DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended claims 1, 8 and 19.
Applicant canceled claims 16-18 on previous office action.
Status of claims:
Claims 1-15 and 19-23 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 and 19-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s)1-4, 8-12, 15 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mckenna et al. (US7693162) (hereinafter Mckenna) in view of Sprigg et al. (US20130217333) (hereinafter Sprigg)
Per claim 1, Mckenna discloses an electronic device comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is coupled to the memory which is configured to store computer program code that includes executable instructions and in response to the processor reading the executable instructions from the memory (col. 22 lines 17-21, processor and memory), the electronic device is enabled perform the following steps configured to: registering by the electronic device, with the a server (col. 4 lines 42-48 and col. 18 lines 7-15, i.e. the Mobile Telephone Switching Office 106, in conjunction with the Home Location Register (HLR) 161 and the Visitor Location Register (VLR) 162, manages subscriber registration, subscriber authentication, and the provision of wireless services such as voice mail, call forwarding, roaming validation and so on and "Registration" is the process that entails the interchange of information between the wireless subscriber device and the cellular communication network wherein the cellular communication network becomes aware of and knows which subscribers are receiving Communiques and where they are receiving them. "Authorization" is the process where the communique system for cellular communication networks 100 grants end-user access to broadcast or narrowcast content to one or many subscribers in a general or specific location); receiving a service subscription request sent by the one or more mobile terminals, wherein the service subscription request is generated based on the service information(col. 18 lines 7-15, "Registration" is the process that entails the interchange of information between the wireless subscriber device and the cellular communication network wherein the cellular communication network becomes aware of and knows which subscribers are receiving Communiques and where they are receiving them sending a first message to the server, wherein the first message comprises the service subscription request, and the first message indicates the server to confirm the service subscription request (col.20 lines 19-27, i.e. the Base Station Subsystem 131 verifies the authorization of this wireless subscriber device 101 to receive the requested service, identifies the inbound call to the wireless subscriber device 101 [shared by potentially many wireless subscriber devices) at step 706 via the Paging channel used by the wireless subscriber device 101 to request this service and, in response to control signals received by the wireless subscriber device 101 from the Base Station Subsystem 131] ; and receiving a service request sent by the one or more mobile terminals (col. 20 lines 56-67 and col. 21 lines 1 and 2, i.e. for the provision of subscription or toll services via the non-interactive bidirectional transmission with subscriber registration mode of operation of the present communique system for cellular communication networks 100, a plurality of cells transmit Communique signals, with each cell using any frequency and any Walsh (PN) code for a selected Communique. This mode of operation enables the cellular communication system to select any repeat pattern of cells, any assignment of Walsh codes for a transmission to thereby enable not only free communique services but also subscription services. The wireless subscriber device 101 communicates with the base station 102 for registration purposes, but does not enter an interactive mode once registration is accomplished), and sending a second message to the server based on the service request, wherein the second message indicates the server to perform service processing (col. 21 lines 7-13, i.e. The difference with this process compared to that of FIG. 7 is that the registration process of step 705 consists of the wireless subscriber device 101 transmitting the spoofing MIN as well as the SSD and/or ESN to the Base Station Subsystem 131 in a brief data exchange on the reverse CDMA paging channel to log the subscriber into the selected subscription or toll services. where examiner interprets transmitting ESN to the Base Station Subsystem 131 is considered the second message)but fails to disclose broadcast service information to one or more mobile terminals via Wi-Fi, using a short distance mode to transmit with based on a preset broadcast distance.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Sprigg discloses broadcast service information to one or more mobile terminals via Wi-Fi, using a short distance mode to transmit with based on a preset broadcast distance (paragraph 0086 and 0093 Fig 2 and Fig18a, i.e. For example, transceivers in a retail store may be configured to monitor for WiFi, Zigbee.RTM., Bluetooth.RTM., Peanut.RTM., and/or other radio frequency signaling from customers' mobile devices or wireless broadcasting devices within proximity of predefined areas, and relay proximity information to a central server that delivers coupons to customers .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Sprigg into the invention of McKenna, where Mckenna provides cellular communication networks and to a communique system that
makes use of the bandwidth capacity in existing point-to-point cellular communication networks to provide
subscribers with access to a plurality of broadcast and narrowcast based services and Sprigg provides Methods, systems and devices for presenting rewards to users based on proximity of short-range wireless devices. A wireless identity transmitter may periodically transmit wireless broadcast messages that include obscured identifiers. When within proximity, a proximity broadcast receiver, such as a mobile device carried by a user, may receive and relay the broadcast messages to a server which may process the included information in order to better quality of service via track and encourage business interactions with customers, where a merchant may desire to increase customer visits or foot traffic within a store in order to encourage purchases and/or promote goodwill, see Sprigg, paragraphs 0004,0086 and 0093.
