DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 26 May 2023 and 18 July 2025 were filed prior to the mailing date of this office correspondence. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 13 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 13 April 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, line 2: “wherein an adhesion film, comprising a second metal” should read:-- an adhesion film comprising a second metal --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 4, the limitation “wherein the donor film comprises a first metal, and wherein an adhesion film, comprising a second metal is disposed over the donor film on the donor substrate, so that the second metal forms an outer layer over the molten droplets of the first metal” renders claim indefinite because, claim 1 upon which claim 4 depends recites, “ejecting molten droplets of a metal from a donor substrate”. If there is “a metal” as recited in claim 1, it is confusing with the recited “a first metal, and…a second metal” in claim 4. As best understood, it appears that the limitation actually intends that “wherein the donor film further comprising the metal, and an adhesion film comprising a second metal is disposed over the donor film on the donor substrate, so that the second metal forms an outer layer over the molten droplets of the metal”, or the like.
Same issue is there for the recited limitation in claim 5, “the first metal, and…the second metal”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zenou (CN 104797087).
[AltContent: textbox (terminal)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (locus)][AltContent: ]
Annotated Fig. 2, Zenou.
Regarding claim 1, Zenou teaches, a method for circuit fabrication (see Abstract, Figs. 1 to 10), comprising:
defining a locus of a conductive trace (conductive trace breach 42, annotated Fig. 2) to be formed on a circuit substrate (PCB 22, Fig. 2); ejecting molten droplets of a metal (droplets of molten material, Fig. 2, film 58 comprises a suitable metal material, para. [0088]) from a donor substrate (donor substrate 56) in proximity to the circuit substrate onto the defined locus by a process of laser-induced forward transfer (LIFT), whereby the molten droplets adhere to and harden on the circuit substrate along a length of the defined locus (laser beam is guided to preprocess the defective portion of the printed circuit board, and then LIFT processing is applied, para. [0070], optical device 52 focuses the laser beam onto film 58 through the outer surface of substrate 56, thereby causing molten metal droplets to be ejected from the film across the gap and onto PCB 22, para. [0088], Figs. 2, 9A and 9B); and
after the molten droplets have hardened, directing a laser beam toward the defined locus with sufficient energy to cause the metal in the hardened droplets to melt (second laser pulse having a second energy level greater than the first energy level, the second energy level being selected to alternately ablate the oxidized surface layer secondly, in order to remove the material from the patch, para. [0032]) and coalesce into a bulk layer extending along the length of the defined locus (subsequent laser pulses can desirablely have greater pulse energy because the molten droplets they form will readily adhere to the initial metal layer, and thus accumulate the layer…uniformity of the droplets as solid clumps can be enhanced by remelting the droplets with a guided laser beam after deposition…This heating can be achieved using an additional laser or by the same laser used to generate the droplets, the latter being contingent on the beam being shaped in time to provide at least two pulses, the first pulse inducing droplet ejection and the second pulse used for postejection droplet heating, para. [0076-0077]).
Though, Zenou teaches in para. [0036], the second laser pulse and the second energy level being selected to alternately ablate the oxidized surface layer, from the teaching of Zenou in para. [0076-0077], uniformity of the droplets as solid clumps can be enhanced by remelting the droplets with a guided laser beam after deposition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that, the hardened droplets are melted and coalesce into a bulk layer extending along the length of the defined locus. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Zenou in para. [0036 and 0076], it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to re-melt the initial layer and to coalesce into a bulk layer so that it enables to enhance the uniformity of the droplet solid clumps as Zenou disclosed in para. [0076, 0099].
Regarding claim 2, Zenou teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Zenou further teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein the donor substrate is transparent (substrate 56 comprises a transparent optical material, para. [0088]) and has opposing first and second surfaces, and a donor film (donor film 58) comprising the metal (film 58 comprises a suitable metal material, para. [0088]) is disposed on the second surface (see Fig. 2) such that the donor film is in proximity to the defined locus, and
wherein ejecting the molten droplets comprises directing pulses of laser radiation (laser 50 to emit pulses, para. [0094]) to pass through the first surface of the donor substrate and impinge on the donor film so as to induce ejection from the donor film onto the defined locus of the molten droplets of the metal (optical device 52 focuses the laser beam onto film 58 through the outer surface of substrate 56, thereby causing molten metal droplets to be ejected from the film across the gap and onto PCB 22, para. [0088]).
