DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 18-19 and 25-28 are amended.
Claim 20 is cancelled.
Claims 18-19 and 21-30 are pending and are examined on the merits.
Objections Withdrawn
All objections to the claims with regard to drawings and specification are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Rejections Withdrawn
Claim 20 is cancelled, rendering all previous rejections moot.
Rejections Maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (Kim et al, WO2019066535A1, Priority to 9/28/2017, Published on 4/4/2019; hereinafter Kim), and further in view of Canedo-Marroquin (Canedo-Marroquin et al, “Modulation of Host Immunity by Human Respiratory Syncytial Virus Virulence Factors: A Synergic Inhibition of Both Innate and Adaptive Immunity”, August 16, 2017, Front Cell Infect Microbiol, 7(367):1-10; hereinafter Canedo-Marroquin).
Regarding instant claims 18 and 25, Kim teaches exosomes comprising a modified VSV-G protein in the membrane of the exosome, and one or more immunogenic cell death inducers, wherein the immunogenic cell death inducer is an anthracycline-based anticancer agent (page 7, ¶ [46]-[47], [50], [52]). Kim also teaches a pharmaceutical composition for the treatment of cancer comprising administering the exosome as an active ingredient, wherein a virus-derived membrane fusion protein is introduced to the membrane of the exosome (page 7, ¶ [53]-[54]; page 8, ¶ [62]). Furthermore, Kim discloses that the pharmaceutical composition may further comprise anticancer compounds, wherein the anticancer compound may be encapsulated inside the plasma membrane-based vesicle (page 7, ¶ [56] – page 8, ¶ [57]-[58]). Kim discloses that the recombinant exosome comprising the modified VSV-G protein on the surface of the exosome (mVSVG-Exo) induced membrane fusion of cancer cells at pH 6.8 (page 9, ¶ [69]). Kim further discloses that a virus-derived membrane fusion protein other than the VSV-G protein may also exhibit an effect similar to that of the wtVSVG exosome or the mutantVSVG exosome used herein (page 10, ¶ [72]).
However, Kim does not teach a method of delivering anticancer agents in an exosome to cancer cells, wherein the exosomes comprise a respiratory syncytial virus F protein (RSVF).
The deficiency is resolved by Canedo-Marroquin.
Canedo-Marroquin teaches that human Respiratory Syncytial Virus (hRSV) comprises a fusion protein (F), which is a transmembrane protein that is required for hRSV fusion and entry into the host cell. Canedo-Marroquin also discloses that the entry mechanism of hRSV is pH, clathrin, and dynamin independent, Further, Canedo-Marroquin also teaches that the F protein interacts with nucleolin, a ubiquitous host receptor (page 2, right column, last paragraph – page 3, left column).
Regarding instant claims 18 and 25, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to take the pharmaceutical composition comprising the exosomes, wherein the exosomes comprise a modified VSV-G protein in the membrane of the exosome and an anticancer agent encapsulated inside the plasma membrane-based vesicle as taught by Kim and substitute VSVG with RSVF as taught by Canedo-Marroquin. This is obvious because, Kim teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising exosomes for the treatment of cancer, wherein the exosomes comprise a modified VSV-G protein in the membrane of the exosome, and one or more immunogenic cell death inducers (e.g. anticancer agents) encapsulated inside the plasma membrane-based vesicle wherein the recombinant exosome comprising the modified VSV-G protein on the surface of the exosome induced membrane fusion with cancer cells, and Canedo-Marroquin teaches that hRSV comprises a F protein that is required for hRSV fusion and entry into the host cell, wherein the entry mechanism of hRSV is pH, clathrin, and dynamin independent. Therefore, it is obvious to a skilled artisan with reasonable expectation of success to have been motivated to form the instant pharmaceutical composition comprising the instant exosome or instant method of delivering anticancer agents in the instant exosome to cancer cells, wherein the instant exosome comprises fusing membrane between the instant exosome including RSVF and a plasma membrane of the cancer cells.
