DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendments filed on 09/30/2025.
Claims 1-10 and 16-25 are currently pending.
Claims 1-10 and 16-25 are rejected.
Claims 1, 16 and 20 are independent claims.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-2, 6, 8-10, 16-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian XU et al. (US 2023/0397273 A1), hereinafter XU, in view of Himke VAN DER VELDE et al. (US 2024/0008144 A1), hereinafter VAN DER VELDE.
For claim 1, XU teaches a method in a network node, operating as a master node (MN) for a user equipment (UE) communicating in dual connectivity (DC) with the MN and a secondary node (SN), for managing deactivation of one or more cells in a secondary cell group (SCG) (XU, Fig. 9B and paragraph 9 teach a method performed by a central unit (CU) of a secondary node (SN) serving a wireless device with a master node (MN) in a dual connectivity (DC) in a wireless communication system comprises: transmitting, to a distributed unit (DU) of the SN, a first message comprising an instruction to deactivate one or more cells in a secondary cell group (SCG) related to the SN.), the method comprising:
transmitting, from the MN, a request to the SN to deactivate one or more cells in the SCG (XU, Fig. 9B step S917 and paragraph 9 teach a method performed by a central unit (CU) of a secondary node (SN) serving a wireless device with a master node (MN) in a dual connectivity (DC) in a wireless communication system comprises: transmitting, to a distributed unit (DU) of the SN, a first message comprising an instruction to deactivate one or more cells in a secondary cell group (SCG) related to the SN, wherein the one or more cells comprise a primary secondary cell (PSCell).); and
receiving, at the MN, a message from the SN in response to the transmitting the request to the SN (XU, Fig. 9B step S919 and paragraph 9 teach receiving, from the DU, a second message comprising information informing a successful deactivation of the one or more cells.).
VAN DER VELDE further teaches deactivation of a secondary cell group (SCG) (VAN DER VELDE, Fig. 1 and paragraph 20 teach a method of controlling the activation or deactivation of a Secondary Cell Group, SCG, in a telecommunication network employing Dual Connectivity, DC.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in XU with deactivation of a secondary cell group (SCG) taught in VAN DER VELDE thereby resulting in ease of implementation without unduly burdening the network with computational or signalling demands [VAN DER VELDE: paragraph 114].
For claim 2, XU and VAN DER VELDE further teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, from the MN, a reconfiguration message to the UE to deactivate the SCG (XU, Fig. 9B step S921 and paragraph 214 teach the MN may transmit RRC reconfiguration message to the UE.); and in response to the transmitting the reconfiguration message to the UE receiving, from the UE, an indication that the SCG is deactivated (XU, Fig. 9B step S923 and paragraph 215 teach the UE may transmit RRC reconfiguration complete message carrying SN RRC reconfiguration complete to the MN.).
For claim 6, XU and VAN DER VELDE further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting the request to the SN to deactivate the SCG is in response to receiving, from the UE, an indication that the UE presently prefers single connectivity (VAN DER VELDE, Fig. 1 and paragraph 28 teach in the event of specific UE assistance information, this is in the form of activity indications per Data Radio Bearer, DRB, and in the case of combined assistance information, this is in the form of a message indicating that SCG deactivation is required. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in XU with VAN DER VELDE to have transmitting the request to the SN to deactivate the SCG is in response to receiving, from the UE, an indication that the UE presently prefers single connectivity thereby resulting in ease of implementation without unduly burdening the network with computational or signalling demands [VAN DER VELDE: paragraph 114]).
For claim 8, XU and VAN DER VELDE further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting the request to the SN to deactivate the SCG is in response to receiving, from the SN, an indication of data inactivity on the SCG (XU, Fig. 10A and paragraph 193 teach the SN may transmit the activity notification message informing a user data inactivity. After/upon receiving the activity notification message, the MN may decide further actions that impact SN resources (e.g., send UE to RRC_INACTIVE, bearer reconfiguration).).
For claim 9, XU and VAN DER VELDE further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting the request to the SN to deactivate the SCG is in response to receiving, from the SN, a notification that SN modification is required (XU, Fig. 10A and paragraph 193 teach the SN may transmit the activity notification message informing a user data inactivity. After/upon receiving the activity notification message, the MN may decide further actions that impact SN resources (e.g., send UE to RRC_INACTIVE, bearer reconfiguration). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in XU with VAN DER VELDE to have transmitting the request to the SN to deactivate the SCG is in response to receiving, from the SN, a notification that SN modification is required thereby resulting in ease of implementation without unduly burdening the network with computational or signalling demands [VAN DER VELDE: paragraph 114]).
