DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 9-12, 14-1 7 , 19-20is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Yagi et al. (US 2002/0070710), herein after Yagi. Regarding claim 1, Yagi discloses a method to charge a battery pack (Abstract), the method comprising: determining a temperature of the battery pack; comparing the temperature of the battery pack with a reference temperature value (The method includes executing a first pulsed charging and discharging operation when the battery temperature T is lower than a first predetermined temperature (e.g., 0.degree. C.), Abstract); in response to determining that the temperature of the battery pack is less than the reference temperature value, applying heating-optimized pulses, having a first frequency, to the battery pack, the heating-optimized pulses comprising a sequence of alternating positive and negative pulses, wherein the heating-optimized pulses carry a net positive charge (The method includes executing a first pulsed charging and discharging operation when the battery temperature T is lower than a first predetermined temperature (e.g., 0.degree. C.), wherein the amount of charging is equal to the amount of discharging; and switching from the first pulsed charging and discharging operation to a second pulsed charging and discharging operation when the battery temperature exceeds the first predetermined temperature, wherein in the second pulsed charging and discharging operation, the amount of discharging is less than the amount of charging. Abstract, paragraph [0014]); concurrent to applying the heating-optimized pulses to the battery pack, determining the temperature of the battery pack; and in response to determining that the temperature of the battery pack is more than the reference temperature value, applying charging current to the battery pack (it is possible to accomplish not only heating but also charging. When the battery temperature T exceeds a second predetermined temperature (e.g., 10.degree. C.), a normal charging operation is performed, Abstract). Regarding claim 2, Yagi further discloses wherein applying the charging current to the battery pack comprises applying charging-optimized pulses, having a second frequency, to the battery pack, the charging-optimized pulses comprising a sequence of alternating positive and negative pulses, and wherein the charging-optimized pulses carry a net positive charge (figs. 4 and 6 shows a second frequency where the discharging time is shorter than the charging time, thus carry a net positive charge). Regarding claim 6, Yagi further discloses the method further comprising: prior to comparing the temperature of the battery pack with the reference temperature value: determining a state of charge (SoC) of the battery pack; and based on the SoC of the battery pack, determining the reference temperature value (fig. 9 shows the relation between charge state of the battery and the temperature). Regarding claim 7, Yagi further discloses the method further comprising: determining one or more parameters of the charging-optimized pulses based at least on the temperature of the battery pack, wherein the one or more parameters comprise: on duration, amplitude, duty cycle, shape, rest time, frequency, and rate of change of frequency (paragraph [0068]). Regarding claim 9, Yagi further discloses wherein at least one of the heating-optimized pulses, and the charging-optimized pulses comprises sinusoidal pulses (sinusoidal waves in figs. 3-4). Regarding claim 10, Yagi further discloses wherein applying the charging current to the battery comprises applying constant charging current to the battery pack (the constant charging current in fig. 9 in current section). Regarding claim 11, Yagi discloses a controller (control section 2, fig. 1) to control charging a battery pack (paragraph [0036]), the controller comprising: at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium configured to store instructions (the control section 2 inherently has the processor to control the instructions of fig. 2 stored in the memory, paragraph [0039]), wherein the instructions, in response to execution, by the at least one processor, cause the controller to perform or control performance of operations that comprise: determine a temperature of the battery pack (In step S1 of this flow, the temperature range in which the battery temperature (detected by the temperature sensor 6) falls is determined, paragraph [0037]); compare the temperature of the battery pack with a reference temperature value; in response to determining that the temperature of the battery pack is less than the reference temperature value, applying heating-optimized pulses, having a first frequency, to the battery pack, the heating-optimized pulses comprising a sequence of alternating positive and negative pulses, wherein the heating-optimized pulses carry a net positive charge (steps s2, s3 in fig. 2, paragraph [0038]-[0040]); concurrent to applying the heating-optimized pulses to the battery pack, determine the temperature of the battery pack; and in response to determining that the temperature of the battery pack is more than the reference temperature value, apply charging current to the battery pack (steps s11-s12 in fig. 2; paragraph [0038]). Regarding claim 12, Yagi further discloses wherein the operation to apply the charging current to the battery comprises an operation to apply charging-optimized pulses, having a second frequency, to the battery pack, the charging-optimized pulses comprising a sequence of alternating positive and negative pulses, and wherein the charging-optimized pulses carry a net positive charge (figs. 4 and 6 shows a second frequency where the discharging time is shorter than the charging time, thus carry a net positive charge). Regarding claim 14, Yagi further discloses wherein a value of the