DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11-14 are pending as amended on 7/20/2026. Claims 9 and 11-14 stand withdrawn from consideration.
The rejection below has been modified to reflect the incorporation of limitations from previously presented claims 4 and 10 into claim 1. The modification to the grounds of rejection were necessitated by Applicant’s amendment, and therefore, this action is properly made final.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeol et al (WO 2018/197157) in view of Duckworth et al (US 2023/0257505; only portions of Duckworth which were described in GB 2010909.6 have been relied upon in rejecting the presently claimed subject matter).
As to claims 1-3, 5 and 7, Jeol discloses an additive manufacturing method for making a 3D object comprising extruding a part material in the form of filaments to print layers of the 3D object [0002-4]. The part material includes a PEEK polymer comprising at least 96 mol% (or all) repeat units of:
, based on the total number of moles in the polymer [0029-33].
Jeol teaches that each phenylene moiety of the RPEEK recurring unit may independently from one another have a 1,2-, a 1,3- or a 1,4- linkage to the other phenylene moieties [0030]. Jeol exemplifies PEEK having 1,4- linkages formed from 4,4’-difluorobenzophenone with p-hydroquinone [0082], however, Jeol fails to specifically teach a polymer having a combination of units with 1,4-phenylene linkages (according to instant (A-1)) and units with 1,2- linkages (according to instant (B-1)).
Like Jeol, Duckworth discloses a polymer which is particularly useful in filament fusion additive manufacturing (AM) processes [0063-65], wherein a thin filament of polymer (corresponding to instant part M) is extruded to build up a component layer by layer into a 3D component shape [0065]. Duckworth discloses that PEEK has a suitably high Tg of 143 C to enable its use for high temperature applications without loss of crystallinity, and that it is the material of choice for many applications because of its outstanding chemical and mechanical properties, but its melting temperature (Tm) of 343 C is much higher than desirable because of the high temperatures needed to process the PEEK in its molten state [0009].
Duckworth discloses copolymers which have repeating units corresponding to instant RPEEK (units having 1,4-linkages according to instant A-1), instant RPEoEK (units having 1,2-linkages according to instant B-1), as well as polyetherdiphenylether ketone (RPEDEK) units. (Like in Jeol, the PEEK units in Duckworth’s copolymer are derived from reaction of 4,4’-difluorobenzophenone with dihydroxybenzene [0039].) Duckworth teaches that the PEEK units (of formula I) consist of 50-90 mol% 1,4-linked units of formula III, and 10-50 mol% 1,3- or 1,2- linked units of formula IV or V [0026]. Duckworth provides data in Table 4 (p 9) for sets of copolymers wherein the content of PEDEK units is held constant at 10, 25 or 40 percent. In each set of copolymers, the ratio of RPEEK units to RoPEEK and/or RmPEEK units is varied. Duckworth’s data shows that (with the PEDEK comonomer content held constant), as the amount of RoPEEK and/or RmPEEK increases relative to RPEEK, the melting temperature of the copolymer substantially decreases and there is some reduction in crystallinity, while the Tg of the copolymer does not decrease substantially [0116-0121].
Considering Duckworth’s disclosure, one having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, for a polymer having repeat units of formula (J’-A) derived from 4,4-difluorobenzophenone and dihydroxybenzene
, the properties of the polymer, such as melting temperature and crystallinity, must depend on the relative contents of units having 1,2-, 1,3- and 1,4- linkages [0030]. Given Duckworth’s disclosure establishing that the ratio of 1,4- linkages (RPEEK) to 1,2 or 1,3- linkages (RoPEEK/RmPEEK) in a polymer according to formula J-A as taught by Jeol is a result effective variable, the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select an appropriate ratio of 1,4 (PEEK) to 1,2- or 1,3 (oPEEK or mPEEK) linkages in a polymer according to Jeol’s formula (J’-A) in order to achieve a desired decrease in the melting temperature relative to a 1,4-linked PEEK homopolymer (thereby improving processability), while also maintaining a desirably high glass transition temperature and crystallinity for an intended application.
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art, therefore, to have carried out an additive manufacturing method for making a 3D object comprising extruding a filament part material (M) comprising a polymer, such polymer comprising all (J’-A) repeat units, as taught by Jeol, by combining 1,4-linked (J’-A) units (i.e., RPEEK) and 1,2-linked (J’-A) units (i.e., RPEoEK) in any appropriate ratio within Duckworth’s disclosed range of 90/10 to 50/50 RPEEK/RPEoEK, thereby arriving at the presently claimed subject matter. [In a polymer comprising all (J’-A) repeat units, as taught by Jeol, any additional repeat unit different from RPEEK and RPEoEK is absent, as recited in instant claim 1.]
As to the recited 1 to 80 wt% of at least one PEEK (co)polymer recited in claim 1, and as to claim 7: Jeol further discloses forming a blend of at least two PEEK polymers of different molecular weight to allow the manufacture of 3D objects presenting improved mechanical properties [0011, 26, 41]. Jeol teaches an embodiment wherein 20 to 50 wt% of the blend is a PEEK polymer having a Mw ranging from 50,000-85,000, and 50 to 80 wt% of the blend is a PEEK polymer having a Mw ranging from 85,000 to 120,000 [0041]. In an embodiment utilizing a blend of 20-50 wt% PEEK-PEoEK copolymer having a Mw of 50,000-85,000 and 50 to 80 wt% of PEEK-PEoEK copolymer having a Mw ranging from 85,000 to 120,000, as suggested by modified Jeol, either one of the polymers in the blend can be considered to correspond to the presently recited “PEEK-PEoEK copolymer,” while the other polymer having a different molecular weight can be considered a polymer which is distinct (in view of the different Mw) from the PEEK-PEoEK copolymer (as recited in claim 7), and, which is a PEEK (co)polymer (as recited in claim 1).
As to claim 6, modified Jeol suggests a method according to claim 1, as set forth above. Jeol further discloses an embodiment wherein the part material comprises 0.1 to 30 wt% of at least one additive, such as fillers etc… [0023, 27]. See also claim 11 on p 32, reciting a range of 0.1 to 30 wt%, which falls within the presently claimed range.
As to claim 8, modified Jeol suggests a method according to claim 1, as set forth above. Jeol discloses a filament having a cylindrical geometry [0058] and a diameter varying between 0.5 mm and 5 mm [0059].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/20/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments that the rejection under 35 USC 112, the rejection under 35 USC 103 over Duckworth, and the rejections on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting have been overcome by the amendment incorporating claims 4 and 10 into claim 1 are persuasive. These rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection under 35 USC 103 over Jeol in view of Duckworth are applicable to the rejection set forth above.
Applicant argues (p 11) that Duckworth does not teach a PEEK-PEoEK copolymer meeting the limitations of previous claim 4 which are now added to claim 1 (i.e., no more than 2 mol% of a repeat unit which differs from RPEEK and RPEoEK). The examiner agrees that Duckworth discloses a copolymer which further comprises RPEDEK repeat units, and therefore, the polymer taught by Duckworth does not meet amended claim 1 (note that previous claim 4 was not rejected over Duckworth alone).
However, Applicant’s argument does not properly consider the way Duckworth was relied on as a secondary reference to modify primary reference Jeol. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Because Applicant’s argument does not address the reasoning set forth in paragraphs 25-27 of the previous action, Applicant’s argument is not sufficient to overcome the rejection over Jeol in view of Duckworth.
Applicant further argues (p 11) that Duckworth does not teach a PEEK (co)polymer in combination with the PEEK-PEoEK copolymer. However, primary reference Jeol was relied on to meet this limitation, and therefore, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL KAHN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766