DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I invention (claim 1-4) in the reply filed on 01/05/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 5 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/05/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Shibaue (JP2018/154723) in view of Fan (WO2014/179550)(for applicant’s convenience, Machine translations of these documents have been used for citations).
Shibaue teaches an adhesive comprising a β-1,3-glucan derivative in which an acyl group has been introduced into β-1,3-glucan (claims 1-3, examples).
Regarding claim 1, Shibaue does not teach a rosin-based resin.
Fan teaches a “hydrocolloid" (i.e. a viscous adhesive) composition comprising
a hydrocolloid layer which contains 5-55 by weight of a gel forming agent (can be polysaccharide-type polymers), 10-90% by weight of an adhesive base, and 0-50% of tackifying resin, wherein the tackifying resin is selected from a group consisting of a
aliphatic petroleum resins, alicyclic petroleum resins, aromatic copolymer petroleum resins, terpene resins, terpene-styrene resins, coumarone-terpene resins, rosin resins, and hydrogenates thereof (claim 1, 5-7 and 16, description page 3 lines 19-25, 42-43, page 4 lines 21-31, 36).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to “obvious to try” a rosin resin as tackifying resin to modify the adhesive composition of Shibaue because choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of tackfing resin would have a reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP § 2143 KSR). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such rosin resin as tackifying resin as shown by Fan to modify the adhesive composition of Shibaue because by doing so can help provide an adhesive composition with desired tackiness as suggested by Fan (description page 4 lines 21-22). Furthermore, adopting such well-known rosin resin as tackifying resin to modify an well-known adhesive comprising β-1,3-glucan derivative comprising an acyl group for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP § 2143 KSR).
Regarding claim 2, Fan further teaches the tackifying resin can be and Sylvalite RE80HP Rosin Ester from Arizona Chemicals (USA) which has a softening point within the claimed range (see https://kraton.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/SYLVALITE-RE-80HP.pdf).
Regarding claim 3, Shibaue further teaches the acyl group is RCO and the carbon number of the hydrocarbon in the acyl group is being 8 or more and 17 or less (para. [0020], [0031], [0040]). Shibaue also teaches the acyl group include octanoyl group, nonanoyl group, decanoyl group etc. (para. [0021]), all these are aliphatic hydrocarbon having 5 or more and 16 or less carbon atoms.
Regarding claim 4, Fan already teaches the tackifying resin amount based on the total hydrocolloid composition (adhesive composition) being 0 -50 wt.%. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt similar rosin content being 0 -50 wt.% regarding to the total weight of adhesive composition, i.e. β-1,3-glucan derivative being 50 wt% to less than 100 wt% for help obtaining a desired adhesive composition because adopting such well-known rosin resin as tackifying agent to modify a well-known β-1,3-glucan derivative for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP § 2143 KSR).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2 of copending Application No. 18/039 531 in view of Fan (WO2014/179550). Co-pending application’531 teaches a substantially the same adhesive composition except the rosin resin, but such limitation is taught by Fan as discussed above. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a petroleum-based resin with a rosin resin as tackifying resin to modify the adhesive composition of co-pending application’531 because substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima face of obviousness (see § MPEP 2144. 06).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/039 562 in view of Fan (WO2014/179550). Co-pending application’562 teaches a substantially the same adhesive composition except the rosin resin, but such limitation is taught by Fan as discussed above. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a terpene-based resin with a rosin resin as tackifying resin to modify the adhesive composition of co-pending application’562 because substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima face of obviousness (see § MPEP 2144. 06).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2 of copending Application No. 18/273,088. Co-pending application’088 teaches a substantially the same adhesive composition comprising a β-1,3-glucan derivative in which an acyl group has been introduced into β-1,3-glucan and a rosin resin as that of instantly claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/JUN LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732