DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
Applicant's response of 04/24/2026 has been acknowledged. Claims 1 and 30 have been amended. Claim 35 is canceled. No new matter has been added.
This office action considers claims 1, 3, 5, 8-10, 12-17, 19, 24, 29, 30,
and 37 pending for prosecution and are examined on their merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments of 04/24/2026 with respect to the rejections of claims have
been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes: when present, hyphen separated fields within the hyphens (- -) represent, for example, as (30A - Fig 2B - [0128]) = (element 30A - Figure No. 2B - Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. The same conventions apply to Column and Sentence, for example (19:14-20) = (column19:sentences 14-20). These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1, 3, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (US 20220165082 A1 – hereinafter Lu) in view of Kim (US 20230232688 A1 - hereinafter Kim) and Yue et al (US 20220069031 A1 – hereinafter Yue).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lu teaches:
(Currently Amended): A display substrate 01 – Fig. 1 – [0038] –
“display panel includes a base substrate 01”), having a plurality of sub-pixels (US 20220165082 A1 – hereinafter Lu) (lu ([0046] – “light-emitting element 31 constitutes one sub-pixel, and multiple sub-pixels jointly perform display of a picture” – hereinafter ‘RGB’), and comprising:
a base substrate (10 – Fig. 6 – [0047] – “base substrate 10”);
a light-shielding layer (60 – Fig. 6 – [0049] – “light-shielding layer 60”), disposed on the base substrate (10), and comprising a plurality of first light transmission openings (61 – Fig. 6 – [0049] – “first imaging pin-hole 61 and the second imaging pin-hole 71 at least partially overlap in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate”),
a pixel driving circuit layer (20 – Fig. 6 – [0042] – “array layer 20 may include multiple thin film transistors 21 (TFTs) and pixel circuits composed of TFTs, where the pixel circuits are used for driving light-emitting elements in a display layer”), disposed on a side of the light-shielding layer (60) away from the base substrate (10), and
a pixel definition layer (32 – Fig. 6 – [0046] – “pixel defining layer 32”), disposed on a side of the pixel driving circuit layer away (20) from the base substrate (10), and comprising a plurality of sub-pixel openings (Fig. 6 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘130’),
wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels (RGB) comprises a pixel driving circuit (not shown – [0078] – “driving circuit for driving the light-emitting elements to emit light is provided in the array layer” – hereinafter ‘PDC’) disposed in the pixel driving circuit layer (20) and a light-emitting device (31 – Fig. 6 – [0054] – “light-emitting elements 31”) at least partially disposed in one of the plurality of sub-pixel openings (130), and
orthographic projections of the plurality of first light transmission openings (61 – Fig. 6 shows 71 which overlaps 61) on the base substrate (10) are respectively located between orthographic projections of adjacent sub-pixel openings (130) of the plurality of sub-pixel openings (130) on the base substrate (10); and
a black matrix layer (91 – Fig. 6 – [0054] – “black matrix layer 91”), disposed on a side of the light-emitting device (31) away from the base substrate (10), wherein the black matrix layer (91) comprises a plurality of second light transmission openings (Fig. 6 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘BM1’) and a plurality of third light transmission openings (71 – 6 – [0049] – “second imaging pin-hole 71”), wherein orthographic projections of the plurality of sub-pixel openings (130) on the base substrate (10) are respectively at least partially overlapped with orthographic projections of the plurality of second light transmission openings (BM1) on the base substrate (10);
the plurality of third light transmission openings (71) are respectively disposed between adjacent second light transmission openings (BM1) of the plurality of second light transmission openings (BM1); and
orthographic projections of at least part of the plurality of first light transmission openings (61) on the base substrate (10) are respectively at least partially overlapped with orthographic projections of the plurality of third light transmission (71) openings on the base substrate (10),
wherein the plurality of sub-pixels (RGB) comprise first sub-pixels (31R – Fig. 8 – [0060] – “red light-emitting elements 31R”), second sub-pixels (31G – Fig. 8 – [0060] – “green light-emitting elements 31G”) and third sub-pixels (31B – Fig. 8 – [0060] – “blue light-emitting elements 31B”),
one of the plurality of third light transmission openings (71 – Fig. 5 – [0049] – “second imaging pin-hole 71”) is located between second light transmission openings (Fig. 5 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘BM1’) corresponding to the first sub-pixel (31R – Fig. 5 annotated, see below) and the third sub-pixel (31B – Fig. 5 annotated, see below) adjacent to each other (Fig. 5 shows this), the one of the plurality of third light transmission openings (71) is not overlapped with sub-pixel openings (Fig. 5 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘130’) of the first sub-pixel (31R) and the third sub-pixel (31B), and a minimum distance between the one of the plurality of third light transmission openings (71) and the second light transmission opening (BM1) corresponding to the first sub-pixel (31R) is a first distance (Fig. 5 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘D1’), a minimum distance between the one of the plurality of third light transmission openings (71) and the second light transmission opening (BM1) corresponding to the third sub-pixel (31B) is a second distance (Fig. 5 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘D2’), and
the first distance (D1) is different from the second distance (D2 – Fig. 5 annotated shows this),
wherein a line connecting of the second light transmission openings of the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel passes through the one of the plurality of third light transmission openings, and a distance between a center of the one of the plurality of third light transmission openings and the center of the second light transmission opening corresponding to the first sub-pixel is different from a distance between the center of the one of the plurality of third light transmission openings and the center of the second light transmission opening corresponding to the third sub-pixel.
