DETAILED ACTION
Pending Claims
Claims 9-21 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 11-18 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
For improved clarity, claims 11 and 21 should state: wherein a combination of the constituent unit based on the hydrophilic monomer "a" represented by the formula (1), the constituent unit based on the silicone monomer "b" represented by the formula (2) or the formula (3), and the constituent unit based on the thermally reactive monomer or photoreactive monomer "c" is any one selected from the following. This is because all of the combinations listed include “a”, “b”, and “c” monomers.
For improved clarity, claims 12-18 should state: wherein a combination of the constituent unit based on the hydrophilic monomer "a" represented by the formula (1), the constituent unit based on the silicone monomer "b" represented by the formula (2) or the formula (3), and the constituent unit based on the thermally reactive monomer or photoreactive monomer "c" is . This is because the single combination includes “a”, “b”, and “c” monomers.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yoshioka et al. (JP 2011-052055 A).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Yoshioka et al. disclose: (9) a method of treating a surface of a silicone hydrogel, including a step of treating the surface of the silicone hydrogel with a copolymer (Abstract; paragraphs 0013 & 0027-0029); and (19) a method of producing a surface-treated silicone hydrogel, including a step of applying a copolymer to a surface of a silicone hydrogel (Abstract; paragraphs 0013 & 0027-0029). Yoshioka et al. disclose the following copolymer of structure (4):
(see paragraphs 0025-0026), which satisfies monomers “a”, “b”, and “c”. Yoshioka et al. fail to explicitly disclose that: (9 & 19) the copolymer is capable of dissolving at 0.5% (w/v) in hot water at 60°C, and incapable of dissolving at 1% (w/v) in water at 20°C. However, the skilled artisan would have expected the copolymer of Yoshioka et al. to satisfy this property because the teachings of Yoshioka et al. satisfy all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed copolymer. At the very least, the skilled artisan would have expected the teachings of Yoshioka et al. to obviously embrace embodiments capable of satisfying this property because the teachings of Yoshioka et al. satisfy all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed copolymer.
Therefore if not anticipated by Yoshioka et al., the skilled artisan would have expected the teachings of Yoshioka et al. to obviously embrace embodiments capable of satisfying the instantly claimed property because the teachings of Yoshioka et al. satisfy all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed copolymer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iso et al. (US 2018/0244911 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Iso et al. disclose: (9) a method of treating a surface of a silicone hydrogel, including a step of treating the surface of the silicone hydrogel with a copolymer (paragraphs 0121-0124); and (19) a method of producing a surface-treated silicone hydrogel, including a step of applying a copolymer to a surface of a silicone hydrogel (Abstract; paragraphs 0121-0124). Iso et al. disclose an exemplary copolymer derived from a “MPC” A-unit and a “TRIS” B-unit (see “synthesis example 6” in Table 1; see also paragraphs 0135 & 0138), which satisfies monomers “a” and “b”. This copolymer does not contain a constituent unit based on a thermally reactive monomer or a photoreactive monomer "c". However, the general teachings of Iso et al. contemplate the use of multiple A-units (see paragraphs 0033-0034). These include a “MPC” unit represented by formula (A2) and reactive monomers (A3)-(A6) (see paragraphs 0034-0057).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the copolymer of Iso et al. with an additional thermally reactive monomer or a photoreactive monomer "c" because: (a) synthesis example 6 of Iso et al. is derived from a “MPC” A-unit and a “TRIS” B-unit; (b) the general teachings of Iso et al. contemplate the use of multiple A-units; and (c) the multiple A-units of Iso et al. include a “MPC” unit represented by formula (A2) and reactive monomers (A3)-(A6).
Lastly, Iso et al. fail to explicitly disclose that: (9 & 19) the copolymer is capable of dissolving at 0.5% (w/v) in hot water at 60°C, and incapable of dissolving at 1% (w/v) in water at 20°C. However, the skilled artisan would have expected the teachings of Iso et al. to obviously embrace embodiments capable of satisfying this property because the teachings of Iso et al. obviously satisfy all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed copolymer.
Therefore, the skilled artisan would have expected the teachings of Iso et al. to obviously embrace embodiments capable of satisfying the instantly claimed property because the teachings of Iso et al. obviously satisfy all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed copolymer.
Double Patenting
Claims 9-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15 and 16 of copending Application No. 18/039,442 (US 2024/0117094 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The method of claims 9 and 19 is obviously embraced by the silicone hydrogel modifying composition of copending claims 15 and 16.
The method of claims 10-18, 20, and 21 is obviously embraced by the silicone hydrogel modifying composition of copending claim 16.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Aside from the ODP rejection, claims 10-18, 20, and 21 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Yoshioka et al. (JP 2011-052055 A) and Iso et al. (US 2018/0244911 A1) fail to teach or suggest the instantly claimed modifier/copolymer, wherein the monomer "c" is methacryloyloxybenzophenone, 4-(4-azidobenzoyloxymethyl)vinylbenzene, or glycidyl methacrylate.
International Search Report
The international search report cited five X-references and one P,X-reference. These references have been considered, and one X-reference has been applied as prior art.
Communication
/MICHAEL J FEELY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766
January 10, 2026