DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (KR 1020210066528 A, hereinafter “Choi”; using US 2022/0166080 for the English translation and citations; both listed in the IDS filed 25 May 2023).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a battery module comprising:
a battery cell stack (battery cell stack 120, see Fig. 3; [0048]) comprising a plurality of battery cells (battery cells 110, see Fig. 3; [0048]),
a housing surrounding the battery cell stack (see Fig. 3 – combination of U-shaped frame 300 and upper plate 400; [0048]),
front and rear end plates that cover exposed front and rear surfaces of the battery cell stack, respectively (end plates 150, see Fig. 3; [0048]), and
a heat transfer member (heat transfer member 180 including first part 180a and second part 180b, see Fig. 6; [0067]) formed in a space between the battery cell stack and each of the front and rear end plates (see Fig. 6 – first part 180a of heat transfer member 180 formed between the battery cells 110 of battery cell stack and end plate 150).
Regarding claim 6, Choi teaches wherein:
the housing comprises a frame member covering a lower surface and two side surfaces of the battery cell stack (see Fig. 3 – U-shaped frame covering battery cell stack 120; [0048]), and an upper plate (upper plate 400, see Fig. 3; [0048]) covering an upper surface of the battery cell stack (see Fig. 3), and
the heat transfer member (heat transfer member 180 including first part 180a and second part 180b, see Fig. 6; [0067]) is in contact with a bottom part of the frame member (see Fig. 7) and the upper plate (heat transfer member 180 indirectly contacts the upper plate 400 through U-shaped from 300; see Figs. 3, 4, 6, and 7).
Regarding claim 13, Choi teaches a battery pack comprising the battery module of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jin et al. (KR 1020210064935 A, hereinafter “Jin”; using US 2022/0109199 for the English translation and citations; both listed in the IDS filed 25 May 2023).
Regarding claim 2, Choi teaches:
front and rear busbar frames (busbar frames 130, see Fig. 3; [0048]),
wherein each of the front and rear busbar frames (busbar frames 130, see Fig. 3; [0048]) is formed between the front and rear surfaces of the battery cell stack (battery cell stack 120, see Fig. 3) and the front and rear end plates (end plates 150, see Fig. 3), respectively,
wherein the heat transfer member (heat transfer member 180 including first part 180a and second part 180b, see Fig. 6 and 9-12; [0067]) is formed in a space between the front and rear busbar frames (busbar frames 130, see Figs. 3, 6, and 9-12; [0048]) and the front and rear end plates (end plates 150, see Figs. 3, 6, and 9-12), respectively.
Choi is silent to wherein the heat transfer member is formed in a space between the battery cell stack and the front and rear busbar frames.
Jin teaches wherein a heat transfer member (thermally conductive resin 40, see Fig. 2; [0064]) is formed in a space between the battery cell stack (batteries 11, see Fig. 2; [0064]) and the front and rear busbar frames (busbar frames each equated to combination of 20a and 20b with integral fence members 50a and 50b, respectively, see Figs. 2-3; [0060]-[0064]). Jin teaches that the thermally conductive resin improves the heat transfer efficiency at areas near the electrode lead of the secondary battery having higher temperature than the central area, thereby reducing a difference in temperature at each area of the secondary battery, resulting in improved life and performance of the battery module (see [0026]).