Lu does not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Kim teaches
wherein a line (Fig. 11 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘C1’) connecting centers (Fig. 11 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘O1’) of the second light transmission openings (321a – Fig. 11 – [0111] – “first opening may include a main portion 321a”) of the first sub-pixel ([0143] – “first sub-pixel may be a red sub-pixel” – hereinafter ‘R’) and the third sub-pixel ([0143] – “third sub-pixel may be a blue sub-pixel” – hereinafter ‘B’) passes through the one of the plurality of third light transmission openings (321b – Fig. 11 – [0128] – “the auxiliary portion 321b of the first opening” – this is interpreted as a third light transmission opening), and a distance between a center (Fig. 11 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘O3’) of the one of the plurality of third light transmission openings (321b) and the center (O1) of the second light transmission opening (321a) corresponding to the first sub-pixel (R) is different from a distance between the center (O3) of the one of the plurality of third light transmission openings (321b) and the center (Fig. 11 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘O2’) of the second light transmission opening (321a)
corresponding to the third sub-pixel (B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the sub-pixel opening alignment structure as taught by Kim into Lu.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kim in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0006] – “a display device capable of improving the brightness of a display device without using a polarizing plate, and in which reflected light is not greatly biased on color coordinates is disclosed.”
Lu and Kim do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Yue teaches
a distance (L1 – Fig. 3 – [0110] – “the distances between the centers of the two first sub-pixels 11 and the two second sub-pixels 12 surrounding the third sub-pixel 13 and the center of the third sub-pixel 13 are respectively a first distance L1, a second distance L2, a third distance L3, and a fourth distance L4, where the first distance L1, the second distance L2, the third distance L3, and the fourth distance L4 are not equal”) between a center of the one of the plurality of third light transmission openings and the center of the second light transmission opening corresponding to the first sub-pixel is different from a distance (L2 – Fig. 3 – [0110] – “the distances between the centers of the two first sub-pixels 11 and the two second sub-pixels 12 surrounding the third sub-pixel 13 and the center of the third sub-pixel 13 are respectively a first distance L1, a second distance L2, a third distance L3, and a fourth distance L4, where the first distance L1, the second distance L2, the third distance L3, and the fourth distance L4 are not equal”) between the center of the one of the plurality of third light transmission openings and the center of the second light transmission opening corresponding to the third sub-pixel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the sub-pixel opening structure as taught by Yue into Lu and Kim.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Yue in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result [0110] – “to ensure that the display panel has a better display effect.”
Regarding claim 3, Lu, as modified by Kim and Yue, teaches claim 1 from which claim 3 depends. Lu further teaches
(Previously Presented): The display substrate according to claim 1,
wherein the orthographic projections of the at least part of the plurality of first light transmission (61) openings on the base substrate (10) are respectively located within the orthographic projections of the plurality of third light transmission (61 – Fig. 6 – [0049] – “first imaging pin-hole 61 and the second imaging pin-hole 71 at least partially overlap in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate”) openings on the base substrate (10).
Regarding claim 29, Lu, as modified by Kim and Yue, teaches claim 1 from which claim 29 depends. Lu further teaches
(Previously Presented): A display device, comprising:
the display substrate (01) according to claim 1, and
a sensor (80 – Fig. 6 – [0049] – “light-sensing sensor layer 80”), disposed on a side of the base substrate (10) of the display substrate (01) away from the light-shielding layer (60 – Fig. 6 shows this),
wherein in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate (10), the sensor (80) is overlapped with at least one of the plurality of first light transmission openings (71 – Fig. 6 shows this).
Claims 5, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view Kim, Yue, and Cho et al. (US 20230142681 A1– hereinafter Cho).
