DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/19/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Rejection on 2/9/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hada (US10300543B2) in view of Carossino (US4915367A) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Fig. 1 of Hada
Regarding claim 1, Hada teaches a machine tool that machines a workpiece (W) using a tool (1),
the machine tool comprising:
a saddle (10) configured to move relative to a bed (2) in a first direction (Y-axis saddle 10);
a table (9) configured to move relative to the saddle (10) in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (Col. 4 lines 25-35 X-axis saddle 9; the X-axis saddle 9 is equipped to freely move in the X-axis direction (direction perpendicular to plane of page of FIG. 1) at an upper side of the bed 2. The Y-axis saddle 10 is equipped to freely move in the Y-axis direction (left/right direction in FIG. 1) at an upper side of the X-axis saddle 9).
Hada is silent on a first clamp member configured to be fixed to the bed and the table and thereby fix a relative position between the bed and the table.
Carossino teaches a first clamp (28, 29) member configured to be fixed to the bed (P) and the table (1) and thereby fix a relative position between the bed (P) and the table (1) and keep the saddle from moving in the first direction (Fig. 4, where clamps 28, 29 restrict movement in all directions when screwed in Col. 6 lines 25- 40)
Hada and Carossino are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of machining tools. It would have been obvious to have modified the bed and table of Hada to incorporate the teachings of Carossino to have a clamp to fixed to the bed and the table in order to be able to fix the components together firmly with high accuracy, ensuring less risk in damaging the components (Carossino Col. 1 lines 35-45).
Regarding claim 4, Hada teaches a machine tool that machines a workpiece (W) using a tool (1),
the machine tool comprising:
a saddle (9) configured to move relative to a bed (2) in a first direction (X-axis saddle 9);
a table (10) configured to move relative to the saddle (9) in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (Col. 4 lines 25-35 Y-axis saddle 10; the X-axis saddle 9 is equipped to freely move in the X-axis direction (direction perpendicular to plane of page of FIG. 1) at an upper side of the bed 2. The Y-axis saddle 10 is equipped to freely move in the Y-axis direction (left/right direction in FIG. 1) at an upper side of the X-axis saddle 9).
Hada is silent on a first clamp member configured to be fixed to each of the bed and the table by bolts and thereby fix a relative position between the bed and the table.
Carossino teaches a first clamp member (28, 29) configured to be fixed to each of the bed (P) and the table (1) by bolts (34) and thereby fix a relative position between the bed and the table (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to have modified the bed and table of Carossino to incorporate the teachings of Hayashi to have a clamp to fixed to the bed and the table using bolts in order to be able to fix the components together firmly with high accuracy, ensuring less risk in damaging the components (Carossino Col. 1 lines 35-45).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hada (US10300543B2) and Carossino (US4915367A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsuyama (JP2011140093A) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Regarding claim 2, Hada and Carossino teach the machine tool according to claim 1, and Hada teaches wherein the machine tool (1) is a wire electrical discharge machine (Col. 4 lines 10-20 a wire electric discharge machine) that machines the workpiece (W) by generating an electrical discharge at an electrode gap between a wire electrode (16) and the workpiece (W) in a working fluid (Col. 4 lines 30-40 W serving as a workpiece is placed is installed inside of the work pan 11, and is filled with working fluid),
the machine tool further comprising:
a UV-axis saddle (5) configured to move relative to a column (3) disposed so as to stand on the bed (2), in a third direction (Col. 4 lines 40-45 V-axis saddle 5 is equipped to freely move in the V-axis direction (Y-axis direction))
a UV-axis table (6) configured to move relative to the UV-axis saddle (7) in a fourth direction orthogonal (Col. 4 lines 40-45 U-axis saddle 6 is mounted to freely move in the U-axis direction (Col. 4 lines 30-40 X-axis direction)) to the third direction (Col. 4 lines 30-40 Y-axis direction);
a quill (7) configured to move relative to the UV-axis table (6) in a fifth direction Z-axis saddle 7 is mounted to freely move in the Z-axis direction (Col. 4 lines 45-50 up/down direction in FIG. 1)) orthogonal to the first direction (Col. 4 lines 30-40 Y axis direction) and to the second direction (Col. 4 lines 30-40 X axis direction).
Hada is silent on a second clamp member configured to be fixed to the column and the UV-axis table and thereby fix a relative position between the column and the UV-axis table; and
a third clamp member configured to be fixed to the second clamp member and the quill and thereby fix a relative position of the quill with respect to the second clamp member.
Matsuyama teaches a second clamp member ([0017] 8) configured to be fixed to the column (10b) and the UV-axis table (53) and thereby fix a relative position between the column (10b) and the UV-axis table (53); and
a third clamp member ([0017] 9) configured to be fixed to the second clamp member (8) and the quill (63) and thereby fix a relative position of the quill ([0024] 63) with respect to the second clamp member (8).
Hada, Carossino, and Matsuyama are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of machining tools. It would have been obvious to have modified the column and UV-axis table as taught by the combination of Hada and Carossino to incorporate the teachings of Matsuyama to have a second clamp to fix the column and UV-axis table and to have modified the quill taught by the combination of Hada and Hayashi to incorporate the teachings of Matsuyama to have a third clamp fixed to the second clamp, that is fixed to the quill in order to allow moveable portions to remain movable when the fixing portion is not engaged and to allow the fixing portions or clamps to remain attached to the moveable portions such that they are not lost (Matsuyama [0008]).
Regarding claim 3, Hada, Carossino, and Matsuyama teach the machine tool according to claim 2, and Hada teaches the first direction (Col. 4 lines 30-40 Y-axis saddle 10) and the third direction (Col. 4 lines 40-45 V-axis saddle 5 is equipped to freely move in the V-axis direction (Y-axis direction)) are a same direction,
and the second direction (Col. 4 lines 30-40 X-axis saddle 9 is equipped to freely move in the X-axis direction) and the fourth direction (Col. 4 lines 40-45 U-axis saddle 6 is mounted to freely move in the U-axis direction (Col. 4 lines 30-40 X-axis direction)) are a same direction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the Remarks, filed 3/19/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under Hada (US10300543B2) in view of Hayashi (JP2003048129A) have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, Applicant's amendment necessitated a new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action, wherein the new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hada (US10300543B2) in view of newly cited reference Carossino (US4915367A).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 6/23/2026
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761