DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 9 recites that there is a “second engagement portion over substantially an entirety of the wide direction of the tip end portion of the back sheet portion”. The term “substantially an entirety” is interpreted as encompassing a majority of the width direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 refers to “joint portions” in line 10. Independent claim 1, upon which claim 10 depends, recites a “joint portion” in line 7. Multiple “joint portions” have not been recited in or supported by the pending claims. The scope of claim 10 is unclear. Correction and/or clarification are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umebayashi et al. (US 20080099130) in view of Plischke et al. (US 5,977,014).
As to claim 1, Umebayashi et al. (hereinafter “Umebayashi”) discloses a wearing article [0005] comprising:
a waist member (31) including a waist body extending in a width direction (figure 1(a), having elasticity (41,43) capable of expanding an contracting in the width direction, and disposed around a waist of a wearer [0076], and first engagement portions (F2) provided on a surface facing a skin surface side of the wearer at both end portions of the waist body in the width direction (figure 1(a));
an absorber (2) joined to waist member and extending in an orthogonal direction with respect to the width direction (figure 1a) from a joint portion with a waist member so as to be disposed from a back portion to a front abdomen portion of the wearer via the crotch portion (see figures),
wherein the absorber includes a core (C) for absorbing a body fluid, a front sheet (64) provided on the skin surface side of the wearer of the core, a back sheet (62) provided on an outer surface side opposite to the skin surface side of the core so as to sandwich the core between the back sheet and the front sheet [0078], and a second engagement portion (F1) provided on an outer surface opposite to a surface facing the skin surface side of the back sheet and detachable with respect to each of the first engagement portions [0073];
the first engagement portion and the second engagement portion are engaged with each other in a state where the absorber is folded in two in the orthogonal direction, and both side portions adjacent in the width direction of the joint portion in the waist member are folded in the width direction as shown in figures 8(a) – 8(c).
The difference between Umebayashi and claim 1 is the recitation that the core includes a water absorbent polymer, a core-side first non-woven fabric that holds the core includes a water absorbent polymer, and a core-side first non-woven fabric that holds the water absorbent polymer so as to form a holding region that holds the water absorbent polymer and a first low-density region that holds the water absorbent polymer having a lower density than the water absorbent polymer in the holding region and is adjacent in the orthogonal direction to both end portions of the holding region in the orthogonal direction.
Plischke et al. (hereinafter “Plischke”) teaches an analogous absorbent article including an absorbent composite structure including a water absorbent polymer (col. 3, line 59) and a core-side first nonwoven fabric that holds the water absorbent polymer so as to form a holding region as set forth in col. 16, lines 11-59. Plischke teaches the structure as having areas of varying basis weight including striped areas (3) with little or no absorbent particles adjacent to areas with a higher basis weight of absorbent particles (2) as discussed in col. 5, lines 16-32 and as shown in figures 11-14. Plischke also teaches that having areas with an absence of particle aggregates in the composite, the composite can be mechanically deformed without the particles becoming detached from the substrate of the composite as set forth in col. 5, lines 35-40. The low density region (3) is adjacent in the orthogonal direction to both end portions of the holding region in the orthogonal direction as shown in figure 14.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the core of Umebayashi with high and low density regions as taught by Plischke in order to provide a structure with improved performance, flexibility and structure as well as having a reduced tendency to exhibit gel blocking as taught by Plischke in col. 3, lines 40-53.
With reference to claims 2 and 3, Umebayashi teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Umebayashi and claims 2 and 3 is the provision that the article includes a second low-density region extending in the orthogonal direction (cl. 3) that holds the water absorbent polymer having a lower density than the water absorbent polymer in the holding region and is sandwiched in the width direction by the holding region is formed in the core-side first non-woven fabric.
Plischke teaches an analogous absorbent article having a second low-density region extending in the orthogonal direction (cl. 3) that holds the water absorbent polymer having a lower density than the water absorbent polymer in the holding region and is sandwiched in the width direction by the holding region formed in the core-side first non-woven fabric (figures 7-9 and 15-16) as set forth in annotated figure 14 below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the core of Umebayashi with high and low density regions as taught by Plischke in order to provide a structure with improved performance, flexibility and structure as well as having a reduced tendency to exhibit gel blocking as taught by Plischke in col. 3, lines 40-53.
Regarding claims 6-7, Umebayashi teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Umebayashi and claims 6-7 is the provision that the article includes a fiber layer raised to form a gap for supporting the water absorbent polymer that is formed in the core-side first non-woven fabric and/or on an opposing surface of each of the core-side first non-woven fabric and the core-side second non-woven fabric (cl. 7).
Plischke teaches an analogous absorbent article where absorbent polymers may be placed between multiple layers of the absorber member as shown in figures 5, 7-9 and 15-16. The thickness of the layer(s) produce a gap as shown in the figures. See also, col. 17, lines 34-62 where Plischke teaches an expanding cellulosic foam which would also produce a gap (i.e., spacing) within the article. Additionally, Plischke notes that the structure is a laminate as set forth in col. 16, lines 60-65.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the core of Umebayashi with the desired amount and location of fiber layers as taught by Plischke in order to provide a structure with improved performance, flexibility and structure as well as having a reduced tendency to exhibit gel blocking as taught by Plischke in col. 3, lines 40-53. Plischke also notes that the particulars of the substrate layer(s) will vary depending on the desired properties as set forth in col. 16, lines 60-65.
