Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sokolovsky et al ‘239 in view of CN 108623333 A, for the reasons given in the last Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument, that to arrive at the claimed invention, the skilled person would have to extract the mixer from the granulation process disclosed in CN 108623333 A and repurpose it for an entirely different process step, namely the dry polishing of previously compacted KCl granules prior to coating, is not convincing. Sokolovsky et al ‘239 teaches at col. 8, lines 65-67 that the mixture may be mixed in any suitable mixer, including a high shear mixer. There is no evidence on record showing that the high shear mixer disclosed by Sokolovsky et al ‘239 would not increase the sphericity of the KCl granules to a value of between 0.88 and 0.92. Applicant’s argument, that Sokolovsky et al ‘239 already teaches how post-compaction polishing should be performed, namely by wetting and polishing in a drum mixer, screw mixer, double screw mixer, fluid bed or spraying system, snot convincing, since Sokolovsky et al ‘239 also discloses that the mixing can be performed in a high shear mixer. Applicant’s argument, hat nothing in Sokolovsky et al ‘239 would direct the skilled person to abandon the disclosed polishing equipment and instead employ thew granulation mixer of CN 108623333 A, is not convincing, since Sokolovsky et al ‘239 teaches that “any suitable mixer” may be used. Applicant’s argument, that neither reference recognizes that coating performance and controlled release properties can be improved by dry polishing treatment in an intensive mixer, is not convincing, since claim 10 does not require that a coating be provide on the polished KCl.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13, 14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sokolovsky et al ‘239 in view of CN 108623333 A, for the reasons given in the last Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument, that to arrive at the claimed invention, the skilled person would have to extract the mixer from the granulation process disclosed in CN 108623333 A and repurpose it for an entirely different process step, namely the dry polishing of previously compacted KCl granules prior to coating, is not convincing. Sokolovsky et al ‘239 teaches at co. Lines 65-67 that the mixture may be mixed in any suitable mixer, including a high shear mixer. There is no evidence on record showing that the high shear mixer disclosed by Sokolovsky et al ‘239 would not increase the sphericity of the KCl granules to a value of between 0.88 and 0.92. Applicant’s argument, that Sokolovsky et al ‘239 already teaches how post-compaction polishing should be performed, namely by wetting and polishing in a drum mixer, screw mixer, double screw mixer, fluid bed or spraying system, is snot convincing, since Sokolovsky et al ‘239 also discloses that the mixing can be performed in a high shear mixer. Applicant’s argument, that nothing in Sokolovsky et al ‘239 would direct the skilled person to abandon the disclosed polishing equipment and instead employ thew granulation mixer of CN 108623333 A, is not convincing, since Sokolovsky et al ‘239 teaches that “any suitable mixer” may be used.
CN101381263 (A) is made of record for disclosing for disclosing method for pretreating fertilizer nucleus cores in the production of film-coated controlled release fertilizer.
The Scientific Reports article entitled “Water Polishing improved controlled releasee characteristic and fertilizer efficiency of castor oil-based polyurethane coated diammonium phosphate” is made of record for disclosing a method comprising water-polishing fertilizer cores to improved nutrition release characteristics.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736