DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Content of Specification
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION: See 37 CFR 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606. The title of the invention should be placed at the top of the first page of the specification unless the title is provided in an application data sheet. The title of the invention should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive, preferably from two to seven words. It may not contain more than 500 characters.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS: See 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP § 211 et seq.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT: See MPEP § 310.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT. See 37 CFR 1.71(g).
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM: The specification is required to include an incorporation-by-reference of electronic documents that are to become part of the permanent United States Patent and Trademark Office records in the file of a patent application. See 37 CFR 1.77(b)(5) and MPEP § 608.05. See also the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System posted on the USPTO website (https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2019LegalFrameworkPES.pdf) and MPEP § 502.05
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR. See 35 U.S.C. 102(b) and 37 CFR 1.77.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(c). The specification should set forth the Background of the Invention in two parts:
(1) Field of the Invention: A statement of the field of art to which the invention pertains. This statement may include a paraphrasing of the applicable U.S. patent classification definitions of the subject matter of the claimed invention. This item may also be titled “Technical Field.”
(2) Description of the Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98: A description of the related art known to the applicant and including, if applicable, references to specific related art and problems involved in the prior art which are solved by the applicant’s invention. This item may also be titled “Background Art.”
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(d). A brief summary or general statement of the invention as set forth in 37 CFR 1.73. The summary is separate and distinct from the abstract and is directed toward the invention rather than the disclosure as a whole. The summary may point out the advantages of the invention or how it solves problems previously existent in the prior art (and preferably indicated in the Background of the Invention). In chemical cases it should point out in general terms the utility of the invention. If possible, the nature and gist of the invention or the inventive concept should be set forth. Objects of the invention should be treated briefly and only to the extent that they contribute to an understanding of the invention.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S): See MPEP § 608.01(f). A reference to and brief description of the drawing(s) as set forth in 37 CFR 1.74.
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(g). A description of the preferred embodiment(s) of the invention as required in 37 CFR 1.71. The description should be as short and specific as is necessary to describe the invention adequately and accurately. Where elements or groups of elements, compounds, and processes, which are conventional and generally widely known in the field of the invention described, and their exact nature or type is not necessary for an understanding and use of the invention by a person skilled in the art, they should not be described in detail. However, where particularly complicated subject matter is involved or where the elements, compounds, or processes may not be commonly or widely known in the field, the specification should refer to another patent or readily available publication which adequately describes the subject matter.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS: See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP § 608.01(m). The claim or claims must commence on a separate sheet or electronic page (37 CFR 1.52(b)(3)). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate sub combinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01(i) - (p).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE: See 37 CFR 1.72 (b) and MPEP § 608.01(b). The abstract is a brief narrative of the disclosure as a whole, as concise as the disclosure permits, in a single paragraph preferably not exceeding 150 words, commencing on a separate sheet following the claims. In an international application which has entered the national stage (37 CFR 1.491(b)), the applicant need not submit an abstract commencing on a separate sheet if an abstract was published with the international application under PCT Article 21. The abstract that appears on the cover page of the pamphlet published by the International Bureau (IB) of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the abstract that will be used by the USPTO. See MPEP § 1893.03(e).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING: See 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 and MPEP §§ 2421 - 2431. The requirement for a sequence listing applies to all sequences disclosed in a given application, whether the sequences are claimed or not. See MPEP § 2422.01.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “valve free manner” in claim 3 is used by the claim to mean “the flow is through an open valve,” while the accepted meaning is “there is no valve in the flow path.” This is evidenced by the drawing; all of the flow passes through the 3 way valve (7). The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AEW Wassertechnologie GMBH (DE 20 2016 006 983).
