DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-9 were rejected in the Office Action from 03/12/2026.
Applicant filed a response and amended claims 1-9.
Claims 1-9 are currently pending in the application and are being examined on the merits in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tahara (WO2017199606A1) and further in view of Minami et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0309950).
The Examiner has provided a machine translation of WO2017199606A1. The citation of the prior art in this rejection refer to the machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, Tahara teaches a negative electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (title), comprising: composite particles containing a lithium aluminate phase (i.e., Li-containing oxide contains Al) (30) (page 3, line 18-20; page 5, lines 30-44) (see figure 1), and a silicon phase (i.e., silicon particles) (20) dispersed in the lithium aluminate phase (page 3, line 18-20; page 5, lines 30-44), wherein
the silicon phase has a conductive binder in the amount of 10% by mass or more (page 3, lines 58-60; page 4, lines 1-5). As such, the content of the silicon MSi derived in the silicon phase results in 90% or less which overlaps the claimed range.
Tahara does not explicitly articulate the composite particles have a sea-island structure in which the lithium aluminate phase forms a sea and the silicon phase forms islands dispersed in the sea, however, figure (2) below appears to conform to such shape/configuration because the lithium aluminate phase (30) (the sea) surrounds the silicon phase (20) (the island). Nonetheless, additional guidance is provided below.
Minami, also directed to a negative electrode active material (abstract), teaches a lithium silicate phase (11) forming a sea and a silicon phase (12) forms islands disperse in the sea (see figure 1 below) (abstract) (paragraph [0026]-[0027]). Minami teaches such configuration improve cycle characteristics (paragraph [0007]-[0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tahara an include the composite particles having a sea-island structure in which the lithium aluminate phase forms a sea and the silicon phase forms islands dispersed in the sea, as suggested by Minami, in order to improve cycle characteristics.
Regarding claim 4, Tahara teaches the lithium aluminate phase contains at least one selected from the group consisting of LiAl5, Li2A1407, LiAlO2, and Li5AlO4 (page 3, lines 15-25).
Regarding claims 5 and 7, Tahara teaches the negative electrode active material as described above in claim 1 which includes a lithium aluminate phase and a silicon phase dispersed in the lithium aluminate phase.
Tahara does not explicitly articulate the specifics of the X-ray diffraction measurements as recited in the instant claims. However, X-ray diffraction is a well-known analytical technique used to identify crystalline phases in electrode materials. Because Tahara teaches identical lithium aluminate including Al2O3, the same X-ray diffraction peaks associated with the corresponding phases would be expected. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to perform routine x-ray diffraction analysis of the composite particles disclosed in Tahara in order to confirm the presence of the lithium aluminate phase and Al2O3 and observe the corresponding peaks. Determining the diffraction pattern of a known crystalline material amounts to routine characterization and merely reveals an expected property of the material.
Regarding claim 6, Tahara teaches wherein an A1203 phase is dispersed in the lithium aluminate phase (page 3, lines 15-25).
Regarding claim 8, Tahara teaches the lithium aluminate phase contains at least one element selected from the group consisting of sodium, potassium, calcium, magnesium, zirconium, iron, boron, phosphorus, and lanthanum (page 3, lines 5-25).
Regarding claim 9, Tahara teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (page 6, line 15-17), comprising: a positive electrode (page 6, line 28); a negative electrode (page 5, line 49); and a non-aqueous electrolyte (page 6, line 42), wherein the negative electrode includes the negative electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In other words, claim 1 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form to incorporate:
all the limitations of claim 1 and claim 2
Applicant is encouraged to consider amending claim 1 accordingly to place the application in condition of allowance.
The prior art, whether alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest the limitations as recited in the instant claim in combination with the new limitations recited in claim 1. In particular, the claim would be allowable if rewritten as follows:
A negative electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, comprising: composite particles containing a lithium aluminate phase, and a silicon phase dispersed in the lithium aluminate phase, wherein
the composite particles have a sea-island structure in which the lithium aluminate phase forms a sea and the silicon phase forms islands dispersed in the sea,
in the composite particles, a content proportion MSi of silicon in all elements other than oxygen is 40 mass% or more and 85.5 mass% or less,
the content proportion MSi is a content proportion of silicon derived from the silicon phase, wherein
in the composite particles, a content proportion MA1 of aluminum in all elements other than oxygen is 10 mass% or more and 47 mass% or less, and
a content proportion MLi of lithium in all elements other than oxygen is 0.7 mass% or more and 13.5 mass% or less.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument filed on 05/05/2026 are deemed moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office Action, necessitated by Applicant’s amendment to the claims which significantly affected the scope thereof (i.e., by incorporating new limitations into the independent claims, which require further search and consideration). The new limitations have been fully addressed above in view of Minami.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723