DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 14-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 14-19 of co-pending Application No. 18/038,914 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending application discloses each and every feature as claimed in the instant application with the exception that the GDS profile values and compositional proportions overlap. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select from with the overlapping subject matter including steel sheets having GDS profile values and compositional proportions which fall within the claims of the instant application.
Claims 1-7 and 14-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-15 of co-pending Application No. 18/868,518 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compositional proportions claimed in the co-pending application fall within or overlap those claimed in the instant application. With regards to those proportions which overlap, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select from the proportions of the co-pending claims including proportions that fall within the claims of the instant application.
Regarding instant claims 7 and 14-19, the co-pending application does not appear to claim a hot-dipped galvanized plating on the steel sheet, however the examiner takes official notice that hot-dip galvanized coatings are well known conventional coatings plated on steel sheets to provide corrosion protection. One of ordinary skill in the art before would have found it obvious to provide the steel sheet of the co-pending claims with a hot-dip galvanized layer in order to provide the steel sheet with improved correction protection.
Claims 1-7 and 14-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-15 of co-pending Application No. 18/870,209 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending application discloses each and every feature as claimed in the instant application with the exception that the GDS profile values and compositional proportions overlap. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select from with the overlapping subject matter including steel sheets having GDS profile values and compositional proportions which fall within the claims of the instant application.
Regarding instant claims 7 and 14-19, the co-pending application does not appear to claim a hot-dipped galvanized plating on the steel sheet, however the examiner takes official notice that hot-dip galvanized coatings are well known conventional coatings plated on steel sheets to provide corrosion protection. One of ordinary skill in the art before would have found it obvious to provide the steel sheet of the co-pending claims with a hot-dip galvanized layer in order to provide the steel sheet with improved correction protection.
Claims 1-7 and 14-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-15 of co-pending Application No. 18/873,318 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending application discloses each and every feature as claimed in the instant application with the exception that the GDS profile values and compositional proportions overlap. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select from with the overlapping subject matter including steel sheets having GDS profile values and compositional proportions which fall within the claims of the instant application.
Regarding instant claims 7 and 14-19, the co-pending application does not appear to claim a hot-dipped galvanized plating on the steel sheet, however the examiner takes official notice that hot-dip galvanized coatings are well known conventional coatings plated on steel sheets to provide corrosion protection. One of ordinary skill in the art before would have found it obvious to provide the steel sheet of the co-pending claims with a hot-dip galvanized layer in order to provide the steel sheet with improved correction protection.
Claims 1-7 and 14-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-15 of co-pending Application No. 18/873,319 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending application discloses each and every feature as claimed in the instant application with the exception that the GDS profile values and compositional proportions overlap. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select from with the overlapping subject matter including steel sheets having GDS profile values and compositional proportions which fall within the claims of the instant application.
Regarding instant claims 7 and 14-19, the co-pending application does not appear to claim a hot-dipped galvanized plating on the steel sheet, however the examiner takes official notice that hot-dip galvanized coatings are well known conventional coatings plated on steel sheets to provide corrosion protection. One of ordinary skill in the art before would have found it obvious to provide the steel sheet of the co-pending claims with a hot-dip galvanized layer in order to provide the steel sheet with improved correction protection.
Claims 1-7 and 14-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-15 of co-pending Application No. 18/873,503 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending application discloses each and every feature as claimed in the instant application with the exception that the GDS profile values and compositional proportions overlap. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select from with the overlapping subject matter including steel sheets having GDS profile values and compositional proportions which fall within the claims of the instant application.
Regarding instant claim 7, the co-pending application does not appear to claim a hot-dipped galvanized plating on the steel sheet, however the examiner takes official notice that hot-dip galvanized coatings are well known conventional coatings plated on steel sheets to provide corrosion protection. One of ordinary skill in the art before would have found it obvious to provide the steel sheet of the co-pending claims with a hot-dip galvanized layer in order to provide the steel sheet with improved correction protection.
Claims 1-7 and 14-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-15 of co-pending Application No. 18/873,508 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending application discloses each and every feature as claimed in the instant application with the exception that the GDS profile values and compositional proportions overlap. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select from with the overlapping subject matter including steel sheets having GDS profile values and compositional proportions which fall within the claims of the instant application.
Regarding instant claim 7, the co-pending application does not appear to claim a hot-dipped galvanized plating on the steel sheet, however the examiner takes official notice that hot-dip galvanized coatings are well known conventional coatings plated on steel sheets to provide corrosion protection. One of ordinary skill in the art before would have found it obvious to provide the steel sheet of the co-pending claims with a hot-dip galvanized layer in order to provide the steel sheet with improved correction protection.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohler et al. (PGPub US 2022/0170164).