For claim 10, XU and VAN DER VELDE further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the message from the SN includes an indication that the SCG is deactivated (XU, Fig.11 step S1103 and paragraph teach the CU may receive, from the DU, a second message comprising information informing a successful deactivation of the one or more cells. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in XU with VAN DER VELDE to have the message from the SN includes an indication that the SCG is deactivated thereby resulting in ease of implementation without unduly burdening the network with computational or signalling demands [VAN DER VELDE: paragraph 114]).
For claim 16, XU teaches a method in a network node, operating as a secondary node (SN) for a user equipment (UE) communicating in dual connectivity (DC) with the SN and a master node (MN), for managing deactivation of a secondary cell group (SCG) (XU, Fig. 9B and paragraph 9 teach a method performed by a central unit (CU) of a secondary node (SN) serving a wireless device with a master node (MN) in a dual connectivity (DC) in a wireless communication system comprises: transmitting, to a distributed unit (DU) of the SN, a first message comprising an instruction to deactivate one or more cells in a secondary cell group (SCG) related to the SN.), the method comprising:
receiving, at the SN, a request from the MN to deactivate one or more cells in the SCG (XU, Fig. 9B step S917 and paragraph 9 teach a method performed by a central unit (CU) of a secondary node (SN) serving a wireless device with a master node (MN) in a dual connectivity (DC) in a wireless communication system comprises: transmitting, to a distributed unit (DU) of the SN, a first message comprising an instruction to deactivate one or more cells in a secondary cell group (SCG) related to the SN, wherein the one or more cells comprise a primary secondary cell (PSCell).);
transmitting, from the SN, a message to the MN in response to the receiving the request from the MN (XU, Fig. 9B step S919 and paragraph 9 teach receiving, from the DU, a second message comprising information informing a successful deactivation of the one or more cells.); and
deactivating, by the SN, the one or more cells in the SCG (XU, Fig. 9B step S917 and paragraph 9 teach a method performed by a central unit (CU) of a secondary node (SN) serving a wireless device with a master node (MN) in a dual connectivity (DC) in a wireless communication system comprises: transmitting, to a distributed unit (DU) of the SN, a first message comprising an instruction to deactivate one or more cells in a secondary cell group (SCG) related to the SN, wherein the one or more cells comprise a primary secondary cell (PSCell).
VAN DER VELDE further teaches deactivation of a secondary cell group (SCG) (VAN DER VELDE, Fig. 1 and paragraph 20 teach a method of controlling the activation or deactivation of a Secondary Cell Group, SCG, in a telecommunication network employing Dual Connectivity, DC.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in XU with deactivation of a secondary cell group (SCG) taught in VAN DER VELDE thereby resulting in ease of implementation without unduly burdening the network with computational or signalling demands [VAN DER VELDE: paragraph 114].
For claim 17, XU and VAN DER VELDE further teach the method of claim 16, wherein the message includes an SN configuration for the UE (XU, Fig. 9B step S921 and paragraph 214 teach the MN may transmit RRC reconfiguration message to the UE.).
For claim 18, XU and VAN DER VELDE further teach the method of claim 17, wherein the deactivating the SCG includes: deactivating, by the SN and the UE, the SCG in accordance with the SN configuration (XU, Fig. 9B step S921 and paragraph 214 teach the MN may transmit RRC reconfiguration message to the UE. XU, Fig. 9B step S923 and paragraph 215 teach the UE may transmit RRC reconfiguration complete message carrying SN RRC reconfiguration complete to the MN.).
