/04/2026.
Drawings
The drawings received on 05/25/2023 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2016/0329145 A1) in view of KR 10-2015-0044162.
With respect to claim 1, Kang et al., hereinafter referred to as “Kang,” teaches a transformer (Figs. 5 and 6) comprising:
a core 100;
a plurality of winding coils 200 arranged in proximity of the core to inductively couple to the core;
a plurality of air-gaps S1 and S2 to allow air flow in the proximity of at least one of the core and winding coils; and
an air-flow re-director 600 including a plurality independent surfaces 632 and 633 angled to re-direct a flow of a portion of a cooling air received into the re-director into at least one pre-determined air-gap (para. [0042], [0044], [0048] and [0053]).
Kang does not expressly teach an air-flow re-director including a plurality of independently adjustable surfaces.
KR 10-2015-0044162, hereinafter “KR’162,” teaches an air cooling apparatus 300 (Fig. 3) comprising:
an air-flow re-director 310 including a plurality of independently adjustable surfaces 350-1 to 350-N.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the independently adjustable surfaces as taught by KR’162 to the transformer of Kang to maintain the temperature of the transformer at an appropriate level.
With respect to claims 2 and 15, Kang in view of KR’162 teaches the transformer of claim 1 and the air-flow redirector of claim 14, respectively wherein at least two of the independently adjustable surfaces are angled differently from each other to direct flows from different portions of the received cooling air to different pre-determined air-gaps.
With respect to claims 3 and 16, Kang in view of KR’162 teaches the transformer of claim 1 and the air-flow re-director of claim 14, respectively, the air-flow re-director further comprising:
a support structure (mounting structure) wherein the independently adjustable surfaces are adjustably attached to the support structure (Kang, paras. [0047] and [0048]).
With respect to claim 4, Kang in view of KR’162 teaches the transformer of claim 1, wherein the air-flow re-director is coupled to a fan 620 that provides the cooling air (para. [0049]).
With respect to claims 5 and 19, Kang in view of KR’162 teaches the transformer of claim 1 and the air-flow re-director of claim 14, respectively, wherein the air-flow re-director is integrally formed with at least a portion of a fan 620 that provides the cooling air (Kang, paras. [0048] and [0049]).
With respect to claims 6 and 18, Kang in view of KR’162 teaches the transformer of claims 4 and the air-flow re-director of claim 17, respectively, wherein the fan comprises an axial fan (para. [0049]).
With respect to claim 7, Kang in view of KR’162 teaches the transformer of claim 1, wherein at least one of the winding coils is configured to operate at a different voltage than the other winding coils (Kang, para. [0043]).
With respect to claim 9, Kang in view of KR’162 teaches the transformer of claim 1, wherein the air-flow re-director is positioned at a predetermined dielectric distance from the core and winding coils (Kang, paras. [0043] and [0048]).
With respect to claim 10, Kang in view of KR’162 teaches the transformer of claim 1, wherein the air-flow re-director is of a substantially dielectric composition (Kang, para. [0062]).
With respect to claim 12, Kang in view of KR’162 teaches the transformer of claim 1, wherein the transformer comprises a dry-type transformer (Kang, para. [0048]).
With respect to claim 13, Kang in view of KR’162 teaches the transformer of claim 3, the air-flow re-director further comprising:
an air-duct 630 to receive the cooling air and to direct the cooling air to the independently adjustable surfaces (Kang, para. [0048]).
With respect to claim 14, Kang teaches an air-flow re-director 600 (Figs. 5 and 6) comprising a plurality independent surfaces 632 and 633 angled to re-direct a flow of a portion of a cooling air received into the re-director into at least one pre-determined air-gap S1 or S2 of a plurality of air-gaps S1 and S2 proximate to at least one of a core 110 and a winding coil 200 of a transformer (para. [0042], [0044], [0048] and [0053]).
Kang does not expressly teach an air-flow re-director including a plurality of independently adjustable surfaces.
KR’162 teaches an air cooling apparatus 300 (Fig. 3) comprising:
an air-flow re-director 310 including a plurality of independently adjustable surfaces 350-1 to 350-N.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the independently adjustable surfaces as taught by KR’162 to the air-flow re-director of Kang to maintain the temperature of the transformer at an appropriate level.
With respect to claim 17, Kang in view of KR’162 teaches the air-flow re-director of claim 14, wherein the air-flow re-director is coupled to a fan system 620 that provides the cooling air (Kang, para. [0051]).
With respect to claim 20, Kang teaches a method (Figs. 5 and 6) comprising:
disposing an air-flow re-director 600 proximate to a transformer (“transformer” para. [0041]) comprising a core 110 and a plurality of winding coils 200 arranged in proximity of the core to inductively couple to the core; and
angling a plurality of independent surfaces 632 and 633 of the air-flow re-director to re-direct a flow of a portion of a cooling air received into the re-director into at least one pre-determined air-gap S1 or S2 of a plurality of air-gaps S1 and S2 to allow air flow in the proximity of at least one of the core and winding coils (para. [0042], [0044], [0048] and [0053]).
Kang does not expressly teach an air-flow re-director including a plurality of independently adjustable surfaces.
KR’162 teaches a method (Fig. 3) comprising:
an air-flow re-director 310 including a plurality of independently adjustable surfaces 350-1 to 350-N.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the independently adjustable surfaces as taught by KR’162 to the transformer of Kang to maintain the temperature of the transformer at an appropriate level.
With respect to claim 21, Kang in view of KR’162 teaches the transformer of claim 1, wherein the plurality of winding coils comprises an inner winding coil and an outer winding coil,
wherein a first air gap of the plurality of air gaps is provided between the inner winding coil and the outer winding coil, and a second air gap of the plurality of air gaps is provided between the core and the inner winding coil, and
wherein the plurality of independently adjustable surfaces are independently angled relative to one another, said independently adjustable surfaces being angled to redirect a flow of cooling air received in said airflow re-director into at least said first air gap and said second air gap (para. [0044]). The combination of Kang in view of KR’162 would result in the claimed limitations.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of KR’162, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takauchi et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2016/0027568 A1).
With respect to claim 8, Kang in view of KR’162 teaches the transformer of claim 1. Kang in view of KR’162 does not expressly teach at least one air-gap comprises an external surface of a coil positioned farthest from the core.
Takauchi et al., hereinafter referred to as “Takauchi,” teaches a transformer (Fig. 3), wherein at least one air-gap 4h comprises an external surface of a coil 2x positioned farthest from the core 3c (para. [0037]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the air-gap as taught by Takauchi to the transformer of Kang in view of KR’162 to provide air flow to the external surface of the coil to improve heat dissipation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837