DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 07/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 23-39 & 41-49 are pending in the application. Claims 1-22 & 40 are cancelled. Claim 49 is entered as “New”.
Claim Objections
Claims 23-35, 41-42 & 48 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Claim 23 should read --An administration device for administration of a fluid, the administration device comprising:
a retainer for holding a container containing the fluid, and
an actuation mechanism comprising a plunger rod, a first actuation part and a second actuation part, the second actuation part being movably attached to the retainer,
wherein the plunger rod is adapted to act on a stopper movably arranged within the container,
wherein the first actuation part can be manually actuated in order to axially move the plunger rod relative to the retainer from an initial position to an administration position and from the administration position to a final position,
wherein the second actuation part is configured to axially block at least one of the plunger rod or the first actuation part in the administration position of the plunger rod, wherein the second actuation part is to be actuated in order to axially release at least one of the plunger rod or the first actuation part such that the first actuation part can be actuated and the plunger rod can be moved from the administration position to the final position, and
wherein the plunger rod comprises a plurality of sides, wherein the shape of some or all sides of the plurality of sides varies along a main axis of the plunger rod.--
Claim 27 should read --The administration device according to claim 23, wherein the plunger rod comprises a cross section that varies along [[a]]the main axis of the plunger rod.--
Claim 30 should read --The administration device according to claim 23, wherein actuation of the first actuation part is needed before actuating the second actuation part in order to move the plunger rod from the initial position to the administration position, and/or wherein the first actuation part is to be actuated after actuating the second actuation part in order to move the plunger rod from the administration position to the final position.—
Claim 35 should read -- The administration device according to claim 23, wherein the actuation mechanism comprises a securing member, wherein the securing member is configured to block at least one of a back-movement of the plunger rod or the first actuation part at least in one of the initial position or the administration position of the plunger rod; and wherein the securing member is configured to block the second actuation part before reaching the administration position, and to automatically unblock actuation of the second actuation part when the administration position is reached.—
Claim 41 should read -- The administration device according to claim 36, wherein the securing member engages the plunger rod and/or wherein the securing member is configured to block [[a]]the back-movement of the plunger rod, at least in at least one of (i) the initial position and[[/]] ii) the administration position of the plunger rod.—
Claim 42 should read --The administration device according to claim 36, wherein the securing member engages the second actuation part and/or, wherein the securing member is configured to
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30-33 & 35-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 31, the phrase “the administration position and/or wherein” should read -- the administration position, and/or wherein.
The limitation “the second actuation part is blocked before reaching the administration position” is indefinite. The limitation is incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: the direction in which the second actuation part is blocked. Additionally, Claim 23 describes the second actuation part blocking either the plunger rod or the first actuation part, but does not describe the second actuation part ever being blocked. Additionally, the specification never describes the second actuation part being blocked. As such, it is not clear if the phrase is meant to define a new function, or if the phrase should have been “the first actuation part is blocked in the initial position”.
As to Claim 44, the limitation “the plunger rod is configured to tension and/or widen the securing member during movement of the plunger rod from the initial position towards the administration position” is indefinite. Claim 36, upon which Claim 44 depends, claims the securing member is radially pretensioned against the plunger rod during movement of the plunger rod from the initial position towards the administration position. When considering this, it appears the phrase the plunger rod is configured to tension…the securing member during movement…is superfluous language. As such, it is not clear why the portion of the limitation is Claim 44 is provided, rendering the claim indefinite. Examiner suggests removing the portion of the limitation pertaining to tension to overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hawson (U.S. PGPub 2020/0188589).