As to claim 8, Umebayashi discloses that elastics (43) are placed on the tip end of the absorber which are expandable/stretchable in the width direction as shown in figure 6a.
With reference to claim 9, Umebayashi discloses that the absorber has a second engagement portion (F1) which covers almost an entire width portion of the absorber at the tip end portion as shown in figure 8b.
As to claim 10, see the rejection of claim 1.
Umebayashi discloses a waist member having inner and outer sheets with elastic members therebetween [0076-0079] where the elastic members are fully capable of performing as recited.
Umebayashi is silent to portions of the article becoming weaker than adjacent parts.
It would have, however, been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to reasonably presume that the article of Umebayashi would function identically to that as claimed because the structure of Umebayashi provides sandwiched elastics as claimed as well as the core arrangement portion as claimed. The weakened areas appear to be a result of this configuration and, therefore, would have been considered to be reasonably present in the structure of Umebayashi.
Regarding claim 11, Umebayashi discloses an outer sheet having an extending portion that covers an end portion joined to the waist member in the orthogonal direction of the absorber as shown in the figures, see especially figures 5(a) – 8(c).
As to claim 12, see the rejection of claim 10.
With respect to claim 13, Umebayashi discloses the recited waist member, absorber joining and folding steps as well as the temporary joining of the side edges to the absorber portion as shown in at least figures 6a, 8a, 8b and 8c.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umebayashi et al. (US 2008/0099130) in Plischke et al. (US 5,977,014) and further in view of Di Berardino et al. (US 2021/0186777).
With reference to claims 4 and 5, Umebayashi modified teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Umebayashi modified and claims 4 and 5 is the provision that the front sheet includes a front-side first non-woven fabric having an irregularity shape, and a front-side second non-woven fabric joined to an outer surface opposite to a surface facing the skin surface side in the front-side first non-woven fabric so as to maintain the irregularity shape wherein the front-side second non-woven fabric has a shape that is gentler in undulation than the irregularity shape (cl. 5).
Di Berardino et al. (hereinafter “Di Berardino”) teaches an analogous multilayer absorbing element for sanitary articles having a top layer is formed by laminating a stretched back layer (12) to body side facing layer (11) which has been deformed to form protrusions and cavities (figures 1-4) wherein the front-side second non-woven fabric has a shape that is gentler in undulation than the irregularity shape as shown in figure 1bis .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the structure of Umebayashi modified to include a front sheet of the absorber with irregularities and a front-side second non-woven fabric having a shape that is gentler in undulation than the irregularity shape as taught by Di Berardino to provide the benefit of accelerating the absorption and distribution of organic fluid to the absorbent core/absorber as taught by Di Berardino in [0019].
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umebayashi et al. (US 20080099130) in Plischke et al. (US 5,977,014) and further in view of Yamakawa et al. (US 2005/0256492).
With reference to claims 14-20, Umebayashi modified teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 13.
Umebayashi discloses the recited waist member, absorber joining and folding steps as well as the temporary joining of the side edges to the absorber portion recited in claim 13 (Fig. 6a, 8a, 8b, 8c).
The difference between Umebayashi modified and claims 14-20 is the provision that a position of the temporary fixing is outside relative to the core in the width direction.
Yamakawa et al. (hereinafter “Yamakawa”) teaches an analogous absorbent article that includes a temporary fixing (via tape fasteners) that are fixed outside relative to the core in the width direction as shown in figure 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the fixed areas of Umebayashi modified outside of the core in the width direction as taught by Yamakawa in order to maintain improved contact between the article and the wearer as taught by Yamakawa in [0050].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,698. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the instant application are considered to be obvious over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,698.
The instant application requires all of the specifics of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,698, The method of making the article with the specifically recited elements would naturally flow from the structure of the instant application.
The limitations of claim 1 of the instant application can be found in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,698.
The limitations of claim 2 of the instant application can be found in claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,698.
The limitations of claim 3 of the instant application can be found in claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,698.
The limitations of claim 4 of the instant application can be found in claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,698.
The limitations of claim 5 of the instant application can be found in claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,698.
The limitations of claim 6 of the instant application can be found in claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,698.
The limitations of claim 7 of the instant application can be found in claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,698.
The limitations of claim 8 of the instant application can be found in claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,698.
The limitations of claim 9 of the instant application can be found in claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,698.
The limitations of claim 10 of the instant application can be found in claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,698.
The limitations of claim 11 of the instant application can be found in claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,698.
The limitations of claim 12 of the instant application can be found in claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,698.
The limitations of claim 13 of the instant application can be found in claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,698.
The limitations of claims 14-20 of the instant application can be found in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,698.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Karami (US 4,027,672) discloses an absorbent article with high liquid holding capacity regions.
/MICHELE KIDWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781