DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Applicant Arguments/Remarks”, filed 07/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amended subject matter, “wherein the expected range of the heart rate of the patient is estimated from the sensor or transducer information based on a correlation between transducer size and expected range of the heart rate of the patient” is not taught by the combination of Englebrecht and Pekander. This argument is unpersuasive. Englebrecht teaches that the heart rate categorization can occur based on the age category of the patient, specifically between neonate/children/adults (Para. 0465, “Step 8304 may include the processing equipment classifying the at least one received physiological signal of step 8302. The processing equipment may perform the classification using any suitable set of classes, which may be based on signal quality, signal properties, subject properties, any other suitable types of classes having any suitable number of classes, or combination thereof. Illustrative classifications may include, for example, subject age (e.g., neonate/child/adult)”). Pekander teaches that the size determination is associated with the same age ranges (Para. 0018, “For example, the blood pressure cuff size can range from a neonatal cuff size range—e.g., approximately 3 cm to 8 cm—to an infant cuff size range—e.g., approximately 7 cm to 15 cm—to a child cuff size range—e.g., approximately 12 cm to 21 cm—to an adult cuff size range—e.g., approximately 20 cm to 45 cm—to a thigh cuff size range—e.g., 40 cm to 60 cm. Additionally, within each cuff size range, there may be multiple cuff sizes. For example, there may be three different cuff sizes in the neonatal cuff size range: a small, medium and large. Each cuff size may be associated with a predetermined range of patient ages, sizes, and/or weights”). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to associate the expected cuff size with an age as set forth in Pekander and use that association to determine the age for the heart rate categorization as in Englebrecht. The further amendments to the dependent claims are all rejected based on this same interpretation.
Regarding the new claims 18 and 19, the claims are rejected similarly by Englebrecht and Pekander based on Pekander Para. 0018 which identifies the leg as a detected attachment based on the size of the transducer.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. The limitation “setter” does not provide structure and only is limited by its function/functional language. Pg. 7, Line 28 indicates that the setting device is intended to be a processor/part of a processor system, so prior art will be applied similarly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 20140073951 awarded to Englebrecht et al, in view of U.S. Patent Publication 20180078158 awarded to Pekander.
Regarding Claims 1, 3, and 18, Englebrecht teaches Regarding Claim 1, Englebrecht teaches a setting device for a physiological parameter monitoring device for measuring a physiological parameter of a patient (abstract), the setting device comprising: a data input for obtaining one or more of: sensor or transducer information indicating one or more of type, attachment location or intended patient population of a sensor or transducer use in the physiological parameter monitoring (Para. 0132), a heart rate estimator (Englebrecht also teaches heart rate ranges they’ve determined based on patient age in Para. 0112, with Para. 0268 showing that different heart rate ranges for a given age require a selection of different waveform processing) for, prior to measuring the physiological parameter of the patient, determining an estimated expected range of a heart rate of a patient based on the obtained sensor or transducer information, and assigning an expected range of the heart rate of the patient based on the estimated expected range of the heart rate of the patient (Para. 0132, “In some embodiments, encoder 42 may contain information about sensor 12, such as sensor type (e.g., whether the sensor is intended for placement on a forehead or digit), the wavelengths of light emitted by emitter 16, power requirements or limitations of emitter 16, or other suitable information. This information may be used by monitor 14 to select appropriate algorithms, lookup tables and/or calibration coefficients stored in monitor 14 for calculating the subject's physiological parameters”, Para. 0133, “In some embodiments, encoder 42 may contain information specific to subject 40, such as, for example, the subject's age, weight, and diagnosis. Information regarding a subject's characteristics may allow monitor 14 to determine, for example, subject-specific threshold ranges in which the subject's physiological parameter measurements should fall and to enable or disable additional physiological parameter algorithms”, the Examiner notes that while it is not explicitly stated the information is collected pre-signal collection, the information is static information about a patient that will not change (i.e. age/weight/diagnosis), and information necessary to determine before a sensor is used (i.e. the placement, wavelengths/power used by the