DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to a response filed on August 21st, 2025.
Claims 1-7, 11-18, 21, and 23-24 are pending.
Claims 1-7, 11-18, 21, and 23-24 are rejected.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on August 21st, 2025 have been entered.
Claims 1, 11, and 21 have been amended.
Claims 10 and 20 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on August 21st, 2025 have been fully considered. The amendments filed by the Applicant change the scope of the claims which led to a new interpretation. Therefore, the claims are rejected under new grounds of rejection over Chen et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0041284), in view of Lazaridis et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0003597).
The Applicant argues that “Lazaridis fails to teach or suggest the claimed element of "in response to determining that the first target device is a target second device, sending, by the first device, the first call service request to the target second device, wherein the target second device is one of the at least one second device; and receiving, by the first device, the first feedback information obtained after the target second device processes the first call service request," much less "in response to determining that the first target device is the first device, sending, by a first module in the first target device, the first call service request to a second module in the first target device; and receiving, by the first module, first feedback information obtained after the second module processes the first call service request; and in response to determining that the first target device is a target second device, sending, by the first device, the first call service request to the target second device, wherein the target second device is one of the at least one second device; and receiving, by the first device, the first feedback information obtained after the target second device processes the first call service request" as presently claimed.”
The Examiners respectfully disagree. Lazaridis discloses in response to determining that the first target device is the first device, sending, by a first module in the first target device, the first call service request to a second module in the first target device; and receiving, by the first module, first feedback information obtained after the second module processes the first call service request (See Parag. [0039]; at least one of devices 103 can be enabled to determine capabilities of other devices 103 and further whether another of devices 103 is capable of processing a given call. See Parag. [0058-0063] and Fig. 5; method 500 is performed using device 103-1 … a call is received at first device 103-1 (first device), for example via interface 228. For example, with reference to FIG. 6, device 101 is generally enabled to initiate a call 601, for example one or more of a voice call and video call, to device 103-1 (the first target device is the first device) via network 107… The call initiation data can include, but is not limited to, an identifier of device 103-1, a virtual number associated with a switching server (which in turn forwards the call initiation data to device 103-1), and the like. In general, device 101 will transmit call initiation data over link 106, to network 107, where the call is in turn conveyed to device 103-1 via link 108-1 … processor 208 determines whether device 103-1 is active. For example, a determination of whether device 103-1 is active can include, but is not limited to, call 501 being answered at device 103-1 (such that audio data, video data and the like can be exchanged between devices 101, 103-1) an indication of activity at input device 200, a detection of motion via one or more of microphone 226, video camera 230, and/or motion sensor 231. See also Parag. [0084]. Examiners’ interpretation: The first module and the second module are interpreted as components within the device 103-1 for processing/answering the call), and
in response to determining that the first target device is a target second device, sending, by the first device, the first call service request to the target second device, wherein the target second device is one of the at least one second device: and receiving, by the first device, the first feedback information obtained after the target second device processes the first call service request (See Parag. [0063-0067]; processor 208 determines that a second device 103 is active. For example, in some implementations, and with reference to FIG. 7, device 103-1 can transmit a query 701 to devices 103-2, 103-3 by processing data 218 to determine network identifiers of devices 103-2, 103-3; query 701 is generally transmitted via network 107, to determine activity at devices 103-2, 103-3 … assuming device 103-2 is active, processor 208 can be enabled to determine that second device 103-2 is active by transmitting a query 701 to second device 103-2 and receiving a response (i.e. data 703) thereto. See Parag. [0079-0082]; device 103-1 transmits a notification 801 of call 601 to second device 103-2 via network 107. For example, device 103-1 transmits notification 801 in response to determining that second device 103-2 is active (target second device) … receipt of notification 801 at device 103-2 further cause device 103-2 to provide a selectable option 903 ("REDIRECT CALL") for transferring call 601 to device 103-2. Selectable option 903 can comprise a virtual button and the like. As depicted in FIG. 10, upon receipt of input data at input device 300 indicative of a selection of selectable option 903, device 103-2 transmits a signal 1001 to a switching element (not depicted) network 107, causing the switching element to redirect call 601 from device 103-1 to device 103-2. See also Parag. [0020-0021] [0080]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 11, 13-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0041284), hereinafter Chen; in view of Lazaridis et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0003597), hereinafter Lazaridis.