Claims 19, 21 and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (Kim et al, WO2019066535A1, Priority to 9/28/2017, Published on 4/4/2019; hereinafter Kim), and Canedo-Marroquin (Canedo-Marroquin et al, “Modulation of Host Immunity by Human Respiratory Syncytial Virus Virulence Factors: A Synergic Inhibition of Both Innate and Adaptive Immunity”, August 16, 2017, Front Cell Infect Microbiol, 7(367):1-10; hereinafter Canedo-Marroquin), as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Tayyari (Tayyari et al, “Identification of nucleolin as a cellular receptor for human respiratory syncytial virus”, August 14, 2011, Nature Medicine, 17(9):1132-1136; hereinafter Tayyari), and Wu (Wu et al, “Phosphorylation and changes in the distribution of nucleolin promote tumor metastasis via the PI3K/Akt pathway in colorectal carcinoma”, May 21, 2014, FEBS Letters, 588(10):1921-1929; hereinafter Wu).
The combined teachings of Kim and Canedo-Marroquin are discussed above.
Additionally, Kim discloses that the recombinant exosome comprising the modified VSV-G protein on the surface of the exosome (mVSVG-Exo) promoted phagocytosis of various cancer cell types (e.g. 4T1-Luc breast cancer cells, EL4-Ova lymphoma cells, and CT26.CL25 colon cancer cells) by macrophages and dendritic cells, wherein the VSVG acted as a TLR4 agonist as shown in FIG. 9, suggesting that the recombinant exosomes are multifunctional anticancer agents exhibiting anticancer activity through various mechanisms (page 9, ¶ [69]; FIGs. 8A-8C and 9; Example 3).
However, the combined teachings of Kim and Canedo-Marroquin do not teach a method of delivering anticancer agents in an exosome to cancer cells comprising fusing membrane between the exosome including RSVF and the plasma membrane of the cancer cells, wherein fusing membrane is due to the interaction between the RSVF expressed on the outside of the exosome and nucleolin on the surface of the cancer cells.
The deficiency is resolved by Canedo-Marroquin, Tayyari and Wu.
Furthermore, Canedo-Marroquin also discloses that the F protein interacts with the TLR-4 to activate the receptor, herein initiating an antiviral immune response (page 4, left column, third paragraph).
Tayyari teaches that nucleolin, a ubiquitous molecule with many reported functions, including ligand binding, is a RSV receptor molecule, wherein RSV directly binds to nucleolin on the cell surface (shown by colocalization studies as described in Figure 2) (pages 1132-1133; Figures 1 and 2). Tayyari also teaches that the mechanism by which RSV and nucleolin interacts is that the RSV binding to surface proteoglycans, such as nucleolin, stabilize the virion to enable engagement of the RSV fusion protein (RSVF) with nucleolin on the target cell surface, similar to the cellular receptors of other enveloped viruses, e.g. herpes simplex virus and hepatitis B virus (page 1134, right column, last paragraph – page 1136, left column, first paragraph).
Wu teaches that nucleolin is a multifunctional protein, wherein cell surface nucleolin plays an important role in migration and capillary-tubule formation. Wu also discloses that targeting nucleolin on the plasma membrane of cancer cells seems to be an effective approach to inhibit cancer cell growth and angiogenesis, suggesting that cell surface nucleolin may be a novel cancer therapy target (page 1921, left column, second paragraph – right column, first paragraph). Wu also discloses that while the expression levels of total nucleolin was not different between the adenocarcinoma group and the metastases group (Fig. 4), inhibition of cell surface nucleolin inhibited the process of epithelial mesenchymal transitions (EMT) in colon cancer cells, suggesting that the distribution of nucleolin was related to metastatic potential (page 1928, right column, fourth and fifth paragraph; page 1921, Abstract).