Regarding claim 5, Lu, as modified by Kim and Yue, teaches claim 1 from which claim 5 depends. Lu further teaches
the pixel driving circuit layer (20).
Lu, Kim, and Yue do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 5.
However, in an analogous art, Cho teaches
(Previously Presented): The display substrate according to claim 1,
wherein the pixel driving circuit layer comprises first signal lines (Fig. 5A annotated, see below – [0131] – “The horizontal lines disposed in the display panel 110 may be gate lines GL. For example, the first horizontal lines HL1 and the second horizontal lines HL2 may be the gate lines GL. The gate lines GL may include various types of gate lines according to structures of one or more subpixels SP” – hereinafter ‘HL1-1’) and second signal lines (Fig. 5A annotated, see below – [0131] – “The horizontal lines disposed in the display panel 110 may be gate lines GL. For example, the first horizontal lines HL1 and the second horizontal lines HL2 may be the gate lines GL. The gate lines GL may include various types of gate lines according to structures of one or more subpixels SP” – hereinafter ‘HL1-2’) disposed parallel to each other and periodically arranged, the first signal lines and the second signal lines are configured to provide different electrical signals to the plurality of sub-pixels (Fig. 5A annotated shows this),
the orthographic projections of the plurality of first light transmission openings (TA1 – Fig. 10 – [0191] – “the first transmission area TA1 in the first optical area OA1 may correspond to an opening of the light shield layer LS”) on the base substrate (SUB – Fig. 7 – [0162] – “a substrate SUB may include a first substrate SUB1, an interlayer insulating layer IPD, and a second substrate SUB2”) are respectively located between an orthographic projection of one of the first signal lines (HL1-1) on the base substrate (SUB) and an orthographic projection of one of the second signal lines (HL1-2) closest to the one of the first signal lines (HL1-1) on the base substrate (SUB – Fig. 5A shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the signal line structure as taught by Cho into Lu, Kim, and Yue.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Cho in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0006] – “a display panel and a display device having a light transmission structure in which even when an optical electronic device is located under a display area of the display panel, and thus, is not exposed in the front surface of the display device, the optical electronic device can normally and properly receive or detect light.”
Regarding claim 8, Lu, as modified by Kim, Yue, and Cho, teaches claim 5 from which claim 8 depends. Lu further teaches
the driving circuit layer (20).
Lu, Kim, and Yue do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 8.
However, in an analogous art, Cho teaches
(Previously Presented): The display substrate according to claim 5, wherein the driving circuit layer comprises third signal lines (Fig. 5a annotated, see above – [0133] – “The vertical lines disposed in the display panel 110 may include data lines DL, driving voltage lines DVL, and the like, and may further include reference voltage lines, initialization voltage lines, and the like. That is, the typical vertical lines VLn, the first vertical lines VL1 and the second vertical lines VL2 may include the data lines DL, the driving voltage lines DVL, and the like, and may further include the reference voltage lines, the initialization voltage lines, and the like” – hereinafter ‘VDD’) disposed in parallel and arranged periodically, the third signal lines (VDD) intersect the first signal lines (HL1-1) and the second signal lines (HL1-2) respectively, the third signal lines (VDD) are configured to provide power supply signals ([0133] – “The vertical lines disposed in the display panel 110 may include data lines DL, driving voltage lines DVL, and the like, and may further include reference voltage lines, initialization voltage lines, and the like. That is, the typical vertical lines VLn, the first vertical lines VL1 and the second vertical lines VL2 may include the data lines DL, the driving voltage lines DVL, and the like, and may further include the reference voltage lines, the initialization voltage lines, and the like”) to the plurality of sub-pixels (SP – {[0109] – “plurality of subpixels SP may include, for example, a red subpixel (Red SP) emitting red light, a green subpixel (Green SP) emitting green light, and a blue subpixel (Blue SP) emitting blue light.”}, {[0152] – “Accordingly, the number of subpixels connected to each, or one or more, of the first horizontal lines HL1 running through the first optical area OA1 and the second optical area OA2 may be different from the number of subpixels connected to each, or one or more, of the second horizontal lines HL2 disposed only in the normal area NA without running through the first optical area OA1 and the second optical area OA2”}), and the third signal lines (VDD) comprise hollow parts (Fig. 5A annotated, see above – the lines go around the opening therefore forming hollow parts, hereinafter ‘OD’), and
the orthographic projections of the first light transmission openings (TA1) on the base substrate (SUB) are located within orthographic projections of the hollow parts (OD) on the base substrate (SUB – Fig. 5A shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the power lines and hollow structure as taught by Cho into Lu, Kim, and Yue.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Cho in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 5.