Claim 1. Chen discloses a call method applied to a first device (See Parag. [0029]; one or more process blocks of FIG. 4 may be performed by another device or a group of devices separate from or including HSS 230, such as user device 210, CSCF device 220, and/or service provider device 240), comprising:
establishing a communication connection to at least one second device; receiving capability registration information of the at least one second device (See Parag. [0030]; receiving, from multiple user devices associated with a shared identifier, registration information that includes a unique identifier for each user device and capability information that identifies one or more capabilities of each user device (Fig. 4, block 410). See also Parag. [0031-0032]);
receiving a first call service request (See Parag. [0038]; receiving, from a service provider device, a query associated with providing a service (e.g., video call, see Parag. [0032]), requiring a particular capability, to a user device associated with the shared identifier (Fig. 4, block 430); receive a query from service provider device 240 that provides a service requiring a capability);
determining, based on capability information of the first device and the capability registration information of the at least one second device, whether a first target device is the first device or one of the at least one second device (See Parag. [0037]; store the registration information using a data structure. The data structure may indicate a relationship between a shared identifier of user device, a unique identifier of user device, and one or more capabilities supported by user device. See Parag. [0038]; the query may include a capability identifier that identifies a capability required by the service (e.g., a capability to support a particular type of service. See Parag. [0039]; determining, based on the query and the stored registration information, a set of unique identifiers, associated with the shared identifier, and a set of capabilities corresponding to each unique identifier (Fig. 4, block 440)... See Parag. [0040]; provide information that identifies the set of capabilities, and the corresponding set of unique identifiers, to service provider device. Service provider device may use this information to determine a unique identifier of a user device that supports a capability required by a service provided by service provider device. In other words, service provider device may determine a unique identifier of a user device that supports the service (i.e., determine a first target device that meets the needed capability requirements from the user devices including the first device or one of the at least one second device). See also Parag. [0042]; perform the analysis described above to identify a list of unique identifier(s) of user device(s) that support the service; provide the list of unique identifiers to service provider device, and service provider device may provide the service to one or more user devices identified by the list of unique identifiers (e.g., based on whether the list includes a single user device);
wherein the first target device is configured to process the first call service request (See Parag. [0041]; service provider device may use the information that identifies the set of capabilities to identify unique identifier(s) of user device(s) that support the service; if user device supports the service (e.g., as indicated by the set of capabilities), then service provider device may add user device (the first target device) (e.g., a unique identifier of user device) to a list of potential user devices to be provided with the service. Service provider device may analyze each user device (e.g., identified by a unique identifier) in this way, to generate a list of user devices that support the service. If the list includes a single user device (the first target device), then service provider device may provide the service to the single user device. See also Parag. [0042]; perform the analysis described above to identify a list of unique identifier(s) of user device(s) that support the service; provide the list of unique identifiers to service provider device, and service provider device may provide the service to one or more user devices identified devices identified by the list of unique identifiers (e.g., based on whether the list includes a single user device);
Chen doesn’t explicitly disclose in response to determining that the first target device is the first device, sending, by a first module in the first target device, the first call service request to a second module in the first target device; and receiving, by the first module, first feedback information obtained after the second module processes the first call service request; and in response to determining that the first target device is a target second device, sending, by the first device, the first call service request to the target second device, wherein the target second device is one of the at least one second device: and receiving, by the first device, the first feedback information obtained after the target second device processes the first call service request.
