DETAILED ACTION
Pending Claims
Claims 9-25 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, 1st paragraph (a)
Claims 9-12 and 14-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The instant application is a national stage application. A preliminary amendment was filed on May 30, 2023. The amendment removed the following limitation from the independent embodiment (see original claim 1) and moved it to a dependent claim (see new claim 13): “wherein the copolymer is incapable of dissolving at 1.0% (w/v) in water at 20°C and capable of dissolving at 0.1% (w/v) or more in boiling water”. As a result, the claimed invention now embraces copolymers that do not satisfy this property. However, the international application linked to the instant national stage application only supports copolymers that satisfy this property. This is a new matter rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 10, 12, 14, 15, 17, 18, 20, 21, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshioka et al. (JP 2011-052055 A).
Regarding claims 9, 10, and 12, Yoshioka et al. disclose the following copolymer of structure (4):
(see paragraphs 0025-0026). This anticipates the modifier/copolymer set forth in claims (9, 10 & 12).
Regarding claims 14, 15, 17, 18, 20, 21, 23, and 24, Yoshioka et al. disclose: (14 & 15) a silicone hydrogel composition, comprising: the copolymer and a base composition, wherein a content of the copolymer is from 0.05 part by mass to 2 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the base composition (paragraphs 0033 & 0049); (17 & 18) a silicone hydrogel, which is obtained by curing the silicone hydrogel composition (paragraphs 0043 & 0049); (20 & 21) an ophthalmic device, comprising the silicone hydrogel (paragraphs 0044 & 0054-0055); and (23 & 24) wherein the ophthalmic device is a soft contact lens (paragraphs 0028-0029).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iso et al. (US 2018/0244911 A1).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Iso et al. (US 2018/0244911 A1).
Regarding claim 9, synthesis example 6 of Iso et al. anticipates claim (9) (see Table 1; see also paragraphs 0135 & 0138).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yoshioka et al. (JP 2011-052055 A).
Regarding claim 13, the teachings of Yoshioka et al. are as set forth above and incorporated herein. They fail to explicitly disclose that: (13) the copolymer is incapable of dissolving at 1.0% (w/v) in water at 20°C and capable of dissolving at 0.1% (w/v) or more in boiling water. However, the skilled artisan would have expected the copolymer of Yoshioka et al. to satisfy this property because the teachings of Yoshioka et al. satisfy all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed invention. At the very least, the skilled artisan would have expected the teachings of Yoshioka et al. to obviously embrace embodiments capable of satisfying this property because the teachings of Yoshioka et al. satisfy all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed invention.
Therefore if not anticipated by Yoshioka et al., the skilled artisan would have expected the teachings of Yoshioka et al. to obviously embrace embodiments capable of satisfying the instantly claimed property because the teachings of Yoshioka et al. satisfy all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed invention.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Iso et al. (US 2018/0244911 A1).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Iso et al. (US 2018/0244911 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the teachings of Iso et al. are as set forth above and incorporated herein. They fail to explicitly disclose that: (13) the copolymer is incapable of dissolving at 1.0% (w/v) in water at 20°C and capable of dissolving at 0.1% (w/v) or more in boiling water. However, the skilled artisan would have expected the copolymer of Iso et al. to satisfy this property because the teachings of Iso et al. satisfy all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed invention. At the very least, the skilled artisan would have expected the teachings of Iso et al. to obviously embrace embodiments capable of satisfying this property because the teachings of Iso et al. satisfy all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed invention.
Therefore if not anticipated by Iso et al., the skilled artisan would have expected the teachings of Iso et al. to obviously embrace embodiments capable of satisfying the instantly claimed property because the teachings of Iso et al. satisfy all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iso et al. (US 2018/0244911 A1).
Regarding claims 10 and 12, the teachings of Iso et al. are as set forth above and incorporated herein. Their synthesis example 6, derived from a “MPC” A-unit and a “TRIS” B-unit (see Table 1), fails to: (10 & 12) further contain a constituent unit based on a thermally reactive monomer or a photoreactive monomer "c". However, the general teachings of Iso et al. contemplate the use of multiple A-units (see paragraphs 0033-0034). These include a “MPC” unit represented by formula (A2) and reactive monomers (A3)-(A6) (see paragraphs 0034-0057).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the copolymer of Iso et al. with an additional thermally reactive monomer or a photoreactive monomer "c" because: (a) synthesis example 6 of Iso et al. is derived from a “MPC” A-unit and a “TRIS” B-unit; (b) the general teachings of Iso et al. contemplate the use of multiple A-units; and (c) the multiple A-units of Iso et al. include a “MPC” unit represented by formula (A2) and reactive monomers (A3)-(A6).
Double Patenting
Claims 9-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-21 of copending Application No. 18/039,567 (US 2024/0010777 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claims 9, 10, 12, and 13 are anticipated by the copolymer featured in the method of copending claims 9-21.
Claim 11 is anticipated by the copolymer featured in the method of copending claims 10-18, 20, and 21.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Aside from the ODP rejection, claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16, 19, 22, and 25 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Yoshioka et al. (JP 2011-052055 A) and Iso et al. (US 2018/0244911 A1) fail to teach or suggest the instantly claimed modifier/copolymer, wherein the monomer "c" is glycidyl methacrylate, methacryloyloxybenzophenone, or 4-(4-azidobenzoyloxymethyl)vinylbenzene.
International Search Report
The international search report cited one X-reference. The US-equivalent publication of the X-reference has been applied as prior art.
Communication
/MICHAEL J FEELY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766
January 9, 2026