DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and response filed on 7/21/2026 has been received and entered into the case.
Claims 18-54 have been withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected subject matter, and claims 1-17 have been considered on the merits.
The claim rejection under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn due to the instant amendment.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 is a product-by-process claim. Claims 2-17 depend from said claims. M.P.E.P. § 2113 reads, “Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps.”
“Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted).
The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product. See, e.g., In re Garnero, 412 F.2d 276, 279, 162 USPQ 221, 223 (CCPA 1979)
The use of 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 rejections for product-by-process claims has been approved by the courts. “[T]he lack of physical description in a product-by-process claim makes determination of the patentability of the claim more difficult, since in spite of the fact that the claim may recite only process limitations, it is the patentability of the product claimed and not of the recited process steps which must be established. We are therefore of the opinion that when the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either section 102 or section 103 of the statute is eminently fair and acceptable. As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith.” In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972).
The steps of claim 1 require specific agents in each step as claimed in the dependent claims (e.g. claims 6-12), however, there is no indication that these agents (e.g. ionic buffer, protease neutralizing reagent, linearization buffer) are either present in the resulting composition except the soluble proteins from cotyledonary placenta or provide any specific structure in the claimed product other than purified soluble proteins from cotyledonary placenta including bovine placenta.
Based on the above discussion, claims 1-12 are interpreted as a composition comprising soluble proteins extracted from cotyledonary placenta including bovine placenta.
Claims 13 requires a sterilization step, and thus, the resulting product is interpreted as a sterilized composition comprising soluble proteins of cotyledonary placenta.
Claim 14 requires a step of drying, and the resulting product is interpreted as a dried composition comprising soluble proteins of cotyledonary placenta.
Claims 15-17 are considered the same as claim 1 as the limitation directed to the steps being conducted in a controlled environment of at least ISO level 8 does not provide any structural feature to the claimed product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 (maintained)
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception, i.e. product of nature, without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a purified composition comprising soluble proteins from cotyledonary placenta. The claims are directed to a statutory category, e.g., a composition of matter (Step 1:YES). Because the claims are directed to a composition comprising soluble proteins extracted from cotyledonary placenta and the ingredients, i.e. soluble proteins, of the compositions are nature-based products, the nature-based product is analyzed to determine whether it has markedly different characteristics from any naturally occurring counterpart(s) in their natural state. In this case, a cotyledonary placenta including bovine placenta is considered as a naturally occurring counterpart as the soluble proteins of the claimed product are extracted from the naturally occurring placenta. There is no indication in the specification that the claimed composition of naturally occurring products has any characteristics (structural, functional or otherwise) that are different from naturally occurring counterparts. Thus, the combination of the claimed invention does not have markedly different characteristics from what occurs in nature, and is a “product of nature” exception. Accordingly, the claims are directed to a judicial exception (Step 2A Prong 1:YES).
It is noted that the claims are product-by-process claims, and MPEP2106.04(c)(I)(B) states that for a product-by-process claim (e.g., a claim to a cloned farm animal produced by a nuclear transfer cloning method), the analysis turns on whether the nature-based product in the claim has markedly different characteristics from its naturally occurring counterpart. Thus, the elements utilized in the process steps of the instant claims are not considered unless the structure of the resulting product is significantly different due to the method steps. As discussed in the claim interpretation above, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (Step 2A prong 2:NO).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there is no additional element that would integrate the judicial product into any improvement in their function or the use of a particular treatment or applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way. Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (STEP 2A Prong Two: NO).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there is no additional element that render the claimed product significantly more than the judicial exception (STEP 2B: NO).
Based on the above discussion, the instant claims are not directed to the subject matter eligible under 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103 (maintained)
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Corbel et al. (1973, Br. Vet. J.).
Corbel et al. teach water soluble extracts of bovine placental cotyledons (p.lxxvi). Corbel et al. teach the aqueous extracts were prepared from the fetal cotyledon tissue of fresh bovine placentas by homogenizing in distilled water followed by centrifugation and then filtration (preparation of extracts for growth assay).
Regarding claims 4-5 directed to the purified composition comprising between 647 and 740 unique proteins including vimentin and actin, Corbel et al. do not particularly teach the limitation. However, as the water-soluble extracts of bovine placenta taught by Corbel et al. are considered identical to the claimed composition, it is expected that the extracts of Corbel et al. would inherently contain the claimed proteins in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 14 directed to the additional step of drying including lyophilizing, this step provides the structure of the composition being lyophilized, i.e. freeze-dried. Corbel et al. teach the aqueous extracts of bovine placenta was freeze-dried before the reconstituting to a final concentration in distilled water (p.lxxvi). This teaching is considered to meet the structure of claim 14 as a freeze-dried composition.