Per claim 2, the combination discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein Mckenna discloses the electronic device is further configured to: receive a third message sent by the server, wherein the third message comprises a subscription confirmation notification; and sending the subscription confirmation notification to the one or more mobile terminals (col. 21 lines 13-17, Fig 1a and 1b, the forward page to the wireless subscriber device 101 can include the Traffic channel identification of the subscribed services, examiner interprets as third message and BSS is connected to the server).
Per claim 3, the combination discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein Mckenna discloses electronic device is further configured to: receive a fourth message sent by the server, and give a prompt based on the fourth message, wherein the fourth message comprises a service processing completion notification (col. 9 lines 23-38, i.e. when the wireless subscriber device 101 stops transmitting access probes of an access attempt to one pilot and begins transmitting access probes of an access attempt to another pilot, it is said to perform an access probe handoff. The portion of an access attempt which begins when the wireless subscriber device 101 begins transmitting access probes to one pilot, and ends when the wireless subscriber device 101 either performs an access probe handoff or receives an acknowledgment for that message is called an access sub-attempt. When the access probe handoff is successful, at step 205 the wireless subscriber device 101 switches to idle Traffic channels, one per selected forward CDMA channel and demodulates the signals received therein and at step 206 outputs the demodulated multi-media output to the user interface of the wireless subscriber device 101 for use by the subscriber).
Per claim 4, the combination discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein Mckenna discloses the electronic device is further configured to: sending the service processing completion notification to the one or more mobile terminals (similar to claim 3, handoff process, also refer to col. 28 lines 12-18, Communique A contains the following content in this example: From Regional Source 120: stock quotes [free to the end-user] music [channelized] [free/subscription to the end-user] composite traffic flow map (subscription to the end-user).
Per claim 8, Mckenna discloses an electronic device, comprising; a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is coupled to the memory which is configured to store computer program code that includes executable instructions and in response to processor reading the instructions from the memory(col. 22 lines 17-21, processor and memory), the electronic device is configured to: register, with a server (col. 4 lines 42-48 and col. 18 lines 7-15, i.e. the Mobile Telephone Switching Office 106, in conjunction with the Home Location Register (HLR) 161 and the Visitor Location Register (VLR) 162, manages subscriber registration, subscriber authentication, and the provision of wireless services such as voice mail, call forwarding, roaming validation and so on and "Registration" is the process that entails the interchange of information between the wireless subscriber device and the cellular communication network wherein the cellular communication network becomes aware of and knows which subscribers are receiving Communiques and where they are receiving them. "Authorization" is the process where the communique system for cellular communication networks 100 grants end-user access to broadcast or narrowcast content to one or many subscribers in a general or specific location); enable by the mobile terminal, and receive service information broadcast by an second electronic device(col. 23. lines 25-to 34, i.e. By grouping cells as shown on FIG. 12 into "content similar blocks" or more specifically coverage areas A-C, the Spatial-Temporal Content Manager 114 has commanded the routers at the cell sites to parse the broadband program stream identically for the grouped cells (as predefined by the systems programming or a content programming operator), the effect of a narrowcast can be achieved without modifying the RF network architecture. From the subscriber's perspective, he is only receiving narrowcast information when in the grouped cells' transmission range, examiner interprets that when in range for receiving narrowcast via grouped cells via specific server. In the instant Application, the Applicant considers second electronic device as a server, see paragraph 00171 ); generate a service subscription request based on the service information(col. 18 lines 7-15, "Registration" is the process that entails the interchange of information between the wireless subscriber device and the cellular communication network wherein the cellular communication network becomes aware of and knows which subscribers are receiving Communiques