DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Response to Restriction Requirement
Claims 1 and 3-17 are pending as of the response filed on 03/15/2026. Claim 2 is cancelled. Applicant’s original election of Group I claims is maintained. Claims 4, 7-13 and 16-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1, 3, 5-6 and 14-15 are examined herein.
The examiner appreciates Applicant’s submission of an English translation of the foreign priority application. It is noted that the translated document does not have a label to ascertain that it belongs to application number KR10-2020-0165889 filed 12/01/2020. It appears that the Abstract (1 page), Specification (129 pages), Claims (42 pages) and Drawings (4 pages and 1 file), all dated 03/15/2026 possibly belong to the foreign priority application but cannot be ascertained since they are not labeled. The examiner suggests labeling all translated documents that belong to the foreign priority application for clarity of record.
Applicant’s remarks regarding the discussion of remarkable effects of the instant OLED compounds in pages 52-56, Table 3 of the response dated 03/15/2026 towards low driving voltages of 5.03 to 5.85 V and long lifetimes of 75 to 159 hours, in comparison to the compounds of the prior art is acknowledged and was found to be persuasive.
Applicant’s amendment in consideration of the unexpected results, overcomes the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of the elected species over Hong in view of No. The claim amendments overcome any rejection to the additional anticipatory compounds taught by Hong, Zeng, Kang and some compounds of Kim (other compounds of Kim anticipate the instant compounds as outlined below).
The examiner has extended the search of Markush claim 1 to the additional species that anticipate the heterocyclic compound of Chemical Formula 1 as discussed in the rejections below, in accordance with MPEP 803.02(III)(A). Since some of these rejections are not necessitated by the amendments, this Office action is non-final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 03/16/2026, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings Objected To – Necessitated by amendment
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via EFS-Web or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via EFS-Web, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Necessitated by amendment
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 6, the claim depends from claim 1 and recites the following compounds, compounds 1-233 (Pg. 18 of claim set dated 03/15/2026), 2-233 (Pg. 33 of claim set dated 03/15/2026) that broadens the scope of the claim, which is improper.
In 1-233 and 2-233 –(L1)a1-Ar1 is phenyl substituted with D, while instant claim1 requires –(L1)a1-Ar1 to be represented by Chemical Formula 4 or 5.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2020/0194685 A1, 18 June 2020, hereinafter Kim, in the IDS).
Regarding instant claim 1, Kim teaches organic compounds for use in organic light emitting diode and an organic light emitting device (Abstract). Kim teaches an organic compound having the following Chemical Formula 1 (Paras. [0011]-[0013]).
Kim teaches the following exemplary compounds (Para. [0056]).
The compounds of Kim fall within the scope of Chemical Formula 1 as in instant claim 1, wherein
X is O;
X1 is a direct bond;
R1-R6 and R8 are each hydrogen, R7 is cyano OR R1-R2, R4-R6 and R8 are each hydrogen and R3 and R7 are each C1 alkyl (methyl);
L1 is a direct bond;
-(L1)a1-Ar1 is represented by Chemical Formula 4, A is O.
the substitution position of -(L1)a1-Ar1 and
is 1-J,
, satisfies the proviso that when the substitution pattern is I-J, * is the linking position of
and ** is the linking position of -(L1)a1-Ar1.
Thus, the above compounds of Kim anticipate instant Chemical Formula 1 as in instant claim 1. The compounds of Kim further reads on claim 3 (wherein Chemical Formula 4 is represented by Chemical Formula 4-3).
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cha et al. (WO 2019/146946 A1, 01 August 2019, hereinafter Cha, cited to the attached English translation).
Regarding instant claim 1, Cha teaches an organic light-emitting device and compounds thereof (Abstract). Cha teaches the following exemplary compounds (Pg. 68).
The compounds of Cha fall within the scope of Chemical Formula 1 as in instant claim 1, wherein
X is O or S;
X1 is a direct bond;
R1-6 and R8 are each hydrogen;
R7 is unsubstituted C12 heteroring;
L1 is a direct bond;
-(L1)a1-Ar1 is represented by Chemical Formula 5, Ar21 and Ar22 are each C1 alkyl (methyl), R11-R14 are each hydrogen;
the substitution position of -(L1)a1-Ar1 and
is 1-H,
.
Thus, the above compounds of Cha anticipate instant Chemical Formula 1 as in instant claim 1. The compounds of Cha further reads on claim 5 (wherein R7 is a dibenzofuran or dibenzothiophene group in certain compounds, R6 is a dibenzofuran in certain compounds, while the remaining R1-R8 groups are hydrogen).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0194685 A1, 18 June 2020, hereinafter Kim, in the IDS) as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, in view of No et al., (US 2020/0119285 A1, 16 April 2020, hereinafter No, of previous record).
The teachings of Kim are set forth in the anticipation rejection above and incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding instant claims 14-15, the disclosure of Kim anticipates a compound of Chemical Formula I as in claim 1.