emitter), and are used to eliminate unnecessary processing steps, so it is clear this is done before the additional processing steps set forth in Fig. 4 that occur after receiving the signal), a setter for generating one or more settings of a filter based on the expected range of the heart rate of the patient (Para. 0159, “In some embodiments, initialization parameters may include one or more settings of a filter such as, for example, a high and low frequency cutoff value of a band pass filter (e.g., a frequency range), a representative frequency value, a set of one or more coefficients (e.g., weights for filter weighting), one or more settings of a threshold calculation, any other suitable parameters, or any combination thereof. The initialization parameters may be determined based on the received physiological signal of step 402. Some illustrative techniques of step 408, referred to herein as "Search Techniques", will be described in further detail during the discussion of FIGS. 5-37 of the present disclosure”) and for configuring the filter to filter a sensor signal measured by the physiological parameter monitoring device based on the generated settings (Para. 0168, “It will be understood that FIG. 4 is merely illustrative and that various modifications can be made to FIG. 4 that are within the scope of the present disclosure. For example, while the rate calculation of FIG. 416 is described as using one or more initialization parameters, the initialization parameters may also be used or instead be used to influence the signal conditioning performed at step 414”), wherein the setter is configured to: retrieve the one or more settings of the filter from a lookup table that stores filter settings (Para. 0137) correlating with at least one of: the expected range of heart rate of the patient, (Para. 133), the sensor or transducer information (Para. 0132), and configure the filter based on the retrieved settings, prior to the acquisition of the physiological parameter of the patient (Para. 0132-0133, the same arguments applied above regarding pre-signal setting apply here as well), wherein the attachment location information comprises at least one of a neck (Para. 0116). Englebrecht also teaches determining the appropriate sensor information for a blood pressure monitor (Para. 0133), wherein the age categorization is used for an estimated heart rate (Para. 0465, “Step 8304 may include the processing equipment classifying the at least one received physiological signal of step 8302. The processing equipment may perform the classification using any suitable set of classes, which may be based on signal quality, signal properties, subject properties, any other suitable types of classes having any suitable number of classes, or combination thereof. Illustrative classifications may include, for example, subject age (e.g., neonate/child/adult)”), but does not teach wherein the size or shape of the transducer is the data input obtained, or wherein the expected range of the heart rate of the patient is estimated from the sensor or transducer information based on a correlation between transducer size and expected range of the heart rate of the patient.
However, in the art of blood pressure monitoring, Pekander teaches wherein the transducer is a blood pressure cuff, the size of the blood pressure cuff detectable by the system (Para. 0051), based on the age category of the individual (Para. 0018, “For example, the blood pressure cuff size can range from a neonatal cuff size range—e.g., approximately 3 cm to 8 cm—to an infant cuff size range—e.g., approximately 7 cm to 15 cm—to a child cuff size range—e.g., approximately 12 cm to 21 cm—to an adult cuff size range—e.g., approximately 20 cm to 45 cm—to a thigh cuff size range—e.g., 40 cm to 60 cm. Additionally, within each cuff size range, there may be multiple cuff sizes. For example, there may be three different cuff sizes in the neonatal cuff size range: a small, medium and large. Each cuff size may be associated with a predetermined range of patient ages, sizes, and/or weights”) wherein upon detection of a particular size the blood pressure device is set to only inflate to a given volume to prevent improper filling of the cuff (Para. 0055, “As an extra precaution, additional instructions may be executed to prevent a potential hazardous situation, such as overinflating a cuff on a neonate or an infant and causing injury. In the depicted embodiment, an inflation monitoring protocol is started at step 120 where the amount of air pumped into the blood pressure cuff is monitored to ensure that an expected fill amount based on the expected range of cuff sizes is not exceeded. A fill amount is received at step 122, which in various embodiments could be a volume of gas pumped into the blood pressure cuff 16, or a gas pressure and time increment”) using a valve (Para. 0055, valve 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use size or shape of the transducer to determine an age of the patient as taught by Pekander in the device of Englebrecht, in order to ensure a potential hazardous situation is prevented as taught in Pekander and ensure accuracy of age detection to improve signal processing of Englebrecht.