Regarding claim 1, AEW (A) discloses a method for operating a heating system, in which a heating circuit medium is conveyed through an overall flow path (Figure 1,[0002]) of a heating circuit ([0026]), in which the heating circuit medium is conveyed at least through one of at least two sub-flow paths (13,18), belonging to the overall flow path (A), of the heating circuit, in which there is control over how much heating circuit medium is respectively conveyed via the sub-flow paths, and in which the heating circuit medium, in order to clean it of dirt, is routed through a filter (11, [0027]) provided in the overall flow path (A), of the heating circuit, characterized in that, when the heating system is started up, all of the heating circuit medium is routed via the sub-flow path (18, i.e. bypass, [0028]), which optionally has the at least variable flow resistances or a known and/or an unchanging flow resistance, referred to as reference flow path, and a conveying power reference value (i.e., limit value) is determined and saved, and that in order to check a state of fouling of the filter (11), during operation of the heating system, all of the heating circuit medium is once again routed via the reference flow path, which is used during the start-up, a conveying power value is determined, the latter is compared with the conveying power reference value, and, beginning with a predetermined deviation, a signal indicating a fouling of the filter is generated ([0028]).
Regarding claim 2, AEW (A) discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the heating circuit medium is conveyed through the heating circuit ([0026]) by means of a heating circuit pump ([0028], Figure 1) and a heating circuit medium quantity, which is conveyed through the heating circuit, is determined by means of a quantity measuring means (19), characterized in that the conveying power reference value and/or the conveying power value is optionally determined on the basis of the speed of the heating circuit pump and on the basis of the heating circuit medium quantity acquired by means of the quantity measuring means ([0015,0027], i.e., by the sensor).
Regarding claim 3, AEW (A) discloses the method according to claim 1 wherein, when the heating system is started up and/or when the state of fouling of the filter (11, Figure 1) is checked, the heating circuit medium is routed through the reference flow path (18, [0028], i.e., bypass), which is formed in a valve-free manner (Examiner’s note: this is interpreted to mean that the valves are in the open state).
Regarding claim 4, AEW (A) discloses the method according claim 1, wherein, when the heating system is started up and/or when the state of fouling of the filter (11, Figure 1) is checked, the heating circuit medium is routed through the reference flow path (18, [0028]), which is formed in a heat exchanger- free manner.
Regarding claim 5, AEW (A) discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein, the conveying power reference value determined when the heating system is started up is stored in an electronic control means ([0029], the limit value is compared to the signal generator which are both electric components) of the heating system.
Regarding claim 7, AEW (A) discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein, coming from the overall flow path (A, Figure 1), the heating circuit medium is optionally routed to the reference flow path (18) and/or to the other sub-flow path (13) by means of a main valve (14, above (10) in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, AEW (A) discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein, the heating circuit medium is supplied to the heating circuit (15) via a flow line (13) belonging to the overall flow path (A) and is discharged from the heating circuit (1) via a return line (13, above A in Figure 1) belonging to the overall flow path (A)
Regarding claim 9, AEW (A) discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein, the heating circuit medium is routed through the filter (11, Figure 1), which is arranged on the return line (A, 13) of the heating circuit ([0026]).
Regarding claim 10, AEW (A) discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein, the heating circuit medium is routed via a heat exchanger ([0002], i.e., heating systems contain heat exchanging means), which connects the return line (A at 13) to the feed line (13 above (10) in Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AEW Wassertechnologie GMBH (DE 20 2016 006 983) and Chapelle et al. (US 4,364,239).
Regarding claim 6, AEW (A) discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein, when the heating system is started up and/or when the state of fouling of the filter (11) is checked, the heating circuit medium is routed the reference flow path (18), but does not disclose the use of a buffer tank.
However, Chapelle (C) discloses a hot water supply system (Abstract) wherein the heating circuit medium is routed through a buffer storage (61), which is arranged in the reference flow path (C6,L31-43,18-62, Figure 4). It would have ben obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to include a buffer tank to ensure constant delivery of hot water to the recipient or for defrosting of the heat pump components in colder weather.
Conclusion
/JOHN E BARGERO/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/STEVEN B MCALLISTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762