Regarding claim 9, Lu, as modified by Kim, Yue, and Cho, teaches claim 8 from which claim 9 depends. Lu further teaches
(Original): The display substrate according to claim 8, wherein
orthographic projections of the third light transmission openings (71) on the base substrate (10) are not overlapped with orthographic projections of the first signal lines (202 – Fig. 21 – [0085] – “the second metal lines 202 include the scanning signal lines and the third metal lines 203 include the reference voltage signal lines”) and orthographic projections of the second signal lines on the base substrate (Lu Fig. 21 only shows ones set of signal lines but it interpreted to have identical adjacent set as shown in Fig. 16), and
the orthographic projections of the third light transmission openings (71) on the base substrate (10) are located within the orthographic projections of the hollow parts (Fig. 21 annotated, see below, shows the lines going around the opening thus forming a hollow part – hereinafter ‘OD’) on the base substrate (10).
Claims 10 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view Kim, Yue, and Lee et al. (US 20210273195 A1 – hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 10, Lu, as modified by Kim and Yue, teaches claim 1 from which claim 10 depends. Lu, Kim, and Yue do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 10.
However, in an analogous art, Lee teaches
(Previously Presented): The display substrate according to claim
1, wherein
the black matrix layer (BM – Fig. 4 = [0085] – “black matrix BM”) further comprises a plurality of color filters (CF – Fig. 4 – [0085] – “color filter CF”) at least partially disposed in the plurality of second light transmission openings (Fig. 3 annotated, see below – this is the opening for the B sub-pixel, hereinafter ‘BM1’),
the plurality of color filters (CF) comprise first color filters ([0089] – “The color filter CF may include a coloring material and an organic material in which a coloring material is dispersed, wherein the coloring material may include a general pigment or dye and the organic material may include a general dispersant” – the color is associated with each sub-pixel – hereinafter ‘PX1-R’), second color filters ([0089] – hereinafter PX2-G) and third color filters ([0089] – hereinafter PX3-B),
orthographic projections of sub-pixel openings (CR) of the first sub-pixels (PX1) on the base substrate are located within orthographic projections of the first color filters (PX1-R) on the base substrate (100 – fig. 3 shows this),
orthographic projections of sub-pixel openings (PX2) of the second sub-pixels (PX2) on the base substrate are located within orthographic projections of the second color filters (PX2-G) on the base substrate (100 – fig. 3 shows this), and
orthographic projections of sub-pixel openings (CR) of the third sub-pixels (PX3) on the base substrate are located within orthographic projections of the third color filters (PX3-B) on the base substrate (100 – fig. 3 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the sub-pixel structure as taught by Lee into Lu, Kim, and Yue.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lee in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0006] – “A display apparatus providing a high-quality image due to a reduced color band may be implemented. However, the scope of the disclosure according to the invention is not limited to these effects.”
Regarding claim 24, Lu, as modified by Kim, Yue, and Lee, teaches claim 10 from which claim 24 depends. Lu further teaches
(Previously Presented): The display substrate according to claim
10, further comprising an encapsulation layer (40 – Fig. 6 – [0047] – “encapsulation layer 40”) disposed on a side of the light-emitting device (31) away from the base substrate (10) and a touch layer (93 – Fig. 6 – [0056] – “touch layer 93 located between the black matrix layer 91 and the display layer 30 … The second light-shielding layer 70 (i.e., the black matrix layer 91) covers the touch layer 93” – this places 93 between 40 and 91) disposed on a side of the encapsulation layer (40) away from the base substrate (10),
the black matrix layer (91) is disposed on a side of the encapsulation layer (40) away from the base substrate (10); the black matrix layer (91) is disposed on a side of the touch layer (93) away from the base substrate (10), the touch layer comprises a plurality of touch lines ([0056] – “The touch layer 93 includes touch patterns for achieving the touch function of the display panel”), and
orthographic projections of the plurality of touch lines (93) on the base substrate (10) do not overlap with orthographic projections of the plurality of first light transmission openings (61) on the base substrate (10 – Fig. 6 shows this).
Claims 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view Kim, Yue, Lee, and Kim et al. (US 20220309267 A1 – hereinafter Kim-267).
Regarding claim 12, Lu, as modified by Kim, Yue, and Lee, teaches claim 10 from which claim 12 depends. Lu, Kim, and Yue do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 12.
However, in an analogous art, Lee teaches
the first sub-pixels (PX1) and the third sub-pixels (PX2) are disposed in multiple rows and multiple columns (Fig. 3 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the sub-pixel structure as taught by Lee into Lu, Kim, and Yue.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lee in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of as stated above in claim 10.