Regarding instant claims 19, 21, 26-27, and 29-30, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the pharmaceutical composition comprising an exosome, wherein the exosome comprises RSVF and anticancer agents that fuse membrane between the exosome and the plasma membrane of cancer cells as taught by the combined teachings of Kim and Canedo-Marroquin to further comprise that the fusing membrane is due to the interaction between the RSVF expressed on the outside of the exosome and nucleolin expressed on the surface of cancer cells as taught by Tayyari, e.g. colon cancer cells as taught by Wu. This is obvious because, the combined teachings of Kim and Canedo-Marroquin teach pharmaceutical compositions comprising exosomes for the treatment of cancer, wherein the exosomes comprise a RSVF protein in the membrane of the exosome, and anticancer agents wherein the recombinant exosome induce membrane fusion with cancer cells, Tayyari teaches that nucleolin is a RSV receptor molecule, wherein RSV directly binds to nucleolin on the cell surface for stabilization, and Wu teaches that cell surface nucleolin plays an important role in cancer cell growth and angiogenesis, wherein inhibition of cell surface nucleolin inhibited the process of EMT in colon cancer cells. Therefore, it is obvious to a skilled artisan with reasonable expectation of success to have been motivated to form the instant pharmaceutical composition comprising the instant exosome or instant method of delivering anticancer agents in the instant exosome to cancer cells, wherein the instant exosome comprises fusing membrane between the instant exosome including RSVF expressed on the outside of the instant exosome and nucleolin on the surface of the plasma membrane of cancer cells, such as colon cancer cells.
Regarding instant claim 28, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the pharmaceutical composition for the treatment of cancer comprising administering an exosome comprising RSVF and anticancer agents, wherein the RSVF of the exosome interacts with the RSV receptor nucleolin on the surface of the plasma membrane of cancer cells to induce fusion between the exosome and cancer cell as taught by the combined teachings of Kim, Canedo-Marroquin, Tayyari, and Wu to further comprise that the RSVF induces phagocytosis of the cancer cells through host immune activation as taught by Kim and Canedo-Marroquin. This is obvious because, the combined teachings of Kim and Canedo-Marroquin teach exosomes and pharmaceutical compositions comprising exosomes for the treatment of cancer, wherein the exosomes comprise a RSVF protein in the membrane of the exosome, and anticancer agents wherein the recombinant exosome induce membrane fusion with cancer cells, Kim further teaches that mVSVG-Exo promoted phagocytosis of various cancer cell types (e.g. 4T1-Luc breast cancer cells, EL4-Ova lymphoma cells, and CT26.CL25 colon cancer cells) by macrophages and dendritic cells, wherein the VSVG acted as a TLR4 agonist, Canedo-Marroquin further discloses that the F protein of hRSV interacts with TLR-4 to activate the receptor, herein initiating an antiviral immune response, Tayyari teaches that nucleolin is a RSV receptor molecule, wherein RSV directly binds to nucleolin on the cell surface for stabilization, and Wu teaches that cell surface nucleolin plays an important role in cancer cell growth and angiogenesis, wherein inhibition of cell surface nucleolin inhibited the process of EMT in colon cancer cells. Therefore, it is obvious to a skilled artisan with reasonable expectation of success to have been motivated to form the instant cancer therapeutic method comprising delivering the anticancer agents in the instant exosome to cancer cells, wherein the RSVF of the instant exosome is delivered to a cancer cell membrane through fusion with the plasma membrane of cancer cells by mediating the instant exosome by nucleolin as a receptor on the surface of cancer cells, inducing phagocytosis of the cancer cells through host immune activation.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (Kim et al, WO2019066535A1, Priority to 9/28/2017, Published on 4/4/2019; hereinafter Kim), and Canedo-Marroquin (Canedo-Marroquin et al, “Modulation of Host Immunity by Human Respiratory Syncytial Virus Virulence Factors: A Synergic Inhibition of Both Innate and Adaptive Immunity”, August 16, 2017, Front Cell Infect Microbiol, 7(367):1-10; hereinafter Canedo-Marroquin) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Wang (Wang et al, “The unfolded protein response as a target for anticancer therapeutics”, May 7, 2018, Critical Reviews in Oncology/Hematology, 127:66-79; hereinafter Wang).
The combined teachings of Kim and Canedo-Marroquin are discussed above.
However, the combined teachings of Kim and Canedo-Marroquin do not teach an exosome comprising RSVF and anticancer agents wherein the anticancer agents are unfolded proteins.
The deficiency is resolved by Wang.
Wang teaches that ER stress is initiated when the unfolded or misfolded protein load exceeds the capacity of the ER to properly fold protein, and while cancer cells can tolerate mild ER stress, persistent and severe ER stress kills cancer cells by inducing their autophagy, apoptosis, necroptosis, or immunogenic cell death (page 66, Abstract, pathway described in Fig. 2). As a result, anticancer drugs that induce ER stress in cancer cells have been developed, such as the small molecule HA15, which targets GRP78 to trigger concomitant ER stress-induced apoptosis and autophagy in cancer cells, wherein HA15 induces a very strong autophagy signal through vesicle accumulation, early autophagosome sequestering in cytosol, and a high percentage of conversion of LC3-I to LC3-II. Wang also discloses that inhibition of either autophagy or apoptosis reduced the treatment efficiency of HA15, suggesting that autophagy induction aids in cancer treatment (page, §3.1, last paragraph).
