DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibaue (JP 2018-154723) in view of Uchida et al. (JP 2005-314290). English machine translations of Shibaue (JP 2018-154723) and Uchida et al. (JP 2005-314290) for citation.
Regarding claims 1-3: Shibaue (JP ‘723) discloses adhesives [0001] comprising a β-1,3-glucan derivative obtained by introducing an acyl group into β-1,3-glucan [0008]. Shibaue (JP ‘723) discloses paramylon as a β-1,3-glucan [0014], and myristoyl as an acyl group [0021]. Shibaue (JP ‘723) discloses paramylon myristate (C14; RCO- with R = C13) [Ex. 1; 0053]. Shibaue (JP ‘723) discloses the adhesive can contain additives [0029].
Shibaue (JP ‘723) does not disclose a terpene-based resin. However, Uchida et al. (JP ‘290) discloses adhesives containing β-1,3-glucan [0004], wherein the adhesive can contain a tackifier [0025] such as a terpene resin [0043]. Shibaue (JP ‘723) and Uchida et al. (JP ‘290) are analogous art because they are concerned with a similar technical difficulty, namely the preparation of adhesives containing β-1,3-glucan. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined a terpene resin, as taught by Uchida et al. (JP ‘290) in the invention of Shibaue (JP ‘723), and would have been motivated to do so since Uchida et al. (JP ‘290) discloses the adhesive can contain a tackifier [0025] such as a terpene resin [0043].
Regarding claim 5: Shibaue (JP ‘723) discloses the adhesive sandwiched between PTFE sheets {corresponding to an adhesive tape} [0051].
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibaue (JP 2018-154723) in view of Möller et al. (EP 1 664 229). English machine translations of Shibaue (JP 2018-154723) and Möller et al. (EP 1 664 229) for citation.
Regarding claims 1-4: Shibaue (JP ‘723) discloses adhesives [0001] comprising a β-1,3-glucan derivative obtained by introducing an acyl group into β-1,3-glucan [0008]. Shibaue (JP ‘723) discloses paramylon as a β-1,3-glucan [0014], and myristoyl as an acyl group [0021]. Shibaue (JP ‘723) discloses paramylon myristate (C14; RCO- with R = C13) [Ex. 1; 0053]. Shibaue (JP ‘723) discloses the adhesive can contain additives [0029].
Shibaue (JP ‘723) does not disclose a terpene-based resin. However, Möller et al. (EP ‘229) discloses adhesives [0001], wherein the adhesive can contain 5 to 45 wt% of a tackifying resin [0035-0036] such as a terpene-phenolic resin [0036]. Shibaue (JP ‘723) and Möller et al. (EP ‘229) are analogous art because they are concerned with a similar technical difficulty, namely the preparation of adhesives. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined 5 to 45 wt% of a terpene-phenolic resin, as taught by Möller et al. (EP ‘229) in the invention of Shibaue (JP ‘723), and would have been motivated to do so since Möller et al. (EP ‘229) discloses the adhesive can contain 5 to 45 wt% of a tackifying resin [0035-0036] such as a terpene-phenolic resin [0036].
Regarding claim 5: Shibaue (JP ‘723) discloses the adhesive sandwiched between PTFE sheets {corresponding to an adhesive tape} [0051].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5-8, and 11 of copending Application No. 18/872068 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed adhesive compositions overlap in scope. While Application No. 18/872068 does not claim a β-1,3-glucan derivative having an acyl group, and a terpene-based resin in claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a β-1,3-glucan derivative having an acyl group, and a terpene-based resin in claim 1, as Application No. 18/872068 claims a β-1,3-glucan derivative having an acyl group [claim 3], and a terpene-based resin [claim 8]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of copending Application No. 18/039179 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed adhesive composition of Application No. 18/039179 comprising a β-1,3-glucan derivative having an acyl group, and a rosin-based resin anticipates the instant clamed adhesive composition comprising a β-1,3-glucan derivative having an acyl group, and a terpene-based resin.
Applicant's attention is drawn to MPEP § 804 where it is disclosed that "the specification can always be used as a dictionary to learn the meaning of a term in a patent claim." In re Boylan, 392 F.2d 1017, 157 USPQ 370 (CCPA 1968). Further, those portions of the specification which provide support for the patent claims may also be examined and considered when addressing the issue of whether a claim in an application defines an obvious variation of an invention claimed in the patent. In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438,164 USPQ 619,622 (CCPA 1970). Application No. 18/039179 claims a rosin-based resin. Rosin-based resin is defined in the specification as a terpene-phenol resin [0025-0028].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
See attached form PTO-892.
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767