For claim 20, XU teaches a network node (XU, Fig. 7), operating as a master node (MN) for a user equipment (UE) communicating in dual connectivity (DC) with the MN and a secondary node (SN) and configured to manage deactivation of a secondary cell group (SCG) (XU, Fig. 9B and paragraph 9 teach a method performed by a central unit (CU) of a secondary node (SN) serving a wireless device with a master node (MN) in a dual connectivity (DC) in a wireless communication system comprises: transmitting, to a distributed unit (DU) of the SN, a first message comprising an instruction to deactivate one or more cells in a secondary cell group (SCG) related to the SN.), the network node comprising:
a transceiver (XU, Fig. 7 and paragraph 275); and
processing hardware (XU, Fig. 7 and paragraph 275) configured to:
transmit, from the MN, a request to the SN to deactivate one or more cells in the SCG (XU, Fig. 9B step S917 and paragraph 9 teach a method performed by a central unit (CU) of a secondary node (SN) serving a wireless device with a master node (MN) in a dual connectivity (DC) in a wireless communication system comprises: transmitting, to a distributed unit (DU) of the SN, a first message comprising an instruction to deactivate one or more cells in a secondary cell group (SCG) related to the SN, wherein the one or more cells comprise a primary secondary cell (PSCell).); and
receive, at the MN, a message from the SN in response to the transmitting the request to the SN (XU, Fig. 9B step S919 and paragraph 9 teach receiving, from the DU, a second message comprising information informing a successful deactivation of the one or more cells.).
VAN DER VELDE further teaches deactivation of a secondary cell group (SCG) (VAN DER VELDE, Fig. 1 and paragraph 20 teach a method of controlling the activation or deactivation of a Secondary Cell Group, SCG, in a telecommunication network employing Dual Connectivity, DC.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in XU with deactivation of a secondary cell group (SCG) taught in VAN DER VELDE thereby resulting in ease of implementation without unduly burdening the network with computational or signalling demands [VAN DER VELDE: paragraph 114].
For claim 21, XU and VAN DER VELDE further teach the network node of claim 20, wherein the processing hardware is further configured to:
transmit, from the MN, a reconfiguration message to the UE to deactivate the SCG (XU, Fig. 9B step S921 and paragraph 214 teach the MN may transmit RRC reconfiguration message to the UE.); and in response to the transmitting the reconfiguration message to the UE receive, from the UE, an indication that the SCG is deactivated (XU, Fig. 9B step S923 and paragraph 215 teach the UE may transmit RRC reconfiguration complete message carrying SN RRC reconfiguration complete to the MN.).
8. Claims 3-4, 7, 19, 22-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian XU et al. (US 2023/0397273 A1), hereinafter XU, in view of Himke VAN DER VELDE et al. (US 2024/0008144 A1), hereinafter VAN DER VELDE and Amaanat Ali et al. (US 2020/0245390 A1), hereinafter Ali.
For claim 3, XU and VAN DER VELDE further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the message from the SN is a first message from the SN and the request to the SN is a first request to the SN (XU, Fig. 11 step S1107, S1109 and paragraphs 242-243.), further comprising, subsequently to receiving the first message from the SN;
transmitting, from the MN, a second request to the SN to activate the SC (XU, Fig. 11 step S1107 and paragraph 242 teach in step S1107, the CU may transmit, to the DU, a third message comprising information informing the list of cells to be activated in the SCG.); and receiving, at the MN, a second message from the SN in response to the transmitting the second request (XU, Fig. 11 step S1109 and paragraph 243 teach in step S1109, the CU may receive, from the DU, a fourth message comprising information informing a successful activation of the list of cells.). XU and VAN DER VELDE do not explicitly teach reactivating.
However, Ali explicitly teaches reactivating (Ali, Fig. 6 and paragraph 118 teach reactivating communication using the second RAT based on detecting at least one event, e.g., measurement conditions or UL/DL data activity. In an example, the UE may reactivate a stored SCG configuration upon UL/DL data activity on SCG.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in XU and VAN DER VELDE with reactivating taught in Ali for better coverage and enhanced data rates [Ali: paragraph 85].
For claim 4, XU and VAN DER VELDE further teach the method of claim 3, wherein the transmitting the second request to the SN to activate the SCG is in response to receiving, from the SN, an indication of pending data activity on the SCG (XU, Fig. step S1105 and paragraph 241 teach the CU may determine a list of cells to be activated in the SCG based on at least one of an amount of packets received by the CU or a measurement report received from the wireless device.). XU and VAN DER VELDE do not explicitly teach reactivating.
