DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of the International Application PCT/US2021/060755. A Notice of Acceptance of Application under 35 U.S.C. 371 and 37 CFR 1.495 was mailed 26 September 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted 17 August 2023, 16 September 2024, 7 April 2025, and 12 June 2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The original drawings received on 30 May 2023 are accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Comment
Claims 1, 6, 9, 12, and 14-18 use the phrase “substantially free” of a component. This is read in view of the specification paragraph [0051], which states that “substantially free” of the component means the component can be present in amounts less than 0.01 mol%.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2019/0300422 A1
Guo et al. disclose a glass comprising in terms of mole percentages 50-69% of SiO2, 12.5-25% of Al2O3, 0-8% of B2O3, >0-4% of CaO, >0-17.5% of MgO, 0.5-8% of Na2O, 0-2.5% of La2O3, >8-18% of Li2O, 0-2.5% of ZrO2, 0-1% of SrO, 0-2% of Y2O3, 0-1% of K2O, and 0-0.2% of SnO2. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0012] and [0063]-[0075]. Guo et al. disclose the glass has a Poisson’s ratio of 0.2-0.26, a Young’s modulus (E) of 75-100 GPa, and a shear modulus (G) of 30-40 GPa. See paragraphs [0087]-[0089]. The compositional ranges of Guo et al. are sufficiently specific to anticipate the glass composition as recited in claims 1-5, 7, 8, and 11-20. See MPEP 2131.03.
Specifically, as to claim 1, Guo et al. disclose Examples Y, AA-AD, AF, AI-AL, AS-AV, BA-BD, and BF, (see Table 1), which reads on the glass comprising in terms of mole percentages, 34-65% of SiO2, 2-25% of Al2O3, 1-40% of MgO, 1-10% of Na2O, 3-17% of Li2O, and being substantially free of La2O3 and Y2O3 and having a Poisson’s ratio of 0.24 or greater, as recited in instant claim 1.
As to claim 2, Guo et al. disclose Examples AS, AU, BA, and BB, (see Table 1), which reads on the glass having a Poisson’s ratio of 0.25 or greater, as recited in instant claim 2.
As to claim 3, Guo et al. disclose Examples Y, AA-AD, AF, AI-AL, AS-AV, BA-BD, and BF, (see Table 1), which reads on the glass having a Poisson’s ratio of 0.30 or lower, as recited in instant claim 3.
As to claim 4, Guo et al. disclose Examples Y, AA-AD, AF, AI-AL, AS-AV, BA-BD, and BF, (see Table 1), which reads on the glass having a Poisson’s ratio of 0.27 or lower, as recited in instant claim 4.
As to claim 5, Guo et al. disclose Examples Y, AA-AD, AF, AI-AL, AS-AV, BA-BD, and BF, (see Table 1), which reads on the glass comprising 0-16 mol% of B2O3, as recited in instant claim 5.
As to claim 7, Guo et al. disclose Examples Y, AA-AD, AF, AI-AL, AS-AV, BA-BD, and BF, (see Table 1), which reads on the glass comprising 2-16 mol% of B2O3, as recited in instant claim 7.
As to claim 8, Guo et al. disclose Examples Y, AA-AD, AF, AI-AL, AS-AV, BA-BD, and BF, (see Table 1), which reads on the glass comprising 0-7 mol% of CaO, as recited in instant claim 8.
As to claim 11, Guo et al. disclose Examples Y, AA-AD, AF, AI-AL, AS-AV, BA-BD, and BF, (see Table 1), which reads on the glass comprising 0-1 mol% of K2O, as recited in instant claim 11.
As to claim 12, Guo et al. disclose Examples Y, AA-AD, AF, AI-AL, AS-AV, BA-BD, and BF, (see Table 1), which reads on the glass being substantially free of K2O, as recited in instant claim 12.
