Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/16/2025 has been entered. Claims 1 and 5-7 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Mizutani does not disclose or suggest adopting a display form that alerts the operator according to the danger level to the operator. This analysis of the reference by Mizutani is erroneous, and Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The rejection is further defined below, but in general, Mizutani certainly teaches that the changes to the display form alert the user of the augmented reality display deice according to a danger level posed to the user. FIGs. 9-13 of Mizutani and the associated description show the ability to change the color of the representation of the motion space and even the transparency of the superimposed displayed motion space to alert the user, and allow them to recognize their proximity to the robot’s moving range. In P [0124] Mizutani rationalizes that these configurations are made so that “the worker 201 can recognize the motion space of the movable robot 202 three-dimensionally as well as intuitively, thus can avoid a danger such as a collision.”
It is also important to note that Applicant alleges that Mizutani merely teaches that a size of a displaying of a motion area of a robot changes proportionally to a distance between the robot and the operator. Distance is understandably a primary concern of Mizutani, as the closer an operator gets, the greater the risk of collision and injury, as seen in P [0124]. This is not dissimilar to P [0024] of the Specification of the presently filed application, which states “The display control unit 215 may change the display form of the AR image of the motion area of the robot 10 based on the distance between the robot 10 and the augmented reality display device 20 calculated by the distance calculation unit 213”. In other words, the support for the claim amendment identifies distances that establish a level of risk associated with the operator’s position. This is closely related to the disclosure of Mizutani.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: display control unit, coordinate acquisition unit, information acquisition unit, distance calculation unit, communication unit, and input unit in claims 1 and 5.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof, see P [0018] for CPU processor that includes display control unit, coordinate acquisition unit, information acquisition unit, and distance calculation unit. See also transmission devices in P [0017] for communication unit and touch panel in P [0014] for input unit.
Examiner Note: To reiterate from the Non-Final Office action, Claim 1 recites the limitation “based on matching performed between feature quantities from the image of the robot captured by the camera and feature quantities of predetermined three-dimensional recognition models of the robot". The term "feature quantities" appears to broadly describe known image processing features of a robot such as edges, joints, links, or attached markers, and it is understood that one of ordinary skill in the art would view identification of such features as meeting the limitation. Additionally, the term "predetermined three-dimensional recognition models" would appear to one of ordinary skill in the art to include any three dimensional model of the robot. Therefore, the limitation describes matching features, such as edges, links, joints, or markers, from a captured image with a previously stored model of the robot and its corresponding features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazi et al., hereinafter Kazi (Document ID: US 20040189631 A1) in view of Funk et al., hereinafter Funk (Document ID: DE 102018113336 A1), and further in view of Mizutani et al., hereinafter Mizutani (Document ID: US 20110311127 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kazi teaches an augmented reality display device, comprising:
a camera (camera 1.2);
a display unit (viewing device 1.1);
a display control unit (image generating unit 5.1) configured to display, on the display unit, an image of a robot captured by the camera and an augmented reality image of a motion area of the robot (see at least P [0085]: “an image generating unit 5.1, with evaluates the pose of the viewing unit 1.1 in accordance with the camera 1.2 and mixes the camera image with the robot-specific, computer-generated information, so that the real image and the information to be displayed are jointly displayed on the viewing device 1.1.”);
Kazi additionally teaches a coordinate acquisition unit as a processing unit 5, configured to acquire three-dimensional coordinates of a robot origin in a world coordinate system in at least P [0093] wherein an origin of the world coordinate system for the robot base is acquired based on the image of the real robot 7 in its environment. But Kazi does not explicitly teach that the origin is based on matching performed between feature quantities from the image of the robot captured by the camera and feature quantities of predetermined three-dimensional recognition models of the robot.
Instead, Funk, whose invention pertains to calibrating an augment reality spatial representation of a robot environment, teaches in at least P [0069]-[0071] an “initial calibration” which “includes performing a coordinate comparison between the robot coordinate system of the robot 20 and the coordinate system of the augmented reality display environment 22.” As seen in FIG. 2 this comparison step includes matching the image of the real robot 20 with the model of the robot 22.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the augmented reality motion area viewing system of Kazi with the calibration step involving comparison between a model and real time image of Funk in order to display the augmented reality display environment 22 in the correct position, size and orientation as in P [0054].