However, Lazaridis discloses in response to determining that the first target device is the first device, sending, by a first module in the first target device, the first call service request to a second module in the first target device; and receiving, by the first module, first feedback information obtained after the second module processes the first call service request (See Parag. [0039]; at least one of devices 103 can be enabled to determine capabilities of other devices 103 and further whether another of devices 103 is capable of processing a given call. See Parag. [0058-0063] and Fig. 5; method 500 is performed using device 103-1 … a call is received at first device 103-1 (first device), for example via interface 228. For example, with reference to FIG. 6, device 101 is generally enabled to initiate a call 601, for example one or more of a voice call and video call, to device 103-1 (the first target device is the first device) via network 107… The call initiation data can include, but is not limited to, an identifier of device 103-1, a virtual number associated with a switching server (which in turn forwards the call initiation data to device 103-1), and the like. In general, device 101 will transmit call initiation data over link 106, to network 107, where the call is in turn conveyed to device 103-1 via link 108-1 … processor 208 determines whether device 103-1 is active. For example, a determination of whether device 103-1 is active can include, but is not limited to, call 501 being answered at device 103-1 (such that audio data, video data and the like can be exchanged between devices 101, 103-1) an indication of activity at input device 200, a detection of motion via one or more of microphone 226, video camera 230, and/or motion sensor 231. See also Parag. [0084]. Examiners’ interpretation: The first module and the second module are interpreted as components within the device 103-1 for processing/answering the call), and
in response to determining that the first target device is a target second device, sending, by the first device, the first call service request to the target second device, wherein the target second device is one of the at least one second device: and receiving, by the first device, the first feedback information obtained after the target second device processes the first call service request (See Parag. [0063-0067]; processor 208 determines that a second device 103 is active. For example, in some implementations, and with reference to FIG. 7, device 103-1 can transmit a query 701 to devices 103-2, 103-3 by processing data 218 to determine network identifiers of devices 103-2, 103-3; query 701 is generally transmitted via network 107, to determine activity at devices 103-2, 103-3 … assuming device 103-2 is active, processor 208 can be enabled to determine that second device 103-2 is active by transmitting a query 701 to second device 103-2 and receiving a response (i.e. data 703) thereto. See Parag. [0079-0082]; device 103-1 transmits a notification 801 of call 601 to second device 103-2 via network 107. For example, device 103-1 transmits notification 801 in response to determining that second device 103-2 is active (target second device) … receipt of notification 801 at device 103-2 further cause device 103-2 to provide a selectable option 903 ("REDIRECT CALL") for transferring call 601 to device 103-2. Selectable option 903 can comprise a virtual button and the like. As depicted in FIG. 10, upon receipt of input data at input device 300 indicative of a selection of selectable option 903, device 103-2 transmits a signal 1001 to a switching element (not depicted) network 107, causing the switching element to redirect call 601 from device 103-1 to device 103-2. See also Parag. [0020-0021] [0080]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include in response to determining that the first target device is the first device, sending, by a first module in the first target device, the first call service request to a second module in the first target device, and receiving, by the first module, first feedback information obtained after the second module processes the first call service request, and in response to determining that the first target device is a target second device, sending, by the first device, the first call service request to the target second device, wherein the target second device is one of the at least one second device: and receiving, by the first device, the first feedback information obtained after the target second device processes the first call service request, as taught by Lazaridis. This would be convenient to transferring call to a device based on the capability of the device.
Claim 3. Chen in view of Lazaridis discloses the method according to claim 1,
Lazaridis further discloses wherein after the receiving first feedback information obtained after the first target device processes the first call service request, the method further comprises:
determining a second call service request based on the first feedback information, wherein the second call service request is different from the first call service request; selecting, based on the capability information of the first device and the capability registration information of the at least one second device, a second target device configured to process the second call service request, wherein the second target device is the first device or one of the at least one second device; sending the second call service request to the second target device; and receiving second feedback information obtained after the second target device processes the second call service request (See Parag. [0063-0067]; processor 208 determines that a second device 103 is active. For example, in some implementations, and with reference to FIG. 7, device 103-1 can transmit a query 701 to devices 103-2, 103-3 by processing data 218 to determine network identifiers of devices 103-2, 103-3; query 701 is generally transmitted via network 107, to determine activity at devices 103-2, 103-3 … assuming device 103-2 is active, processor 208 can be enabled to determine that second device 103-2 is active by transmitting a query 701 to second device 103-2 and receiving a response (i.e. data 703) thereto. See Parag. [0079-0082]; device 103-1 transmits a notification 801 of call 601 to second device 103-2 via network 107. For example, device 103-1 transmits notification 801 in response to determining that second device 103-2 is active (target second device) … receipt of notification 801 at device 103-2 further cause device 103-2 to provide a selectable option 903 ("REDIRECT CALL") for transferring call 601 to device 103-2. Selectable option 903 can comprise a virtual button and the like. As depicted in FIG. 10, upon receipt of input data at input device 300 indicative of a selection of selectable option 903, device 103-2 transmits a signal 1001 to a switching element (not depicted) network 107, causing the switching element to redirect call 601 from device 103-1 to device 103-2. See also Parag. [0020-0021] [0077] [0080])).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include determining a second call service request based on the first feedback information, wherein the second call service request is different from the first call service request; selecting, based on the capability information of the first device and the capability registration information of the at least one second device, a second target device configured to process the second call service request, wherein the second target device is the first device or one of the at least one second device, and sending the second call service request to the second target device; and receiving second feedback information obtained after the second target device processes the second call service request, as taught by Lazaridis. This would be convenient to transferring call to a device based on the capability of the device.