Lu, Kim, Yue, and Lee do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 12.
However, in an analogous art, Kim-267 teaches
(Previously Presented): The display substrate according to claim
10, wherein the first sub-pixels and the third sub-pixels are disposed in multiple rows and multiple columns,
a plurality of first sub-pixels (PXR – Fig. 9 – [0189] – “pixel PXR emitting second color light (or red light)”) and a plurality of third sub-pixels (PXB – Fig. 9 – [0189] – “pixel PXB emitting third color light (or blue light)”) in a same column are disposed alternately (Fig. 9 shows this), and one third light transmission opening (BMH2 – Fig. 8 – [0198] – “second light transmitting hole BMH2” – this corresponds to A2 in Fig. 9) is disposed between the second light transmission openings (OP3-3 – Fig. 8 – [0191] – “opening OP1-3 may overlap with an area A1-3 and may correspond to the third pixel PXR” – this corresponds to A1-3 in Fig. 9) corresponding to the first sub-pixel (PXR) and the third sub-pixel (PXB) adjacent to each other in the same column (Fig. 9 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the sub-pixel structure as taught by Kim-267 into Lu, Kim, Yue, and Lee.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kim-267 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0005] – “a display device comprising a photosensitive type fingerprint sensor. In the display device, degradation of luminance due to reflection of external light can be prevented. The thickness of the display panel may be minimized.”
Regarding claim 17, Lu, as modified by Kim, Yue, Lee, and Kim-267, teaches claim 12 from which claim 17 depends. Lu, Kim, Yue, and Lee do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 17.
However, in an analogous art, Kim-267 teaches
(Previously Presented): The display substrate according to claim 12,
wherein one first sub-pixel (PXR), two second sub-pixels (PXG1 and PXG2 – Fig. 9 – [0189] – “first pixel PXG1 and a second pixel PXG2 both emitting first color light (or green light)” – hereinafter ‘PXG’) and one third sub-pixel (PXB) constitute one repeating unit (Fig. 9 – [0189] – “FIG. 9 is a plan view schematically illustrating a portion of a color filter in accordance with embodiments. In FIG. 9, a first pixel PXG1 and a second pixel PXG2 both emitting first color light (or green light), a third pixel PXR emitting second color light (or red light), a fourth pixel PXB emitting third color light (or blue light), and a color filter set CF overlapping with the pixels PXG1, PXG2, PXR, and PXB are illustrated” – this is one unit), and a plurality of repeating units are disposed in an array (Fig. 3E – [0051] – “FIG. 3E is a plan view illustrating pixels and photo sensors in a display device in accordance with embodiments.” – shows an array of repeating pixel units),
a plurality of second sub-pixels (PXG) in the plurality of repeating units are arranged in multiple rows and multiple columns (Fig. 3E shows this), and the one third light transmission opening (BMH2) is further disposed between second light transmission openings (OP3-3) corresponding to adjacent second sub-pixels (PXG) in a row direction (Fig. 9 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the sub-pixel structure as taught by Kim-267 into Lu, Kim, Yue, and Lee.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kim-267 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 12.
Claims 13, 14, 15, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view Kim, Yue, Lee, Kim-267, and Tang et al. (US 20220069261 A1– hereinafter Tang).
Regarding claim 13, Lu, as modified by Kim, Yue, Lee, and Kim-267, teaches claim 12 from which claim 13 depends. Lu, Kim, Yue, Lee, and Kim-267 do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 13.
However, in an analogous art, Tang teaches
(Original): The display substrate according to claim 12, wherein
the second distance (Fig. 1 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘D2’, [0035] – “maximum distance L1 between the first boundary 201 and the first edge 31 is greater than a maximum distance L2 between the second boundary 202 and the second edge 32” – D2 is approximately L1) between the one third light transmission opening (4012) and the second light transmission opening (4011) corresponding to the third sub-pixel (22) is smaller than the first distance (Fig. 1 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘D1’, [0035] – “maximum distance L1 between the first boundary 201 and the first edge 31 is greater than a maximum distance L2 between the second boundary 202 and the second edge 32” – D1=L2 + more distance) between the one third light transmission opening (4012) and the second light transmission opening (4011) corresponding to the first sub-pixel (20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the distance/spacing/pitch structure as taught by Tang into Lu, Kim, Yue, Lee, and Kim-267.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Tang in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0005] – “a display device comprising a photosensitive type fingerprint sensor. In the display device, degradation of luminance due to reflection of external light can be prevented. The thickness of the display panel may be minimized.”