As to Claim 23, Hawson teaches an administration device (100) for administration of a fluid (Paragraph 0001, where one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude a solution within the context of the Hawson reference is comprised of a fluid), the administration device (100) comprising:
a retainer (44) for holding (as shown in Figure 3) a container (30) containing (Paragraph 0076) the fluid (the solution described in Paragraph 0001), and
an actuation mechanism comprising a plunger rod (76), a first actuation part (72) and a second actuation part (86), the second actuation part (86) being movably attached to (since retainer 44 is fixed to second housing element 88, as described in Paragraph 0099, and second actuation part 86 rotates relative to second housing element 88, as described in Paragraph 0115, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude second actuation part 86 is “movably attached to” retainer 44) the retainer (44),
wherein the plunger rod is adapted to act on (Paragraph 0093) a stopper (74) movably arranged (Paragraphs 0092/0093) within (as shown in Figure 3) the container (30),
wherein the first actuation part (72) can be manually actuated (Paragraph 0092) in order to axially move (Paragraph 0092) the plunger rod (76) relative to (since container 30 is formed integral with protective outer barrel 44, as described in Paragraph 0080, and plunger rod 76 moves relative to container 30, as described in Paragraph 0092, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude plunger rod 76 moves relative to retainer 44) the retainer (44) from an initial position (Figure 34a) to an administration position (Figure 34b) and from the administration position (Figure 34b) to a final position (Figure 34d),
wherein the second actuation part (86) is configured to axially block (via 146, as described in Paragraphs 0111/0114) at least one of the plunger rod (76, via blocking first actuation part 72) or the first actuation part (72, where 144 is part of first actuation part 72; see Figure 12) in the administration position (Figure 34b) of the plunger rod (76), wherein the second actuation part (86) is to be actuated (Paragraph 0115; as shown in Figure 34c) in order to axially release (Paragraph 0126) at least one of the plunger rod (76) or the first actuation part (72) such that the first actuation part (72) can be actuated and the plunger rod (76) can be moved from (Paragraph 0126) the administration position (Figure 34b) to the final position (Figure 34d), and
wherein the plunger rod (76) comprises a plurality of sides (as shown in Figure 19b), wherein the shape of some or all sides (the two sides –upper and lower-- shown in Figure 19b) varies along (the shape changes within stopper 74, as viewed in Figure 19b) a main axis (the longitudinal axis through the center of 76, as viewed in Figure 19b) of the plunger rod (76).
As to Claim 24, Hawson teaches all the limitations of Claim 23, and continues to teach the plunger rod (76) axially extends through at least one (as shown in Figures 2/3) of the retainer (44) or the second actuation part (86).
As to Claim 25, Hawson teaches all the limitations of Claim 23, and continues to teach the first actuation part (72) can be actuated by pushing (as shown in Figure 34) the first actuation part (72) towards (as shown in Figure 34) at least one of the second actuation part (86) or the retainer (44).
As to Claim 26, Hawson teaches all the limitations of Claim 23, and continues to teach the second actuation part (86) can be actuated by rotating (as shown in Figure 34) the second actuation part (86) relative to (as shown in Figure 34) the retainer (44) and/or around (as shown in Figure 34) the plunger rod (76).
As to Claim 27, Hawson teaches all the limitations of Claim 23, and continues to teach the plunger rod (76) comprises a cross section (the cross section shown in Figure 19b) that varies (as shown in Figures 19a/19b) along a main axis (the left and right axis of 76, as viewed in Figure 19b) of the plunger rod (76).
As to Claim 28, Hawson teaches all the limitations of Claim 23, and continues to teach the second actuation part (86) comprises an opening (90), wherein the second actuation part (86) is to be actuated to align (Paragraphs 0096/0115) the opening (90) with the plunger rod (76) such that the plunger rod (76) can move through (as shown in Figure 34) the opening (90).
As to Claim 29, Hawson teaches all the limitations of Claim 23, and continues to teach the first actuation part (72) can be actuated in order to move (as shown between Figure 34a to Figure 34b) the plunger rod (76) from the initial position (Figure 34a) to the administration position (Figure 34b) and subsequently and/or after actuating (as shown in Figure 34c) the second actuation part (86) from the administration position (Figure 34b) to the final position (Figure 34d).
As to Claim 30, Hawson teaches all the limitations of Claim 23, and continues to teach actuation (Paragraph 0092) of the first actuation part (72) is needed (as shown in Figure 34) before actuating (Paragraph 0115; as shown in Figure 34c) the second actuation part (86) in order to move (as shown in Figure 34) the plunger rod (76) from the initial position (Figure 34a) to the administration position (Figure 34b) and/or wherein the first actuation part is to be actuated again and/or after actuating the second actuation part in order to move the plunger rod from the administration position to the final position. Since the first option is taught, the remaining option does not need to be taught.
As to Claim 31, Hawson teaches all the limitations of Claim 23, and continues to teach the second actuation part is blocked before reaching the administration position and/or wherein the second actuation part (86) can be only actuated upon (Paragraph 0126) actuation of (as shown in Figure 34a) the first actuation part (72). Since the last option is taught, the remaining option does not need to be taught.
As to Claim 32, Hawson teaches all the limitations of Claim 23, and continues to teach the second actuation part (86) is configured to axially block (via 96/102, as described in Paragraph 0097) the plunger rod (76, via blocking first actuation part 72) in the initial position (Figure 34a) of the plunger rod (76), wherein the second actuation part (86) is to be actuated (Paragraph 0115; as shown in Figure 34c) in order to unblock (Paragraph 0126) the plunger rod (76) such that the plunger rod (76) can be moved from the initial position (Figure 34a) to the administration position (Figure 34b).