Claim 4. Chen in view of Lazaridis discloses the method according to claim 3,
Chen further discloses wherein the first target device and the second target device are different second devices, and the first target device is configured to receive call data sent by the second target device (See Parag. [0011]; a calling device initiates a voice call associated with User 1. As shown, the calling device may provide a request for the voice call to a service provider device that provides voice services. Without using the registration information, the service provider device may not be able to determine whether to provide the voice call to User Device A, User Device B, or User Device C. In this case, the service provider device might provide the voice call to a user device incapable of receiving the voice call, such as User Device B or User Device C).
Claim 5. Chen in view of Lazaridis discloses the method according to claim 1,
Chen further discloses wherein after the receiving the first call service request, the method further comprises: selecting, based on the first call service request, the first target device associated with the first call service request (See Parag. [0039]; determining, based on the query and the stored registration information, a set of unique identifiers, associated with the shared identifier, and a set of capabilities corresponding to each unique identifier (Fig. 4, block 440); determine, based on the query, a set of unique identifiers and a set of capabilities corresponding to the set of unique identifiers; receive the shared identifier (e.g., included in the query), and may use the shared identifier to search a data structure that stores registration information. Based on searching the data structure, identify a set of unique identifiers that identifies user device(s) 210 that share the shared identifier. Additionally, or alternatively, identify a set of capabilities associated with user device(s) 210. The set of capabilities may correspond to the set of unique identifiers, such that one or more particular capabilities of user device 210 may be identified based on a particular unique identifier that identifies user device 210).
Claim 6. Chen in view of Lazaridis discloses the method according to claim 1,
Chen further discloses wherein a device form of the first device is different from at least one of the at least one second device (See Parag. [0011]; a calling device initiates a voice call associated with User 1. As shown, the calling device may provide a request for the voice call to a service provider device that provides voice services. Without using the registration information, the service provider device may not be able to determine whether to provide the voice call to User Device A, User Device B, or User Device C. In this case, the service provider device might provide the voice call to a user device incapable of receiving the voice call, such as User Device B or User Device C).
Claim 7. Chen in view of Lazaridis discloses the method according to claim 1,
Chen further discloses wherein there are one or more pieces of capability information of the first device, and there are one or more pieces of capability registration information of one second device (See Parag. [0030]; receiving, from multiple user devices associated with a shared identifier, registration information that includes a unique identifier for each user device and capability information that identifies one or more capabilities of each user device (Fig. 4, block 410). See also Parag. [0031-0032]).
Claim 11. Chen discloses an electronic device, comprising; a processor, and a memory coupled to the processor to store instructions; which when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to perform operations (See Fig. 3; Processor, memory), the operations comprising:
establishing a communication connection to at least one second device; receiving capability registration information of the at least one second device (See Parag. [0030]; receiving, from multiple user devices associated with a shared identifier, registration information that includes a unique identifier for each user device and capability information that identifies one or more capabilities of each user device (Fig. 4, block 410). See also Parag. [0031-0032]);
receiving a first call service request (See Parag. [0038]; receiving, from a service provider device, a query associated with providing a service (e.g., video call, see Parag. [0032]), requiring a particular capability, to a user device associated with the shared identifier (Fig. 4, block 430));
determining, based on capability information of the electronic device and the capability registration information of the at least one second device, whether a first target device is the electronic device the first device or the one of the at least one second device (See Parag. [0037]; store the registration information using a data structure. The data structure may indicate a relationship between a shared identifier of user device, a unique identifier of user device, and one or more capabilities supported by user device. See Parag. [0038]; the query may include a capability identifier that identifies a capability required by the service (e.g., a capability to support a particular type of service. See Parag. [0039]; determining, based on the query and the stored registration information, a set of unique identifiers, associated with the shared identifier, and a set of capabilities corresponding to each unique identifier (Fig. 4, block 440)... See Parag. [0040]; provide information that identifies the set of capabilities, and the corresponding set of unique identifiers, to service provider device. Service provider device may use this information to determine a unique identifier of a user device that supports a capability required by a service provided by service provider device. In other words, service provider device may determine a unique identifier of a user device that supports the service (i.e., determine a first target device that meets the needed capability requirements from the user devices including the first device or one of the at least one second device). See also Parag. [0042]; perform the analysis described above to identify a list of unique identifier(s) of user device(s) that support the service; provide the list of unique identifiers to service provider device, and service provider device may provide the service to one or more user devices identified by the list of unique identifiers (e.g., based on whether the list includes a single user device));
