Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on May 7, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
Figures 1-2 are required to be designated by a legend identifying the drawings as “Prior Art” because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 3-4, 6 and 9 are directed to a method that recites conditional language such as “when a digital light processing (DLP) method is performed,” “when a stereolithography apparatus (SLA) method is used,” “when the distribution of the widths,” “when it is determined,” and “when the separation force,” “when bottom-up additive manufacturing is performed.” The conditional nature of this claim language allows for an interpretation where prior art meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim without the conditional language occurring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the parentheses render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation “planar density” within the parentheses are part of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al. (US 2016/0368223).
Claim 1: Kobayashi et al. discloses a method for generating an assistant support (abstract). The method includes slicing a 3D model into a plurality of 2D layers (¶¶ 90, 132; fig. 10; planar polygons 76a are determined); calculating a position of an assistant support based on widths of the sliced 2D layers (¶¶ 90, 132; fig. 10; the most distant triangular polygon from the center of gravity 74 of the target object model 72 is the polygon 76a, which calculates a width of the polygon, and a position of an assistant support is calculated based on the widths); and generating an assistant support based on a result of calculating (¶¶ 90-93, 132).
Claim 2: Kobayashi et al. discloses dividing an output area of the sliced 2D layers and calculating widths of each area; and calculating a distribution of the widths of each area and calculating the position of the assistant support based on the calculated distribution (¶¶ 90-93, 132).
Claims 3-4: The cited embodiments of Kobayashi et al. do not rely on DLP or SLA methods.
Claim 5: Kobayashi et al. discloses calculating the position of the assistant support according to when the calculated distribution of the widths of each area are uniform (¶¶ 90, 132; fig. 10).
Claims 6-8: Kobayashi et al. discloses the widths being uniform (¶¶ 90, 132; fig. 10).
Claim 9: Kobayashi et al. discloses the assistant support being used to make a separation force uniform when the separation force between a cured area and a liquid material is not uniform in a process of lifting a cured 2D layer when bottom-up additive manufacturing is performed (¶¶ 90-93, 132; figs. 10, 16-19).
Conclusion
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754