Regarding claim 14, Lu, as modified by Kim, Yue, Lee, Kim-267, and Tang, teaches claim 13 from which claim 14 depends. Lu further teaches
the one third light transmission opening (71 – Fig. 6 – [0049] –
“second imaging pin-hole 71”).
Lu, Kim, Yue, Kim-267, and Tang do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 14.
However, in an analogous art, Lee teaches
(Original): The display substrate according to claim 13, wherein
for the sub-pixel opening (CR) and the third color filter (PX3-B) corresponding to the third sub-pixel (PX3),
an orthographic projection of the sub-pixel opening (CR) on the base substrate (100) is located within an orthographic projection of the third color filter (PX3-B) on the base substrate (100 – Fig. 4 annotated, see below shows this), a distance (Fig. 4 annotated, see below, shows this – hereinafter ‘bd’) between a boundary of the orthographic projection of the sub-pixel opening (CR) on the base substrate and a boundary of the orthographic projection of the third color filter (PX3-B) on the base substrate at a side close to the one third light transmission opening is smaller than a distance (Fig. 4 annotated, see below, shows this – hereinafter ‘be’) between the boundary of the orthographic projection of the sub-pixel opening (CR) on the base substrate (100) and the boundary of the orthographic projection of the third color filter (PX3-B) on the base substrate (100) at a side away from the one third light transmission opening.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the distance structure as taught by Lee into Lu, Kim, Yue, Kim-267, and Tang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lee in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of as stated above in claim 10.
Regarding claim 15, Lu, as modified by Kim, Yue, Lee, Kim-267, and Tang, teaches claim 14 from which claim 15 depends. Lu further teaches
the one third light transmission opening (71 – Fig. 6 – [0049] –
“second imaging pin-hole 71”).
Lu, Kim, Yue, Kim-267, and Tang do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 15.
However, in an analogous art, Lee teaches
(Original): The display substrate according to claim 14, wherein
for the sub-pixel opening (CR) and the second light transmission opening (Fig. 4 annotated, see above – this is the opening for the B sub-pixel, hereinafter ‘BM1’) corresponding to the third sub-pixel (PX3),
the orthographic projection of the sub-pixel opening (CR) on the base substrate (100) is located within an orthographic projection of the second light transmission opening (BM1) on the base substrate (100), and a distance (Fig. 4 annotated, see above – hereinafter ‘b’) between the boundary of the orthographic projection of the sub-pixel opening (CR) on the base substrate and a boundary of the orthographic projection of the second light transmission (BM1) opening on the base substrate (100) at a side close to the one third light transmission opening is smaller than a distance (Fig. 4 annotated, see above – hereinafter ‘b1’) between the boundary of the orthographic projection of the sub-pixel opening (CR) on the base substrate and the boundary of the orthographic projection of the second light transmission opening (BM1) on the base substrate at a side away from the one third light transmission opening.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the sub-pixel opening structure as taught by Lee into Lu, Kim, Yue, Kim-267, and Tang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lee in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of as stated above in claim 10.
Regarding claim 16, Lu, as modified by Kim, Yue, Lee, Kim-267, and Tang, teaches claim 14 from which claim 16 depends. Lu further teaches
(Previously Presented): The display substrate according to claim 14,
wherein for the sub-pixel opening (130) and the first color filter (92R – Fig. 9 – [0064] – “red color resist 92R”) corresponding to the first sub-pixel (92R),
the orthographic projection of the sub-pixel opening (130) on the base substrate (10) is located within an orthographic projection of the first color filter (92R) on the base substrate (10), and a distance (Fig. 9 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘f’) between the boundary of the orthographic projection of the sub-pixel opening (130) on the base substrate (10) and a boundary of the orthographic projection of the first color filter (92R) on the base substrate (10) at a side close to the one third light transmission opening (71) is substantially equal to a distance (Fig. 9 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘g’) between the boundary of the orthographic projection of the sub-pixel opening (130) on the base substrate (10) and the boundary of the orthographic projection of the first color filter (92R) on the base substrate (10) at the side away from the one third light transmission opening (71 – Fig. 9 shows this).
Regarding claim 19, Lu, as modified by Kim, Yue, Lee, and Kim-267, teaches claim 17 from which claim 19 depends. Lu further teaches
(Previously Presented): The display substrate according to claim 17,
wherein each of the plurality of repeating units is correspondingly disposed with two first light transmission openings (61) and two third light transmission openings; and orthographic projections of the two first light transmission openings (61) on the base substrate (10) are respectively located within orthographic projections of the two third light transmission openings (71) on the base substrate (10 – Fig. 6 shows this); or
wherein each of the plurality of repeating units is correspondingly disposed with two first light transmission openings (61), and each of the plurality of repeating units or every plurality of repeating units is correspondingly disposed with one third light transmission opening (71), orthographic projections of a part of the plurality of first light transmission openings (61) on the base substrate (110) are respectively within orthographic projections of the plurality of third light transmission openings (71) on the base substrate (10 – Fig. 6 shows this).