and where they are receiving them) and sending the service subscription request to the second electronic device, wherein the service subscription request indicates the server to confirm a service subscribed by a user(col.20 lines 19-27, i.e. the Base Station Subsystem 131 verifies the authorization of this wireless subscriber device 101 to receive the requested service, identifies the inbound call to the wireless subscriber device 101 [shared by potentially many wireless subscriber devices) at step 706 via the Paging channel used by the wireless subscriber device 101 to request this service and, in response to control signals received by the wireless subscriber device 101 from the Base Station Subsystem 131]; and sending a service request to the second electronic device, wherein the service request indicates the server to perform service processing ( col. 21 lines 7-13, i.e. the difference with this process compared to that of FIG. 7 is that the registration process of step 705 consists of the wireless subscriber device 101 transmitting the spoofing MIN as well as the SSD and/or ESN to the Base Station Subsystem 131 in a brief data exchange on the reverse CDMA paging channel to log the subscriber into the selected subscription or toll services. where examiner interprets transmitting ESN to the Base Station Subsystem 131, where the selected toll services or subscription could be directed to a second electronic device or server), Mckenna fails to explicitly disclose enable WI-FI function, wherein the second electronic device uses a short distance mode to transmit the service information broadcast with a preset broadcast distance.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Sprigg discloses wherein the second electronic device uses a short distance mode to transmit the service information broadcast with a preset broadcast distance (paragraph 0086 and 0093, Fig 2 and Fig 18a, i.e. transceivers in a retail store may be configured to monitor for WiFi, Zigbee.RTM., Bluetooth.RTM., Peanut.RTM., and/or other radio frequency signaling from customers' mobile devices or wireless broadcasting devices within proximity of predefined areas, and relay proximity information to a central server that delivers coupons to customers. Alternately, the short-range wireless signal 114 may be an attempt to establish a wireless communication link with any of a plurality of mobile devices 138 that may be acting as proximity broadcast receivers. The short-range wireless signal 114 may be received by proximate proximity broadcast receivers, similar rationale as explained in claim 1 ).
Per claim 9, the combination discloses the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein Mckenna discloses electronic device is further configured to: send a first registration request to the server, wherein the first registration request comprises a user account and payment information ( col. 21 lines 7-13, i.e. the registration process of step 705 consists of the wireless subscriber device 101 transmitting the spoofing MIN as well as the SSD and/or ESN to the Base Station Subsystem 131 in a brief data exchange on the reverse CDMA paging channel to log the subscriber into the selected subscription or toll services and col. 18 lines 37-39, i.e. pre-pay ); and sending by the mobile terminal, a payment service request to the server, wherein the payment service request is for requesting to enable a one-step payment function for the user account (col. 18 lines 34-42, i.e. the wireless subscriber device is two-way in terms of its communication capability with the network for registration and authorization purposes. A Pre-pay Subscription communique service is conceptually similar to the digital TV recorders that have a one-time-only pre-pay subscription fee. This concept uses a modified forward paging channel to provide initialization information for traffic channels and then uses in-band signaling on the forward traffic channel to convey systems information).
Per claim 10, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 9(where a complete payment is a one-time payment or prepayment).
Per claim 11, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 9, where similar claim language is recited.
Per claim 12, thew combination discloses the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein Mckenna discloses the electronic device is further configured to: obtaining payment confirmation information entered by the user (similar language as in claim 8 and 9, service is confirmed by a user and service request equates to payment processing, payment function or complete payment) and sending the service request to the second electronic device (similar to claim 8), wherein the service request comprises the payment confirmation information (as stated above), and the service request indicates the server to perform the service processing (similar to claim 8)based on the payment confirmation information (as stated above).