sending the first call service request to the first target device in response to determining the first target device is one of the at least one second device, wherein the first target device is configured to process the first call service request (See Parag. [0041]; service provider device may use the information that identifies the set of capabilities to identify unique identifier(s) of user device(s) that support the service; if user device supports the service (e.g., as indicated by the set of capabilities), then service provider device may add user device (the first target device) (e.g., a unique identifier of user device) to a list of potential user devices to be provided with the service. Service provider device may analyze each user device (e.g., identified by a unique identifier) in this way, to generate a list of user devices that support the service. If the list includes a single user device (the first target device), then service provider device may provide the service to the single user device. See also Parag. [0042]; perform the analysis described above to identify a list of unique identifier(s) of user device(s) that support the service; provide the list of unique identifiers to service provider device, and service provider device may provide the service to one or more user devices identified by the list of unique identifiers (e.g., based on whether the list includes a single user device);
Chen doesn’t explicitly disclose in response to determining that the first target device is the electronic device, sending, by a first module in the first target device, the first call service request to a second module in the first target device; and receiving, by the first module, first feedback information obtained after the second module processes the first call service request; and in response to determining that the first target device is a target second device, sending the first call service request to the target second device, wherein the target second device is one of the at least one second device; and receiving the first feedback information obtained after the target second device processes the first call service request.
However, Lazaridis discloses in response to determining that the first target device is the electronic device, sending, by a first module in the first target device, the first call service request to a second module in the first target device; and receiving, by the first module, first feedback information obtained after the second module processes the first call service request (See Parag. [0039]; at least one of devices 103 can be enabled to determine capabilities of other devices 103 and further whether another of devices 103 is capable of processing a given call. See Parag. [0058-0063] and Fig. 5; method 500 is performed using device 103-1 … a call is received at first device 103-1 (first device), for example via interface 228. For example, with reference to FIG. 6, device 101 is generally enabled to initiate a call 601, for example one or more of a voice call and video call, to device 103-1 (the first target device is the first device) via network 107… The call initiation data can include, but is not limited to, an identifier of device 103-1, a virtual number associated with a switching server (which in turn forwards the call initiation data to device 103-1), and the like. In general, device 101 will transmit call initiation data over link 106, to network 107, where the call is in turn conveyed to device 103-1 via link 108-1 … processor 208 determines whether device 103-1 is active. For example, a determination of whether device 103-1 is active can include, but is not limited to, call 501 being answered at device 103-1 (such that audio data, video data and the like can be exchanged between devices 101, 103-1) an indication of activity at input device 200, a detection of motion via one or more of microphone 226, video camera 230, and/or motion sensor 231. See also Parag. [0084]. Examiners’ interpretation: The first module and the second module are interpreted as components within the device 103-1 for processing/answering the call); and
in response to determining that the first target device is a target second device, sending the first call service request to the target second device, wherein the target second device is one of the at least one second device; and receiving the first feedback information obtained after the target second device processes the first call service request (See Parag. [0063-0067]; processor 208 determines that a second device 103 is active. For example, in some implementations, and with reference to FIG. 7, device 103-1 can transmit a query 701 to devices 103-2, 103-3 by processing data 218 to determine network identifiers of devices 103-2, 103-3; query 701 is generally transmitted via network 107, to determine activity at devices 103-2, 103-3 … assuming device 103-2 is active, processor 208 can be enabled to determine that second device 103-2 is active by transmitting a query 701 to second device 103-2 and receiving a response (i.e. data 703) thereto. See Parag. [0079-0082]; device 103-1 transmits a notification 801 of call 601 to second device 103-2 via network 107. For example, device 103-1 transmits notification 801 in response to determining that second device 103-2 is active (target second device) … receipt of notification 801 at device 103-2 further cause device 103-2 to provide a selectable option 903 ("REDIRECT CALL") for transferring call 601 to device 103-2. Selectable option 903 can comprise a virtual button and the like. As depicted in FIG. 10, upon receipt of input data at input device 300 indicative of a selection of selectable option 903, device 103-2 transmits a signal 1001 to a switching element (not depicted) network 107, causing the switching element to redirect call 601 from device 103-1 to device 103-2. See also Parag. [0020-0021] [0080]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include in response to determining that the first target device is the electronic device, sending, by a first module in the first target device, the first call service request to a second module in the first target device, and receiving, by the first module, first feedback information obtained after the second module processes the first call service request, and in response to determining that the first target device is a target second device, sending the first call service request to the target second device, wherein the target second device is one of the at least one second device, and receiving the first feedback information obtained after the target second device processes the first call service request, as taught by Lazaridis. This would be convenient to transferring call to a device based on the capability of the device.