Regarding instant claim 22, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the exosome comprising RSVF and anticancer agents that fuse membrane between the exosome and the plasma membrane of cancer cells as taught by the combined teachings of Kim and Canedo-Marroquin to further comprise that the anticancer agents are unfolded proteins as taught by Wang. This is obvious because, the combined teachings of Kim and Canedo-Marroquin teach pharmaceutical compositions comprising exosomes for the treatment of cancer, wherein the exosomes comprise a RSVF protein in the membrane of the exosome, and anticancer agents wherein the recombinant exosome induce membrane fusion with cancer cells, and Wang teaches that ER stress is induced when the unfolded or misfolded protein load exceeds the capacity of the ER to properly fold protein, wherein while cancer cells can tolerate mild ER stress, persistent and severe ER stress kills cancer cells by inducing their autophagy, apoptosis, necroptosis, or immunogenic cell death. Therefore, it is obvious to a skilled artisan with reasonable expectation of success to have been motivated to form the instant method of delivering anticancer agents in an exosome to cancer cells, comprising fusing membrane between the exosome including RSVF and a plasma membrane of the cancer cells, wherein the instant anticancer agents are unfolded proteins.
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (Kim et al, WO2019066535A1, Priority to 9/28/2017, Published on 4/4/2019; hereinafter Kim), Canedo-Marroquin (Canedo-Marroquin et al, “Modulation of Host Immunity by Human Respiratory Syncytial Virus Virulence Factors: A Synergic Inhibition of Both Innate and Adaptive Immunity”, August 16, 2017, Front Cell Infect Microbiol, 7(367):1-10; hereinafter Canedo-Marroquin), and Wang (Wang et al, “The unfolded protein response as a target for anticancer therapeutics”, May 7, 2018, Critical Reviews in Oncology/Hematology, 127:66-79; hereinafter Wang) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Benbrook (Benbrook and Long, “Integration of Autophagy, Proteasomal Degradation, Unfolded Protein Response And Apoptosis”, June 15, 2012, Exp Oncol, 34(3): 286-297; hereinafter Benbrook) and Yuan (Yuan et al, “Bafilomycin A1 targets both autophagy and apoptosis pathways in pediatric B-cell acute lymphoblastic leukemia”, March 2015, Haematologica, 100(3):345-356; hereinafter Yuan).
The combined teachings of Kim, Canedo-Marroquin, and Wang are discussed above.
However, the combined teachings of Kim, Canedo-Marroquin, and Wang do not teach a method of delivering anticancer agents in an exosome to cancer cells comprising fusing membrane between the exosome including RSVF and a plasma membrane of the cancer cells, wherein the anticancer agents are unfolded proteins that are accumulated inside the exosome due to inhibition of phagosome-lysosome fusion by treatment with a phagosome-lysosome fusion inhibitor, wherein the inhibition of phagosome-lysosome fusion by the phagosome-lysosome fusion inhibitor is induced by any one selected from the group consisting of promotion of vacuolar type H+ ATPase, inhibition of proteasome function, inhibition of autophagosome formation, and deacetylase inhibition.
The deficiency is resolved by Benbrook and Yuan.
Benbrook teaches that HDAC6, a microtubule-associated acetylase, binds to and utilizes dynein motors to transport ubiquitinated proteins along microtubules to a structure called the aggresome, where they are recognized by developing autophagosomes. Benbrook also teaches that fusion with lysosomes is mediated by dynein transportation of these autophagosomes along microtubules to fuse with endosomes or lysosomes for degradation for re-utilization in cellular metabolism. Consequently, Benbrook teaches that inhibition of lysosomal acidification by Bafilomycin A1, a specific V-ATPase (vacuolar H+ ATPase) inhibitor, or by other lysosomal function inhibitors, such as CQ (Chloroquine) and HCQ (hydroxychloroquine), will cause accumulation of autophagosomes and unfolded proteins (page 288, right column, third paragraph, For pathway, see Figure 2).
