DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “R1 is each independently hydrogen or deuterium; and a is an integer of 0 to 7;” is indefinite. Since R1 can be hydrogen it is unclear what the group is present when a is less than 7. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the group attached to the dibenzofuran group to be hydrogen was there is no R1 group present, but since R1 can be hydrogen it is unclear the structure of the compound when a R1 group is not present. Further clarification is needed.
Claims 2-9 are rejected due to the dependence of the claims on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-9 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ha et al. (KR 2017-0096770) (hereafter “Ha”), where a machine translation is used as the English equivalent, in view of Lee et al. (WO 2020/080693) (hereafter “Lee”).
Regarding claims 1-9, Ha teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, an hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (pages 139, 164, and 165 of the machine translation) (claim 1). Ha teaches that the light emitting layer can comprise a host material and a dopant, which can be a fluorescent material or a phosphorescent material and does not limit the material (page 142 of the machine translation) (claim 1). Ha teaches that a compound that meets the following formula can be used in the light emitting layer,
where X can be O and one of R4 and R5 is
(pages 18 and 139 of the machine translation) (claims 6-9). Ha teaches that the compounds can be substituted with deuterium groups (pages 21-25 of the machine translation) (claims 6-8). Ha teaches that following compounds that meet the aforementioned formula,
,
, and
are a few examples and are the same as claimed by the applicant (pages 129-139 of the machine translation) (claim 9).
Ha does not specifically teach where the compound is used a host material with a co-host in the electroluminescent device.
Lee teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraph [263]-[265]) (claim 1). Lee teaches that the light emitting layer comprises two host materials and a phosphorescent dopant (paragraph [265]) (claim 1). Lee teaches that one host can meet the following formula,
, which is similar to the formula and compounds of Ha (paragraph [45]). Lee teaches that the second host meets the following formula,
, where X3 can be O, and the compound can be substituted with deuterium groups (paragraphs [15]-[33] and [77]-[79]) (claims 2-5). Lee teaches the following compounds that meet the formula for the second host,
,
, and
are a few examples and are claimed by the applicant (paragraph [113]) (claim 5). Lee teaches that when these second host material are present with arylamine compound as the first host material for a phosphorescent dopant the device displays high efficiency and lifetime (paragraph [272]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ha, so the compounds of Ha where used a host material and mixed with the second host material of Lee,
,
, or
, for a phosphorescent dopant. The motivation as taught by Lee would have been to make an electroluminescent device with high efficiency and lifetime. The Office points out that Lee teaches that the second host material can be used with compounds similar to the formula and compounds of Ha; therefore, it would have been obvious to use a second host in the device of Ha.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jung et al. (US 2018/0186764) teaches naphthobenzofuran compounds substituted with amine group for use in electroluminescent devices.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759