However, Ali explicitly teaches reactivating (Ali, Fig. 6 and paragraph 118 teach reactivating communication using the second RAT based on detecting at least one event, e.g., measurement conditions or UL/DL data activity. In an example, the UE may reactivate a stored SCG configuration upon UL/DL data activity on SCG.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in XU and VAN DER VELDE with reactivating taught in Ali for better coverage and enhanced data rates [Ali: paragraph 85].
For claim 7, XU and VAN DER VELDE further teach the method of claim 3, wherein the transmitting the second request to the SN to activate the SCG is in response to receiving, from the SN, an indication of pending data activity on the SCG (XU, Fig. step S1105 and paragraph 241 teach the CU may determine a list of cells to be activated in the SCG based on at least one of an amount of packets received by the CU or a measurement report received from the wireless device.). XU and VAN DER VELDE do not explicitly teach reactivating.
However, Ali explicitly teaches reactivating (Ali, Fig. 6 and paragraph 118 teach reactivating communication using the second RAT based on detecting at least one event, e.g., measurement conditions or UL/DL data activity. In an example, the UE may reactivate a stored SCG configuration upon UL/DL data activity on SCG.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in XU and VAN DER VELDE with reactivating taught in Ali to have method of receiving, from a core network, data addressed to the UE; and determining whether the SCG should be re-activated based on at least one of: (i) an amount of the data, (ii) a quality of service (QoS) of the data, or (iii) a protocol data unit (PDU) session with which the data is associated for better coverage and enhanced data rates [Ali: paragraph 85].
For claim 19, XU and VAN DER VELDE further teach the method of claim 16, wherein the message to the MN is a first message to the MN and the request from the MN is a first request from the MN (XU, Fig. 11 step S1107, S1109 and paragraphs 242-243.), further comprising, subsequently to transmitting the first message to the MN:
receiving, at the SN, a second request from the MN to activate the SCG (XU, Fig. 11 step S1107 and paragraph 242 teach in step S1107, the CU may transmit, to the DU, a third message comprising information informing the list of cells to be activated in the SCG.); transmitting, from the SN, a second message to the MN in response to the receiving the second request from the MN; and activating, by the SN, the SCG (XU, Fig. 11 step S1109 and paragraph 243 teach in step S1109, the CU may receive, from the DU, a fourth message comprising information informing a successful activation of the list of cells.). XU and VAN DER VELDE do not explicitly teach reactivating.
However, Ali explicitly teaches reactivating (Ali, Fig. 6 and paragraph 118 teach reactivating communication using the second RAT based on detecting at least one event, e.g., measurement conditions or UL/DL data activity. In an example, the UE may reactivate a stored SCG configuration upon UL/DL data activity on SCG.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in XU and VAN DER VELDE with reactivating taught in Ali for better coverage and enhanced data rates [Ali: paragraph 85].
For claim 22, XU and VAN DER VELDE further teach the network node of claim 20, wherein the message from the SN is a first message from the SN and the request to the SN is a first request to the SN (XU, Fig. 11 step S1107, S1109 and paragraphs 242-243.), and the processing hardware is further configured to, subsequently to receiving the first message from the SN:
transmit, from the MN, a second request to the SN to activate the SCG (XU, Fig. 11 step S1107 and paragraph 242 teach in step S1107, the CU may transmit, to the DU, a third message comprising information informing the list of cells to be activated in the SCG.); and receive, at the MN, a second message from the SN in response to the transmitting the second request (XU, Fig. 11 step S1109 and paragraph 243 teach in step S1109, the CU may receive, from the DU, a fourth message comprising information informing a successful activation of the list of cells.). XU and VAN DER VELDE do not explicitly teach reactivating.
However, Ali explicitly teaches reactivating (Ali, Fig. 6 and paragraph 118 teach reactivating communication using the second RAT based on detecting at least one event, e.g., measurement conditions or UL/DL data activity. In an example, the UE may reactivate a stored SCG configuration upon UL/DL data activity on SCG.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in XU and VAN DER VELDE with reactivating taught in Ali for better coverage and enhanced data rates [Ali: paragraph 85].
For claim 23, XU and VAN DER VELDE further teach the method of claim 22, wherein the transmitting the second request to the SN to activate the SCG is in response to receiving, from the SN, an indication of pending data activity on the SCG (XU, Fig. step S1105 and paragraph 241 teach the CU may determine a list of cells to be activated in the SCG based on at least one of an amount of packets received by the CU or a measurement report received from the wireless device.). XU and VAN DER VELDE do not explicitly teach reactivating.
