DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 7214449 B2) and further in view of the Lin et al. (Lin, S.P. Crystallization Kinetics and Mechanism of the Lixni2−xo2 (0, 14 Aug. 2001, www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/abs/pii/S0022024801016694.)
and in view of University of California, Merced (Radiation Safety Training for X-Ray Diffraction And...,Feb.2010,imf.ucmerced.edu/sites/g/files/ufvvjh1081/f/documents/xrd_radiation_safety_ucm.pdf.), herein referred to as Merced.
Regarding claim 1, Sato discloses a positive electrode active material (abstract, [cathode active material]) for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (abstract), including: a first lithium-transition metal composite oxide represented by the general formula:
LixNi(1-y-z) CoyMzO2, wherein 0.8 ≤ x ≤ 1.2, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.2, 0 < z ≤ 0.5, and M represents at least one metal element excluding Li, Ni, and Co (abstract, [second cathode active material]) (column 7, lines 30-31, [second cathode active material, Li1.05Ni0.85Co0.10Mn0.05O2)]
; and a second lithium-transition metal composite oxide (abstract, [a first cathode active material])
Sato does not teach that the second lithium-transition metal composite oxide has at least one diffraction peak having a peak top at a diffraction angle (20) of greater than or equal to 21.400 and less than or equal to 21.650 in a radiation X-ray diffraction (radiation energy 16 keV).
Lin, in the same field of endeavor, lithium metal composite oxides, teaches a lithium-transition metal composite oxide having at least one diffraction peak having a peak top at a diffraction angle (2Θ) of greater than or equal to 21.400 and less than or equal to 21.650 in a radiation X-ray diffraction (Lin, Fig. 1, XRD patterns of (c) (d) and (e) – which are lithium metal composite oxides represented by the formula LixNi2-xO2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have replaced Sato’s second lithium transition metal composite oxide (Sato, abstract, [a first cathode active material]) (Sato, abstract, [LitCoMsO2 where M represents a metal, 0 ≤ s ≤ 0.03]) with Lin’s LiNiO2 derivative compound (LixNi2-xO2), in order to replace expensive LiCoO2 cathodes in lithium-secondary batteries (Lin, abstract).
Lin is silent regarding the radiation energy used in the X-ray diffraction analysis.
Merced teaches the use of a continuum to extend from 5 to 100 keV during x-ray machine analysis (Merced, pg. 1, Radiation Sources, para. 1).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used the energy range between 5 to 100 keV as taught by Merced, to measure obtain Lin’s XRD pattern, in order to use an energy range that will support the measurement of both the continuum and the characteristic spectrum for x-ray analysis (Merced, pg. 1, Radiation Sources, [In order to measure the dose from both the continuum and the characteristic spectrum, a survey meter should have energy absorption characteristics similar to air throughout the energy range 5 to 100 keV.]). Merced further teaches that the safety measures can apply to analytical x-ray machines such as diffraction x-ray systems (Merced, pg. 1, Radiation Sources, para. 4).
Regarding claim 2, modified Sato teaches the positive electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1, and further teaches wherein a content of the second lithium-transition metal composite oxide is in a range of 10 to 40% (Sato, column 5, lines 9-11 [it is preferred that the content of the [[first]] cathode active material in the cathode active material is in the range of from 10 to 40%]) (Sato, Example 9, [[first]] active material was 15%) (Sato, Example 10, [[first]] active material was 25%) (Sato, Example 11, [[first]] active material was 40%).
In optimizing the mass percent of the second composite oxide material, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed would have arrived at the claimed relative mass percents recited in Claim 2, without undue experimentation.
Regarding claim 3, modified Sato teaches the positive electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1, and further teaches wherein the second lithium-transition metal composite oxide is a composite oxide represented by the general formula LiaNi2-aO2, wherein 0 < a ≤ 0.5 (Lin, Fig. 1, XRD patterns of (c) (d) and (e) – which are lithium metal composite oxides represented by the formula LixNi2-xO2).
Regarding claim 4, modified Sato teaches the positive electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the first lithium-transition metal composite oxide contains at least one metal element M selected from the group consisting of Mn (Sato, column 7, lines 30-31, [second cathode active material, Li1.05Ni0.85Co0.10Mn0.05O2).
Regarding claim 7, modified Sato teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (abstract), comprising: a positive electrode including the positive electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1 (Sato, abstract, [positive electrode] … [first and second cathode active material] as described in claim 1 above); a negative electrode (Sato, abstract); and a non-aqueous electrolyte (Sato, abstract).