Per claim 15, the combination discloses the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein Mckenna discloses the electronic device is further configured to: receive a service processing completion notification sent by the second electronic device, wherein the service processing completion notification is for giving a prompt to the user that the service processing is completed (col. 9 lines 23-38, i.e. when the wireless subscriber device 101 stops transmitting access probes of an access attempt to one pilot and begins transmitting access probes of an access attempt to another pilot, it is said to perform an access probe handoff. The portion of an access attempt which begins when the wireless subscriber device 101 begins transmitting access probes to one pilot, and ends when the wireless subscriber device 101 either performs an access probe handoff or receives an acknowledgment for that message is called an access sub-attempt. When the access probe handoff is successful, at step 205 the wireless subscriber device 101 switches to idle Traffic channels, one per selected forward CDMA channel and demodulates the signals received therein and at step 206 outputs the demodulated multi-media output to the user interface of the wireless subscriber device 101 for use by the subscriber).
Per claim 19, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1.
Per claim 20, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 2.
Per claim 21, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 3.
Per claim 22, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claim(s) 5-7, 13 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mckenna and Sprigg in view of Fiorucci et al. (US20150294431) (hereinafter Fiorucci).
Per claim 5,the combination discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein Mckenna discloses the service request comprises, and wherein the second message indicates the server to perform verification col.20 lines 19-27, i.e. the Base Station Subsystem 131 verifies the authorization of this wireless subscriber device 101 to receive the requested service, identifies the inbound call to the wireless subscriber device 101 [shared by potentially many wireless subscriber devices) at step 706 via the Paging channel used by the wireless subscriber device 101 to request this service and, in response to control signals received by the wireless subscriber device 101 from the Base Station Subsystem 131] but both references fail to explicitly disclose based on the ticket pickup information and perform the service processing based on a verification result.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Fiorucci discloses based on the ticket pickup information and perform the service processing based on a verification result (paragraph 0197 and 0198, i.e. the kiosk can be configured generate, display and receive a selection from among a list of offers. The offers can be location specific and can involve communicating information to remote server, such as ID information, time and location, and receiving offers from remote server for output to display and When a non-cash method is used, a validation of the amount and check of the payment can be made via communications with remote server. If desired, the kiosk can be configured to print a customizable ticket, such as a receipt or a promotional coupon).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Fiorucci into the invention of Mckenna and Sprigg, where Fiorucci provides managing and improving city living conditions, and more particularly to managing and allocating resources using a sensor network to reduce congestion, reduce pollution, more efficiently utilize the resources and promote business activities within the city in order to provide a better quality of services via efficiently utilizing resources in urban environment to manage traffic and other demands by utilizing plurality of kiosk, See Fiorucci, paragraphs 0003-0005.
Per claim 6, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 5, examiner interprets that a ticket pickup device could be the same as a ticket issuing device such as a Kiosk.
Per claim 7, refer to the same rationale as explain in claim 5.
Per claim 13, the combination of Mckenna and Sprigg discloses the electronic device according to claim 8 the service request indicates the server to perform the service processing and send the service request to the second electronic device(col.18 line 7-15 and col. 20 lines 19-27) , but fails to explicitly discloses wherein the electronic device is further configured to: obtain ticket pickup information entered by the user, wherein the service request comprises the ticket pickup information, and the service request (performing service) based on the ticket pickup information.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Fiorucci discloses wherein the electronic device is further configured to: obtain ticket pickup information entered by the user, wherein the service request comprises the ticket pickup information, and the service request (performing service) based on the ticket pickup information see paragraph 0194 and 0198, i.e. In one embodiment, geo-localized promotional offers associated with one or more marketing campaigns can be output at a kiosk, such as via a printed ticket or an electronic transfer of an electronic ticket or other information to a user's mobile and when a non-cash method is used, a validation of the amount and check of the payment can be made via communications with remote server. If desired, the kiosk can be configured to print a customizable ticket.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Fiorucci into the invention of Mckenna in order to provide a better quality of services via efficiently utilizing resources in urban environment to manage traffic and other demands by utilizing plurality of kiosk for printing tickets, see Fiorucci, paragraphs 0003-0005, 0194 and 0198.
Per claim 23, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 5, similar claim language.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH E DEAN, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647