Lu, Kim, Yue, Lee, and Kim-267 do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 19.
However, in an analogous art, Tang teaches
the plurality of repeating units (Fig. 1 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘RPU’),
two third light transmission openings (411 – Fig. 1 – [0116] – “light shielding layer 41 includes a third opening 411”),
one third light transmission opening (411 – Fig. 1 – [0116] – “light shielding layer 41 includes a third opening 411”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the repeating unit structure as taught by Tang into Lu, Kim, Yue, Lee, and Kim-267.
It is well known that the density of third light transmission openings can vary as well as the specific colors of sub-pixels. An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Tang in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 11.
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D.
Claims 30, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim-267 in view Lu, Kim, and Yue.
Regarding independent claim 30, Kim-267 teaches:
(Currently Amended): A display substrate, having a plurality of sub-
pixels (Fig. 3E – [0051] – “FIG. 3E is a plan view illustrating pixels and photo sensors in a display device in accordance with embodiments.” – shows an array of repeating sub-pixel),
wherein the plurality of sub-pixels comprise first sub-pixels (PXR – Fig. 9 – [0197] – “pixel PXR emitting red light”), second sub-pixels (Fig. 9 – [0197] – “first pixel PXG1 and the second pixel PXG2 emitting green light” – hereinafter ‘PXG’), and third sub-pixels (PXB – Fig. 9 – [0197] – “pixel PXB emitting blue light”); the first sub-pixels (PXR) and the third sub-pixels (PXB) are disposed alternately along a row direction (Fig. 9 is a pixel unit that is repeated in Fig. 3E showing the described alternating sub-pixels) to form a plurality of first pixel rows (Fig. 3E shows this), and the first sub-pixels (PXR) and the third sub-pixels (PXB) in a same column among the plurality of first pixel rows are disposed alternately, the second sub-pixels (PXG) are disposed side by side along the row direction to form a plurality of second pixel rows (Fig. 9 shows this),
the first sub-pixels (PXR) and the third sub-pixels (PXB) adjacent in the column direction (Fig. 9 shows this) ,
wherein one of the plurality of second openings is located between the first openings corresponding to a first sub-pixel and a third sub-pixel that are adjacent in the column direction, the one of the plurality of second openings is not overlapped with sub-pixel openings of the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel, and a minimum distance between the one of the plurality of second openings and the first opening corresponding to the first sub-pixel is a first distance, a minimum distance between the one of the plurality of second openings and the first opening corresponding to the third sub-pixel is a second distance, and
the first distance is different from the second distance,
wherein a line connecting centers of the first openings of the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel passes through the one of the plurality of second openings, and a distance between a center of the one of the plurality of second openings and the center of the first opening corresponding to the first sub-pixel is different from a distance between the center of the one of the plurality of second openings and the center of the first opening corresponding to the third sub-pixel.
Kim-267 does not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 30.