Claim 13-17 is taught by Chen in view of Lazaridis, as described for claim 3-7, respectively.
Claim 18. Chen in view of Lazaridis discloses the electronic device according to claim 11,
Chen further discloses wherein the first call service request is any one of a number parsing request, a number dialing request, a video play and/or capture request, and an audio play and/or capture request (See Parag. [0038]; receiving, from a service provider device, a query associated with providing a service (e.g., a voice call service, a video call service, a messaging service (e.g., a short message service (SMS), a multimedia messaging service (MMS), an instant messaging service, a chat service, etc.), an email service, a web browsing service, a gaming service, a television service, a streaming service, a music service, or another type of service, see Parag. [0032]), requiring a particular capability, to a user device associated with the shared identifier (Fig. 4, block 430)).
Claim 21. Chen discloses a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium having instructions stored therein, which when (See Fig. 3; Processor, memory), the operations comprising:
establishing a communication connection to at least one second device; receiving capability registration information of the at least one second device (See Parag. [0030]; receiving, from multiple user devices associated with a shared identifier, registration information that includes a unique identifier for each user device and capability information that identifies one or more capabilities of each user device (Fig. 4, block 410). See also Parag. [0031-0032]);
receiving a first call service request (See Parag. [0038]; receiving, from a service provider device, a query associated with providing a service (e.g., video call, see Parag. [0032]), requiring a particular capability, to a user device associated with the shared identifier (Fig. 4, block 430));
determining, based on capability information of the electronic device and the capability registration information of the at least one second device, whether a first target device is the electronic device the first device or one of the at least one second device (See Parag. [0037]; store the registration information using a data structure. The data structure may indicate a relationship between a shared identifier of user device, a unique identifier of user device, and one or more capabilities supported by user device. See Parag. [0038]; the query may include a capability identifier that identifies a capability required by the service (e.g., a capability to support a particular type of service. See Parag. [0039]; determining, based on the query and the stored registration information, a set of unique identifiers, associated with the shared identifier, and a set of capabilities corresponding to each unique identifier (Fig. 4, block 440)... See Parag. [0040]; provide information that identifies the set of capabilities, and the corresponding set of unique identifiers, to service provider device. Service provider device may use this information to determine a unique identifier of a user device that supports a capability required by a service provided by service provider device. In other words, service provider device may determine a unique identifier of a user device that supports the service (i.e., determine a first target device that meets the needed capability requirements from the user devices including the first device or one of the at least one second device). See also Parag. [0042]; perform the analysis described above to identify a list of unique identifier(s) of user device(s) that support the service; provide the list of unique identifiers to service provider device, and service provider device may provide the service to one or more user devices identified by the list of unique identifiers (e.g., based on whether the list includes a single user device));
sending the first call service request to the first target device in response to determining the first target device is one of the at least one second device, wherein the first target device is configured to process the first call service request (See Parag. [0041]; service provider device may use the information that identifies the set of capabilities to identify unique identifier(s) of user device(s) that support the service; if user device supports the service (e.g., as indicated by the set of capabilities), then service provider device may add user device (the first target device) (e.g., a unique identifier of user device) to a list of potential user devices to be provided with the service. Service provider device may analyze each user device (e.g., identified by a unique identifier) in this way, to generate a list of user devices that support the service. If the list includes a single user device (the first target device), then service provider device may provide the service to the single user device. See also Parag. [0042]; perform the analysis described above to identify a list of unique identifier(s) of user device(s) that support the service; provide the list of unique identifiers to service provider device, and service provider device may provide the service to one or more user devices identified by the list of unique identifiers (e.g., based on whether the list includes a single user device));
Chen doesn’t explicitly disclose in response to determining that the first target device is the electronic device, sending, by a first module in the first target device, the first call service request to a second module in the first target device; and receiving, by the first module, first feedback information obtained after the second module processes the first call service request; and in response to determining that the first target device is a target second device, sending the first call service request to the target second device, wherein the target second device is one of the at least one second device; receiving the first feedback information obtained after the target second device processes the first call service request.
