Claims 1-7, 9-11, 13-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sokolovsky et al ‘239 (US 10,450,239) in view of CN 108623333 A. Sokolovsky et al ‘239 discloses a method for forming spherical KCl by mixing KCl in a suitable mixer, such as a high shear mixer or paddle mixer, followed by coating the KCl granules. (See col. 5, lines 59-67; col. 8, lines 64-67; col. 10, lines 30-33 and FIG. 1 and the description thereof.) The KCl of Sokolovsky et al ‘239 would be expected to have a sphericity of below 0.87 and a sphericity of between 0.88 and 0.92 after the mixing step, since Sokolovsky et al ‘239 discloses in col. 7, lines 8-13 that have sharp edges and rough surfaces having bumps and curves, and in col. 9, lines 59-61 that the invention provides for smooth spherical granules The difference between the process disclosed by Sokolovsky et al ‘239, and that recited in applicant’s claims, is that Sokolovsky et al ‘239 does not disclose that the KCl is mixed in an intensive mixer type device consisting of a container vessel and at least one set of agitating elements rotating relative to static elements in the vessel. CN 108623333 (A) discloses a mixer comprising a high-speed stirrer in an inclined mixing disc container wherein mixing tool or stirrer 3 rotates independently of the mixing disc 2, and scraper 4 is fixedly configured inside the mixing disc 2. (See Paragraph [0055] of the English translation and the figure.) It would be obvious to employ the mixing apparatus of CN 108623333 (A) to mix the components in the process of Sokolovsky et al ‘239. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, since Sokolovsky et al ‘239 teaches at col. 8, lines 64-67 that the mixture may be mixed using any suitable mixer, and the intense mixing device of CN 108623333 (A) would be analogous to the “high shear mixer” disclosed at col. 8, line 66 of Sokolovsky et al ‘239.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Sokolovsky et al ‘239 discloses at col. 10, lines 27-29 that the coating may be a polymer.
Regarding claims 10, 11, 13, 14, 19 and 20, it would be expected that the coated KCl of Sokolovsky et al ‘239 would have the properties recited in these claims, since the process of Sokolovsky et al ‘239 is substantially identical to that disclosed in applicant’s specification.
Regarding claims 2-6 and 16, the limitations recited therein would be matters of routine design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sokolovsky et al ‘239 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CA 2,164,547. It would be obvious from CA 2,164,547 to provide a coating of sulfur on the KCl granules of Sokolovsky et al ‘239. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, since discloses sulfur coatings on potassium chloride granules (see claim 1 and the paragraph bridging pages 11 and 12), and Sokolovsky et al ‘239 implies at col. 10, lines 27-29 that the coating may be any which is conventionally used in the fertilizer industry.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 2, it is indefinite as to what the “certain gap” would be within the range between 1 mm and 5 cm.
In claim 3, it is indefinite as to what the “certain circumferential tip speed” would be between 0.3 and 5 m/s.
Quanquin et al (US 3,776,713) is made of record for disclosing substantially spherical granules consisting essentially of potassium chloride and phosphate, which are hard and abrasion-resistant.
GB 1,277,456 is made of record for disclosing a method for granulating potassium chloride into substantially spherical particles.
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736