DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5, 7-9, and 22-47 in the reply filed on December 19, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6, 10-21, and 48-50 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 19, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 22-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claim(s) 1 requires a first emitting compound that emits light having a maximum peak wavelength of 500 nm or less, a second emitting compound that emits light having a maximum peak wavelength of 500 nm or less, and a triplet energy of the first host material T1(H1) and a triple energy of the second host material T1(H2) satisfy a relationship of a numerical formula (Numerical Formula 1 below), T1(H1)>T1(H2). The instant description includes a description of formulae for compounds that can be used as host materials. The description only provides 6 examples of such a combination that meets this requirement. The specification further provides exceptionally broad guidance on what materials that might be useable as host material and light emitting materials but provides no further description of which what is required in the structure of these compounds to meet the applicant’s claimed energy limitations. The specification has a list of compounds that can be used as host and emitting materials, but the specification does not provide any energy properties for the materials except for the compounds used in the examples. It is unclear from the specification what combination of compounds meet the energy limitations. The limited example(s) described in the written description do(es) not provide a representative number of species sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus (see MPEP 2163-II-A-3-a-ii).
Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 22-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-5, 7-9, and 22-47, it is unclear how the energy properties of the compounds are measured. The Office points out that depending on the method used different results will occur and could lead to compounds that meet the limitations under one way of measuring the energy properties but not under another way of measuring the energy properties.
Also claim 1 does not provide any limitations to the structure of the compounds and one of ordinary skill in the art cannot fully envisage the entire scope of compounds that can be used in the different emitting layers.
Also regarding claims 41-46, the description of the host material is not clear and unclear what the crosslinking is referring to and what the structure of the crosslinking can be. Further clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 9, 22-36, and 41-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tasaki et al. (WO 2020/080417), where Tasaki et al. (US 2023/0047477) (hereafter “Tasaki”) is used as the English equivalent, as referenced by Tasaki et al. (US 2022/0348522) (hereafter “Tasaki 2022”).
Regarding claims 1-5, 8, 9, 24, 26, 29-31, and 33-35, Tasaki teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a first emitting layer, a second emitting layer in contact with the first layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0758]-[0763] and [0779]-[0790]). Tasaki teaches that the dopant used in the first light emitting layer and the dopant used in the second light emitting layer is the same, compound BD-2, which is the same as compound BD2 disclosed by the applicant in the specification and is not a metal complex (paragraphs [0758]-[0763] and [0779]-[0790]). The specification of the instant application teaches that BD-2 emits light at a peak wavelength of 500 nm or less. Tasaki teaches the thickness of the both light emitting layers is 25 nm and the distance from the cathode to second light emitting layer is cathode is 40 nm and the ratio is 0.625 (paragraphs [0758]-[0763] and [0779]-[0790]). Tasaki teaches the ratio between the film thickness (film thickness T1) of the first light emitting layer and the film thickness (film thickness T2) of the second light emitting layer is 0.1 < (T1/(T1 + T2) < 0.4 and that the film thickness of T1 is 5-12.5 nm (paragraphs [0162]-[0164]). Tasaki teaches that having thinner light emitting layers can lead to lower costs and better life (paragraphs [0162]-[0164]).
Tasaki does not specifically teach where the thickness of the light emitting layer meets the applicant’s claimed thicknesses.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the thickness of the light emitting layers according to the teachings of Tasaki so the thickness of the two layers is 20 nm or less. The motivation would have been to lower the cost and improve the lifetime of the device.
Tasaki does not disclose the relationship of the in the mathematical formula (mathematical formula 1) recited in claim 1 of the present application. Tasaki does not teach the triplet energy of the host materials, but Tasaki 2022 teaches the triplet energy of the of the first host material is 1.87 eV (paragraph [1074], Table 2, compound BH2-3) and the triplet energy of the second host material is 1.82 eV (paragraph [1074, Table 2, compound BH-4). These host materials meet the applicant’s claimed formula.
Regarding claim 22, Tasaki 2022 teaches the singlet energy S₁ (H1) of compound D-BH-1 is 3.01 eV (paragraph [1074], Table 2, compound BH2-3) and teaches the singlet energy S₁ (D1) of the compound BD-2, the first light emitting compound, is 2.73 eV (paragraph [1477]). The device of Tasaki (example 3) meets the applicant’s claimed energy limitation.
Regarding claim 23, Tasaki 2022 teaches the triplet energy T₁ (H1) of compound D-BH-1 is 1.87 eV (paragraph [1074], Table 2, compound BH2-3), and the singlet energy T1 (D1) of the compound BD-2, the first light emitting compound, is 2.29 eV (paragraph [1478]). The device of Tasaki (example 3) meets the applicant’s claimed energy limitation.
Regarding claim 25, Tasaki teaches that the that the first light emitting layer and the second light emitting layer each independently contain a host material and a dopant material (paragraph [0165], which indicates that the dopant can be different from each other.
Regarding claim 27, Tasaki 2022 teaches the singlet energy S₁ (D2) of the compound BD-2 is 2.73 eV (paragraph [1477]), and the triplet energy T1 (H2) of compound BH-3, the second host material, is 1.82 eV (paragraph [1074, Table 2, compound BH-4). The device of Tasaki (example 3) meets the applicant’s claimed energy limitation.
Regarding claim 28, Tasaki 2022 teaches the singlet energy S₁ (H2) of compound BH-3, the second host material is 2.93 eV (paragraph [1074, Table 2, compound BH-4) and teaches the singlet energy S₁ (D1) of the compound BD-2, the second light emitting compound, is 2.73 eV (paragraph [1477]). The device of Tasaki (example 3) meets the applicant’s claimed energy limitation.
Regarding claims 32 and 36, Tasaki 2022 teaches the triplet energy of the of the first host material is 1.87 eV (paragraph [1074], Table 2, compound BH2-3) and the triplet energy of the second host material is 1.82 eV (paragraph [1074, Table 2, compound BH-4). Tasaki 2022 teaches the singlet energy S₁ (D1) of the compound BD-2, the second light emitting compound, is 2.73 eV (paragraph [1477]). The compounds of Tasaki meet the applicant’s claimed energy limitations.
Regarding claims 41-46, Tasaki teaches host materials that comprise biphenyl groups and phenyl and naphthyl groups that are crossed-linked with a double bond (compounds in paragraphs [0260]-[0342]).
Regarding claim 47, Tasaki teaches an electronic device comprising the electroluminescent device (paragraph [0001]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tasaki et al. (WO 2020/080417), where Tasaki et al. (US 2023/0047477) (hereafter “Tasaki”) is used as the English equivalent, as referenced by Tasaki et al. (US 2022/0348522) (hereafter “Tasaki 2022”), as applied to claims 1-5, 8, 9, 22-36, and 41-47 above, and further in view of Itoi et al. (WO 2020/09307), where Itoi et al. (US 2022/0173335) (hereafter “Itoi”) is used as the English equivalent.
Regarding claim 7, Tasaki does not teach where the anode is a reflective electrode, and light is extracted through the cathode side.
Itoi teaches that one can make the device a top emitting device by making the anode reflective and light is extracted through the cathode (paragraphs [0640]-[0641] and [1753]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tasaki so the anode was reflective and light is extracted through the cathode as taught by Itoi. The motivation would have been to make a top emission device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakamura et al. (US 2021/0242419) teaches an electroluminescent device comprising two light emitting layer comprising host materials and blue dopants.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759