Yuan teaches that bafilomycin A1 has been used in various studies of autophagy as an inhibitor of fusion between autophagosomes and lysosomes and as an inhibitor of lysosomal degradation. Yuan also discloses that bafilomycin A1 inhibits cell growth and induces apoptosis and differentiation, wherein these anticancer effects of bafilomycin A1 are considered attributable to the intracellular acidosis caused by V-ATPase inhibition (page 345, left column, second paragraph – right column (continued)). Yuan discloses that bafilomycin A1 attenuates cytoprotective autophagy, induces apoptosis, and delays the onset of leukemia in a xenograft mouse model and inhibits and kills leukemic primary cells (page 345, Abstract; page 346, left column, second paragraph).
Yuan also discloses that unlike other drugs, bafilomycin A1 inhibits and kills pediatric B-ALL cells at multiple targets while sparing normal cells. Yuan further teaches that bafilomycin a1 not only targets early autophagy signaling, but also targets H-ATPase of lysosomes and blocks late-phase autophagy activity. Furthermore, bafilomycin a1 targets mitochondria to activate the AIF-dependent apoptotic cell death pathway and promotes Beclin 1 binding to Bcl-2, further decreasing cytoprotective autophagy and activating apoptotic cell death (page 354, right column, last paragraph – page 355, left column). Yuan concludes that whereas apoptosis is implicated in the removal of damaged or unwanted cells, autophagy is a cellular catabolic pathway that is involved in lysosomal degradation and recycling of proteins and organelles, and is therefore considered as an important survival mechanism for both normal cells and cancer cells in response to metabolic stress or chemotherapy (page 345, right column, second paragraph).
Regarding instant claims 23 and 24, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the exosome comprising RSVF and anticancer agents that fuse membrane between the exosome and the plasma membrane of cancer cells, wherein the anticancer agents are unfolded proteins as taught by the combined teachings of Kim, Canedo-Marroquin, and Wang to further comprise that the unfolded proteins are accumulated inside exosome due to inhibition of phagosome-lysosome fusion by treatment with the phagosome-lysosome fusion inhibitor as taught by Benbrook, wherein the phagosome-lysosome fusion inhibitor is bafilomycin a1, an inhibitor of vacuolar type H+ ATPase as taught by Yuan. This is obvious because, the combined teachings of Kim, Canedo-Marroquin, and Wang teach pharmaceutical compositions comprising exosomes for the treatment of cancer, wherein the exosomes comprise a RSVF protein in the membrane of the exosome, and unfolded proteins as anticancer agents wherein the recombinant exosome induce membrane fusion with cancer cells to induce ER stress when the unfolded protein load exceeds the capacity of the ER to properly fold protein, thereby killing cancer cells by inducing their autophagy or apoptosis, Benbrook teaches inhibition of lysosomal acidification by bafilomycin A will cause accumulation of autophagosomes and unfolded proteins, and Yuan teaches bafilomycin A1 inhibits cell growth and induces apoptosis and differentiation in cancer cells, wherein these anticancer effects of bafilomycin A1 are considered attributable to the intracellular acidosis caused by V-ATPase inhibition. Therefore, it is obvious to a skilled artisan with reasonable expectation of success to have been motivated to form the instant method of delivering anticancer agents in an exosome to cancer cells, comprising fusing membrane between the exosome including RSVF and a plasma membrane of the cancer cells, wherein the instant anticancer agents are unfolded proteins, wherein the unfolded proteins are accumulated inside the instant exosome due to inhibition of phagosome-lysosome fusion by treatment with a vacuolar type H+ ATPase inhibitor.
Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues the following:
Instant claim 18 has been amended to recite that the exosome expresses RSVF outside of the exosome and comprises anticancer agents inside the exosome, and Kim and Canedo Marroquin fail to disclose or suggest these features when the claim is considered as a whole as detailed below:
Kim relates a recombinant exosome comprising VSV-G H162R and use thereof for cancer treatment, and merely describes RSVF of the claimed invention as one example among virus-derived membrane fusion membrane proteins;
Kim provides no disclosure as to how RSVF is introduced into the exosome, how introduced RSVF is expressed, and no data confirming cancer treatment for a recombinant exosome into which RSVF has been introduced;
Canedo-Marroquin merely discloses the binding possibility of RSVF, and the combination with Kim still provides no disclosure of a structure in which RSVF is expressed on the surface of a specific exosome; and
Canedo-Marroquin discloses that the main mechanism of action of RSVF is binding to TLR-4, an innate immune receptor, causing excessive immune disturbance and inflammation in an immune activated host.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to the teachings of Kim, first of all, Applicant concedes that Kim names the F protein of respiratory syncytial virus (RSVF) as a virus derived fusogenic membrane protein suitable for introduction into the membrane of the recombinant plasma membrane based vesicle. Kim’s list is finite and only identifies a limited number of specific proteins by name. A disclosure that names a limited number of alternatives renders each of the named alternatives obvious, and the fact that a references discloses a multitude of effective combinations does not render any particular one less obvious. See MPEP §2144.08 and §2123. Secondly, Kim identifies both wild type VSV-G and the pH sensitive H162R mutant as options, alongside RSVF and other fusogenic proteins. Thus, Kim does not treat pH sensitive fusion as a requirement of its invention, and substitution of RSVF does not defeat Kim’s stated purpose of inducing membrane fusion between the recombinant vesicle and the target cancer cell. Thirdly, Kim teaches that the virus derived fusogenic membrane protein is introduced into the membrane of the recombinant plasma membrane-based vesicle, and that the resulting vesicle induces membrane fusion with the plasma membrane of cancer cells. A fusogenic membrane protein must be displayed on the exterior surface of the vesicle membrane in order to engage the plasma membrane of the target cell, and Kim confirms this arrangement experimentally, disclosing that mVSVG-Exo comprising the modified VSV-G on the surface of the exosome induced membrane fusion with cancer cells and promoted phagocytosis of 4T1-Luc breast cancer cells, EL4-Ova lymphoma cells, and CT26.CL25 colon cancer cells by macrophages and dendritic cells, wherein VSV-G acted as a TLR4 agonist (see page 9, ¶ [69]; FIGs. 8 and 9; Example 3). Lastly, in regards to Applicant’s argument that Kim provides no disclosure as to how RSVF is introduced into the exosome, how introduced RSVF is expressed, and no data confirming cancer treatment for a recombinant exosome into which RSVF has been introduced, instant claim 18 only recited that the exosome expresses RSVF outside of the exosome and does not recited any particular method of introduction, construct, signal sequence, or expression system. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is directed to subject matter not recited in the claim. See MPEP §2145(VI). Furthermore, a prior art reference is presumed to be enables for what it discloses, and Applicant has not submitted any objective evidence establishing that a skilled artisan could not have introduced RSVF into an exosome membrane as Kim teaches. See MPEP §2121.
In regards to Canedo-Marroquin’s teachings, first of all, Applicant relies on Canedo-Marroquin’s discussion of immune disturbance and inflammation in the context of respiratory syncytial virus infection of a host. That context differs from the claimed invention, which is the delivery of anticancer agents to cancer cells. A reference must be considered in its entirety, and teaches away only when such disclosure criticizes, discredits, or discourages the claimed solution. See MPEP §2141.02(VI). Secondly, the immune activating property Applicant states as a deterrent is actually the property the cited combination relies upon. Kim teaches that the fusogenic protein on the exosome surface acted as a TLR4 agonist and that the resulting exosomes promoted phagocytosis of cancer cells by macrophages and dendritic cells, characterizing the recombinant exosomes as multifunctional anticancer agents exhibiting anticancer activity through various mechanisms, and Canedo-Marroquin teaches that the F protein interacts with TLR-4 to activate the receptor and initiate an immune response. Therefore, it would be obvious to a skilled artisan with reasonable expectation of success to have been motivated to substitute VSVG of Kim with RSVF of Canedo-Marroquin in the pharmaceutical composition comprising exosomes, wherein the exosomes comprise a modified VSV-G protein in the membrane of the exosome and an anticancer agent encapsulated inside the plasma membrane-based vesicle as taught by Kim. Furthermore, this is consistent with instant claim 28, which recites that the RSVF induces phagocytosis of the cancer cells through host immune activation.
Accordingly the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/JULIE WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1643