Regarding Claim 2, Englebrecht modified by Pekander makes obvious the setting device as claimed in Claim 1. Pekander further teaches wherein the data input is configured to further obtain patient category information via user input (Para. 0137, “User inputs 56 may be used to enter information about the subject, such as age, weight, height, diagnosis, medications, treatments, and so forth”) or from a database holding patient data (Para. 0133, “These equations may contain coefficients that depend upon a subject's physiological characteristics as stored in encoder 42. Encoder 42 may, for instance, be a coded resistor which stores values corresponding to the type of sensor unit 12 or the type of each sensor in the sensor array, the wavelengths of light emitted by emitter 16 on each sensor of the sensor array, and/or the subject's characteristics. In some embodiments, encoder 42 may include a memory on which one or more of the following information may be stored for communication to monitor 14: the type of the sensor unit 12; the wavelengths of light emitted by emitter 16; the particular wavelength each sensor in the sensor array is monitoring; a signal threshold for each sensor in the sensor array; any other suitable information; or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, encoder 42 may include an identifying component such as, for example, a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag that may be read by decoder 74”).
Regarding Claim 4, Englebrecht modified by Pekander makes obvious the setting device as claimed in Claim 1. Englebrecht further teaches wherein the data input is configured to additionally obtain a second expected range of the heart rate of the patient via user input (Para. 0465, “In some embodiments step 8304 may include receiving user input to user inputs 56 of system 10. For example, a user may indicate that the received physiological signal is from a neonate, has a dicrotic notch, and/or likely includes a pulse rate in a particular range”) and wherein the heart rate estimator is configured to determine the second expected range of the heart rate of the patient from a comparison of the estimated range and the expected range obtained via user input (Para. 0406, “Physiological pulse rates may generally fall into a particular range (e.g., 20-300 BPM for humans), and accordingly signal conditioning may be used to reduce the presence or effects of signal components outside of this particular range. Further, a narrower pulse range may be expected for a subject, based on previous data for example, and a signal may be conditioned accordingly”).
Regarding Claim 5, Englebrecht modified by Pekander makes obvious the setting device as claimed in Claim 1. Englebrecht further teaches wherein the setter is configured to, based on the expected range of the heart rate of the patient, select one or more of a digital filter (Para. 0141) or an adaptive filter (Para. 0146) or to select a filter from a group of predefined filters (Para. 0146) or to select a set of settings from a group of sets of settings based on the expected range of the patient’s heart rate (Para. 0426).
Regarding Claim 6, Englebrecht modified by Pekander makes obvious the setting device as claimed in Claim 1. Englebrecht further teaches wherein the setter is configured to generate as one or more settings one or more of corner filter type or adaptation algorithm (Para. 0146, “Processor 312 may perform any suitable signal processing of signal 316 to filter signal 316, such as any suitable band-pass filtering, adaptive filtering, closed-loop filtering, any other suitable filtering, and/or any combination thereof”).
Regarding Claims 8 and 12, Englebrecht teaches the inventions of Claims 1 and 11, respectively, wherein the physiological parameter monitoring device is a blood pressure monitoring device configured to measure blood pressure of a patient (Para. 0137, “In an embodiment, microprocessor 48 may determine the subject's physiological parameters, such as pulse rate, SpO.sub.2, and/or blood pressure, using various algorithms and/or look-up tables based on the value of the received signals and/or data corresponding to the light received by detector 18”). Englebrecht does not teach wherein the transducer is a cuff, the transducer information includes cuff size information indicating cuff size of a cuff, and the filter is configured to filter a cuff pressure signal measured by the blood pressure monitoring device, and wherein the data input is configured to detect the size of the cuff by monitoring the change in cuff pressure in response to a particular volume of air pumped into the cuff or by identifying the size from an identifier arranged in or at the cuff, the physiological parameter monitoring device further comprises a pressure generator configured to inflate the cuff that is configured to be attached to a patient’s body part and a valve configured to deflate the cuff, and the processor is configured to control the pressure generator and the valve and to determine the patient’s blood pressure based on the filtered cuff pressure signal.
However, in the art of blood pressure monitoring, Pekander teaches wherein the transducer is a blood pressure cuff, the size of the blood pressure cuff detectable by the system (Para. 0051), wherein upon detection of a particular size the blood pressure device is set to only inflate to a given volume to prevent improper filling of the cuff (Para. 0055, “As an extra precaution, additional instructions may be executed to prevent a potential hazardous situation, such as overinflating a cuff on a neonate or an infant and causing injury. In the depicted embodiment, an inflation monitoring protocol is started at step 120 where the amount of air pumped into the blood pressure cuff is monitored to ensure that an expected fill amount based on the expected range of cuff sizes is not exceeded. A fill amount is received at step 122, which in various embodiments could be a volume of gas pumped into the blood pressure cuff 16, or a gas pressure and time increment”) using a valve (Para. 0055, valve 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use size or shape of the transducer as taught by Pekander in the device of Englebrecht in order to ensure a potential hazardous situation is prevented.