As to Claim 33, Hawson teaches all the limitations of Claim 23, and continues to teach the second actuation part (86) is configured to axially block (via 146, as described in Paragraphs 0111/0114) the plunger rod (76, via blocking first actuation part 72) in the administration position (Figure 34b) of the plunger rod (76), wherein the second actuation part (86) is to be actuated (Paragraph 0115; as shown in Figure 34c) in order to unblock (Paragraph 0126) the plunger rod (76) such that the plunger rod (76) can be moved from the administration position (Figure 34b) to the final position (Figure 34d).
As to Claim 34, Hawson teaches all the limitations of Claim 23, and continues to teach the actuation mechanism comprises a securing member (98) for securing (Paragraph 0098) at least one of the plunger rod (76), the first actuation part (72) or the second actuation part (86).
As to Claim 35, Hawson teaches all the limitations of Claim 23, and continues to teach the actuation mechanism comprises a securing member (98), wherein the securing member (98) is configured to block at least one of a back-movement (movement in the proximal direction, as described in Paragraph 0098; Figure 19b shows the securing member preventing movement in both the proximal and distal directions since guide element 92 is placed within channels 96) of the plunger rod (76) or the first actuation part (72) at least in one of (the securing member 98 may prevent movement in both of the initial and administration positions depending on which of the channels 96 of the plunger rod 76 the guide element 92 is placed within) the initial position (Figure 34a) or the administration position (Figure 34b) of the plunger rod (76) and wherein the securing member (98) is configured to block (via guide element 92 being placed within channels 96) the second actuation part (86) before reaching the administration position (Figure 34b) and to automatically unblock actuation (as shown between Figures 34b/34c, where second actuation part 86 is rotated) of the second actuation part (86) when the administration position (Figure 34b) is reached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawson, in view of Shetty (U.S. PGPub 2016/0220761).
As to Claim 48, Hawson teaches all the limitations of Claim 23, and continues to teach the administration device (100) is configured for ophthalmic injection device for intraocular use (Paragraph 0001) administration of the fluid (Paragraph 0001).
Hawson does not teach explicitly state which part of the eye the device is intended to be used on, so does not explicitly teach the administration device is configured for intravitreal administration of the fluid.
Shetty describes a similar administration device, and teaches the administration device (Figure 1) is configured for intravitreal administration of the fluid (Paragraph 0003).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the administration device, as taught by Hawson, for intravitreal administration, as taught by Shetty, for accurate dosing to prevent potential patient harm (Paragraph 0003).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 36-39, 41-43, 45-47 & 49 are allowed.
As to Claims 36 & 49, the prior art of record teaches each of the claimed limitations except for “the securing member is (being) radially pretensioned against the plunger rod during movement of the plunger rod from the initial position towards the administration position”. Therefore, the prior art of record fails to disclose each of the limitations of Claims 36 & 49. The closest art of record is Hawson (cited above). However, Hawson describes a securing member which rotates to block structure movement. Hawson makes no mention of tension, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not conclude the securing member is placed in tension as claimed. It would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hawson without significant structural modification and without the benefit of hindsight. Therefore, this limitation, as claimed in Claims 36 & 49, is neither anticipated nor made obvious by the prior art of record.
Claims 37-39, 41-43 & 45-47 depend on Claim 36, so are also allowed.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Claim 44 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
Regarding the 102 rejection for Claim 23, Applicant argues Hawson does not teach the new limitation which claims the plunger rod sides change shape, citing Hawson Figures 1/12. Examiner disagrees.
As shown in Figures 12/19b, plunger rod 76 clearly changes shape at portion 78. As such, Hawson anticipates each of the limitations of Claim 23.
Applicant continues to argue what appears to be the rejection for Claim 35 –note the rejection for Claims 36/41 is moot— arguing Hawson does not teach back-movement of the plunger rod or the first actuation part. Examiner disagrees.
Whereas Hawson does not explicitly use the term “back-movement”, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude based on Figure 19b, the plunger rod 76 and the first actuation part 72 are prevented from moving forwards (to the left in Figure 19b) and backwards (to the right in Figure 19b) due to guide element 92 interacting with channels 96. Also see Paragraph 0097. As such, Hawson anticipated each of the limitations of Claim 35.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID N BRANDT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783