Kazi further teaches spatial awareness and shifting the reference coordinate system for a robot tool center point or a workpiece to be interacted with in P [0093]-[0098]. Kazi additionally teaches a processing unit 5 as an information acquisition unit, and Funk teaches a depth camera 18 capable of determining relative position to “the base robot coordinate system” (Funk P [0062]). But Kazi and Funk do not explicitly teach
an information acquisition unit configured to acquire three-dimensional coordinates of the camera; and
a distance calculation unit configured to calculate a distance between the robot and the augmented reality display device based on the three-dimensional coordinates of the robot origin and the three-dimensional coordinates of the camera
Instead, Mizutani, whose invention pertains to a motion space presentation device, teaches in at least P [0085] a position and posture detection unit 105 that “detects a position and a posture of the image capture unit 104 in the real world”, wherein the image capture unit 104 is a camera. See also P [0097] wherein the distance between the worker, who holds the motion space presentation device 100 equipped with the image capture unit 104, is computed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the augmented reality motion area viewing system with calibration of Kazi and Funk with the distance based awareness and functionality of Mizutani in order to distinguish the robot motion space from the rest of the environment in a user friendly and appropriate manner, as in Mizutani P [0099].
In view of the modification, Kazi then teaches
a communication unit configured to communicate with an external device (see at least P [0088] which defines capabilities of the processing unit to utilize wireless, network based communication paths with a “manual programmer” as a communication unit, and see “robot control 6” as an external device for controlling the robot),
wherein the information acquisition unit acquires setting information indicating the motion area of the robot from the external device (see at least P [0122] for defining operating areas “which the robot must not penetrate or must not leave.” Thus the information acquisition unit--- processing unit 5--- acquires setting information--- operating area--- indicating the motion area of the robot from the external device--- the manual programmer communicates with the robot control):
wherein the display control unit arranges the augmented reality image of the motion area of the robot on the image of the robot with respect to the three-dimensional coordinates of the robot origin acquired by the coordinate acquisition unit and displays the image on the display unit (see at least P [0085] which establishes mixing “the camera image with the robot-specific, computer-generated information”, including the robot origin in P [0093] and FIGs. 7a-7c),
But Kazi and Funk do not explicitly teach
wherein the display control unit changes a display form of the motion area of the robot to a form that alerts a user of the augmented reality display device according to danger level to the user related to the calculated distance between the robot and the augmented reality display device.
Instead, Mizutani teaches in at least P [0098] that the display form of the motion area is adapted based on the calculated distance.
Mizutani additionally teaches in FIGs. 9-13 and P [0123]-[0136] the ability to change the color of the representation of the motion space and even the transparency of the superimposed displayed motion space to alert the user, and allow them to recognize their proximity to the robot’s moving range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the augmented reality motion area viewing system with calibration of Kazi and Funk with the distance based awareness and functionality of Mizutani in order to distinguish the robot motion space from the rest of the environment in a user friendly and appropriate manner, as in Mizutani P [0099]. In P [0124] Mizutani rationalizes that these configurations are made so that “the worker 201 can recognize the motion space of the movable robot 202 three-dimensionally as well as intuitively, thus can avoid a danger such as a collision.”
Regarding claim 5, modified Kazi teaches the augmented reality display device according to claim 1, and Kazi further teaches
an input unit configured to receive an input from a user (see at least P [0087]: “the processing unit 5 can also incorporate an interface for input devices, such as e.g. a manual programmer for a robot, which allow a spatial manipulation of the robot-specific information by means of a human user.”),
wherein the information acquisition unit acquires setting information indicating the motion area of the robot from the user via the input unit (see at least P [0087]: “robot-specific information, optionally whilst taking account of user inputs, are used in augmented reality models, which are in turn further processed by the image generating unit 5.1 for displaying the augmented image on the viewing device 1.1”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kazi teaches the augmented reality display device according to claim 1, and Kazi further teaches
wherein the information acquisition unit acquires at least next target position coordinates of the robot (see at least P [0076] wherein the path of target points for the robot is calculated), and
wherein the display control unit displays, on the display unit, an augmented reality image of a motion trajectory up to the next target position coordinates together with the augmented reality image of the motion area of the robot (see at least FIGs. 11-14 for examples of displaying an augmented reality image of a motion trajectory up to the next target position coordinates together with the augmented reality image of the motion area of the robot).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kazi teaches the augmented reality display device according to claim 1, and Kazi further teaches an augmented reality display system, comprising:
a robot (robot 7); and
the augmented reality display device (inventive device 1) according to claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Additional art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Document ID: US 20160207198 A1
Invention pertains to verifying one or more safety volumes for a movable mechanical unit positioned in an environment.
Document ID: US 20190187477 A1
Invention pertains to changing a display based on a determined risk level for preventing interference.
Document ID: US 20170087722 A1
Invention pertains to modeling a physical scene with a virtual scene in a simulation environment for safety in a collaborative environment.
/D.E./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656