Regarding Claim 9, Englebrecht modified by Pekander makes obvious the setting device as claimed in Claim 1, wherein the setter is configured to use the sensor or transducer information to generate one or more settings of the filter (Englebrecht Para. 0168, “It will be understood that FIG. 4 is merely illustrative and that various modifications can be made to FIG. 4 that are within the scope of the present disclosure. For example, while the rate calculation of FIG. 416 is described as using one or more initialization parameters, the initialization parameters may also be used or instead be used to influence the signal conditioning performed at step 414”) and wherein the intended patient population comprises neonate, child, adult, or senior patients (Englebrecht Para. 0465 and Pekander Para. 0018).
Regarding Claim 10, Englebrecht teaches a method for a physiological parameter monitoring device configured to measure a physiological parameter of a patient (abstract), the method comprising: obtaining senor or transducer information indicating one or more of type, attachment location or intended patient population of a sensor or transducer use in the physiological parameter monitoring (Para. 0132), determining, prior to measuring the physiological parameter of the patient, an estimated expected range of the heart rate of the patient from the sensor or transducer information and assigning an expected range of the heart rate of the patient based on the estimated expected range of the heart rate of the patient (Para. 0132, “In some embodiments, encoder 42 may contain information about sensor 12, such as sensor type (e.g., whether the sensor is intended for placement on a forehead or digit), the wavelengths of light emitted by emitter 16, power requirements or limitations of emitter 16, or other suitable information. This information may be used by monitor 14 to select appropriate algorithms, lookup tables and/or calibration coefficients stored in monitor 14 for calculating the subject's physiological parameters”, Para. 0133, “In some embodiments, encoder 42 may contain information specific to subject 40, such as, for example, the subject's age, weight, and diagnosis. Information regarding a subject's characteristics may allow monitor 14 to determine, for example, subject-specific threshold ranges in which the subject's physiological parameter measurements should fall and to enable or disable additional physiological parameter algorithms”, the Examiner notes that while it is not explicitly stated the information is collected pre-signal collection, the information is static information about a patient that will not change (i.e. age/weight/diagnosis), and information necessary to determine before a sensor is used (i.e. the placement, wavelengths/power used by the emitter), and are used to eliminate unnecessary processing steps, so it is clear this is done before the additional processing steps set forth in Fig. 4 that occur after receiving the signal), generating one or more settings of a filter based on the expected range of the heart rate of the patient (Para. 0159, “In some embodiments, initialization parameters may include one or more settings of a filter such as, for example, a high and low frequency cutoff value of a band pass filter (e.g., a frequency range), a representative frequency value, a set of one or more coefficients (e.g., weights for filter weighting), one or more settings of a threshold calculation, any other suitable parameters, or any combination thereof. The initialization parameters may be determined based on the received physiological signal of step 402. Some illustrative techniques of step 408, referred to herein as "Search Techniques", will be described in further detail during the discussion of FIGS. 5-37 of the present disclosure”) retrieving the one or more settings of the filter from a lookup table that stores filter settings (Para. 0137) correlating with at least one of: the expected range of the heart rate of the patient (Para. 133), the patient category information (Para. 0132-0133, “age, weight, diagnosis”), the sensor or transducer information (Para. 0132), and for configuring the filter to filter a sensor signal measured by the physiological parameter monitoring device based on the generated settings (Para. 0168, “It will be understood that FIG. 4 is merely illustrative and that various modifications can be made to FIG. 4 that are within the scope of the present disclosure. For example, while the rate calculation of FIG. 416 is described as using one or more initialization parameters, the initialization parameters may also be used or instead be used to influence the signal conditioning performed at step 414”), prior to the acquisition of the physiological parameter of the patient (Para. 0132-0133, the same arguments applied above regarding pre-signal setting apply here as well) wherein the attachment location information comprises at least one of a neck (Para. 0116). Englebrecht also teaches determining the appropriate sensor information for a blood pressure monitor (Para. 0133), wherein the age categorization is used for an estimated heart rate (Para. 0465, “Step 8304 may include the processing equipment classifying the at least one received physiological signal of step 8302. The processing equipment may perform the classification using any suitable set of classes, which may be based on signal quality, signal properties, subject properties, any other suitable types of classes having any suitable number of classes, or combination thereof. Illustrative classifications may include, for example, subject age (e.g., neonate/child/adult)”), but does not teach wherein the size or shape of the transducer is the data input obtained, or wherein the expected range of the heart rate of the patient is estimated from the sensor or transducer information based on a correlation between transducer size and expected range of the heart rate of the patient.