net positive charge carried by the charging-optimized pulses is same as a value of the net positive charge carried by the heating-optimized pulses (the positive peak values of the current of fig. 3(heat optimized current) and fig. 4(charging optimized current) are same). Regarding claim 15, Yagi further discloses wherein a value of the net positive charge carried by the charging-optimized pulses is greater than a value of the net positive charge carried by the heating-optimized pulses (in fig. 4 the discharging current is less than the charging current, thus, the charging optimized pulses carries greater net positive charge). Regarding claim 16, Yagi further discloses wherein the operations further comprise: prior to comparing the temperature of the battery pack with the reference temperature value: determine a state of charge (SoC) of the battery pack; and based on the SoC of the battery pack, determine the reference temperature value (fig. 9 shows the relation between charge state of the battery and the temperature). Regarding claim 17, Yagi further discloses wherein the operations further comprise: determine one or more parameters of the charging-optimized pulses based at least on the temperature of the battery pack, wherein the one or more parameters comprise: on duration, amplitude, duty cycle, shape, rest time, frequency, and rate of change of frequency (paragraph [0068]). Regarding claim 19, Yagi further discloses wherein the controller is implemented in the battery pack (the control apparatus is implanted in the battery pack 1, fig. 1). Regarding claim 20, Yagi further discloses wherein the controller is implemented in a power source that provides power to charge the battery pack (charge 3 is the part of the control apparatus having a power source to charge the battery pack 1, fig. 1). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 8, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yagi (US 2002/0070710), as applied to claims 2, 12 above, and further in view of Xi et al. (US 2022/0263144), herein after Xi. Regarding claim 8, Yagi discloses the method of claim 2. Yagi further discloses the first pulsed current of a first frequency is used to heat the battery to certain reference temperature and the second pulsed current with a second frequency is used to optimally charge the battery. However, Yagi is silent about determine a value of one or more of the first frequency and the second frequency based on Electrochemical Impedance Spectroscopy (EIS) measurements corresponding to the battery pack. Xi discloses determine a value of one or more of the first frequency and the second frequency based on Electrochemical Impedance Spectroscopy (EIS) measurements corresponding to the battery pack (paragraph [0068, fig. 8]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Yagi’s system to include Electrochemical Impedance Spectroscopy (EIS) to measure the frequencies of the battery pack as taught by Xi, in order to accurate, rapid assessment of state-of-health (SOH), state-of-charge (SOC), and identification of specific failure mechanisms due to temperature. Regarding claim 18, Yagi discloses the controller of claim 12. Yagi further discloses the first pulsed current of a first frequency is used to heat the battery to certain reference temperature and the second pulsed current with a second frequency is used to optimally charge the battery. However, Yagi is silent about determine a value of one or more of the first frequency and the second frequency based on Electrochemical Impedance Spectroscopy (EIS) measurements corresponding to the battery pack. Xi discloses determine a value of one or more of the first frequency and the second frequency based on Electrochemical Impedance Spectroscopy (EIS) measurements corresponding to the battery pack (paragraph [0068, fig. 8]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Yagi’s system to include Electrochemical Impedance Spectroscopy (EIS) to measure the frequencies of the battery pack as taught by Xi, in order to accurate, rapid assessment of state-of-health (SOH), state-of-charge (SOC), and identification of specific failure mechanisms due to temperature. Allowable Subject Matter Claims 3-5, 1 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 3, none of the prior art alone or in combination discloses a method for charging the battery comprising, “ wherein an amplitude of positive pulses comprised in the heating-optimized pulses is greater than an amplitude of positive pulses comprised in the charging-optimized pulses, and wherein an amplitude of negative pulses comprised in the heating-optimized pulses is greater than an amplitude of negative pulses comprised in the charging-optimized pulses.”, along with all the other limitation of the claim. Claims 4-5 depend on claim 3 and are allowed for the same reason. Regarding claim 1 3, none of the prior art alone or in combination discloses a controller to control the charging of a battery pack comprising, “ wherein an amplitude of positive pulses comprised in the heating-optimized pulses is greater than an amplitude of positive pulses comprised in the charging-optimized pulses, and wherein an amplitude of negative pulses comprised in the heating-optimized pulses is greater than an amplitude of negative pulses comprised in the charging-optimized pulses.”, along with all the other limitations of the claim . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT SADIA KOUSAR whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-3386 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-Th 7:30am-5:30pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Julian Huffman can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-2147 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT SADIA . KOUSAR Examiner Art Unit 2859 /JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859