Kim do not teach a composition for an organic material layer of an organic light emitting device, wherein the composition comprises the heterocyclic compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 and a heterocyclic compound represented by the following Chemical Formula 2 or a heterocyclic compound represented by the following Chemical Formula 3 as in instant claim 14; wherein, in the composition, the heterocyclic compound represented by Chemical Formula 1: the heterocyclic compound represented by Chemical Formula 2 or the heterocyclic compound represented by Chemical Formula 3 have a weight ratio of 1:10 to 10:1.
No teaches compositions for an organic material layer of an organic light emitting device comprising heterocyclic compounds represented by different chemical formulas at the same time (Para. [0015]). No teaches the exemplary compound, compound 305 (Pg. 203, first compound).
Compound 305 of No falls within the scope of Chemical Formula 2 of instant claim 14, wherein
Xa is O;
a is 0;
b is 0;
p is 0;
q is 0;
Ya is a hole transferring group, carbazole;
Za is an electron transferring group, substituted triazine.
No teaches a weight ratio of the heterocyclic compounds represented by different chemical formulas in the composition may be present from 1:10 to 10:1 (Para. [0144]). No teaches the use of a combination of heterocyclic compounds of different chemical formulas at the same time in an organic light emitting device lowers a driving voltage of the device, enhances light efficiency, and can enhance a lifetime property of the device with thermal stability of the compound (Para. [0017]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the teachings of Kim and No to have formulated a composition comprising a combination of heterocyclic compounds of differing chemical formulas, to arrive at the composition of the instant claims with a reasonable expectation of success. The teachings of Kim anticipate the compound of Chemical Formula 1 as in claim 1. No teaches a heterocyclic compound of Chemical Formula 2. No teaches compositions for an organic material layer of an organic light emitting device comprising the heterocyclic compound represented by different chemical formulas at the same time. No teaches a weight ratio of the heterocyclic compounds represented by different chemical formulas in the composition may be present from 1:10 to 10:1. No teaches the use of a combination of heterocyclic compounds of different chemical formulas at the same time in an organic light emitting device lowers a driving voltage of the device, enhances light efficiency, and can enhance a lifetime property of the device with thermal stability of the compound.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form a composition comprising a combination of heterocyclic compounds in a desired weight ratio of say, 1:10 to 10:1, for use in an organic light emitting device. The motivation being to enhance the light efficiency and thermal stability of the device (No, Para. [0017]).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (WO 2019/146946 A1, 01 August 2019, hereinafter Cha) as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, in view of No et al., (US 2020/0119285 A1, 16 April 2020, hereinafter No, of previous record).
The teachings of Cha are set forth in the anticipation rejection above and incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding instant claims 14-15, the disclosure of Cha anticipates a compound of Chemical Formula I as in claim 1. Cha teaches a host composition prepared by mixing two compounds in a ratio of 4:6 (Pg. 79, Example 1, third paragraph).
Cha do not explicitly teach wherein the composition comprises the heterocyclic compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 and a heterocyclic compound represented by the following Chemical Formula 2 or a heterocyclic compound represented by the following Chemical Formula 3 as in instant claim 14; wherein, in the composition, the heterocyclic compound represented by Chemical Formula 1: the heterocyclic compound represented by Chemical Formula 2 or the heterocyclic compound represented by Chemical Formula 3 have a weight ratio of 1:10 to 10:1.
No teaches compositions for an organic material layer of an organic light emitting device comprising heterocyclic compounds represented by different chemical formulas at the same time (Para. [0015]). No teaches the exemplary compound, compound 305 (Pg. 203, first compound).
Compound 305 of No falls within the scope of Chemical Formula 2 of instant claim 14, wherein
Xa is O;
a is 0;
b is 0;
p is 0;
q is 0;
Ya is a hole transferring group, carbazole;
Za is an electron transferring group, substituted triazine.
No teaches a weight ratio of the heterocyclic compounds represented by different chemical formulas in the composition may be present from 1:10 to 10:1 (Para. [0144]). No teaches the use of a combination of heterocyclic compounds of different chemical formulas at the same time in an organic light emitting device lowers a driving voltage of the device, enhances light efficiency, and can enhance a lifetime property of the device with thermal stability of the compound (Para. [0017]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the teachings of Cha and No to have formulated a composition comprising a combination of heterocyclic compounds of differing chemical formulas, to arrive at the composition of the instant claims with a reasonable expectation of success. The teachings of Cha anticipate the compound of Chemical Formula 1 as in claim 1. No teaches a heterocyclic compound of Chemical Formula 2. No teaches compositions for an organic material layer of an organic light emitting device comprising the heterocyclic compound represented by different chemical formulas at the same time. No teaches a weight ratio of the heterocyclic compounds represented by different chemical formulas in the composition may be present from 1:10 to 10:1. No teaches the use of a combination of heterocyclic compounds of different chemical formulas at the same time in an organic light emitting device lowers a driving voltage of the device, enhances light efficiency, and can enhance a lifetime property of the device with thermal stability of the compound.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form a composition comprising a combination of heterocyclic compounds in a desired weight ratio of say, 1:10 to 10:1, for use in an organic light emitting device. The motivation being to enhance the light efficiency and thermal stability of the device (No, Para. [0017]).
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3, 5-6 and 14-15 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
/PADMAJA S RAO/Examiner, Art Unit 1627