However, in the art of blood pressure monitoring, Pekander teaches wherein the transducer is a blood pressure cuff, the size of the blood pressure cuff detectable by the system (Para. 0051), based on the age category of the individual (Para. 0018, “For example, the blood pressure cuff size can range from a neonatal cuff size range—e.g., approximately 3 cm to 8 cm—to an infant cuff size range—e.g., approximately 7 cm to 15 cm—to a child cuff size range—e.g., approximately 12 cm to 21 cm—to an adult cuff size range—e.g., approximately 20 cm to 45 cm—to a thigh cuff size range—e.g., 40 cm to 60 cm. Additionally, within each cuff size range, there may be multiple cuff sizes. For example, there may be three different cuff sizes in the neonatal cuff size range: a small, medium and large. Each cuff size may be associated with a predetermined range of patient ages, sizes, and/or weights”) wherein upon detection of a particular size the blood pressure device is set to only inflate to a given volume to prevent improper filling of the cuff (Para. 0055, “As an extra precaution, additional instructions may be executed to prevent a potential hazardous situation, such as overinflating a cuff on a neonate or an infant and causing injury. In the depicted embodiment, an inflation monitoring protocol is started at step 120 where the amount of air pumped into the blood pressure cuff is monitored to ensure that an expected fill amount based on the expected range of cuff sizes is not exceeded. A fill amount is received at step 122, which in various embodiments could be a volume of gas pumped into the blood pressure cuff 16, or a gas pressure and time increment”) using a valve (Para. 0055, valve 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use size or shape of the transducer to determine an age of the patient as taught by Pekander in the device of Englebrecht, in order to ensure a potential hazardous situation is prevented as taught in Pekander and ensure accuracy of age detection to improve signal processing of Englebrecht.
Regarding Claim 11, Englebrecht modified by Pekander makes obvious a physiological parameter monitoring system comprising: a sensor to acquire a sensor signal from the patient (Englebrecht sensor unit 12); a filter configured to filter the measured sensor signal (Englebrecht Para. 0146, “Processor 312 may perform any suitable signal processing of signal 316 to filter signal 316, such as any suitable band-pass filtering, adaptive filtering, closed-loop filtering, any other suitable filtering, and/or any combination thereof”); a processor configured to determine a physiological parameter of the patient based on the filtered sensor signal (Englebrecht Para. 0146, “Processor 312 may calculate physiological information. For example, processor 312 may compute one or more of a pulse rate, respiration rate, blood pressure, or any other suitable physiological parameter”); and the setting device as claimed in Claim 1 configured to configured the filter (see rejection to Claim 1 above), wherein the sensor or transducer information indicates an intended patient population and the expected range of the heart rate of the patient estimated form the intended patient population (Englebrecht Para. 0465 and Pekander Para. 0018).
Regarding Claim 13, Englebrecht modified by Pekander makes obvious the physiological parameter monitoring system as claimed in Claim 11. Englebrecht further teaches wherein the sensor is a physiological parameter sensor that is configured to be attached to a patient’s body part (Para. 0140, “For example, the contact between the detector and the skin, or the emitter and the skin, can be temporarily disrupted when movement causes either to move away from the skin. In addition, because blood is a fluid, it responds differently than the surrounding tissue to inertial effects, thus resulting in momentary changes in volume at the point to which the oximeter probe is attached”).
Regarding Claim 14, Englebrecht modified by Pekander makes obvious the physiological parameter monitoring system as claimed in Claim 11. Englebrecht further teaches wherein the transducer is a photoplethysmoraphic transducer (Para. 0111, “For example, a physiological monitor may analyze photoplethysmographic (PPG) signals for oscillometric behavior characterized by a pulse rate, a respiration rate, or both”).