Regarding claim 8, modified Sato teaches the positive electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1.
Modified Sato does not teach wherein the first lithium-transition metal composite oxide contains at least one metal element M selected from the group consisting of W, Mg, Mo, Nb, Ti, Si, Al, Zr, B, Fe, Cu, Zn, Sn, Na, K, Ba, Sr, and Ca.
Example 5 of Sato teaches wherein the first lithium-transition metal composite oxide contains at least one metal element M selected from the group consisting of Al (Sato, column 9, example 5 [and aluminum hydroxide were mixed so that the amounts of lithium, nickel, cobalt, manganese, and aluminum became 1.05, 0.85, 0.10, 0.00, and 0.05, respectively, in terms of molar ratio])(Table 1, Example 5, Li1.05Ni0.85Co0.10Al0.05O2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted Sato’s metal oxide of Li1.05Ni0.85Co0.10Mn0.05O2 with Sato’s Example 5 metal oxide of Li1.05Ni0.85Co0.10Al0.05O2. Sato teaches that the use of Li1.05Ni0.85Co0.10Al0.05O2 over Li1.05Ni0.85Co0.10Mn0.05O2 leads to an improved capacity retaining ratio after the 150th cycle and suppresses the voltage drop during the output at 20 W at 0° C. (Sato, column 11, lines 28-32).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 7214449 B2) and further in view of the Lin et al. (Lin, S.P. Crystallization Kinetics and Mechanism of the Lixni2−xo2 (0, 14 Aug. 2001, www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/abs/pii/S0022024801016694.)
and in view of University of California, Merced (Radiation Safety Training for X-Ray Diffraction And...,Feb.2010,imf.ucmerced.edu/sites/g/files/ufvvjh1081/f/documents/xrd_radiation_safety_ucm.pdf.), herein referred to as Merced, and Zhu et al. (Zhu, Xian-Jun. “Preparation and characterization of LiNi0.80Co0.20–xAlxO2 as cathode materials for lithium ion batteries.” Journal of Electroceramics, 16 Dec. 2005.)
Regarding claim 5, modified Sato teaches the positive electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to any one of claim 1.
Modified Sato does not teach wherein the first lithium-transition metal composite oxide has a crystal structure belonging to a space group R3-m.
Zhu, in the same field of endeavor, lithium oxide materials, teaches a lithium nickelate with an R3 crystal structure (pg. 649, second column, second paragraph, [LiNi0.80Co0.15Al0.05O2 … during the charged process, the hexagonal phase changed from R1, … to R3 … ]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have co-doped the lithium nickelate oxide of Sato’s cathode with both cobalt and aluminum, as taught by Zhu, in order to have a structure that can suppress crystallographic phase transitions and decrease the irreversible capacity, as taught by Zhu, (pg. 649, Conclusion paragraph).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 7214449 B2) and further in view of the machine translation of and further in view of the Lin et al. (Lin, S.P. Crystallization Kinetics and Mechanism of the Lixni2−xo2 (0, 14 Aug. 2001, www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/abs/pii/S0022024801016694.)
and in view of University of California, Merced (Radiation Safety Training for X-Ray Diffraction And...,Feb.2010,imf.ucmerced.edu/sites/g/files/ufvvjh1081/f/documents/xrd_radiation_safety_ucm.pdf.), herein referred to as Merced, and Tanimoto (US 20230178729 A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Sato teaches the positive electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1.
Modified Sato does not teach wherein, onto a particle surface of the first lithium-transition metal composite oxide, a compound containing at least one selected from the group consisting of Sr, Ca, W, Mg, Nb, and Al adheres.
Tanimoto, in the same field of endeavor, cathode active materials, teaches wherein onto a particle surface of the first lithium-transition metal composite oxide (abstract), a compound containing at least one selected from the group consisting of Al and W adheres (para. 0177, [a method in which fine particles of aluminum oxide are allowed to coat and adhere to the surface layer of particles of the positive electrode active material] and [to coat the surface layer of particles of the positive electrode active material with an aluminum compound … In addition to the aluminum compound … tungsten compounds can be used for the surface treatment]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have coated Sato’s cathode, as taught by Tanimoto, in order to apply a surface treatment to the active material particles to protect against metal elution, as taught by Tanimoto (para. 0176 [ in the case of secondary particles composed of Sato particles generally having a small shape, the surface treatment is sometimes performed since there is a possibility that metal elution is caused by hydrogen fluoride due to a large specific surface area thereof]).
Other Pertinent Art
US-20230282821-A1
US-9991566-B2
US-20200403241-A1
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Sone have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/V.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721