DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagy et al. (2018/0329428).
Regarding applicant claim 1, Nagy discloses a traffic control method, comprising:
a process for acquiring from autonomous vehicles traveling on roads identification information previously assigned to the autonomous vehicles ([0058]-[0059] “one or more sensors used to collect sensor data that includes information that describes the location surrounding environment of the autonomous vehicle”);
when the acquired identification information includes first identification information, a process for acquiring vehicle information of first autonomous vehicles to which is assigned the identification information that includes the first identification information ([0093] “constraint filed received… range of possible application type values.. for navigating in a particular geographic area”);
a process for calculating regulated ranges based on acquired vehicle information; a process for causing first autonomous vehicles to travel according to predetermined operation plans ([0097]-[0098] “); and
a process for notifying of the calculated regulated ranges ([0109] “method of controlling navigation… such as remote computing devices as part of a central control system that is in wireless communication with a plurality of autonomous vehicles”);
a process for excluding regulated ranges from ranges in which second autonomous vehicles other than first autonomous vehicles can travel ([0014] “range”; [0112] “approximating navigational limitations”).
.
Regarding applicant claim 2, Nagy discloses further comprising:
a process for acquiring, as the vehicle information, location information indicating locations of first autonomous vehicles ([0035] “the vehicle computing system can include one or more sensors, image, radar, LIDAR… sensor data can be indicative of locations”).
Regarding applicant claim 3, Nagy discloses further comprising:
a process for acquiring, as the vehicle information, information of cargo carried on first autonomous vehicles in addition to the location information ([0051] “safety of vehicles, passengers, and/or cargo”).
Regarding applicant claim 4, Nagy discloses further comprising:
a process for acquiring, as the vehicle information, speed information indicating traveling speeds of first autonomous vehicles in addition to the location information ([0063] “current speed”).
Regarding applicant claim 6, Nagy discloses further comprising:
a process for sending a warning signal to second autonomous vehicles other than first autonomous vehicles to prevent the second autonomous vehicles from entering regulated ranges ([0112] “approximating navigational limitations”).
Regarding applicant claim 7, Nagy discloses further comprising:
a process for notifying first autonomous vehicles of regulated ranges, and a process for notifying second autonomous vehicles other than first autonomous vehicles of regulated ranges notified by first autonomous vehicles ([0112] “approximating navigational limitations”).
Regarding applicant claim 8, Nagy discloses further comprising: a process for sending a warning signal to second autonomous vehicles other than first autonomous vehicles to prevent the second autonomous vehicles from entering the regulated ranges notified from first autonomous vehicles ([0054] “send and/or receive data, messages, signals”).
Regarding applicant claim 9, Nagy discloses further comprising:
a detection process for detecting whether a first autonomous vehicle is approaching a predetermined distance to another first autonomous vehicle that is ahead ([0054]); and
a process for, when the first autonomous vehicle is detected to have approached a predetermined distance to the other first autonomous vehicle that is ahead, prioritizing control of the first autonomous vehicle to follow the other first autonomous vehicle that is ahead ([0119] “transmit the traffic flow constraint information to autonomous vehicles”).
Regarding applicant claim 10, Nagy discloses wherein the detection process modifies the predetermined distance according to deterioration of the road ([0047] “traffic conditions”).
Regarding applicant claim 11, Nagy discloses wherein the detection process detects that the first autonomous vehicle is approaching the predetermined distance to the other first autonomous vehicle that is ahead when the regulated ranges for the two first autonomous vehicles overlap each other ([0119]).
Regarding applicant claim 12, Nagy discloses further comprising: a process for stopping a first autonomous vehicle at a predetermined point on the road for a predetermined period of time ([0049] “sending instructions to an entire fleet of vehicles operating in a given geographic area”).
Regarding applicant claim 13, Nagy discloses further comprising: a process for supplying energy for traveling to a first autonomous vehicle at a predetermined point ([0049] “sending instructions to an entire fleet of vehicles operating in a given geographic area”).
Regarding applicant claim 14, Nagy discloses further comprising:
a process for controlling the travel of a first autonomous vehicle according to an environment ([0049] “sending instructions to an entire fleet of vehicles operating in a given geographic area”).
Regarding applicant claim 15, Nagy discloses further comprising: a process for inputting environmental information indicating environments in which first autonomous vehicles will be traveling into a learned model that is machine-learned by mapping operation plans to the environment using historical data; and a process for controlling travel of first autonomous vehicles according to operation plans output from the learned model ([0112] “predicted future, current and/or historic events, conditions, or the like”).
Regarding applicant claim 16, Nagy discloses wherein a plurality of the first autonomous vehicles are connected to each other ([0049] “sending instructions to an entire fleet of vehicles operating in a given geographic area”).
Regarding applicant claim 17, Nagy discloses wherein the autonomous vehicles are vehicles traveling on an expressway ([0011]-[0012]).