Regarding claim 3, Zenou teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 2. Zenou further teaches, the method according to claim 2, wherein directing the pulses of laser radiation in the process of LIFT and directing the laser beam toward the defined locus comprise using a single laser having a variable pulse duration for both ejecting the molten droplets and melting the metal in the hardened droplets (laser radiation pulse is guided through a first surface of the donor substrate and impacts
the donor film to induce molten droplets to be ejected from the donor film onto the defective
site on the printed circuit board, para. [0019], continuously applying a first laser pulse at a first energy level selected to oxidize a surface layer of the patch, and a second laser pulse having a second energy level greater than the first energy level, para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 6, Zenou teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Zenou further teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein ejecting the molten droplets and directing the laser beam toward the defined locus comprise:
ejecting a first layer of the molten droplets onto the circuit substrate and directing the laser beam to melt the hardened droplets in the first layer so as to form a lower layer of the conductive trace (first pulse has a first pulse energy selected to promote the adhesion of the droplet to the substrate of the printed circuit board, thereby forming an initial metal layer on the substrate at the location, para. [0026]); and
ejecting at least a second layer of the molten droplets onto the lower layer and directing the laser beam to melt the hardened droplets in the at least second layer so as to complete the conductive trace (a second pulse of laser radiation with a second pulse energy greater than the first pulse energy is guided to pass through the first surface of the donor substrate and impact the donor film to induce a second molten droplet to be ejected from the donor film onto the initial metal layer, para. [0026]).
Regarding claim 7, Zenou teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Zenou further teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein directing the laser beam comprises applying sufficient energy to the hardened droplets, using the laser beam, to melt an entire volume of the hardened droplets in the conductive trace (a second pulse of laser radiation with a second pulse energy greater than the first pulse energy, para. [0026], uniformity of the droplets as solid clumps can be enhanced by remelting the droplets with a guided laser beam after deposition, para. [0076], laser 50 remelts the droplets of metal in patch 46 to make the patch, especially its outer surface, smooth and uniform, para. [0099]).
Regarding claim 8, Zenou teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Zenou further teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein directing the laser beam comprises applying sufficient energy to the hardened droplets, using the laser beam, to melt only an outer layer of the hardened droplets, without melting an entire volume of the hardened droplets along the length of the defined locus (one way to achieve a finer height resolution for LIFT-printed patches…is to overprint the patch to a height greater than actually needed and then ablate the patch at leveling step 73 (using the same laser used in printing step 62 or another laser), para. [0127]).
Regarding claim 9, Zenou teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Zenou further teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein directing the laser beam comprises directing a sequence of pulses of laser energy to impinge on the hardened droplets along the length of the defined locus (surface remelting using pulsed lasers (typically using pulses of 3 μJ to 4 μJ), para. [0137]).
Regarding claim 10, Zenou teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Zenou further teaches, the method according to claim 9, wherein each of the pulses has a pulse duration that is less than 10 ps (the disclosed embodiments use shorter laser pulses—less than 5 ns, and typically less than 2 ns, or in many cases less than 1 ns, para. [0066]).
Regarding claim 11, Zenou teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 9. Zenou further teaches, the method according to claim 9, wherein directing the one or more pulses comprises scanning the laser beam along the locus, such that each of the pulses has a predefined overlap with a preceding pulse in the sequence (laser beam 50 can be scanned on the substrate to roughen the substrate near the repair site…a spot diameter of approximately 13 μm on the substrate and a spacing of approximately 20 μm between scan lines, see Figs. 11B and 11C, para. [0111-0113]).
Regarding claim 12, Zenou teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Zenou further teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein ejecting the molten droplets comprises depositing the molten droplets on the circuit substrate in a single row extending along the length of the defined locus (see droplets 122, Fig. 11B), whereby the conductive trace is formed by melting of the single row, wherein each of the molten droplets overlaps a preceding molten droplet in the single row by no more than 50% of a diameter of the molten droplet (see Figs.11 A to 11C, first hexagonal array of droplets 122 with these spacings printed on it…In order to print additional droplet array 126, which fills a portion of the gap between droplets 122 as shown in FIG11B…it fills all the gaps between the droplets, as shown in Figure 11C, para. [0132-0133]).
Regarding claim 13, Zenou teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Zenou further teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein defining the locus comprises identifying a gap (see the conductive trace breach 42, annotated Fig. 2) between first and second terminals on the circuit substrate, and wherein ejecting the molten droplets comprises depositing the molten droplets so as to fill the gap (defects found on PCB 22, such as crack 42 in trace 40, can be displayed on display 36. The processor 34 identifies the location 44 of each such defect…device 20 implements the plan, and as a result, defect 44 is filled with a metal repair patch 46 produced by LIFT para. [0085]).