As discussed above, the steps disclosed in the claims do not provide any specific structure to the claimed composition comprising soluble proteins of the bovine placenta.
The Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine whether or not applicants' composition differs, and if so to what extent, from the aqueous extracts of bovine placenta discussed in Corbel et al. Accordingly, it has been established that the prior art product, which is derived from the same source, i.e. bovine placenta, and share the property of being soluble proteins), demonstrates a reasonable probability that it is either identical or sufficiently similar to the claimed composition that whatever differences exist are not patentably significant. Therefore, the burden of establishing novelty or unobviousness by objective evidence is shifted to applicants.
Merely because a characteristic of a known soluble extracts of bovine placenta is not disclosed in a reference does not make the known product patentable. The new product possesses inherent characteristics which might not be displayed in the tests used in the reference. Clear evidence that the product of the cited prior art do not possess a critical characteristic that is possessed by the claimed product, would advance prosecution and might permit allowance of claims to applicants' product.
Thus, the water soluble extracts of bovine placenta taught by Corbel et al. anticipates the claimed composition.
Alternatively, the water soluble extracts of bovine placenta taught by Corbel et al. render the claimed composition obvious.
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP H06234798 A (published on 8/23/1994; English translation attached).
JP H06234798 A teach a water-soluble protein extracted from bovine placenta and the process of preparing the water-soluble protein extracts involves mincing bovine placenta, homogenization and protein precipitations using ammonium sulfate (Abstract). Thus, the resulting composition of JP H06234798 A comprises soluble proteins from bovine placenta. Thus, JP H06234798 A anticipates the product produced by the method steps of the instant claims.
As discussed above, the product of JP H06234798 A is considered to meet the product produced by the process steps of the instant claims. Furthermore, JP H06234798 A teach conventional method for extracting proteins including centrifugation, salting-out fractionation, gel filtration, dialysis and freeze-drying (p.3, 3rd para.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art that the water-soluble protein fractions of the bovine placenta would be obtainable from the well-known techniques known in the art, and the product produced by such process would be expected the same as the claimed product.
Regarding claims 4-5, JP H06234798 A do not particularly teach the limitation. However, as the product of JP H06234798 A is considered the same water soluble protein fractions from bovine placenta as the claimed invention, it is expected that the product of JP H06234798 A would inherently contain the same unique proteins as the claimed product including vimentin and actin.
Regarding claim 13 directed to the sterilization step, the product produced by the step would be sterile product, and the step is carried out by filtration. As JP H06234798 A teach gel filtration, ultrafiltration (p.3, 3rd para.), it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art that the product of JP H06234798 A would be sterile by using the same step of filtration as disclosed in claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, as JP H06234798 A teach freeze-drying method as discussed above, it renders the product of claim 14 obvious.
The Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine whether or not applicants' composition differs, and if so to what extent, from the aqueous extracts of bovine placenta discussed in Corbel et al. Accordingly, it has been established that the prior art product, which is derived from the same source, i.e. bovine placenta, and share the property of being soluble proteins), demonstrates a reasonable probability that it is either identical or sufficiently similar to the claimed composition that whatever differences exist are not patentably significant. Therefore, the burden of establishing novelty or unobviousness by objective evidence is shifted to applicants.
Merely because a characteristic of a known soluble extracts of bovine placenta is not disclosed in a reference does not make the known product patentable. The new product possesses inherent characteristics which might not be displayed in the tests used in the reference. Clear evidence that the product of the cited prior art do not possess a critical characteristic that is possessed by the claimed product, would advance prosecution and might permit allowance of claims to applicants' product.
Thus, JP H06234798 A anticipate or, in alternative, render the claimed product obvious.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corbel et al. (supra).
Corbel et al. either anticipate or in alternative, render the subject matter of claims 1-12 and 14-17 obvious (see above).
Regarding claim 13 directed to the sterilized composition comprising soluble protein extracts of cotyledonary placenta, Corbel et al. do not teach the limitation.
However, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to sterilize the soluble protein extracts of Corbel et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to do so because the purpose of the extracts taught by Corbel et al. is to test the effect of the soluble extracts of bovine placenta on the growth of fungi (see Abstract), one skilled in the art would recognize that the extracts of Corbel et al. would be sterile to test for the effect.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with regarding the claim rejections presented in the previous OA mailed on 4/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive except the 112(b) rejection.
As indicated above, the 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 7/21/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejections as set forth in the last Office action and discussed below.
Regarding the 101 rejection, applicant argued that the extraction process removes native tissue architecture. The claimed composition is a purified soluble proteins from cotyledonary placenta, and whatever proteins resulted in the claimed composition are derived from the naturally occurring proteins in the placenta. As claimed proteins are not modified to its characteristics, the claimed soluble proteins obtained from the cotyledonary placenta are naturally occurring.
Applicant appears to compare the proteins present in the intact placental tissue are different from the composition lacking the native tissue architecture. However, isolated naturally occurring materials extracted from the tissue architecture are well established as a judicial exception of a natural product. For example, a nucleic acid extracted from a tissue is a natural product. Similarly, isolated cells from a tissue are considered as natural product. In the absence of any evidence that the isolated soluble proteins are structurally different from those present in a tissue in vivo, it is the Examiner’s position that the soluble proteins extracted from the claimed placental tissue are naturally present in the placental tissue, and thus, they are considered as a natural product, a judicial exception.
Applicant alleged that the structure of the claimed proteins is altered by linearization and denaturation as the process of linearizing proteins using a linearization buffer. When the proteins are linearized, their overall structure would be changed due to the environmental effect (i.e. present of linearization buffer). However, it is extremely well known in the art that the linearized proteins in the presence of a linearization buffer would refold under a natural condition (i.e. physiological condition in the absence of the linearization buffer). The process as claimed includes a step of removing the linearization buffer and purifying the composition as a liquid phase. There is no indication that the claimed composition is in the state of denatured or linearized. Rather, the step of removing the linearization buffer and dialyzing against a sterile buffer as disclosed in the instant specification, the soluble proteins of the claimed composition are considered renatured.
According to the declaration by Dr. Messer filed on 7/21/2026, the dialysis step after the treatment with a linearization buffer comprising urea, SDS, etc. would allow some degree of protein refolding, but the resulting protein conformations are not identical to native conformations found in intact tissue. However, there is no evidence supporting this allegation. The declaration concluded without any evidence that the refolding would not result in a native conformation for the proteins.
According to the instant claims, vimentin is one of the major species of the purified composition as claimed. It is known in the art that vimentin can be completely denatured and then fully renatured according to Renner et al. (1981, J. Mol. Biol.)
If a naturally occurring protein is denatured, it is not the same as naturally occurring protein in terms of tertiary structure. However, there is no changes in their amino acid sequence, the characteristics of the proteins having identical amino acid sequence are considered the same. Merely the environment does not allow a certain structural feature, that does not mean the nature or characteristics of the protein has been altered. Thus, it is the Examiner’s position that partially renatured or denatured proteins that have identical amino acid sequences are the same as the naturally occurring proteins. In other words, the specific structural conformation of the claimed proteins under a specific condition does not change the biological function of the proteins as they contain identical amino acid sequence as the naturally occurring counterpart.
Furthermore, the difference in the conformational structure under the denatured and native condition is not considered as “markedly different” characteristics of the naturally occurring counterpart in nature.
MPEP2106.04(c) states that In Myriad, the Supreme Court made clear that not all changes in characteristics will rise to the level of a marked difference, e.g., the incidental changes resulting from isolation of a gene sequence are not enough to make the isolated gene markedly different. Myriad, 569 U.S. at 580, 106 USPQ2d at 1974-75. The patentee in Myriad had discovered the location of the BRCA1 and BRCA2 genes in the human genome, and isolated them, i.e., separated those specific genes from the rest of the chromosome on which they exist in nature. As a result of their isolation, the isolated genes had a different structural characteristic than the natural genes, i.e., the natural genes had covalent bonds on their ends that connected them to the rest of the chromosome, but the isolated genes lacked these bonds. However, the claimed genes were otherwise structurally identical to the natural genes, e.g., they had the same genetic structure and nucleotide sequence as the BRCA genes in nature. The Supreme Court concluded that these isolated but otherwise unchanged genes were not eligible, because they were not different enough from what exists in nature to avoid improperly tying up the future use and study of the naturally occurring BRCA genes. See, e.g., Myriad, 569 U.S. at 585, 106 USPQ2d at 1977 ("Myriad's patents would, if valid, give it the exclusive right to isolate an individual’s BRCA1 and BRCA2 genes … But isolation is necessary to conduct genetic testing") and 569 U.S. at 593, 106 USPQ2d at 1980 (describing how would-be infringers could not avoid the scope of Myriad’s claims). In sum, the claimed genes were different, but not markedly different, from their naturally occurring counterparts (the BRCA genes), and thus were product of nature exceptions.