Regarding applicants’ claims 1-4, Kohler et al. disclose a steel strip with improved bonding having a metallic coating, the steel strip comprising Mn and elements such as Si (paragraph 0016), however Kohler et al. do not appear to explicitly disclose a GDS profile for Mn and Si, and more specifically GDS profiles resulting in converted concertation differences and a minimum point within the claimed ranges.
While Kohler et al. do not appear to disclose GDS profiles, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner to have substantially identical structure and properties.
Applicants disclose plating of a steel sheet (comprising Mn and Si) with an Fe plating layer containing 5 to 50 wt.% oxygen, and subjecting the plated steel to an annealing process at an annealing temperature of 600 to 900ºC in an atmosphere with a dew point of -15 to +30ºC and a hydrogen concentration of 1% or more and 70% or less with a holding time of 5 to 120 seconds (present specification, paragraphs 0055-0059).
Kohler et al. disclose a steel sheet comprising silicon and manganese with a plating of iron comprising 5 to 50 wt.% oxygen (paragraphs 0021 and 0035). The plated steel sheet is heated to 550 to 880ºC in an atmosphere with a dew point of -70 to +15ºC and a hydrogen concentration of 2 to 40%, and a holding time of 30 to 650 seconds (paragraph 0053). While Kohler et al. do not appear to disclose the exact ranges disclosed by applicants, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to select from within the parameters disclosed by Kohler et al. including those which fall within applicants’ disclosed ranges.
Given the treatment of substantially identical materials in a substantially identical manner, the plated steel sheets of Kohler et al. would be expected to have concertation profiles substantially identical to those of applicants’ plated steel sheets, and thus have GDS profiles substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants, including GDS profiles that conform to applicants’ claimed requirements.
Regarding applicants’ claims 5-6, Kohler et al. disclose a steel comprising (in weight percent) elements which include: Mn: 8.1 to 25.0%, Si: 0.01 to 3.0%, C: 0.1-1.0%, Al: 1.0 to 8.0%, P: ≤ 0.10%, S: ≤ 0.010%, Cr: 0.01- 0.7%, B: 0.001 to 0.08%, the remainder being iron and unavoidable impurities (paragraphs 0038-0052).
While Kohler et al. do not appear to disclose the exact ranges claimed by applicants one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicants’ claimed invention would have found it obvious to select from the values disclosed by Kohlar et al. including those which fall within applicants’ claimed ranges, or come so close to applicants’ claimed ranges as to establish a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP 2144.05 I).
With regards to the manganese content, applicants’ disclose that “The upper limit of the concentration of Mn in the base iron is not particularly limited, but considering the commonly used composition, the upper limit may be limited to 8% by weight” (present specification paragraph 0044). Given that applicants’ disclose that the upper content of manganese is not particularly limited, the amounts disclosed by Kohlar et al. (8.1 to 25.0 wt.%) would be so close to applicants’ claimed range, that the steel sheets of applicants’ Kohlar et al. would be expected to exhibit the same properties.
Regarding applicants’ claims 7 and 14-16, Kohler et al. disclose coatings such as galfan and galvalume (paragraph 0056), and further disclose tests carried out on a hot-dip simulator and further discuss hot-dip coat quality (paragraphs 0058 and 0060). One of ordinary skill in the art considering Kohler et al. would understand the application of zinc and aluminum coatings disclosed to include formation of a hot-dip galvanized layer. Alternatively one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicants’ claimed invention would have found it obvious to form a hot-dip galvanized coating layer on the steel strip given the disclosure of galvanized coating materials and the use of hot-dip plating.
Regarding applicants’ claims 14-19, Kohler et al. disclose a steel comprising (in weight percent) elements which include: Mn: 8.1 to 25.0%, Si: 0.01 to 3.0%, C: 0.1-1.0%, Al: 1.0 to 8.0%, P: ≤ 0.10%, S: ≤ 0.010%, Cr: 0.01- 0.7%, B: 0.001 to 0.08%, the remainder being iron and unavoidable impurities (paragraphs 0038-0052).
While Kohler et al. do not appear to disclose the exact ranges claimed by applicants one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicants’ claimed invention would have found it obvious to select from the values disclosed by Kohlar et al. including those which fall within applicants’ claimed ranges, or come so close to applicants’ claimed ranges as to establish a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP 2144.05 I).
With regards to the manganese content, applicants’ disclose that “The upper limit of the concentration of Mn in the base iron is not particularly limited, but considering the commonly used composition, the upper limit may be limited to 8% by weight” (present specification paragraph 0044). Given that applicants’ disclose that the upper content of manganese is not particularly limited, the amounts disclosed by Kohlar et al. (8.1 to 25.0 wt.%) would be so close to applicants’ claimed range, that the steel sheets of applicants’ Kohlar et al. would be expected to exhibit the same properties.
Conclusion
/Adam Krupicka/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784