DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-9 are currently pending in the application and are being examined on the merits in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Tahara (WO2017199606A1).
The Examiner has provided a machine translation of WO2017199606A1. The citation of the prior art in this rejection refer to the machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, Tahara teaches a negative electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (title), comprising: composite particles containing a lithium aluminate phase (i.e., Li-containing oxide contains Al) (30) (page 3, line 18-20; page 5, lines 30-44) (see figure 1), and a silicon phase (i.e., silicon particles) (20) dispersed in the lithium aluminate phase (page 3, line 18-20; page 5, lines 30-44).
Regarding claim 4, Tahara teaches the lithium aluminate phase contains at least one selected from the group consisting of LiAl5, Li2A1407, LiAlO2, and Li5AlO4 (page 3, lines 15-25).
Regarding claim 6, Tahara teaches wherein an A1203 phase is dispersed in the lithium aluminate phase (page 3, lines 15-25).
Regarding claim 8, Tahara teaches the lithium aluminate phase contains at least one element selected from the group consisting of sodium, potassium, calcium, magnesium, zirconium, iron, boron, phosphorus, and lanthanum (page 3, lines 5-25).
Regarding claim 9, Tahara teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (page 6, line 15-17), comprising: a positive electrode (page 6, line 28); a negative electrode (page 5, line 49); and a non-aqueous electrolyte (page 6, line 42), wherein the negative electrode includes the negative electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tahara (WO2017199606A1).
The Examiner has provided a machine translation of WO2017199606A1. The citation of the prior art in this rejection refer to the machine translation.
Regarding claims 2-3, Tahara teaches a in the particles, a content proportion of MAl of Aluminum in in all elements other than oxygen is 28-98.7 mass% and a content proportion of Lithium in all elements other than oxygen is 1.3-72 mass% (see calculations below), a ratio MAl/MLi of the content proportion MAl of aluminum to the content proportion MLi of lithium is 0.1 or greater and 20 or less (page 3, lines 4-12).
Calculations:
r=Al/Li
Al=26.98 g/mol; Li=6.94 g/mol
Mass contributions: mAl=26.98r; mLi=6.94
M in all elements other than oxygen:;
%Al = (26.98r)/(26.98r + 6.94) x 100
%Li = (6.94)/(26.98r + 6.94) x 100
Tahara teaches a ratio of 0.1-20
At 0.1: Mass of Al=2.698 and Li=6.94; Total (Al+Li) = 9.638
Lower limit (0.1): Al = 27.99 mass%; Li=72.01 mass%
At 20: Mass of Al=539.6 and Li=6.94; Total (Al+Li) = 546.54
Upper limit (20): Al = 98.7 mass%; Li=1.3 mass%
Element Mass%
Al 28-98.7%
Li 1.3-72%
It is noted that Tahara differ in the exact same proportion range as recited in the instant claim however, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range of Tahara overlap the instant claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It has been held in the courts that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claims 5 and 7, Tahara teaches the negative electrode active material as described above in claim 1 which includes a lithium aluminate phase and a silicon phase dispersed in the lithium aluminate phase.
Tahara does not explicitly articulate the specifics of the X-ray diffraction measurements as recited in the instant claims. However, X-ray diffraction is a well-known analytical technique used to identify crystalline phases in electrode materials. Because Tahara teaches identical lithium aluminate including Al2O3, the same X-ray diffraction peaks associated with the corresponding phases would be expected. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to perform routine x-ray diffraction analysis of the composite particles disclosed in Tahara in order to confirm the presence of the lithium aluminate phase and AlsO3 and observe the corresponding peaks. Determining the diffraction pattern of a known crystalline material amounts to routine characterization and merely reveals an expected property of the material.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Zhamu et al. (U.S. Patent 10,559,811). Zhamu teaches a negative electrode active materials having silicon and lithium aluminate (claim 9).
Jang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0280054). Jang teaches a negative electrode active materials having silicon and lithium aluminate (paragraph [0043).
Correspondence
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723