However, Ali explicitly teaches reactivating (Ali, Fig. 6 and paragraph 118 teach reactivating communication using the second RAT based on detecting at least one event, e.g., measurement conditions or UL/DL data activity. In an example, the UE may reactivate a stored SCG configuration upon UL/DL data activity on SCG.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in XU and VAN DER VELDE with reactivating taught in Ali for better coverage and enhanced data rates [Ali: paragraph 85].
For claim 25, XU and VAN DER VELDE further teach the network node of claim 22, wherein the transmitting the second request to the SN to activate the SCG is in response to receiving, from the SN, an indication of pending data activity on the SCG (XU, Fig. step S1105 and paragraph 241 teach the CU may determine a list of cells to be activated in the SCG based on at least one of an amount of packets received by the CU or a measurement report received from the wireless device.). XU and VAN DER VELDE do not explicitly teach reactivating.
However, Ali explicitly teaches reactivating (Ali, Fig. 6 and paragraph 118 teach reactivating communication using the second RAT based on detecting at least one event, e.g., measurement conditions or UL/DL data activity. In an example, the UE may reactivate a stored SCG configuration upon UL/DL data activity on SCG.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in XU and VAN DER VELDE with reactivating taught in Ali to have method of receiving, from a core network, data addressed to the UE; and determining whether the SCG should be re-activated based on at least one of: (i) an amount of the data, (ii) a quality of service (QoS) of the data, or (iii) a protocol data unit (PDU) session with which the data is associated for better coverage and enhanced data rates [Ali: paragraph 85].
9. Claims 5 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian XU et al. (US 2023/0397273 A1), hereinafter XU, in view of Himke VAN DER VELDE et al. (US 2024/0008144 A1), hereinafter VAN DER VELDE and Peng CHENG et al. (US 2024/0032135 A1), hereinafter CHENG.
For claim 5, XU and VAN DER VELDE teach all the limitations of parent claim 3. XU and VAN DER VELDE do not explicitly teach transmitting the second request to the SN to reactivate the SCG is in response to receiving, from the UE, a request to resume the radio connection.
However, CHENG explicitly teaches transmitting the second request to the SN to reactivate the SCG is in response to receiving, from the UE, a request to resume the radio connection (CHENG, Fig. 13 and paragraph 222 teach transmitting the second request to the SN to reactivate the SCG is in response to receiving, from the UE, a request to resume the radio connection.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in XU and VAN DER VELDE with transmitting the second request to the SN to reactivate the SCG is in response to receiving, from the UE, a request to resume the radio connection taught in CHENG thereby further reducing latency and amount of signaling to determine a lower-layer SCG configuration for SN 610. [CHENG: paragraph 170].
For claim 24, XU and VAN DER VELDE teach all the limitations of parent claim 22. XU and VAN DER VELDE do not explicitly teach transmitting the second request to the SN to reactivate the SCG is in response to receiving, from the UE, a request to resume the radio connection.
However, CHENG explicitly teaches transmitting the second request to the SN to reactivate the SCG is in response to receiving, from the UE, a request to resume the radio connection (CHENG, Fig. 13 and paragraph 222 teach transmitting the second request to the SN to reactivate the SCG is in response to receiving, from the UE, a request to resume the radio connection.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in XU and VAN DER VELDE with transmitting the second request to the SN to reactivate the SCG is in response to receiving, from the UE, a request to resume the radio connection taught in CHENG thereby further reducing latency and amount of signaling to determine a lower-layer SCG configuration for SN 610. [CHENG: paragraph 170].
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant's argument filed 09/30/2025 has been considered but it is not persuasive.
Applicant respectfully notes that, as indicated in the Application Data Sheet for this application, the instant application claims priority to PCT App. No. PCT/US2021/061979, which in turn claims priority to U.S. Provisional App. No. 63/122,930. As such, Applicant respectfully contends that the priority date for the instant application is December 8, 2020. However, Xu claims earliest priority to foreign application KR 10-2020-0138430, which has a filing date of October 23, 2020. Therefore, Xu is capable of being considered prior art to the instant application under 35 U.S.C. § 102.
Conclusion
/WILL W LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412