In view of Jin’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the battery module of Choi to include wherein a heat transfer member is formed in a space between the battery cell stack and the front and rear busbar frames, as taught by Jin, because it results in improved life and performance of the battery module (Jin: see [0026]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Choi and Jin is silent to wherein:
the heat transfer member wholly fills the space between the battery cell stack and the front and rear busbar frames and the space between the front and rear busbar frames and the front and rear end plates, respectively. However, Jin teaches that improving the heat transfer at areas near the electrode lead of the secondary batteries reduces a difference in temperature at each area of the secondary battery, resulting in improved life and performance of the battery module (see [0026]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed for the heat transfer member to wholly fill the space between the battery cell stack and the front and rear busbar frames and the space between the front and rear busbar frames and the front and rear end plates, respectively in order to maximize improving heat transfer at areas near the electrode leads of the batteries, which ultimately leads to improved life and performance of the battery module.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Choi and Jin teaches:
an electrode lead protruding from the battery cell stack (Choi: electrode leads 111, 112; see Figs. 5-6; [0052]; Jin: electrode lead 11c, see Figs. 2-7; [0045]),
wherein the heat transfer member is in contact with the electrode lead (Choi: heat transfer member 180 is indirectly in contact with electrode lead 111, see Fig. 6; Jin: thermally conductive resin 40 is indirectly in contact with electrode lead 11c, see Figs. 2-7).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Choi and Jin teaches:
a plurality of busbars (Choi: busbars 170, see Fig. 7; [0060]; Jin: busbars 21, see Fig. 3; [0048]) mounted on each of the front and rear busbar frames (Choi: busbar frames 130, see Fig. 3; Jin: busbar frames each equated to combination of 20a and 20b with integral fence members 50a and 50b, respectively, see Figs. 2-3),
wherein the heat transfer member (Choi: heat transfer member 180, see Fig. 6; Jin: thermally conductive resin 40, see Fig. 2) is in contact with the plurality of busbars (Choi: busbars 170, see Figs. 6 and 7; Jin: busbars 21, see Figs. 2-3) and the front and rear busbar frames (Choi: busbar frames 130, see Figs. 3 and 6; Jin: busbar frames each equated to combination of 20a and 20b with integral fence members 50a and 50b, respectively, see Figs. 2-3; [0060]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Choi and Jin is silent to wherein:
each of the front and rear busbar frames (Jin: busbar frames each equated to combination of 20a and 20b with integral fence members 50a and 50b, respectively, see Figs. 2-3; [0060]-[0064]) comprises a plurality of prevention parts (Jin: see Fig. 3 – prevention parts equated to portions of fence members 50a and 50b that are not the grooves 52) protruding in a direction inwards from the respective front and rear end plates (Jin: see Figs. 2-6 and [0049]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Choi and Jin teaches wherein:
each of the front and rear busbar frames (Jin: busbar frames each equated to combination of 20a and 20b with integral fence members 50a and 50b, respectively, see Figs. 2-3; [0060]-[0064]) further comprises a plurality of grooves (Jin: insertion grooves 52, see Fig. 3; [0062]), and
the plurality of grooves (Jin: insertion grooves 52, see Fig. 3; [0062]) are formed between adjacent prevention parts (Jin: see Fig. 3 – prevention parts equated to portions of fence members 50a and 50b that are between grooves 52) such that adjacent prevention parts are spaced apart from each other (Jin; see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Choi and Jin teaches wherein:
the heat transfer member (Jin: thermally conductive resin 40, see Figs. 2-6) is formed at a lower end of the prevention part (Jin: see Fig. 3 – prevention parts equated to portions of fence members 50a and 50b that are between grooves 52) and is in contact with the prevention part (Jin: see Figs. 2-6).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Choi and Jin teaches the prevention parts (Jin: see Fig. 3 – prevention parts equated to portions of fence members 50a and 50b that are between grooves 52).
Regarding the functional language (e.g., prevent the heat transfer member from flowing out to an upper part of each of the prevention parts), the Examiner has considered it. However, the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takahashi (JP 2005310449 A; listed in the IDS filed 25 May 2023; using the attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 7, Choi is silent to wherein:
the heat transfer member comprises a flowable material, and
the heat transfer member is movable.
Takahashi teaches a battery pack wherein it has a heat transfer member which comprises a flowable material and is movable (highly flowable highly thermally conductive resin; see claim 7). Takahashi teaches that the heat generated in the battery cells is satisfactorily conducted and disposed via the highly thermally conductive silicone gel body (see abstract).
In view of Takahashi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the module of Choi to include wherein the heat transfer member comprises a flowable material, and the heat transfer member is movable, as taught by Takahashi, because it is a known material used for a heat transfer member, and the substitution of a known element (the material of the heat transfer member of Choi) for another known element (the silicone gel heat transfer material of Takahashi) would have been obvious with predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Choi and Takahashi teaches wherein:
the heat transfer member is a gel (Takahashi: see abstract, [0016], and [0023]).
Conclusion
/S.S.H/Examiner, Art Unit 1735 17 December 2025
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735