Regarding Claim 15, Englebrecht modified by Pekander makes obvious a non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores therein a computer program product, which, when executed on a processor, causes the method as claimed in Claim 10 (Englebrecht Para. 0135, see rejection to Claim 10).
Regarding Claim 17, Englebrecht modified by Pekander makes obvious the physiological parameter monitoring system as claimed in Claim 13. Englebrecht further teaches wherein the sensor is a heart rate sensor, a respiration rate sensor, or a pulse oximetry sensor (Para. 0111, “For example, a physiological monitor may analyze photoplethysmographic (PPG) signals for oscillometric behavior characterized by a pulse rate, a respiration rate, or both”, Para. 0116, “pulse oximeter”).
Claim 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Englebrecht et al, in view of Pekander as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 20120157791 awarded to Hersh.
Regarding Claim 7, Englebrecht modified by Pekander makes obvious the setting device as claimed in Claim 1. Pekander further teaches wherein the sensors detect blood pressure (Para. 0137). Englebrecht does not teach wherein the setter is configured to generate as a setting an upper conner frequency of the filter in a range of 4-5 Hz if the patient category is adult, and the sensor or transducer size exceeds a size threshold; or to generate as a setting an upper corner frequency of the filter in a range above 5 Hz if the patient category is adult and the sensor or transducer size is below a size threshold. However, Applicant’s Specification describes starting in Line 29 of Pg. 10 that this is due to the sensor size difference between adult and neonate blood pressure sensors, Englebrecht does teach a difference of 1 Hz in filtering between neonate and adult filtering based on the increased resting heartrate of 130 BPM in neonates and 50-80 BPM in adults (Para. 0112).
Further, in the art of filtering blood pressure measurements, Hersh teaches a system wherein a higher heartrate of 120 BMP is given an upper corner frequency of 8 Hz (Para. 0044, “As an example, if three harmonics were used and the patient's heart rate was 120 bpm, the low pass cutoff frequency would be 8 Hz, rather than the 6 Hz low pass cutoff frequency described above when only two harmonics are used”, the Examiner notes that a low pass cutoff frequency is another phrasing for a upper corner frequency), whereby the second low pass filter is 4 Hz to cover the lower frequencies (Para. 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Englebrecht by Hersh, i.e. by adapting Englebrecht’s filtering system with the additional system of Hersh as shown above, for the predictable purpose of combining known prior art elements in similar systems to predictably improve the filtering system of Englebrecht.
Further, in the art of blood pressure monitoring, Pekander teaches wherein the system detects a difference between an adult blood pressure sensor and a neonate blood pressure sensor (Para. 0051) for ensuring a reliable blood pressure measurement (Para. 0002).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Englebrecht modified by Hersh further by Pekander, i.e. by using a blood pressure cuff and alerting the system of Englebrecht to the size of the cuff selected as in Pekander, and assigning the appropriate filter as in Hersh, for the predictable purpose of combining known prior art elements to improve the blood pressure detection of Englebrecht in the same way to account for the need set forth in Englebrecht Para. 0112.
.
Regarding Claim 16, Englebrecht teaches the setting device as claimed in Claim 1, wherein the patient category is neonatal (Para. 0112 states that a neonate resting heartrate is around 130 BPM, and would need different filtering than an adult as the resting heartrate is lower). Englebrecht does not teach wherein the setter is configured to generate as setting an upper corner frequency of the filter in a range above 5 Hz if the patient category is neonatal or toddler.
However, in the art of filter settings for physiological devices, Hersh teaches adjusting the upper corner frequency to above 5 Hz if the subject is a neonate based on the neonate’s higher heartrate (Para. 0044, “As an example, if three harmonics were used and the patient's heart rate was 120 bpm, the low pass cutoff frequency would be 8 Hz, rather than the 6 Hz low pass cutoff frequency described above when only two harmonics are used”, the Examiner notes that a low pass cutoff frequency is another phrasing for an upper corner frequency).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Englebrecht by Hersh, i.e. by adapting Englebrecht’s filtering system with the additional system of Hersh as shown above, for the predictable purpose of combining known prior art elements in similar systems to predictably improve the filtering system of Englebrecht.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JLM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796