Regarding claim 14, Zenou teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Zenou further teaches, the method according to claim 13, wherein the first and second terminals (conductive trace 40, see annotated Fig. 2) comprise a first metal, and the molten droplets comprise a second metal, of a different composition from the first metal, and wherein directing the laser beam comprises melting the first and second metals so as to form heterogeneous metal bonds at the first and second terminals (conductive traces containing a first metal material on a printed circuit board, para. [0042], a donor film formed on the second surface comprising a second metal material having a higher galvanic potential than the first metal material are positioned close to the location of the defect…first metallic material comprises copper, and the second metallic material comprises a copper alloy, para. [0028-0029])).
Regarding claim 15, Zenou teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 13. Zenou further teaches, the method according to claim 13, wherein identifying the gap comprises detecting a defect in a circuit trace (repairing missing semiconductor defects, such as cracks 42 in conductive traces 40, para. [0083]) that has been formed on the circuit substrate, and wherein the defect is repaired by depositing the molten droplets and then directing the laser beam to melt the hardened droplets (defects found on PCB 22, such as crack 42 in trace 40, can be displayed on display 36. The processor 34 identifies the location 44 of each such defect…device 20 implements the plan, and as a result, defect 44 is filled with a metal repair patch 46 produced by LIFT para. [0085]).
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zenou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kotler (US 20170365484).
Annotated Fig. 2, Kotler.
Regarding claim 4, Zenou teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 2. Zenou further teaches, the method according to claim 2, wherein the donor film comprises a first metal (donor film comprising a metal, para. [0088]). However, Zenou does not teach, an adhesion film, comprising a second metal is disposed over the donor film on the donor substrate. However, Kotler teaches, a method for circuit fabrication in Figs. 1 and 2, including ejecting molten droplets of metal (donor film 36, Fig. 1, para. [0036]) from a donor substrate (donor substrate 34, Figs. 1 and 2) in proximity to the circuit substrate (substrate 22) onto the defined locus by a process of laser-induced forward transfer (LIFT) (LIFT station 20, para. [0036]), in which, an adhesion film comprising a second metal is disposed over the donor film on the donor substrate, so that the second metal forms an outer layer over the molten droplets of the first metal, and the outer layer adheres to the circuit substrate upon impact of the molten droplets on the circuit substrate (donor films 36 comprise suitable donor materials, such as one or more pure metals and/or metal alloys, para. [0037], case of film 36B, which comprises layers of metals 56 and 58 overlaid on donor substrate 34, the two metals are simultaneously liquefied by the laser pulses and mix within droplet 44B to form the desired alloy, see Fig. 2, para. [0054]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Kotler, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method for circuit fabrication of Zenou and to replace the donor film 58 of Zenou with a donor film 36B as Kotler disclosed in Fig. 2 so that it enables adjusting the volume of the molten droplets as Kotler disclosed in para. [0054-0055].
Regarding claim 5, Zenou teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 4. Zenou further teaches, the method according to claim 4, wherein the first metal comprises copper, and wherein the second metal is selected from a group consisting of titanium, tin, bismuth, and alloys thereof (in order to print a copper 3D target structure, pure copper metal can be used as the primary material, and a Cu/Al alloy can serve as the more anodic sacrificial material, para. [0046-0047]).
Conclusion
Prior art Sandstrom (US 20180015671) teaches, a method for circuit fabrication, comprising: defining a locus of a conductive trace on a circuit substrate; ejecting molten droplets of a metal from a donor substrate by a process of laser-induced forward transfer (LIFT), whereby the molten droplets adhere to and harden on the circuit substrate along a length of the defined locus.
Prior art Guillemot (US 20170368822) teaches, a method comprising: ejecting molten droplets of a metal from a donor substrate in proximity to the circuit substrate by a process of laser-induced forward transfer (LIFT), whereby the molten droplets adhere to and harden on the circuit substrate along a length of the defined locus.
Prior art Bahouka (US 20170125251) teaches, a method for circuit fabrication, comprising: defining a locus of a conductive trace on a circuit substrate; ejecting molten droplets of a metal from a donor substrate by a process of laser-induced forward transfer (LIFT), whereby the molten droplets adhere to and harden on the circuit substrate along a length of the defined locus.
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729