DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 10/13/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/13/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Childress et al. (US 20160220716 A1) (cited in Applicant’s IDS dated 06/05/2023) in view of Burnell-Jones (hereinafter "Burnell") (US 20030085383 A1) (cited in Applicant’s IDS dated 06/05/2023).
Regarding claim 1, Childress teaches a vehicle lavatory monument assembly and disinfection system [0007] comprising:
an enclosure that includes a plurality of walls that cooperate to define a lavatory interior, wherein a door is positioned on one of the plurality of walls (Figs 2 and 3, depict the lavatory with 4 walls, and a door on one of the walls ([0009], [0035-0036]),
a first component positioned in the lavatory interior ([0033], reflective material 124 may be a reflective coating 125 applied to plurality of surfaces 128 inside lavatory [0036] = surfaces understood to be components), wherein the first component includes a first coating on an outer surface thereof [0033].
Childress does not teach wherein the first component includes a first visual indication coating on an outer surface thereof, wherein the first visual indication coating includes at least a first excitation additive, wherein the first excitation additive is configured to illuminate when irradiated by a first light that includes light waves within a predetermined wavelength range. One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with alerting users to the presence of harmful UV light during laboratory sterilization, motivating one towards Burnell.
Burnell teaches a phosphorescent resin which may be used to coat an article (para [0032]), wherein the coating is a visual indication coating (coating has luminescent properties, [0035]), wherein the first visual indication coating includes at least a first excitation additive [0033], and wherein the first excitation additive is configured to illuminate when irradiated by a first light that includes light waves within a predetermined wavelength range [0033].
Burnell is considered analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to the photochromatic coating arts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coating as taught by Childress to include the coating as taught by Burnell since Burnell teaches the coating to be used within a vehicle for emergency illumination [0054] and such coating would prevent users from entering an area being sterilization by UV light as a visual indication of sterilization would be provided and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Childress teaches the vehicle lavatory monument assembly of claim 1, the first excitation additive is a first fluorescing additive (Burnell, [0143]).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Childress iteaches the vehicle lavatory monument assembly of claim 2, wherein the the first visual indication coating includes a second excitation additive, and wherein the second excitation additive is a first phosphorescing additive (Burnell, [0033]).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Childress teaches the vehicle lavatory monument assembly of claim 1, wherein the first excitation additive is a phosphorescing additive (Burnell, [0033]).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Childress teaches the vehicle lavatory monument assembly of claim 5, wherein the phosphorescing additive is present in the first visual indication coating in a predetermined pattern (Burnell, [0054], teaches an application of the coating to be used for signage which is understood to be a predetermined pattern of words and symbols).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Childress teaches the vehicle lavatory monument assembly of claim 6, wherein the predetermined pattern is a word (Burnell, [0054], teaches an application of the coating to be used for signage which is understood to be a predetermined pattern of words and symbols).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Childress teaches the vehicle lavatory monument assembly of claim 6, wherein the predetermined pattern (Burnell, [0054], coating can be used for signage which is understood to be a predetermined pattern of words and symbols) also includes a first fluorescing additive (Burnell, [0033]). Modified Childress does not teach wherein the predetermined pattern defines a predetermined pattern portion of the first visual indication coating.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the fluorescing coatings and predetermined patterns as taught by Modified Childress so that the predetermined pattern defines a predetermined pattern portion of the first visual indication coating, so that the signage and symbols have a greater visual contrasts and better inform a user that the coating is current being exposed to UV light and this involves the rearrangement of parts which has already been found to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Childress et al. (US 20160220716 A1) in view of Burnell (US 20030085383 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Walck et al. (US 20060066508 A1) (cited in Applicant’s IDS dated 06/05/2023).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Childress teaches the vehicle lavatory monument assembly of claim 2 wherein the first fluorescing additive is configured to emit a first color (Burnell, [0143] and wherein pigments can be added to emit a variety of colors ([0086, [0176]), but does not teach wherein the first visual indication coating includes a second fluorescing additive, and wherein the second fluorescing additive is configured to emit a second color. One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with a user visually identifying what wavelength of UV radiation is being used to sterilize the lavatory, motivating one to turn towards Walck.
Walck teaches a display system, comprising a fluorescent material (understood to be a coating) having an absorption band carried on a support, wherein the support is a laminated article having a first ply [0040], having a first major surface (48) and a second major surface (50) with the fluorescent material (11) deposited on one of the major surfaces [0049]. Walck teaches wherein multiple fluorescent materials may be applied to the substrate by any conventional coating method to emit different colors when exposed to different wavelengths [0067].
Walck is considered analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to the photochromatic coating arts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first visual indication coating as taught by Modified Childress with the a second fluorescing additive as taught by Walck to provide a visual indication of what wavelength of UV light is being used to sterilize the laboratory (and prevent a user from entering the when visually seeing an indication that a more harmful wavelength of UV light is present) and since Walck teaches the selective use of fluorescent coatings configured to emit different colors when exposed to different wavelengths [0067] and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Claim(s) 8, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Childress et al. (US 20160220716 A1) in view of Burnell (US 20030085383 A1) and Thiagarajan (US 20160287758 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Childress teaches the vehicle lavatory monument assembly of claim 1, wherein the first visual indication coating includes an antimicrobial additive (Burnell, “the following descriptions are examples of materials that may be utilized to practice the present invention [0145] ... LUMILUX(R) Green N-PM 50090 long afterglow ZnS:Cu (Zinc Sulfide: copper) pigment [0172]; copper is well known in the art to have antimicrobial properties as exemplified by Thiagarajan in para [0047]).