However, Lazaridis discloses in response to determining that the first target device is the electronic device, sending, by a first module in the first target device, the first call service request to a second module in the first target device; and receiving, by the first module, first feedback information obtained after the second module processes the first call service request (See Parag. [0039]; at least one of devices 103 can be enabled to determine capabilities of other devices 103 and further whether another of devices 103 is capable of processing a given call. See Parag. [0058-0063] and Fig. 5; method 500 is performed using device 103-1 … a call is received at first device 103-1 (first device), for example via interface 228. For example, with reference to FIG. 6, device 101 is generally enabled to initiate a call 601, for example one or more of a voice call and video call, to device 103-1 (the first target device is the first device) via network 107… The call initiation data can include, but is not limited to, an identifier of device 103-1, a virtual number associated with a switching server (which in turn forwards the call initiation data to device 103-1), and the like. In general, device 101 will transmit call initiation data over link 106, to network 107, where the call is in turn conveyed to device 103-1 via link 108-1 … processor 208 determines whether device 103-1 is active. For example, a determination of whether device 103-1 is active can include, but is not limited to, call 501 being answered at device 103-1 (such that audio data, video data and the like can be exchanged between devices 101, 103-1) an indication of activity at input device 200, a detection of motion via one or more of microphone 226, video camera 230, and/or motion sensor 231. See also Parag. [0084]. Examiners’ interpretation: The first module and the second module are interpreted as components within the device 103-1 for processing/answering the call); ; and
in response to determining that the first target device is a target second device, sending the first call service request to the target second device, wherein the target second device is one of the at least one second device; receiving the first feedback information obtained after the target second device processes the first call service request (See Parag. [0063-0067]; processor 208 determines that a second device 103 is active. For example, in some implementations, and with reference to FIG. 7, device 103-1 can transmit a query 701 to devices 103-2, 103-3 by processing data 218 to determine network identifiers of devices 103-2, 103-3; query 701 is generally transmitted via network 107, to determine activity at devices 103-2, 103-3 … assuming device 103-2 is active, processor 208 can be enabled to determine that second device 103-2 is active by transmitting a query 701 to second device 103-2 and receiving a response (i.e. data 703) thereto. See Parag. [0079-0082]; device 103-1 transmits a notification 801 of call 601 to second device 103-2 via network 107. For example, device 103-1 transmits notification 801 in response to determining that second device 103-2 is active (target second device) … receipt of notification 801 at device 103-2 further cause device 103-2 to provide a selectable option 903 ("REDIRECT CALL") for transferring call 601 to device 103-2. Selectable option 903 can comprise a virtual button and the like. As depicted in FIG. 10, upon receipt of input data at input device 300 indicative of a selection of selectable option 903, device 103-2 transmits a signal 1001 to a switching element (not depicted) network 107, causing the switching element to redirect call 601 from device 103-1 to device 103-2. See also Parag. [0020-0021] [0080]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include in response to determining that the first target device is the electronic device, sending, by a first module in the first target device, the first call service request to a second module in the first target device, and receiving, by the first module, first feedback information obtained after the second module processes the first call service request, and in response to determining that the first target device is a target second device, sending the first call service request to the target second device, wherein the target second device is one of the at least one second device, and receiving the first feedback information obtained after the target second device processes the first call service request, as taught by Lazaridis. This would be convenient to transferring call to a device based on the capability of the device.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0041284), hereinafter Chen; in view of Lazaridis et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0003597), hereinafter Lazaridis; and further in view of Yang et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0349382), hereinafter Yang.