However, in an analogous art, Lu teaches
and the display substrate comprises:
a base substrate (10 – Fig. 6 – [0047] – “base substrate 10”),
a pixel driving circuit layer (32 – Fig. 6 – [0046] – “pixel defining layer 32”), disposed on the base substrate (10),
a pixel definition layer (32), disposed on a side of the pixel driving circuit layer (20 – Fig. 6 – [0042] – “array layer 20 may include multiple thin film transistors 21 (TFTs) and pixel circuits composed of TFTs, where the pixel circuits are used for driving light-emitting elements in a display layer”) away from the base substrate (10), and comprising a plurality of sub-pixel openings (Fig. 6 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘130’),
wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels ([0046] – “light-emitting element 31 constitutes one sub-pixel, and multiple sub-pixels jointly perform display of a picture” – hereinafter ‘RGB’) comprises a pixel driving circuit (not shown – [0078] – “driving circuit for driving the light-emitting elements to emit light is provided in the array layer” – hereinafter ‘PDC’) disposed in the pixel driving circuit layer (20) and a light-emitting device (31 – Fig. 6 – [0054] – “light-emitting elements 31”) at least partially disposed in one of the plurality of sub-pixel openings (130), and
a black matrix layer (91 – Fig. 6 – [0054] – “black matrix layer 91”), comprising a plurality of first openings (Fig. 6 annotated, see above – hereinafter ‘BM1’) and a plurality of second openings (71 – Fig. 6 – [0049] – “second imaging pin-hole 71”),
wherein orthographic projections of the plurality of sub-pixel openings (130) on the base substrate (10) are respectively at least partially overlapped with orthographic projections of the plurality of first openings (BM1) on the base substrate (10), so that light emitted by light-emitting devices (31) of the plurality of sub-pixels (RGB) can exit through the plurality of first openings (BM1); and the plurality of second openings (71) are respectively disposed between the first openings (BM1) corresponding to the first sub-pixels and the third sub-pixels adjacent in the column direction,
wherein one of the plurality of second openings (71 – Fig. 6 – [0049] – “second imaging pin-hole 71”) is located between the first openings (BM1) corresponding to a first sub-pixel (31R – Fig. 8 – [0060] – “red light-emitting elements 31R”) and a third sub-pixel (31B – Fig. 8 – [0060] – “blue light-emitting elements 31B”) that are adjacent in the column direction, the one of the plurality of second openings (71) is not overlapped with sub-pixel openings (Fig. 5 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘130’) of the first sub-pixel (31R) and the third sub-pixel (31B), and a minimum distance between the one of the plurality of second openings (71) and the first opening (BM1) corresponding to the first sub-pixel (31R) is a first distance (Fig. 5 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘D1’), a minimum distance between the one of the plurality of second openings (71) and the first opening (BM1) corresponding to the third sub-pixel (31B) is a second distance (Fig. 5 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘D2’), and
the first distance (D1) is different from the second distance (D2 – Fig. 5 annotated shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the display substrate structure as taught by Lu into Kim-267.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lu in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0006] – “A display panel and a display device are provided, in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure, to improve the fingerprint recognition accuracy based on the pin-hole imaging principle.”
Kim-267 and Lu do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 30.
However, in an analogous art, Kim teaches
wherein a line (Fig. 11 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘C2’) connecting centers (Fig. 11 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘O4’ and ‘O6)) of the first openings (321a – Fig. 11 – [0111] – “first opening may include a main portion 321a”) of the first sub-pixel ([0083] – “second light emitting area 310b is a green light emitting area emitting green light” – hereinafter ‘G’) and the third sub-pixel (G) passes through the one of the plurality of second openings (321b – Fig. 11 – [0128] – “the auxiliary portion 321b of the first opening” – this is interpreted as a third light transmission opening), and a distance between a center (O6) of the one of the plurality of second openings (321b) and the center (O4) of the first opening (321a) corresponding to the first sub-pixel (R) is different from a distance between the center (O6) of the one of the plurality of second openings (321b) and the center (O4) of the first opening (321a) corresponding to the third sub-pixel (B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the sub-pixel opening alignment structure as taught by Kim into Lu.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kim in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Lu and Kim do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 30.
However, in an analogous art, Yue teaches
a distance (L1 – Fig. 3 – [0110] – “the distances between the centers of the two first sub-pixels 11 and the two second sub-pixels 12 surrounding the third sub-pixel 13 and the center of the third sub-pixel 13 are respectively a first distance L1, a second distance L2, a third distance L3, and a fourth distance L4, where the first distance L1, the second distance L2, the third distance L3, and the fourth distance L4 are not equal”) between a center of the one of the plurality of third light transmission openings and the center of the second light transmission opening corresponding to the first sub-pixel is different from a distance (L2 – Fig. 3 – [0110] – “the distances between the centers of the two first sub-pixels 11 and the two second sub-pixels 12 surrounding the third sub-pixel 13 and the center of the third sub-pixel 13 are respectively a first distance L1, a second distance L2, a third distance L3, and a fourth distance L4, where the first distance L1, the second distance L2, the third distance L3, and the fourth distance L4 are not equal”) between the center of the one of the plurality of third light transmission openings and the center of the second light transmission opening corresponding to the third sub-pixel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the sub-pixel opening structure as taught by Yue into Lu and Kim.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Yue in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 37, Kim-267, as modified by Lu, Kim, and Yue, teaches claim 30 from which claim 37 depends. Kim-267 further teaches
(Previously Presented): The display substrate according to claim
30, wherein the plurality of second openings (BMH2) are respectively disposed between first openings (OP3-3) corresponding to adjacent second sub-pixels (PXG) in the row direction (Fig. 9 shows this).
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US 20230122736 A1, US 20160380037 A1, and US 20200381492 A1 are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. These references fail to disclose the combination of limitations including the specifics for the third openings.
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to GARY ABEL whose telephone number is (571) 272-0246. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm (Eastern).
/GRA/
Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897