As to claim 13, Guo et al. disclose Examples Y, AA-AD, AF, AI-AL, AS-AV, BA-BD, and BF, (see Table 1), which reads on the glass comprising 0-0.2 mol% of SnO2, as recited in instant claim 13.
As to claim 14, Guo et al. disclose Examples AS-AV, (see Table 1), which reads on the glass substantially free of SnO2, as recited in instant claim 14.
As to claim 15, Guo et al. disclose Examples Y, AA-AD, AF, AI-AL, AS-AV, BA-BD, and BF, (see Table 1), which reads on the glass being substantially free of SrO, as recited in instant claim 15.
As to claim 16, Guo et al. disclose Examples Y, AA-AD, AF, AI-AL, AS-AV, BA-BD, and BF, (see Table 1), which reads on the glass being substantially free of BaO, as recited in instant claim 16.
As to claim 17, Guo et al. disclose Examples Y, AA-AD, AF, AI-AL, AS-AV, BA-BD, and BF, (see Table 1), which reads on the glass being substantially free of HfO2, as recited in instant claim 17.
As to claim 18, Guo et al. disclose Examples Y, AA-AD, AF, AI-AL, AS-AV, BA-BD, and BF, (see Table 1), which reads on the glass being substantially free of ZrO2, as recited in instant claim 18.
As to claim 19, Guo et al. disclose Examples Y, AA-AD, AF, AI-AL, AS-AV, BA-BD, and BF, (see Table 1), which reads on the glass having a Young’s modulus of 75-105 GPa, as recited in instant claim 19.
As to claim 20, Guo et al. disclose Examples Y, AA-AD, AF, AI-AL, AS-AV, BA-BD, and BF, (see Table 1), which reads on the glass having a shear modulus of 30-40 GPa, as recited in instant claim 20.
Claims 6, 9,and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2019/0300422 A1
Guo et al. disclose a glass comprising in terms of mole percentages 50-69% of SiO2, 12.5-25% of Al2O3, 0-8% of B2O3, >0-4% of CaO, >0-17.5% of MgO, 0.5-8% of Na2O, 0-2.5% of La2O3, >8-18% of Li2O, 0-2.5% of ZrO2, 0-1% of SrO, 0-2% of Y2O3, 0-1% of K2O, and 0-0.2% of SnO2. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0012] and [0063]-[0075]. Guo et al. disclose the glass has a Poisson’s ratio of 0.2-0.26, a Young’s modulus (E) of 75-100 GPa, and a shear modulus (G) of 30-40 GPa. See paragraphs [0087]-[0089].
As to claim 6, Guo et al. fail to teach any examples that are sufficiently specific to anticipate that the glass is substantially free of B2O3 as recited in instant claim 6. However, Guo et al. teach that the glass comprises 0-8 mol% B2O3 (see paragraph [0065]), which reads on the glass being substantially free of B2O3. As such, the mole percent ranges taught by Guo et al. have overlapping compositional ranges with instant claim 6. Overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Guo et al. because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional ranges taught by Guo et al. et al. overlap the instantly claimed ranges and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that;
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Also, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 9, Guo et al. fail to teach any examples that are sufficiently specific to anticipate that the glass is substantially free of CaO as recited in instant claim 9. However, Guo et al. teach that the glass comprises >0-4 mol% CaO (see paragraph [0070]), which reads on the glass being substantially free of CaO. As such, the mole percent ranges taught by Guo et al. have overlapping compositional ranges with instant claim 9. Overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 10, Guo et al. fail to teach any examples that are sufficiently specific to anticipate that the glass comprises 1-6 mol% of CaO as recited in instant claim 10. However, Guo et al. teach that the glass comprises >0-4 mol% CaO (see paragraph [0070]), which reads on the glass comprising1-6 mol% of CaO. As such, the mole percent ranges taught by Guo et al. have overlapping compositional ranges with instant claim 10. Overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 7-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,897,808 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compositional ranges overlap. Overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/Elizabeth A. Bolden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
EAB
17 September 2025