Claim 2. Chen in view of Lazaridis discloses the method according to claim 1,
Chen further discloses wherein the determining the first target device configured to process the first call service request comprises:
grouping a capability of the first device and a capability of the second device by a function category based on the capability information of the first device and the capability registration information of the at least one second device, (See Parag. [0041]; use the information that identifies the set of capabilities to identify unique identifier(s) of user device(s) 210 that support the service. If user device 210 supports the service (e.g., as indicated by the set of capabilities), then service provider device 240 may add user device 210 (e.g., a unique identifier of user device 210) to a list of potential user devices 210 to be provided with the service. Service provider device 240 may analyze each user device 210 (e.g., identified by a unique identifier) in this way, to generate a list of user devices 210 that support the service. If the list includes a single user device 210, then service provider device 240 may provide the service to the single user device 210. If the list includes multiple user devices 210, then service provider device 240 may provide the service to all of the multiple user devices 210, a subset of the multiple user devices 210, one of the multiple user devices 210 (e.g., determined based on a stored preference).
Chen doesn’t explicitly disclose setting an evaluation indicator corresponding to each group and a weight corresponding to each evaluation indicator; and selecting a first group used to process the first call service request, performing scoring on a capability of the first device and/or a capability of the second device in the first group by using an evaluation indicator and a weight corresponding to the evaluation indicator, and selecting the first target device, wherein a score of a capability of the first target device in the first group is a highest score.
However, Yang discloses setting an evaluation indicator corresponding to each group and a weight corresponding to each evaluation indicator; and selecting a first group used to process the first call service request, performing scoring on a capability of the first device and/or a capability of the second device in the first group by using an evaluation indicator and a weight corresponding to the evaluation indicator, and selecting the first target device, wherein a score of a capability of the first target device in the first group is a highest score (See Parag. [0085]; in order to be able to reflect capability difference between the computer device 2 and the target terminal 4, thereby selecting a device with better capability as the rendering operation performer, comparing the first capability information with the second capability information and determining the rendering operation performer according to the comparison result can be implemented through steps S600 to S608. Wherein, step S600, comparing M first sub-capacity information and M second sub-capacity information one by one to obtain M capability score P.sub.i corresponding to M first sub-capacity information and M capability score Q.sub.i corresponding to M second sub-capacity information; wherein, P.sub.i represents the capability score corresponding to the i-th first sub-capability information obtained by comparing the i-th first sub-capability information with the i-th second sub-capability information, and Q; represents the capability score corresponding to the i-th second sub-capability information obtained by comparing the i-th first sub-capacity information with the i-th second sub-capability information, 1≤i≤M and 1≤M≤N; step S602, obtaining a first comprehensive capability score).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the capability indication, taught by Chen, to be based on scoring on a capability, as taught by Yang. This would be convenient for selecting a device with better capability as the rendering operation performer (Yang, Parag. [0085]).
Claim 12 is taught by Chen in view of Lazaridis and Yang, as described for claim 2.
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0041284), hereinafter Chen; in view of Lazaridis et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0003597), hereinafter Lazaridis; and further in view of Shoykher et al. (Pub. No. US 2016/0044362), hereinafter Shoykher.
Claim 23. Chen in view of Lazaridis discloses the electronic device according to claim 11,
Chen in view of Lazaridis doesn’t explicitly disclose the operations further comprising: performing deregistration procedure if the at least one second device is offline.
However, Shoykher discloses performing deregistration procedure if the at least one second device is offline (See Parag. [0209]; In storing and updating the DNLA status data, this process may involve adding the DMA device with status data to the list when the device is first connected to the network, deleting the device from the list when the device disconnects, and updating the device on the list with new capabilities and data when the device broadcasts a status change).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the devices’ list, taught by Chen in view of Lazaridis, to performing deregistration procedure if the at least one second device is offline, as taught by Shoykher. This would be convenient to maintain a list of active and devices.
Claim 24 is taught by Chen in view of Lazaridis and Shoykher, as described for claim 23.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang et al. (US 2019/0349474) – Related art in the area of a call hold method and a mobile terminal, (Abstract; A call hold method includes receiving a call hold request sent from a peer end; returning a 200 OK message to the peer end; receiving a user instruction for sending a call hold request to the peer end; determining whether an acknowledgement message based on the call hold request of the peer end is received from the peer end; and processing, based on an acknowledgement message determining result, the user instruction for sending a call hold request to the peer end. Accordingly, when a user has a call hold request, a mobile terminal first determines whether a procedure based on the call hold request of the peer end is completed at the peer end, and then determines to process the call hold request of the user, thereby preventing a call drop).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.T./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2442
/WILLIAM G TROST IV/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2442