Regarding applicant claim 18, Nagy discloses wherein the first autonomous vehicles are vehicles transporting cargo ([0051] “cargo”).
Regarding applicant claim 19, Nagy discloses wherein the first autonomous vehicles transport a pre-determined amount of cargo ([0051] “cargo”).
Regarding applicant claim 20, Nagy discloses further comprising:
a process for calculating distribution of cargo to be transferred to third autonomous vehicles to which the cargo is transferred for delivery according to the amount of cargo on the first autonomous vehicles and the maximum loading capacity of the third autonomous vehicles ([0051] “cargo can be increased”).
Regarding applicant claim 21, Nagy discloses wherein the first autonomous vehicles are EVs or hydrogen-powered vehicles ([0033]-[0035]).
Regarding applicant claim 22, Nagy discloses a traffic control system, comprising:
autonomous vehicles that travel on roads; and a control device that controls travel of autonomous vehicles, wherein the control device comprises ([0109] “method of controlling navigation… such as remote computing devices as part of a central control system that is in wireless communication with a plurality of autonomous vehicles”),
an identification information acquisition unit that acquires from the autonomous vehicles identification information previously assigned to the autonomous vehicles ([0058]-[0059] “one or more sensors used to collect sensor data that includes information that describes the location surrounding environment of the autonomous vehicle”);
a vehicle information acquisition unit that, when identification information acquired by the identification information acquisition unit includes first identification information ([0093] “constraint filed received… range of possible application type values.. for navigating in a particular geographic area”);
acquires vehicle information of a first autonomous vehicle to which is assigned the identification information that includes the first identification information ([0093] “constraint filed received… range of possible application type values.. for navigating in a particular geographic area”);
a regulated range calculation unit that calculates regulated ranges based on vehicle information acquired by the vehicle information acquisition unit ([0097]-[0098]); and
a control unit that causes first autonomous vehicles to travel according to a predetermined operation plan and notifies of the regulated ranges calculated by the regulated range calculation unit ([0109] “method of controlling navigation… such as remote computing devices as part of a central control system that is in wireless communication with a plurality of autonomous vehicles”);
a process for excluding regulated ranges from ranges in which second autonomous vehicles other than first autonomous vehicles can travel ([0014] “range”; [0112] “approximating navigational limitations”).
Regarding applicant claim 23, Nagy discloses a control device, comprising:
a process for acquiring from autonomous vehicles traveling on roads identification information previously assigned to the autonomous vehicles ([0058]-[0059] “one or more sensors used to collect sensor data that includes information that describes the location surrounding environment of the autonomous vehicle”);
when the acquired identification information includes first identification information, a process for acquiring vehicle information of first autonomous vehicles to which is assigned the identification information that includes the first identification information ([0093] “constraint filed received… range of possible application type values.. for navigating in a particular geographic area”);
a process for calculating regulated ranges based on acquired vehicle information; a process for causing first autonomous vehicles to travel according to predetermined operation plans ([0097]-[0098] “); and
a process for notifying of the calculated regulated ranges ([0109] “method of controlling navigation… such as remote computing devices as part of a central control system that is in wireless communication with a plurality of autonomous vehicles”).
Regarding applicant claim 24, Nagy discloses a recording medium on which a program is recorded, that causes a computer to execute procedures, the procedures comprising:
a process for acquiring from autonomous vehicles traveling on roads identification information previously assigned to the autonomous vehicles ([0058]-[0059] “one or more sensors used to collect sensor data that includes information that describes the location surrounding environment of the autonomous vehicle”);
when the acquired identification information includes first identification information, a process for acquiring vehicle information of first autonomous vehicles to which is assigned the identification information that includes the first identification information ([0093] “constraint filed received… range of possible application type values.. for navigating in a particular geographic area”);
a process for calculating regulated ranges based on acquired vehicle information; a process for causing first autonomous vehicles to travel according to predetermined operation plans ([0097]-[0098] “); and
a process for notifying of the calculated regulated ranges ([0109] “method of controlling navigation… such as remote computing devices as part of a central control system that is in wireless communication with a plurality of autonomous vehicles”);
a process for excluding regulated ranges from ranges in which second autonomous vehicles other than first autonomous vehicles can travel ([0014] “range”; [0112] “approximating navigational limitations”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim(s) 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagy et al. (2018/0329428).
Applicant argues that the constraints disclosed by Nagy is not vehicle specific. Rather, Nagy’s disclosed constraint information depends on events, plans and resources that are generally applicable to all vehicles.
Examiner disagrees with this assessment as such constraints can be applied to specific vehicles. Nagy discloses communication to a fleet of autonomous vehicles, with one or more communication interfaces with one or more remote computing devices, one or more processors. Nagy teaches such communication can be either to a fleet or an individual vehicle.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.L.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/PETER D NOLAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661