Regarding claim 10, Childress teaches a vehicle lavatory monument assembly and disinfection system [0007] comprising:
an enclosure that includes a plurality of walls that cooperate to define a lavatory interior, wherein a door is positioned on one of the plurality of walls (Figs 2 and 3, depict the lavatory with 4 walls, and a door on one of the walls ([0009], [0035-0036]),
a first component positioned in the lavatory interior ([0033], reflective material 124 may be a reflective coating 125 applied to plurality of surfaces 128 inside lavatory [0036] = surfaces understood to be components), wherein the first component includes a first coating on an outer surface thereof [0033].
Childress does not teach wherein the first component includes a first visual indication coating on an outer surface thereof, wherein the first visual indication coating includes at least an antimicrobial additive, a first excitation additive, wherein the first excitation additive is configured to illuminate when irradiated by a first light that includes light waves within a predetermined wavelength range. One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with a alerting users to the presence of harmful UV light during lavatory sterilization, motivating one towards Burnell.
Burnell teaches a phosphorescent resin which may be used to coat an article (para [0032]), wherein the coating is a visual indication coating (coating has luminescent properties, [0035]), wherein the first visual indication coating includes at least a first excitation additive [0033], and wherein the first excitation additive is configured to illuminate when irradiated by a first light that includes light waves within a predetermined wavelength range [0033].
Burnell is considered analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to the photochromatic coating arts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coating as taught by Childress to include the coating as taught by Burnell since Burnell teaches the coating to be used within a vehicle for emergency illumination [0054] and such coating would prevent users from entering an area being sterilization by UV light as a visual indication of sterilization would be provided and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Accordingly, Modified Childress teaches a first fluorescing additive (Burnell, [0143]) and a first phosphorescing additive (Burnell, [0033]), wherein the first fluorescing additive and the first phosphorescing additive are configured to illuminate when irradiated by a first light that includes light waves within a predetermined wavelength range (Burnell, [0033], [0143]), wherein the phosphorescing additive is present in the first visual indication coating in a predetermined pattern (Burnell, [0054], teaches an application of the coating to be used for signage which is understood to be a predetermined pattern of words and symbols), and wherein the first fluorescing additive includes an antimicrobial additive (Burnell, “the following descriptions are examples of materials that may be utilized to practice the present invention [0145] ... LUMILUX(R) Green N-PM 50090 long afterglow ZnS:Cu (Zinc Sulfide: copper) pigment [0172]; copper is well known in the art to have antimicrobial properties as exemplified by Thiagarajan in para [0047]).
Regarding claim 12, Modified Childress teaches the vehicle lavatory monument assembly of claim 10, wherein the predetermined pattern (Burnell, [0054], coating can be used for signage which is understood to be a predetermined pattern of words and symbols) also includes a first fluorescing additive (Burnell, [0033]). Modified Childress does not teach wherein the predetermined pattern defines a predetermined pattern portion of the first visual indication coating.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the fluorescing coatings and predetermined patterns as taught by Modified Childress so that the predetermined pattern defines a predetermined pattern portion of the first visual indication coating, so that the signage and symbols have a greater visual contrast and better inform a user that the coating is current being exposed to UV light and this involves the rearrangement of parts which has already been found to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Childress et al. (US 20160220716 A1) in view of Burnell (US 20030085383 A1) and Thiagarajan (US 20160287758 A1), as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Walck et al. (US 20060066508 A1) (cited in Applicant’s IDS dated 06/05/2023).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Childress teaches the vehicle lavatory monument assembly of claim 10 wherein the first fluorescing additive is configured to emit a first color (Burnell, [0143] and wherein pigments can be added to emit a variety of colors ([0086, [0176]), but does not teach wherein the first visual indication coating includes a second fluorescing additive, and wherein the second fluorescing additive is configured to emit a second color. One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with a user visually identifying what wavelength of UV radiation is being used to sterilize the lavatory, motivating one to turn towards Walck.
Walck teaches a display system, comprising a fluorescent material (understood to be a coating) having an absorption band carried on a support, wherein the support is a laminated article having a first ply [0040], having a first major surface (48) and a second major surface (50) with the fluorescent material (11) deposited on one of the major surfaces [0049]. Walck teaches wherein multiple fluorescent materials may be applied to the substrate by any conventional coating method to emit different colors when exposed to different wavelengths [0067].
Walck is considered analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to the photochromatic coating arts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first visual indication coating as taught by Modified Childress with the a second fluorescing additive as taught by Walck to provide a visual indication of what wavelength of UV light is being used to sterilize the laboratory (and prevent a user from entering the when visually seeing an indication that a more harmful wavelength of UV light is present) and since Walck teaches the selective use of fluorescent coatings configured to emit different colors when exposed to different wavelengths [0067] and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210402033 A1 teaches a sterilization indicator with a color sensor configured to respond to UV light
US 20220096680 A1 teaches a system for cleaning including a photochromatic indicator configured to sense UV light
US 20180369440 A1 teaches a cleanliness indication system comprising a photoluminescent indicator responsive to UV light.
/N.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1758 /MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758