DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 17 November 2025 has been considered but does not overcome the art of record. Claims 1-7 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities: applicant is advised the phrase “optionally for adducting…” should either be removed or changed into a positive recitation as optionally provides no patentable weight. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 5,865,383 to Ford et al (Ford).
Concerning claim 1, Ford discloses a device for processing coffee beans, comprising:
a primary tank (78);
a grinding chamber (40) comprising one or more rotating bodies to reduce coffee beans and to produce coffee powder; and
one or more outlets (116) connected to one or more ducts (114) for discharging said coffee powder from the grinding chamber, optionally for adducting said coffee powder to an outer tank for containing the coffee powder,
said one or more ducts (114) being equipped with an element (112) configured to adjust an outflow of said coffee powder,
said element (112) being configured to provide said coffee powder with a helical flow (it is capable of doing so) having a shape that develops longitudinally inside said one or more ducts along a path with a section that increases toward an end facing a discharge with a plan shape configured as a sector of a circle of increasing angular width that extends along an inner web of the one or more ducts,
said element further comprising a mechanical member (46) that controls a flow of the coffee powder, said mechanical member (46) having a shape compatible with a web surface of the grinding chamber and with the element for adjusting the outflow, said mechanical member (46) being made from an elastic material so as to have a predetermined degree of elasticity and interposed between one of the one or more outlets (116) of said grinding chamber and an inlet of the element for adjusting the outflow (112) thereby acting on dynamics of the coffee powder while flowing, and limiting a flow rate of the coffee powder depending on a dynamic behavior of said coffee powder when said device for processing coffee beans is operating.
Concerning claim 2, Ford discloses the path with the section that increases extends along the web inside the element for adjusting the outflow and has an angular width ranging from 90° to 270°.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ford in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,240,969 to Rego (Rego).
Concerning claim 7, Ford does not disclose a mechanism for controlling a weight of said predetermined amount.
Rego discloses a device for processing coffee beans comprising
a grinding chamber (1) to reduce coffee beans and to produce coffee powder; and
one or more outlets (2) for discharging said coffee powder from the grinding chamber (1),
wherein the coffee powder is repeatedly produced in a predetermined amount, said device being provided with a mechanism for controlling a weight of said predetermined amount, said mechanism comprising: a support fork (12) of a filter-holder to be loaded with the coffee powder; a load cell (20) mechanically connected to said support fork (12); and a microprocessor (U) that controls operations of the grinding chamber to determine a final desired dose of the coffee powder inside said filter-holder.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to add the mechanism for controlling a weight of said predetermined amount of Rego to the device of Ford because, as disclosed by Rego, accurately weighing the grounds is important creating a cup of expresso and this allows for more efficient, durable and accurate weighting (column 1, line 35 to column 2, line 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant first argues that Ford does not disclose that the element provides the coffee powder with a helical flow. However, the claim uses the phrase “configured to” which simply requires that the prior art reference be capable of doing so; it need not actually disclose doing so. As applicant has provided no evidence that the element of Ford is incapable of performing said function this argument is not persuasive. Finally, applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose that the chaff retaining plate is made from a flexible material. However, all material has some degree of flexibility and thus the material used by the prior art reads on that claim limitation. It is also noted that applicant has not argued against the claim objection to due to the term “optionally” in claim 1 (and now also in claim 3) but has not removed the phrase.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Matthew Katcoff/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725 01/08/2026