Applicant asserted that the composition has a defined, reproducible protein profile, and bioburden is drastically reduced. These are not the factors for determining that the claimed product is directed to the judicial exception.
Applicant alleged that the claimed composition has different functional properties including osteogenic activity and antioxidant and oxidoreductase activity. There is no indication that the naturally occurring counterpart does not possess the alleged activities. Rather the proteins in the native tissue would have the identical activities as the alleged activities are dependent on the proteins in the composition.
Applicant argued that the therapeutic applications are made possible only by the purified composition not by intact placental tissue. The essence of the subject eligibility determination is whether the claimed product is not markedly different from the naturally occurring counterpart, while the composition comprising the claimed proteins would be comparable to the naturally occurring tissue, however, this does not mean that the counterpart being used in the subsequent application. In the absence of any evidence, it is the Examiner’s position that the native tissue in a suitable form for the therapeutic administration would provide the same effect.
Whether or not the product is extracted and isolated, these processes do not change the natural characteristics of the components. Isolated nucleic acids and cells are all considered naturally occurring, and thus, without “marked difference” the isolated proteins from the native tissue are considered as a natural product.
Regarding the 102 and 103 rejections based on Corbel, applicant argued that Corbel’s process to prepare the crude preparation are different and thus, they are fundamentally different each other, and applicant argued that Corbel does not teach the multiple specific steps. As discussed in the claim interpretation, the instant claims are product-by-process claims, and the process steps do not limit unless they impart specific structural limitation. The instant claims disclose multiple steps, however, the structural limitations provided by the method steps are soluble protein extracted from the cotyledonary placenta. While Corbel’s process steps are different from the claimed process steps, applicant has not provided a convincing evidence that the water soluble extracts of Corbel are different from the claimed composition. Thus, it is the Examiner’s position that the teaching of Corbel is considered to meet the claimed product.
The declaration discussed the teaching of Corbel, and pointed out that the composition of Corbel comprises carbohydrate. The presence of carbohydrate in addition to the proteins extracted does not overcome the rejection.
Regarding the 102/103 rejection based on JH H06234798, applicant’s arguments are the same as the rejections based on Corbel that the process steps and agents utilized are different. The product claims are determined by the structure of the composition rather than the process of making and the agents utilized in the process.
Applicant is advised to amend the claims to disclose structural limitations of the claimed composition that would not be anticipated or obvious over the cited references.
In the declaration, the ammonium sulfate precipitation protocol of JP ref. is fundamentally different from the claimed linearization buffer approach. The Examiner agrees with this statement. However, as discussed in the claim interpretation, the claim rejections under 102/103 are not based that each of the claimed process steps is taught by the references. Rather the final product produced by the protocol of the prior art appears to be the same or substantially similar to the claimed product. Applicant can show the difference by disclosing physical/structural characteristics of the proteins or provide factual evidence that the claimed product is different from the extracts obtained from other processes shown in the prior art. Merely saying that the difference in the protocol does not necessarily overcome the rejection.
In the absence of any evidence, and the nature of the product-by-process claims without any structural limitation other than soluble proteins extracted from cotyledonary placenta, it is the Examiner’s position that the cited references anticipate and/or render the claimed product obvious.
Applicant requested an examiner interview. Applicant can request an examiner’s interview via USPTO automated interview request (AIR) or call the Examiner to schedule an interview.
Finally, applicant stated in the conclusion that the specification provides extensive evidence and in vivo therapeutic data demonstrates that the claimed product has markedly different structural, physicochemical and functional characteristics from the naturally occurring placenta and the crude extracts of the prior art. The same argument was made in the declaration. While the specification provides experimental data, in the absence of any comparative data, the data shown in the specification do not render the claimed product significantly different from the natural counterpart. Regarding the art rejection, there is no evidence that the properties as shown in the specification are unique to the claimed product and the prior art product would not provide such properties. It is noted that the properties shown in the specification are not disclosed in the claims, however, even if they are claimed, the absence of any comparative data do not necessarily overcome the rejections.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAEYOON KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631