DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Modee et al. (US 2022/0388285).
Considering Claim 1: Modee et al. teaches a sealant film comprising two polyethylene outer layers (¶0031) that contain virgin polyethylene (¶0043-44); and a core layer comprising recycled polyethylene between the exterior layers (¶0006).
Considering Claim 6: Modee et al. teaches incorporating edge portions of the film comprising an antioxidant in the core layer (Table 1).
Considering Claims 9 and 10: Modee et al. teaches the core layer as comprising virgin linear low density polyethylene (Table 1).
Claims 1, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gurewitz (US Pat. 5,364,695).
Considering Claim 1: Gurewitz teaches a sealant film comprising an outer layer, a core layer, and an inner layer (1:64-67), where the outer layer (3:40-55), inner layer (5:61-6:11), and core layer (5:44-60) are made of polyethylene, with the core layer comprising recycled polyethylene (5:44-60).
Considering Claims 7 and 8: Gurewitz teaches the inner layer as comprising a white pigment to provide whiteness to the layer (Claim 25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modee et al. (US 2022/0388285) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tikusis et al. (US Pat. 9,340,665).
Considering Claim 2: Modee et al. teaches the film of claim 1 as shown above.
Modee et al. does not teach the presence of metal components in the core layer. However, Tikusis et al. teaches adding calcium or zinc to a polyethylene layer (3:32-50). Modee et al. and Tikusis et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polyethylene films. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the compounds of Tikusis et al. to the film layer of Modee et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Tikusis et al. suggests, to recued the generation of hydrochloric acid during heating (3:32-50).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modee et al. (US 2022/0388285) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakagawa et al. (US 2020/0197555).
Considering Claims 3-5: Modee et al. teaches the film of claim 1 as shown above.
Modee et al. does not teach adding a deodorizer to the film. However, Nakagawa et al. teaches adding a deodorizer such as a zeolite (¶0057) to any layer of a multilayer polyethylene stretch film (¶0136; Claim 19). Modee et al. and Nakagawa et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polyethylene films. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the deodorizer of Nakagawa et al. to one of the layers of Modee et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Nakagawa et al. suggests, to provide deodorizing properties to the film (¶0010).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gurewitz (US Pat. 5,364,695) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tikusis et al. (US Pat. 9,340,665).
Considering Claim 2: Gurewitz teaches the film of claim 1 as shown above.
Gurewitz does not teach the presence of metal components in the core layer. However, Tikusis et al. teaches adding calcium or zinc to a polyethylene layer (3:32-50). Gurewitz and Tikusis et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polyethylene films. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the compounds of Tikusis et al. to the film layer of Gurewitz, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Tikusis et al. suggests, to recued the generation of hydrochloric acid during heating (3:32-50).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gurewitz (US Pat. 5,364,695) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakagawa et al. (US 2020/0197555).
Considering Claims 3-5: Gurewitz teaches the film of claim 1 as shown above.
Gurewitz does not teach adding a deodorizer to the film. However, Nakagawa et al. teaches adding a deodorizer such as a zeolite (¶0057) to any layer of a multilayer polyethylene stretch film (¶0136; Claim 19). Gurewitz and Nakagawa et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polyethylene films. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the deodorizer of Nakagawa et al. to one of the layers of Gurewitz, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Nakagawa et al. suggests, to provide deodorizing properties to the film (¶0010).
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modee et al. (US 2022/0388285) in view of Kuramoto et al. (KR 1020160147721). Note: A machine translation is being used for KR 1020160147721.
Considering Claims 11-15: Modee et al. teaches a sealant film comprising two polyethylene outer layers (¶0031) that contain virgin polyethylene (¶0043-44); and a core layer comprising recycled polyethylene between the exterior layers (¶0006).
Modee et al. does not teach the claimed base material film. However, Kuramoto et al. teaches forming a packaging bag comprising sealable polyethylene film on a polyethylene terephthalate, polyethylene or nylon base material (pg. 13), where the base material comprises a printed layer (pg. 13). Kuramoto et al. teaches forming the bag by heat sealing two laminate layers (pg. 14). Modee et al. and Kuramoto et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely heat sealable films. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the film of Modee et al. in a packaging material, as in Kuramoto et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Kuramoto et al. suggests, the packaging bags have a wide variety of commercial uses (pg. 2).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767